Volvo V40 prices revised, T5 and CC slightly costlier

VolvoV40_03

Prices for the Volvo V40 have been revised. Launched here in August 2013, the stylish five-door hatchback is available in three variants, all locally-assembled in Shah Alam. They are the V40 T4 (RM173,888), V40 T5 (RM188,888) and the V40 Cross Country T5 (RM198,888). The new prices are as follows:

Volvo V40 T4 – RM173,888
Volvo V40 T5 – RM190,888
Volvo V40 Cross Country T5 – RM200,888

This means that on-the-road excluding insurance prices for both T5 variants (2.0L turbo five-cylinder with 213 hp/300 Nm) are up by RM2,000. The sticker price for the entry-level T4 (1.6L turbo four-cylinder with 180 hp/240 Nm) remains the same. The Cross Country is a higher-riding V40 with SUV-styling.

Read our launch report for a detailed look at the Volvo V40, as well as a mega gallery. The Volvo also appeared in episode 3 of our Driven Web Series along with the Volkswagen Golf GTI, Mercedes-Benz A 250 Sport and BMW 125i Sport.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Boy Racer on Jan 30, 2014 at 1:30 pm

Janji Dicapati.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 19
    • very clever ha…the decrease in price car u all senyap or don want to comment.. than come 1 car price increase u all bark like crazi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 153
      • i hate macai on Jan 30, 2014 at 4:54 pm

weh macai…kereta ape yg turun harga?turun 30% ker?turun harga dgn turun spec skali ke?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 98 Thumb down 36
        • i think that proton sv series decrease price without turun spec.. correct me if i’m wrong. tq.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 23
          • kangkong on Jan 30, 2014 at 9:53 pm

Because previous Proton were over priced.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 16
          • nama pun SV = Super Value

#facepalm!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
          • Michael on Jan 31, 2014 at 5:12 pm

Volvo increase the price by 2k lah. This simple English also people cannot understand.

• volvo wokers on Feb 15, 2014 at 6:35 am

i tell u y proton have ‘super value’ thingss..
            y persona standard more expensive?
            y persona sv are more chipper??
            ‘sv’ part are low quality then the standard one..

• Najib where is the 30% you Promised? on Jan 30, 2014 at 8:43 pm

Where is Najib’s promise of 30% reduction in car prices over a period of 5 years? Najib promised before the election that if we voted for him and BN, he would ensure that he would match PKR’s offer to reduce car prices. Najib himself quoted saying that the BN government would reduce car prices by up to 30% gradually over 5 years and we should trust BN. Infact he said BN always keeps to their word. 8 months have passed and nothing has been done.

Infact companies like Toyota and VW have increased their prices. Does not matter now whether a car is CKD or CBU. What matters now is where is Najib’s promise?

Now Volvo cars cannot sell. Nobody buying Volvo cars anymore. Volvo cars are going to meet the same fate as Fiat. The brand is slowly dying. Somemore, all their parts are now China, people lagi stay away from the brand.

Last time, Volvo at least fully Swedish, so, still got followers. Now, it is a China car in disguise. They have lost nearly ALL their fans. So, this is why they reduce their price. But 1% reduction?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 27
          • there u go…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 52
          • Low Budget on Jan 31, 2014 at 10:59 am

We be lucky if the current price is maintained for the value of Ringgit is slowly going the ‘tong sampah’ way.
            May be when Ah Jib announced 30% reduction over 5 year period, he thought the exchange rate for Riggit with foreign currency will improve by at least 50% by then but its the other way around.

• Unforgiven on Feb 01, 2014 at 10:38 am

Unfortunately there’s no reduction in tax/excise duty/AP aka free many into the uputra pocket system.

That’s what the Gov wanted, the car manufactures need to reduce the car prices in their own way, as in reducing spec, else it’ll still be expensive, especially if you are looking for CBU high spec with complete safety features!

At the end, you know who will ended driving low spec CKD cars, mainly the rakyat, LoL!

• start on Jan 31, 2014 at 10:51 am

The so-called decreased in 1 or 2 Proton’s model (Saga and Persona) is just to provide bullet for macai in defending BN. They will totally ignored what Najib had promised. They only can pin point to Saga and Persona to fool people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
        • Inggeris apa ni? on Jan 31, 2014 at 4:54 pm

kzm, belajar Inggeris mana? Ini cakap pasal kenaikan harga lah. Patutlah semua orang suka kutuk you! Budak BN tak erti bahasa basic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 9
          • jgn libatkn sy dlm perbalahan korg dgn B* dan P* dgn sy..zombie

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 21
        • Ko yang macai on Feb 01, 2014 at 9:39 pm

Y so butthurt. U cant afford it. So just buy the lowered price. Duchbag

• Otak Udang on Jan 30, 2014 at 6:14 pm

This is the brilliant reasoning of a dolop. This what happens when you go into University not because of merit. You fail STPM also yet you enter University

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 34
        • I never went to get STPM

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 32
          • Stealth on Jan 31, 2014 at 11:38 am

Someone who is has been benefited from BN’s result of robbing the people detected.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 10
          • Inggeris apa ni? on Jan 31, 2014 at 4:57 pm

Sampai tahap mana belajar Inggeris? Artikel kata kenaikan harga lah bang!

• Otak Udang on Jan 30, 2014 at 6:15 pm

This is the brilliant reasoning of a dolop. This what happens when you go into University not because of merit. You fail STPM also yet you enter University

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 23
      • 1 Percent Reduction on Jan 30, 2014 at 8:22 pm

This is how the kampung dudes think. Gomen promise 30% but here Volvo reduce 1% and the kampung dudes feel so happy and content.

Balik kampung lah if you cannot handle bandar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 19
        • the article bout volvo increase price..how come price reduction?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 27
          • Inggeris apa ni? on Jan 31, 2014 at 4:59 pm

Yes, it is about Volvo price increase but you up there say people it is reduction. Tak faham Inggeris ke?

• cheah on Jan 31, 2014 at 5:17 pm

Budak BN, Volvo increase the price bro!

• Inggeris apa ni? on Jan 31, 2014 at 4:52 pm

kzm, you tak berpelajaran ke? Artikel ni pasal reduction in price lah! Aiyoo, budak BN ni, bahasa basic pun tak tahu, macam mana Malaysia boleh maju ni? Macam mana BN boleh perintah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
        • ha? i read several time still it say price increase..the article oso said slightly costlier mean little bit high

• da xbleh nak explain kate org budak B*…xbleh nak xplain kate macai..korg tu mmmg zombie..ikut jer ckp org politik

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
          • Unforgiven on Feb 01, 2014 at 4:32 pm

You sounded like uputra instead of bumiputra, simple answer because you sounded like those ppl who receive free money into the pocket. You’ll never understand the real pain of the ppl working hard, you only gain from the ppl who work hard so that you ended with free money, it’s very sad only!

• unlike u i still working in alone now 1st feb for 12 hour…i do oso own a on9 biz but still not steady…unlike u guy i always on9 to find customer for my biz not whining n whining….i do come to paultan to read n make comment to fill my boring time..don talk like u onli work hard..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
    • Aug 2013 – when V40 launch, 1Euro = RM4.20-4.30
      Jan 2014 – 1 Euro = RM4.50-4.60

Ringgit weaken. That’s import cars getting expensive.

Ubah…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 6
      • old dog on Jan 31, 2014 at 10:12 am

the mistery part is when Euro from 5 drop to 4.3, there is NO PRICE DROP dude!

That is the worst part when USD or EURO drop, the cost is cheaper and no price reduction, but when the price bounce back, the local price increase!

Thats typical cronies explanation for increase price justification!

• Low Budget on Jan 31, 2014 at 11:03 am

Open a foreign currency account and change all your ringgit and deposit it into foreign account now before it is too late, follow the footstep of those well connected tycoons-lah.

• Test driven the V40 T5 the other day, excellent car! 0-100 in 6++ seconds, high quality interior, comfortable, fabulous handling!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 6
  • sudonano on Jan 30, 2014 at 1:57 pm

Wonder what is the reason… While 2k is not that big of an increase in this segment, I hope Volvo is not getting too greedy like Volkswagen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 4
    • I’m pretty sure it’s due to currency moves. MYR is heading for more loses.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
      • sudonano on Jan 30, 2014 at 10:14 pm

Yea. I won’t be surprised if there is a markup for the Volkswagen line.

• CNYFortuneCookie on Jan 30, 2014 at 4:40 pm

This car is still a Geely era Volvo, not an original one. Thats my biggest concern.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 20
    • Say NO to Volvo!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 40
  • Enter your name... on Jan 30, 2014 at 1:59 pm

Puii

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 23
    • Besi Buruk on Feb 01, 2014 at 9:07 pm

Mau ‘puii” pergi cari longkang. Ini bukan tempat untuk awak!

• tak berapa nak laku pun naik harga juga? Oooh..wait..it is bss tactic, later end of year have to reduce price can say give discount or if turun harga volvo claim following gov aspiration. Only in Malaysia car price can increase without accessories/engine update. Yes..only in Malaysia…classic. loads of craps..bull s*. Malaysian already paying triple from original price yet still want to increase car price. N the best part is…No explanation/reason of increasing price given. If got reason pun still bull.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 12
    • Dinds on Jan 30, 2014 at 3:37 pm

do you know anything about currency exchange rate fluctuation? Do you know MYR rate against major currency like USD, EURO, Yen and SGD?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
      • Syiok Sendiri on Jan 30, 2014 at 7:00 pm

Yes, sort of understand abit only on the exchange fluctuation. But what I don’t understand is when the ringgit is stronger against foreign currency, we don’t see ‘official’ announcement prices of cars price drop…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • old dog on Jan 30, 2014 at 2:09 pm

All right! Its Janji!

• shhhh on Jan 30, 2014 at 2:11 pm

yeay naik harga..
    then early year/end year sell kaw2 with 50-80K discount..
    TAK LAKU…
    No resale..
    High petrol consumption..
    Expensive part (more expensive then BM/Merc)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 25
    • glaze on Jan 30, 2014 at 4:48 pm

if this car is considered high petrol consumption, what’s Suprima S then?

• Motorbutt on Jan 30, 2014 at 2:20 pm

This car so cold and the dealer still dare to increase price.

But i am sure when you walk into their showroom, they might throw more discount.

Seriously, unless your company covers your car maintenance, this car is not for shallow wallet. It’s even worst than owning a mercedes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 21
    • merzowner on Jan 30, 2014 at 2:57 pm

What is the problem with merz maintenance cost? Pls share yr opinions?

• Dinds on Jan 30, 2014 at 3:40 pm

A such word like this always came from people who never owned a Volvo, or has driven a wrong choice of model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
    • wakaka on Jan 30, 2014 at 3:46 pm

5 years free maintenance from them, please read the brochure..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • StopJoking on Jan 30, 2014 at 2:26 pm

The funniest post lol. Dont say price revised if its never going to be at the customer side because the customer is their goal. And to reach that goal, is to get to their heart not against em’ by increasing price.

• paucharsiew on Jan 30, 2014 at 3:06 pm

probably the only carmaker in the world to increase price with poor sales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
  • Puii.. Always revising by increasing. Since when our car price will drop? C’mon cronies, u can do better.

• Volvo are very heavy and tough! That day i saw an accident. A honda CRZ kiss this car back. but the CRZ front gone! Imagine Proton kiss Volvo and see…..:D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 12
    • oomph on Jan 30, 2014 at 4:49 pm

Ever heard of crumple zone?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
      • Low Budget on Jan 31, 2014 at 11:10 am

Chances are the Proton drivers will survive, now that Proton got more “stars” then before.
        Apparently the engine will drop due to impact and won’t surge backward to “poke and hammer” the driver.

• azrai on Jan 30, 2014 at 4:55 pm

Volvo Malaysia should change their head with Suzuki Malaysia one, because he just announced price reduction for Jimny a few days earlier.

• abg kuat on Jan 30, 2014 at 5:04 pm

Its expensive….but really really nice car

• sonyman on Jan 30, 2014 at 5:08 pm

must be selling too well, so Merc Complain to Miti, can ask Volvo to increase the V40 closer to our A class ah?

So MITI wrote a letter. please increase price. Got people complain. So Volvo got to increase loh. But only T5 affected. T5 is the better one. No wonder they increase the price.

Seldom you see cold cars like Volvo have so many on the road after 6 months of launch. usually it takes many moons,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
  • can’t really see any volvo nowadays..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
  • roxas on Jan 30, 2014 at 7:02 pm

bcoz of umw ! now others oso wan to sell at higher price. look at greedy bermaz ! and sime darby too !

• rozen on Jan 31, 2014 at 12:13 am

if got no money then don’t buy laa…simple as that..

• nazril_vi on Jan 31, 2014 at 4:32 am

This cars has a waiting list of more than 3 months around November last year. The sales are quite good for these models. That’s probably the reason they increased the price together with currency fluctuations factor perhaps.. Btw whoever says that the maintenance is a more expensive than a merc is whole load of bullcrap. If you don’t own a Volvo don’t pandaix2 give ur comments about the car. Fyi i drive a volvo. Their cars are well designed and have luxurious interior. Safety n engine performance is good too. For me the handling and suspension is a bit too soft for the Malaysian roads. New cars comes with 5 years free maintenance n warranty. Another thought to ponder if one can and is willing to pay up to rm198k for a car, would a rm2k increase in price matter? Yg bisingx2 kat sini bukan nak beli pon.. Kecoh lebih.. Typical Msians..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 6
    • sam loo neighbour on Feb 03, 2014 at 10:05 am

After 5 years, lets try trade in your car or sell it off. Mercedes will still smile with the resale value while your volvo for life tagline…boleh bawa masuk kubur. Hahaha. No resale value. Maybe cacaing tanah might like it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • nabill on Jan 31, 2014 at 1:08 pm

such an irrelevant brand …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
  • Human on Jan 31, 2014 at 6:15 pm

Volvo is designed for human, to protect human in it not the milo tin like Proton… Look at the crash test, then you know the price is worth to be paid to safe your life.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vmMLEyS1yJg

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • Sharfox on Feb 01, 2014 at 7:26 pm

Jangan tipu laa…sekarang Milo mana ada pakai tin lagi. Semua sudah guna sachet. You cari la tin lain pulak to replace Milo.

• this car sales good meh?
    I never seen any on the road yet.
    why the increase of price?

• ponyrider on Jan 31, 2014 at 8:07 pm

Alo abg nazril…kalau ya pn u drive volvo, xkan nak kunci mulut org kot… Let ppl say what they want.. Adoii.. U sndiri cakap typical msian ppl..u sudah tau, lagi mau komplen.. Everyone have 2 cents in their pocket.. Ada betui? As for abg pony, ill say what i want, ill drive what i want.. Never mind what others say.. esp when it comes from folks here.. Hejehhhheh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 18
  • nazril_vi on Feb 01, 2014 at 12:35 am

I tak kunci mulut org.. Just that, before commenting pikir la dulu.. You are responsible for what you say and if whatever you say is incorrect factually wouldn’t that mislead ppl?

• bonbon on Feb 01, 2014 at 8:44 am

dah met target lah tu…its a good car.
    imagine if those big company take over our national market. Definately they gonna do the same thing. UMW toyota for example?

• Loaded with cash on Feb 01, 2014 at 11:07 am

Most of the people who complains here , do not have the money to buy this car. Lol lol. Poorfags go whine elsewhere pls. 2k increase is sup sup water for those who can afford this car la.

Anyway I drive a a250 and I can smoke this junk anytime.

Volvo is also for the poor, unlike the mighty merc!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 19
  • ponyrider on Feb 01, 2014 at 2:35 pm

Ah beng with loads of money buys merc a250.. Heheheh. Money cant buy style mate..

• apekgoh on Feb 01, 2014 at 5:19 pm

2nd car market loh…it is not tht we hav no choice…volvo think they are luxury brand? …. let them think they are luxury…when sales figure doesnt support that …chapter 11 loh…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
  • Sharfox on Feb 01, 2014 at 7:29 pm

Volvo ni…kereta belum tentu laku lagi jual di Malaysia…sudah mau naik harga?…Good Luck!

• motorhead on Feb 02, 2014 at 12:42 pm

Agree with some here.. ada duit belilah.. but thx for the price increase.. should increase more.. because Volvo never in my list.. still enjoy more ppl fall into financial traps.. I ll keep driving my japs milo tin.. subaru is next target.. hunt for woman… haha.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • loaded with cash on Feb 02, 2014 at 12:51 pm

Like I said, you are blind. Style wise a250 reaps this faggort of a car v40. money CAN buy style mate. A250 is style.

Merc is for the rich, volvo is for the poor. Nuff said! For those who have bought this car, where is your brain? Even preve looks better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 16
  • ponyrider on Feb 02, 2014 at 6:48 pm

Pity those that needs cars to give them style… Hehheheh

• motorhead on Feb 02, 2014 at 11:26 pm

They are so ugly they need cars for style… haha.. I drive japs milo tin & women are keep coming. Wahahah.. Im too sexy for my cars..

• pontianak on Feb 03, 2014 at 10:09 am

Probably your women is pontianak…..waiting for your jap milo tin to retire.

• LogicMind on Feb 02, 2014 at 8:10 pm

I’ve only seen one on the road so far. It’s a fairly common marketing strategy to raise price when the product don’t sell – to cover costs/losses, and to make it seem like there’s actually a “demand” for it

• geely geely on Feb 03, 2014 at 8:57 am

cannot let go this product lagi mau up harga….SA at glenmarie sombong…lagi kasi complete bad luck for volvo passanger car future in malaysia.

• sales figures on Feb 03, 2014 at 10:14 am

So far volvo have sold 150 v40s in less than 4 months. Waiting list is 3 months for the t5.

Low in sales? I don’t think so. This is a turning point for volvo. Their sales shot high!

Source from someone who works with fa volvo

• simple on Feb 03, 2014 at 5:07 pm

price revised?RM getting weaker.enough said