BMW 4-Series Gran Coupe debuts – a four door 4-er

2014-BMW-4-Series-Gran-Coupe-0007

Here’s the latest member of the BMW family – the BMW 4 Series Gran Coupe. And yes, it’s basically a four door version of a two door version of a four door car. The relationship between the 3 Sedan and the 4 Gran Coupe is similiar to the Audi A4 and the Audi A5 Sportback.

You’ve got the 4 Series Coupe’s front and and rear end, but the roofline has been extended 12mm taller and 112mm longer to provide better headroom for rear passengers. Although the roofline is not as classic coupe as the 4 Coupe, it still slopes more than the 3 Sedan in a way that’s actually quite similiar to the 3 GT. The 4 Gran Coupe gets a hatch (another similiarity to the 3 GT) instead of a bootlid like the 4 Coupe.

2014-BMW-4-Series-Gran-Coupe-0119

Other dimensions of the 4 Gran Coupe is the same as the 4 Coupe – 4,638mm long, 1,825mm wide and a 2,810mm wheelbase. The boot is 35 litres larger at 480 litres. The four doors are frameless, which is another upgrade over the 3 Sedan. BMW officially calls the car a “4+1 seater”, because the centre seat of the 40:20:40 splitting rear bench is raised to allow a more sculpted shape for the other two seats.

Unlike the 6 GranCoupe which has the 6 Series bespoke interior, the 4 GC shares the same 3 Series derived interior as the rest of the 4 Series range. The 4 GC starts off as a base model, with the option for Luxury, Modern and Sport lines as well as an M Sport package, which adds nice blue touches to the interior as well as a bespoke steering wheel. Most importantly, the M Sport package adds an M Sport suspension which is adjustable, but this suspension option can also be ordered separately.

2014-BMW-4-Series-Gran-Coupe-0102

The top of the line engine as of now is the 3.0 litre turbo six in the 435i, delivering 306 horsepower and 400 Nm of torque, taking it from 0 to 100km/h in 5.5 seconds. The 428i Gran Coupe and the 420i Gran Coupe are both powered by a 2.0 litre turbo four cylinder, outputting 245 hp/350 Nm and 184 hp/270 Nm respectively.

A diesel-powered 420d does 184hp and 380 Nm thanks to its 2.0 litre turbodiesel engine, and the 418d does 143 hp and 320 Nm. Both the 428i and 420d can be had with xDrive all wheel drive as an option from launch. In summer 2014, more engine variants will be added – the 435d xDrive with 313 hp and 630 Nm, a 430d with 258 hp and 560Nm. The xDrive option will also be available for the 435i and the 420i then.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Wira + putra = Wira aero back
    3 + 4= 3 series aero back

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
  • So BMW’s rival to the A5 Sportback and to some extand the CLA, and personally as far as exterior goes, my winner goes to the guys at Munich as to my eyes, it strokes the balance between the overly curvy CLA and the somewhat plain A5 Sportback. Really need to improve on the interior thou.

But here’s the thing, now that there’s a 4er GranCoupe here and with a liftback……what reasons are there for a 3er Gran turismo?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
    • jeremy on Feb 03, 2014 at 2:28 am

The CLA = upcoming 2er GT = a3 sedan
      Upcoming Merc c class sportcoupe = 4 er GT = a5 sportback
      Hope that helps :)

• Thats why I say…to some extand the CLA. The CLA is a smaller and cheaper car than the 4er GC and also, FWD primarily wheres the 4er GC RWD.

However, I wonder weather Mercedes will make a C-class sportcoupe in 5-door variant considering all C-class variant are 2-doors or wagon only….no lower 4-door coupe variant.

• Josh Ling on Feb 03, 2014 at 6:40 am

there are still people who want more space and yet don’t want a wagon. plus, BMW is the one who “invented” the whole GT thing, don’t think they will give up that easily, unless the sales continues to be very disappointing.

i think this 4 series Gran Coupe is a miss though, in terms of look. same goes to A5 Sportsback. not too sure which 1 is more “unacceptable” from the rear. probably the A5.

• I remember that I think it was 2012, there were only 5 5er GT sold in Malaysia, and yesterday I saw my first 3er GT in Kuantan. Safe to say as far as Malaysian is concearn. The GT concept hasn’t caught on.

I personally like the 3er GC over the A5 sportback, but I do agree they should lower the roof more to make it ala 6er GC or Passat CC. I think BMW in this instance thought too much about practicality and personally the GC is only a slight less practical than the normal 3er GT considering that like the GT, the GC has a liftgate and folding rear seat…..and to my eyes looks better.

• Corrrection….all GC models are 4 series. I still keep thinking that the 4 series still never existed.

• hondaman on Feb 03, 2014 at 4:42 pm

i saw my 1st 3 series GT driven by dato sri syed zainal & my 1st 5 series GT years ago driven by Celcom’s CEO. Only they can afford to buy these ultimate driving machines.

• The 3 series Gran turismo is 20cm longer and 8cm higher than the standard 3 series. It gives you much more space than the 3 series or 4 series.

• You’re right, but how much more. As far as practicality the 4er Gran Coupe still has a liftback and olding rear seat which I thought was something special to the 3 series Gran Turismo. So Basically the only thing you’re buying the 3er GT over the normal 3 series and the 4er Gran Coupe is the extra 8cm height.

I don’t know how people in the lucury market thinks but personally for me, If I am in the market for a high riding and practical BMW….I’ll just gat a X1/X3

• khairulx19a on Feb 03, 2014 at 12:01 am

for hipster

• here’s hoping for a CKD version soon…take my money BMW

• downsys on Feb 03, 2014 at 1:40 am

Keep your money Izzy. Why would they CKD such a niche product…

• motorhead on Feb 03, 2014 at 7:40 am

You cannot afford to buy CBU, you want to buy CKD? Hahaha.. no.. don’t keep your money. Please make sure you buy it.. go ahead and become poorer.. but unfortunately I don’t think they’ll CKD it here.. may be after doomsday. you waitlah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 15
      • japshit on Feb 03, 2014 at 9:57 am

Look, your head is from your ass. How about motor ass instead eh?

Cant afford conti, stick to your kereta potong.

• TheWhiteHorse on Feb 03, 2014 at 2:43 am

The 4 Series GC is no doubt the ‘pretty boy’ car of this segment. However, I personally still prefer the muscular looks of the Merc CLA.

Guess the 4 Series GC should be offered in RWD. This is interesting as all 3 of the cars come with different wheel drives, A5 – Quattro & CLA in FWD. Can’t wait to see how the 4GC & CLA will be priced when it arrives on local shores!

• motorhead on Feb 03, 2014 at 7:24 am

Honestly. . Ask yourself how many times you saw BMW breakdowns beside the road? Unfortunately, I saw more BMW than Myvi breakdowns. Sad..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 18
    • Maybe because you slow down and look if it’s a BMW. Whereas if it’s a Myvi you probably just zoom past without noticing it. Haha

• alonso on Feb 03, 2014 at 7:25 am

Mr BMW, please solve your wind noise issue first.

• who cares about wind noise! just drive Zoommmm zoomm…

• seancorr on Feb 03, 2014 at 5:05 pm

The wind noise is actually quite annoying when you’re driving above 100kmh but I think this only applies for the 3 Series sedan…haven’t heard anyone complain on the other models.

• paucharsiew on Feb 03, 2014 at 7:33 am

i wished they gave less rear headroom for a sleeker profile….it looks more like a pretty 3gt than a gran coupe style like the 6 gran coupe which is really sleek

• Confused on Feb 03, 2014 at 7:47 am

What’s in a number? BMW is totally confused and confusing with its range numbering like those years when INTEL and AMD competed on CPU gigahertz.

Let me share an article by a similar confused BMW enthusiast —

So the 1 was a 2 door in America, which became the 2, because the 2 door 2 needed to make room for the 4 door 1, now with twice the doors as the first 1. Then the 5 needed to subtract 2 doors to become 6, which then multiplied the doors by 2 to make the 6 the same as 5 with 4 doors. Then the 2 door 3 became the 2 door 4 so the 4 door 3 could keep twice the doors of 4. However, the 2 door 4 needs 2 more doors so the 4 door 4 is on the way to give us 2 times the doors and keep the number 4. So if I .want a 2 door I take the 4 door model and add 1 but the 4 door models are still there with the 2 doors so I can get two two two times the doors.

Ok, I’ve got it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • ponyrider on Feb 03, 2014 at 9:25 am

Numbers dont lie…
      On a side note, intel does not need to compete with amd on gigahertz count, nobody can beat them on heat management.

• AlbertLee on Feb 03, 2014 at 9:06 am

Our Gomen tax depts are extremely happy for people who order luxury cars.No wonder they are confident of exceeding the 8 billion RM in car taxes collectable each year.Remember,some of your hard earned monies are used to order unwanted fire fighting equipment and rm 3000 binoculars.

• Low Budget on Feb 03, 2014 at 12:37 pm

Correcto! Most people who bought cars that cost more than RM 100K are silly people with high egos and want nothing more than bragging rights, they only play to the hand of the Gomen in that half the money they pay for the car goes to the Gomen pockets, and to add more insult to their stupidity, they also pay the car tax through bank loans that charge them interest for the tax they pay.

• Tarro on Feb 03, 2014 at 11:24 pm

Dont generalize people like that. Everybody deserve the best thing they can afford. Issues on how they got their money is different thing. Some man i know are honest enough to be millionaire.

Man…some guy can pay their car with the interest/dividen they made.

I feel ur feeling but generalizing ppl like that doest not make u look good.

• stupid man on Feb 04, 2014 at 12:16 pm

ya ya…. you are the clever one, but cannot afford, but shy to admit, only know how to complaint, those stupid one can afford…. cis…. pethetic idiot….

• I don’t understand BMW direction. GT is supposed to be in such 5 door style and Gran Coupe (GC) is supposed to be a sleek 4 door sedan. In fact the 4 series GC should look more like a smaller 6 series GC. Why is it looking like a GT just like the 3, 5 GT models? I find that BMW pretty screwed up these days. So many models so look alike and the range naming is a mess.

• kelso on Feb 03, 2014 at 9:58 am

I just think this should have been the 3 series from the start… it’s been a while since it had great innovation in design.

• seancorr on Feb 03, 2014 at 11:09 am

The interior for all the 4 series cars needs to be revised in order to have it be different from the 3 series. Currently only the exterior entices me.

Also BMW needs to have more standard features like comfort access and adaptive xenons! Our local 2 years warranty is still a bummer.

• foxtrot on Feb 03, 2014 at 2:50 pm

i cannot brain the 3 & 6 series grand coupe…
    why would ppl want to get them….. ooooh wait, too much money no where to spent

• shawal on Feb 03, 2014 at 3:00 pm

428i grancoupe Msport….
    Il look up mudah in 7 years time…

• heybadigol on Feb 04, 2014 at 10:04 am

Urmmm…. Didnt BMW already launch this car? It was called the 3 series GT. This is confusing.

At least Audi’s A5 hatchback does not have an equivalent A4 hatch. So its less confusing.

It wont be long before BMW comes up with the 4 series 3 door estate (something like the Ferrari FF)! Just you wait.

• kenneth on Feb 04, 2014 at 11:20 am

this 4 series grand coupe really look good and sporty. the benifit of this model compare to the 4 coupe is it has more doors and more room in the rear but i think the headroom is really short. If is me i better prefer the 3 gt because it looks good and most important the head room is bigger and possible can store more stuff in the luggauge

• disgruntledBMWowner on Feb 04, 2014 at 6:29 pm

Dont fall for BMW Malaysia sweet talk. Once u buy the car u will be treated like garbage and fools. Please boycott these people and let them know we rich folks aren’t fool.

• disgruntledBMWowner on Feb 06, 2014 at 3:35 pm

sorry for my previous remark . I truly love BMW