Mazda 3 Kuroi – dressing it up with a black sport pack

Mazda3 Kuroi 1

While the Malaysian-spec 2014 Mazda 3 has quietly made its way into local showrooms in its pre-launch CBU form, it’ll still be a while before the car makes its actual market debut here. The car, meanwhile, has been officially launched in Australia.

Its premiere Down Under this week has also seen the introduction of an optional official Kuroi sport pack. The Mazda-developed kit, which takes its name from the Japanese word for ‘black’, is a set of brilliant black accessory parts that helps dress up the third-gen 3.

The Kuroi sports pack – in Oz, priced at the equivalent RM7,840 – consists of a brilliant black front under spoiler, side skirts, rear under spoiler, door mirror caps and 18-inch black alloy wheels. It can be fitted to either sedan or hatchback body styles.

Some quick notes on the Australian Mazda 3 – the car is available in SkyActiv-G 2.0 and 2.5 litre engine forms, with a choice of SkyActiv-Drive auto and SkyActiv-MT manual transmissions. The Australian model range has six variants on call, from the entry 2.0 Max to the range-topping SP25 Astina – anyone remember that suffix then?

We’ve driven the 2014 Mazda 3 – read our Australian test drive report on the car.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Son of Bermaz on Jan 30, 2014 at 9:53 am

Dear Bermaz, please be nice and bring this model to Malaysia will ya?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • Lee Kang Kung @ Mcm Dubuk Assemblyman on Jan 30, 2014 at 11:49 am

will eat all my kangkung.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 21
    • Lee Kang Kung @ Mcm Dubuk Assemblyman on Jan 30, 2014 at 11:52 am

Good. Good but I can’t have it coz this kuro-kuro-i will eat all my kangkung.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 19
  • dino years on Jan 30, 2014 at 9:55 am

looking good mazda, but why oh why is it so expensive, almost at entry- level D-segment prices?

• ahmadjohnson97 on Jan 30, 2014 at 9:59 am

I just hope Bermaz also bring the SkyActiv-MT manual transmissions, with the right price of course.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • silvia 33 on Jan 30, 2014 at 10:08 am

Same as Proton Suprima S Super Premium concept using black body kit.
    But because of Mazda no body comment on it.For me look better if using body color.
    look like cheap car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
    • _xXx_ on Jan 30, 2014 at 11:55 am

Have not seen this car on the road todate except in showroom….very exotic

• bluebird on Jan 30, 2014 at 10:28 am

At RM7840, it is cheaper than Super Premium package for Suprima S.
    What a S rip off.

• nzain on Jan 30, 2014 at 10:56 am

THAT FLAT NUMBER TOO CLOSE TO THE LOGO..IF THEY MAKE IT A BIT LOWER MIGHT B A NICE GAP THERE

• mazda 3 on Jan 30, 2014 at 11:34 am

Please Bermaz, bring in the 2.5 Skyactive option for mazda 3. Oh, and the sexy hatchback as well.

• abcde on Jan 30, 2014 at 12:21 pm

good to have 2.5 but i guess nobody will buy because 2.0 so called full spec shit is already 138k..
      if 2.5, going to be 160k-170k..
      nah…unrealistic..

would be nice if mazda come out with 2.0T pair with skyactive..mazda 3 mps perhaps

• Bermaz is getting more similar to UMW after being successful in their CX-5 and Mazda 6 sales. Now they are pricing their Mazda3 highly with lack of features

• _xXx_ on Jan 30, 2014 at 11:52 am

I’ll not hesitate to book a unit if they bring in the MT. Based on their history, the chance is slim…

• If i am not mistaken kuroi is black….well cant see much black in there part from the rim.
    On another topic, I really like cars with contrasting rims and body color.

• MycarMylife on Jan 30, 2014 at 12:26 pm

Ya agreed , my eyes playing tricks , just the tires only kuroi , it should be Shiroikuro !!

• frenzyaustin on Jan 30, 2014 at 1:04 pm

With that price tag, this Kuroi pack are more value and better than TRD Sportivo and Modulo.

• Fat Tortoise on Jan 30, 2014 at 5:58 pm

Sounds like tortoise in kelantanese .

• GTR 2.0 on Jan 30, 2014 at 10:41 pm

Hahaha… I like :) Dah lama tak sebut… Kuro

• Astina! A ride i used to own, and the girls just love the low ride & “hiding” headlamps! Really miss the old manual&carburetor ride… so many memories… ron97 was only rm1.10 then… there was no ron95… and girls were less materialistic back then…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
    • AutoFrenz on Feb 01, 2014 at 4:43 am

Agree…astina together with ford sampan were really an icon those days…those who drove these two are already warga emas…and they are entitled for BR1M…

• Hello! I aint jo warga emas ok; only almost 30 – used the astina when i just got my “P” many many years back…. damn i’m old…

• Ken Watanabe on Feb 04, 2014 at 2:48 pm

Yes and i always envy looking at your Astina parked by the roadside at the uni area.. until u chance your ride to ‘H’ brand.. LOL