AdaptIVe – European carmakers collaborate on long-term automated driving research project

adaptive

Over in Europe, a consortium of 29 partners has kicked off a research project called AdaptIVe (Automated Driving Applications & Technologies for Intelligent Vehicles), aimed at achieving breakthrough advances that will lead to more efficient and safe automated driving.

The group, which is led by Volkswagen, consists of ten major automotive manufacturers, suppliers, research institutes and universities as well as small and medium-sized businesses. Automotive names on the list include BMW, Daimler, Renault, Peugeot Citroen Automobiles, Fiat, Volvo and Ford.

Expected to last a period of 42 months, the partners will develop and test new functionalities for cars and trucks, offering both partially-automated and highly-automated driving on motorways, in urban scenarios, and for close-distance manoeuvres.

The focus of AdaptIVe will be on achieving ideal cooperative interaction between the driver and the automated system by using advanced sensors, cooperative vehicle technologies and adaptive strategies, in which the level of automation is dynamically adapted to the situation and driver status.

Seven cars and one truck are set to be deployed for the project, and will demonstrate various combinations of automated functions. In addition to addressing technology development aspects, the project – which has a budget of 25 million euros and is funded by the European Commission – will also explore legal implications for manufacturers and drivers, in particular regarding product liability and road traffic laws.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• poltergeist on Feb 04, 2014 at 11:08 am

Meanwhile in bolehland, ploton bashers want to close down proton, no fighting spirit nor nationalism in them. Look at the europeans, what they achieve now and always try to greater and greater. Let alone only malaysia has its own car company among asean xountries and others are just rebadgers or assemblers.

Proton bashers are stupid forever.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 37
    • farizY on Feb 04, 2014 at 11:43 am

Instead of using the word bashers, why don’t we use the word critics?
      1) Close down Proton: Keeps on losing money, not competitive globally, only remained as jaguh kampung. It’s a no brainer to close Proton.
      2)Look at Europeans, they collaborate, now, Proton collaborate with whom?? Any tier 1 companies in partnership with Proton? NO.
      3)Why the europeans are great, there is no protection policy like what Proton is given here in Malaysia. Everybody on equal plains which encourages innovation and healthy competitions. Try abolishing AP and remove the ridiculous tax, see if anybody still buy Proton or Perodua. Gomen does not dare to do this to protect cronies.
      4)What to be proud of if every year rugi saja? btw, Malaysia only how many citizens? 28 million I guess? no need national car. Rugi saja.
      5)Have you ever though that those who criticised Proton want them to improve? Stupid Proton macai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 5
      • Ibrahim on Feb 04, 2014 at 12:31 pm

You also Malaysian what. Anything malaysian is low class including YOU!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 28
      • poltergeist on Feb 04, 2014 at 2:35 pm

1.close down proton – what a third class thinking. Closing down is much easier than building up. If like that then if dun like then go out from bolehland. So now who’s speaking here? Both are idiots.

2.proton collaborate with whom? Go out ftom cave. As long as it’s beneficial who cares who collaborated with what. Japs china even india.

3.no prote tio n, again pls go out from cave. There are protections everywhere anywhere in any kind of forms. Grants, policies, taxes etc.

4.export export export

5.you want proton to close down then how it can improve.? Either you have serious mental disorder or you are plain stupid to brain evrything.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
        • farizY on Feb 04, 2014 at 4:03 pm

1.Why closing down a third class mentality? For instance, SAAB, a company from Sweden (a first class country mind you), pioneer of various areas in automotive, went bankrupt (being closed down) a few years back because it was not profitable. Third class thinking is it? Either kept on rugi or close shops, I don’t see where’s the third class part here?
          2.Yes, who exactly Proton collaborate with? Honda? rebadged. Mitsu? Rebadged. Collaborate interms of tech? where? show me. Japs, China, India, mana ada kawan.
          3.Protection everywhere? what BS is this? I give you simple clear example, why Merc C63 AMG is priced at about RM700k here in Malaysia whereby in US you can get it for less than RM300k? Why in the UK and Japan the pricing is a lot more competitive? Why can’t we follow, contoh yang baik for the sake of Malaysians? Kawan, like I said, remove AP, remove ridiculous tax, then we talk. Even those konon-konon patriotic menteris and cronies drive Mercs, BMWs, AUDIs, Porsches, etc.
          4.Export, YES. I don’t see Proton disclosing their global sales vs domestic sales and how profitable it is. Then if export also, how to compete with tier 1 companies if still protecting Proton, no strong partnership which blocks innovations and healthy competitions?
          5.Yeah, either close down Proton, OR improve; and by the way, no need to go personal, you tool. (I smell UMNOism here).

Food for thought; KIA rebooted in 1986, look at them now.

• poltergeist on Feb 04, 2014 at 4:53 pm

Pls get your meds first. Mentioning closed saab then giving options to proton either to improve or close down? Collaboration has more general meaning including rebadging. And protection? Duh. You narriw it down to only taxing and it’s not the only way protection working in the world.

Get your stance keep it and then get your facts right kid. If not you only shiw how immature you are not to mention half baked supports for your arguements. Lol

• poltergeist on Feb 04, 2014 at 4:54 pm

Pls get your meds first. Mentioning closed saab then giving options to proton either to improve or close down? Collaboration has more general meaning including rebadging. And protection? Duh. You narriw it down to only taxing and it’s not the only way protection is working in the world.

Get your stance keep it and then get your facts right kid. If not you only shiw how immature you are not to mention half baked supports for your arguements. Lol

• vk9545 on Feb 04, 2014 at 5:16 pm

Patriotic? Ya right. And what does all our ministers mps sultans raja cm pm all riding? All are non national cars. Talk about leading by example. Taking a good example out of hyundai and kia Is what proton needs. Proton needs to closed down or overhauled top to bottom from every part

• that’s different story altogether, stick to the discussion about proton not about ministers ride. you sure have 3x brunch a day, kaki lepak lazy worker

• Josh Ling on Feb 04, 2014 at 12:51 pm

automated driving is not gonna enhance the safety of people travelling on the roads. period. it might just make the whole thing worse.

• farizY on Feb 04, 2014 at 1:27 pm

Planes have been taking-off/landing themselves for years, nobody seems bothered about whether it is safe or not (seems to be safe though).
      I kinda fancy the idea of automated cars with manual override. Example, on a boring commute (jams etc.), I would turn on the automatic driving mode, on a enjoyable winding road, I hope I would be able to turn it off and manually drive the car.

• Its not going to enhance safety in countries that have poor road management and Malaysia is one of them. Lanes can suddenly merge from 3 to one and road signs that tell you which road you missed instead of going. Add to that, there re so many kamikazes/motorcyclist(including kids aged 10 with no helmet) on the road swerving in and out and playing Russian roulette against death….with a Uzi.

Personally, I believe in semi automation…..cars driving by itself but only on the highway, and once is past a toll, the driver has to take over. I do not have the slightest confidence leaving the machine or software to deal with urban scenarios where there are so many pedestrians crossing the road, my personal experience with software is that they don’t do well under heavy work load….add to that, beside one or two super-computers, humans still can react and counter react to situation faster.

PS: AdaptiV (without the ending e) is also a name use for BAE defence thermal defeating stealth armor….just some an easter egg.

• shawal on Feb 04, 2014 at 12:58 pm

This form of automation of mobility will further decrease the human intellect as a collective, more and more will opt for automation, will not invest time and effort into learning how to drive (like previously you had to learn how to ride.a.horse / bike…), learning.the rules and regulations of driving, road manners, patience, further reduction in jobs oppurtunities…
    If they dont.drive, they are unlikely to notice the wear and tear.effect of the car, unlikely to maintain it,

Granted, there are benefits for the OKU, maybe even reducing accidents, but.computers are never free from modifications, malware, virus, hacks and.so forth

• Xplorer on Feb 04, 2014 at 1:39 pm

I don’t really prefer 100% counting on tech especially on safety (sometime manual works better then chips).

Jst my 2cents.