Toyota Agya – export begins to the Philippines

Toyota_Agya_Indonesia_-006

Toyota and Daihatsu have announced the start of exports of the Toyota Agya from Indonesia to the Philippines, with sales planned to begin at the end of this month.

The five-door hatch, produced by Daihatsu’s Indonesian subsidiary, PT Astra Daihatsu Motor, will be sold in the Philippines under the Toyota brand. Initial export volume is planned at approximately 500 units a month.

The Agya and its eco-car twin, the Daihatsu Ayla, premiered at the 2012 Indonesian International Motor Show, but the Agya’s Indonesian market debut didn’t happen until September last year, its market introduction put on hold until support measures for the country’s Low-Cost Green Cars (LCGC) programme were announced.

The Agya and Ayla are powered by a 997 cc three-cylinder engine, coded the 1KR-FE for the Agya and D26F-1KR-DE for the Ayla. The aluminium-block unit, which weighs 69 kg, is good for 65 hp at 6,000 rpm and 87 Nm of twist at 3,600 rpm. Drivetrain choices for the Indonesian market are a five-speed manual and a four-speed auto – no details as to what the Philippines will be getting.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• wiralution on Feb 03, 2014 at 3:42 pm

Seems like myvi ‘new facelift’ to me.
    997 cc + aluminium block engine.
    Hmmm, I recckon this car will definitely have good FC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
    • ProtonWho on Feb 03, 2014 at 4:20 pm

I’m pretty sure that the export volume of this car will be higher than the total production volume for Proton. Yet our NAP is still protecting the jaguh kampung…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 21
      • AutoFrenz on Feb 03, 2014 at 4:54 pm

Same old comment…boring…get a life laa…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 35
        • Samad Jain on Feb 03, 2014 at 6:38 pm

even if it is gonna be replacement model for viva,

it is actually rebadging exercise than replacing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
          • Low Budget on Feb 04, 2014 at 9:29 am

They cannot re-badge this model as in the original form. The local engineers must also have input to the research and development of the bumper and grills and head lights. Mark my words, the Malaysian version will have same body but slightly different looking front and rear.

• ProtonWho on Feb 03, 2014 at 9:01 pm

Truth hurts, isn’t it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
    • theanswer on Feb 03, 2014 at 5:15 pm

best engine of the year from 2007 til 2010 for sub 1.0 category. yep must be good.

• not myvi lah, but Viva facelift…

• david on Feb 03, 2014 at 3:45 pm

why not export to malaysia?

• I had diarrhoea yesterday, and it looked better than this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 26
    • AhBeng on Feb 03, 2014 at 8:58 pm

You must have a sh*t fetish. Like to smell your own sh*t!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
      • I said ‘looked’, why you keep on want me to smell it? You ok bro?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
  • lemer on Feb 03, 2014 at 3:46 pm

The engine performance spec is really really low, power is just 65.5 ps and torque is only 88 Nm.

• theanswer on Feb 03, 2014 at 5:14 pm

Perodua will be using this engine in the soonest time. they said not viva replacement…i think a new car but viva will remain 660 and 850. the number might be low..but this engine already won best engine of the year (07,08,09,10) for sub 1.0L category.

• Low Budget on Feb 04, 2014 at 9:37 am

The Viva model now also got 1.0 liter what.
        It won’t be surprise this new model ends up as ‘Viva Extreme 1.0’ or ‘Viva SE 1.0’ or something like that.

• Perodua on Feb 03, 2014 at 6:39 pm

For a compact car, its good enough power to weight ratio.

• superbird #43 on Feb 03, 2014 at 7:14 pm

it didnt stop people to modify them for
      1) speed
      2) aesthetics
      3) safety
      thats the way things happened most of the time. we have many hot-rodders here…

• how fast you want to go in such a small car ? go get a bike.

• rifle on Feb 03, 2014 at 4:14 pm

in malaysia, we call it viva from perodua

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • TeresaCockBadutBetina on Feb 03, 2014 at 4:23 pm

Toyota call it Agya and Daihatsu call it Ayla. Pero2 will rebadge & call it Aiya or Ayoyo.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 97 Thumb down 2
    • AutoFrenz on Feb 03, 2014 at 6:29 pm

Haha i like ur name…woof woof nothing to do with dog food issit…haha

• TeresaCockBadutBetina on Feb 03, 2014 at 9:52 pm

Definitely not. I’m just a CNY clown. I’ll go dancing at your doorstep, plucking angpow together with my dragon & lion, soon.

• Turbo_Ridera on Feb 03, 2014 at 4:36 pm

maybe this is going 2 be a new viva…

• carenthusiast on Feb 03, 2014 at 5:21 pm

Viva on steroid! Can I have the steroid which you have injected into viva? I want to inject also in to my Viva so that mine can be muscular like this one. hahahaha

• our Viva a.k.a Bibah looks much better..

• vivaforever on Feb 03, 2014 at 5:38 pm

A viva replacement more likely than Myvi.

• There'sacock on Feb 03, 2014 at 5:54 pm

look cute

• aiyarr on Feb 03, 2014 at 7:31 pm

Toyota aiyarrrrr…aiyorrr..ayahhhhh

• justwaitnsee on Feb 03, 2014 at 9:19 pm

it takes perodua 7 years to launch a new model since viva.but at the end..it still rebadge,rebadge..so on…still think perodua is a “national car”?

• rifle on Feb 04, 2014 at 12:08 am

P2 is actually japanese car..it is own by them for many years now..only the name remains national..

• Gently Speaking on Feb 04, 2014 at 1:12 am

it’s national car.

it contain high amount of Malaysia produced parts.

and need big amount of Malaysian manpower to produce them, etc.

it does boost Malaysia economy, providing thousands of jobs.

• motorhead on Feb 03, 2014 at 10:29 pm

Myvi DNA.. look carefully, the curves. Viva need some refreshments. But too small for me.

• Side looks like picanto, front looks like Viva/Myvi. To sum up, Japanese seems like their creativity has gone down the drain. Where are their creativity like what they have in the 90s?

• Denaihati on Feb 04, 2014 at 9:05 am

looks like myvi but smaller, might be viva replacement model and as usual will have a good sale.

• justwaitnsee on Feb 04, 2014 at 9:34 pm

the car that some people called “national car” just because of CKD parts. plz la. most CKD car produced by T & H also use malaysia local stuff la n manpower.does this make T n H also a “national car”..hahahah..tooo long we have fooled…they said it just bizness..while we kept been fooled for a long time…hahaha