ASEAN NCAP Phase III test results due out in March

asean ncap almera 2013

An update on the New Car Assessment Program for Southeast Asian Countries (ASEAN NCAP) – the pilot project will be completed with the announcement of ASEAN NCAP Phase III results, expected at the end of March. First phase results were announced in February last year, and Phase II test results in August.

Details are expected to be released then at the ASEAN NCAP Open Day, which is set to take place in Bangkok, though a final decision on the venue will be decided in mid-February given the political situation in the Kingdom. If the event cannot be held in Thailand, then the event will be moved to its “Plan B” venue, which is Malaysia – a delay in the announcement of results is expected by a month or two if this happens.

Phase III evaluation will include the testing of pickups as well as models from various origins (OEMs from India, China and France). Left-hand drive (LHD) cars will be evaluated for the first time.

asean ncap alza 2013

Testing for this phase will also be carried out in Japan at the Japan Automobile Research Institute (JARI) lab in Tsukuba, with the assistance of Australasian NCAP. The JARI facility is an appointed ASEAN NCAP official test lab, and the programme’s first test lab outside the ASEAN region. Testing will also take place in Korea for the first time in KATRI, with the collaboration of Korea NCAP.

A total of 11 models, with two models in both lowest and premium versions, are due to be evaluated, making for a total of 13 results at the end of Phase III testing.

Elsewhere, on the road-map front, the conclusion of testing in phases (the pilot stage is divided into three phases) means that the agency will now operate like other NCAP organisations, in which testing and the release of results are routinely carried out. It’s also set to, like Japan NCAP, introduce the Grand Prix award later this year.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• kadajawi on Feb 03, 2014 at 6:11 pm

Why would LHD cars be tested? If they are LHD, they will not be meant for the ASEAN market, right? So those cars are probably EU/US spec anyway, and thus have been tested by the other NCAP organizations.

Also, when will we finally get side impact tests? And what use is it to compare lowest and highest spec versions of a car, if only frontal impact is tested? Usually higher specs add side airbags (which are only of importance in side impacts) or ESP, which will not have any result on the actual crash.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 23
    • sepul on Feb 03, 2014 at 6:44 pm

The Philiphines is a LHD country, and only country in ASEAN which drives on the left hand side. So testing a LHD is a feasible decision, besides the crash test result may be different due to the mechanical difference between RHD and LHD of the same vehicle model.

• Myanmar, Vietnam, Laos, Philippines are LHD.

• Kadajawi made himself a laughing stock, just like the rest of Proton supporters bunch of clowns jokers. LOL!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
    • Anti Cheat on Feb 03, 2014 at 8:01 pm

Hopefully nobody gets secret re-test second chance (like Proton)…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 20
      • theanswer on Feb 04, 2014 at 8:52 am

re-test but they show 2 different result…the better result is what we get today (flx). at least we knew that the current one is safer.

• Markets like Vietnam, Cambodia, Myanmar and the Phillipeans are all LHD market as well as ASEAN, testing for them will also bring benefits for their side of the market as they. Like Malaysia and almost all ASEAN market bar maybe Singapore, safety standards affect very little in the purchasing decision by the consumers in these countries and crash tet rating or more publisize awareness of it should bring benefits to them.

The only car that has been treated to side impact in the ASEAN-NCAP is the Honda Civic, the result was only average. If I am not mistaken, crash test rating internationally are tested in the cheapest variant on the model, thats why most Indian market cars scored zero as they have no airbags or any safety system to speak of, I have no idea on ASEAN-tested cars.Currently, Naza-immported cars(Kia,Peugeot) and Honda Thailand are one of the few distributors that are giving excellent safety packages to their consumer as far as I am aware of, giving six bags and stability control to their cheapest model(in Naza-distributed cars case, even the cheapest variant).

• why must bar singapore…mitsubishi lancer ex 1.6 there oni have 2 airbag…same oso vios there…better u check

• ‘all ASEAN market bar maybe Singapore, safety standards affect very little in the purchasing decision by the consumers’

I didn’t say that distributors in singapore are nt bringing in cars that still have sub-par safety specs compared to the international market, I’am saying that the decision taken by majority of its citizen there are still heavily influence by the safety standard of a car……and I did say maybe, considering that majority of the cars bought there are of the higher end type as compared to Malaysia.

• kzm talk kok on Feb 04, 2014 at 1:27 pm

Still talking rots kzm?

• 3 Wheel Drive on Feb 03, 2014 at 9:09 pm

Our friends in Philippines are LHD mannn….

• Pontiac on Feb 03, 2014 at 6:17 pm

Go go proton!!
    Vios tin kosong pon kalah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 8
    • Sam Loo on Feb 03, 2014 at 9:40 pm

Yes,approved Australian NCAP 5 star car Preve and Suprima.
      Also for 2013 Cerato and 2014 Optima.
      2014 Vios and Altis?Puiihh NO STAR at all!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 5
  • Oh boy, hot comments coming up!

Okay, back on topic, I don’t think there are much interest from OEM from China, France and India as they do capture only a marginal of ASEAN market and as for french cars are mostly already championed in the EURO-NCAP testing. I have lower hope on Indian OEM as recently many low-end IDM sub-compect boast zero stars in the crash test department, which is less suprising when you consider that airbags are still not standardize unlike Malaysia where two is the minumum requirement.

I do hope ASEAN-NCAP would publisize more on their results like what Euro-NCAP and America’s IHS do, as a first step of public awareness outside of any government control. Next, MAA should standardize a law that all showroom sticker would include crash testing results, America and Europe goes the extra mile by adding emiission and FC figures also and I guess that should be implemented as part of Malaysia ‘drive’for being ASEAN EEV hub. Than and only than, can car safety and enviromental awareness can catch the public awareness, not typing here as some keyboard warrior like what I am doing now.

• roxas on Feb 03, 2014 at 6:40 pm

wahhhh how come alza got 4 star one ???!

• kadajawi on Feb 03, 2014 at 7:34 pm

Frontal impact tested only. Test side impacts and many cars will look very bad in Malaysia.

• theanswer on Feb 04, 2014 at 8:53 am

A pillar damage still better than a myvi.

• CarManiac on Feb 03, 2014 at 7:06 pm

Urmm..why are there no more driven web series??0_O

• do as you like, your credibility already shattered in pieces. hmmph..

• superbird #43 on Feb 03, 2014 at 7:42 pm

my 3700lb automobile does better than this….

• I hope they will do crash test for Viva also.

• I hope they will do crash test for Saga BLM again also.

OK wait, it’s 1-Star crash test…but still Quality zero-Star lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
      • Dei Stupid Stig on Feb 04, 2014 at 12:25 pm

Dei! At least Proton learnt from the BLM mistake and improve it when they make the FLX.

Viva, from day 1 until now, where got do test one? Why? P2 no telur kah???

• pirlo on Feb 04, 2014 at 11:55 pm

stig is amoi/ioma.

• killo on Feb 05, 2014 at 6:35 am

wahahahahahahahah

although the name is different, the omments are still absurd and stupid

• Archangel on Feb 04, 2014 at 3:28 pm

Crash test for MyVi as well.

• Crash on Feb 03, 2014 at 9:49 pm

Safety P1(preve & Suprima s) as local cars crash test much better compare than imported cars but local cars need improve based on quality….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • P1 much better than imported cars? Delusional.

Local cars need improve based on quality? Fact. Go tell Proton OK.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
  • We well not get 5 star NCAP from us, euro, japan and other NCAP. So we make one ourself , with our technology and equipment which sponsor by perodua and proton we make it happen our product 5 star NCAP

• preve and suprima S got Australian 5 star..

• So what? As if its the only car in Australia got 5 star

How many sold per month in Australia? As much as Rolls Royce?

• So what, you want to die in popular car or saved in not so popular proton?

Buy and die in non-proton dangerous car lor. This is Boleh land btw, why cares about Australia? LOL

• SSaturn on Feb 04, 2014 at 1:01 pm

I don’t really trust this ASEAN NCAP website result as in they never show us the test video as what Euro NCAP do. I checked their so call Asean NCAP Frontal Protocol manual, found out lot of high speed camera installation are optional. Out of 13 camera need to install, 6 of them is a must, the rest 7 of them are optional.

• xstar on Feb 04, 2014 at 1:34 pm

Wow! Impressive! Just by checking their manual only you already become an expert.

I think it’s better if you go apply to work there larr.

• True! I doubt if the ASEAN NCAP just another brilliant method to boost Proton sales.

My Prius C is 5 Star rated in IIHS US crash test and my car is from same production line as Prius C US in Japan. It comes with 7 airbags, ABS, traction control, EBD, BA, VSC. For this I know i have a true safe car.

• I dont see anything wrong with retesting, at least it shows effort by the carmaker to improve wats lacking in the first place.

Seriously, is that a bad thing???

• Allow other car makers do retesting also. If only for Proton mana aci ini macam

• pirlo on Feb 05, 2014 at 12:01 am

can. did MIROS say other OEM cannot retest or make an official announcement that only proton can retest?