Land Rover Freelander 2 Si4 S now in showrooms

The petrol-powered Land Rover Freelander 2 that we saw parked at JPJ Putrajaya last year is finally in showrooms. It’s listed at RM293,888, which is a premium over the 2.2 Diesel HSE model’s RM289,888 price tag, however there’s more than just the RM4k price difference. Thanks to reader sudonano for the tip.

Because the petrol model is in ‘S’ trim, it has significantly less equipment compared to the more upmarket ‘HSE’ trim diesel. The interior is upholstered in cloth, while the sound system is only a basic 80W system versus the Meridian 380W system in the HSE diesel. At least the sunroof is still there.

The equivalent diesel-powered ‘S’ spec model is priced at just RM259,888, so you pay a big premium trading the 2.2 litre diesel for the 2.0 litre turbocharged petrol engine.

land-rover-freelander2-si4-malaysia

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• fiuzz on Feb 04, 2014 at 8:17 pm

high price tag with less accessories. let me think bout petrol again.

• Cetak Tak Mati on Feb 04, 2014 at 11:55 pm

if you want more accessories go to brothers.

little money can buy you many accessories but it takes lots of money to buy you class get it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 31
      • kington on Feb 05, 2014 at 12:34 pm

And you think accessories at BRothers are as good as OEM ones? You’ve got to be kidding. Not forgetting their workmanship.

Class, you cannot buy.

• ARIFFIN on Feb 06, 2014 at 10:01 am

Class can’t be bought but can only be cultivated. That’s why you can see people with Merc, BMWs etc with no class at all but some people with Myvi has a lot of class. Get it?

• sudonano on Feb 04, 2014 at 8:24 pm

Went to see it, to be honest if you thought this is a luxury car, trust me the price is the only thing “luxurious” about it. The seat fabric is rough and rather cheap feeling. Not comfortable at all the seats. Yes it has a sunroof and 7 airbags. But that is it. The multimedia system (I suspect has 4 x 20W speakers) is comical, no touch screen like a modern Land Rover, instead it has a fiddly rotary and OK button to scroll through the screen which is about the size of a credit card or and iPhone 3G screen, and has so low resolution, it will make your 2005 smart phone look like a “HD” display. The gear knob is still from the BMW era, so it has a gear shift that is strongly reminiscent of the old E90/E60 BMW shifter (BMW at one point owned Rover, which owned Land Rover if I am not wrong).

No power boot like the HSE SD4. Lots of unpainted black bits too, like the window caps, rear pillars, and comically tiny rims.

The price, at first I thought was a typo. Too bad I was wrong. 293k? I can get the better specced Honda CRV 2.4 and go on holiday. Or put a bit more and get the X3 20i. Or the Audi Q5 2.0TFSI. Insane.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 3
    • big joe on Feb 04, 2014 at 9:20 pm

And no wow factor, no road presence…save bit more n get evoque. I tot the price wud be around rm180k..but rm300k..wow, thats the WOW factor. In term of pricing, Range rover went too far for this one.

• I believe this SUV is meant for off-road. This is for people who can’t afford (or don’t want to spend for) a Range Rover. Don’t think a CRV would get anywhere close to the off-road capability of this.
      Why don’t you save up just a bit more for the Evoque? That is certainly much better than this. But the Evoque has a rather small rear legroom.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • zamer on Feb 04, 2014 at 10:19 pm

agreed..i have a neighbour own some kind of same model..the plate no. is WK* and i think it looks almost the same as these..

i thought its cheap for a 2nd hand around 40-50k until i saw the brand new price which i guess get a merc or bmw or audi is far more worth or better still, CX-5 for family and audi A1 for fun drive

• maliq on Feb 04, 2014 at 11:24 pm

wow almost 300k! thats a lot of money for some freelander. u can get 2008 freelander for 130k and if u really want to spend 300k on a land rover, u can get a 2011 evoque for just a little bit more than that. but i can get other SUV for half of the price and i can also get another car with the other half of the price.

• sudonano on Feb 05, 2014 at 10:04 am

Just a heads up, the Evoque 2013 stock is now having a run out sale – I presume cause the 9 speed is now on sale in UK already, so the price is now starting at 320k or so for a pre reg, 0 mileage car. Put the extra 20k and get the much nicer Evoque. Yes the boot and back seat is smaller, but the fit and finish feels like a 350k car. Unlike this.

• big joe on Feb 04, 2014 at 8:28 pm

For rm300k, i wud go for other brand of suv..this one is ugly..the premium thing about this suv is the brand only..design is zero.

• Cetak Tak Mati on Feb 04, 2014 at 11:57 pm

thats why small fries like you can never afford 300k car. u can never understand swag

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
      • judge dreddddd on Feb 05, 2014 at 10:01 am

Seriously i pity those bought this suv..nothing special. very rarely see one at my hometown at ttdi kl. Here ppl drive evoque, x3,q5 n land cruiser..i just cant understand the price tag, boring boxy look n if u remove the front grill, u just tot ahh just another lame boring suv until u notice the brand name..then ull be surprise esp after knowing the price. This suv is initially presentable, but having such design with that price..ooo man thats criminal, same like the 1st generation of bmw x3. N obviouly we’ve already know the fate of this freelander

• paucharsiew on Feb 08, 2014 at 8:16 am

i know die hard freelander fans who gave up their freelander 2 because despite all the rave reviews by whatcar and etc etc…it was unreliable and rather poor to drive. lesson : don trust the brits too much, they really are bias towards their cars.

• ARIFFIN on Feb 06, 2014 at 10:11 am

Come on , come on, there are many small fries that own cars that cost more than 300K. You think people who make 30k to 40k are VIP’s huh? They are just small fries who can afford 300k cars.

• Wozer on Feb 04, 2014 at 10:16 pm

“Command driving position” is now a feature?

You can get that for less in a CR-V.

• lonelyobserve on Feb 04, 2014 at 10:55 pm

If money is not the problem, customise the whole Land Rover Freelander 2, using the car configurator from Land Rover website, do not take the Malaysian spec.

• Keris Jawa on Feb 04, 2014 at 11:32 pm

Boleh jual ke ni?

• Yes…only idiots like Cetak Tak Mati who understand swag would buy this car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • seancorr on Feb 05, 2014 at 12:51 am

This model is a joke compared to the Evoque. At RM300k you have a wealth of options to go with rather than settling for this obsolete model (New Freelander coming soon).

At this kind of price I’d put more cash in for the Evoque, X3

• paucharsiew on Feb 05, 2014 at 4:17 am

i think this is the worst car land rover makes now.

• Josh Ling on Feb 05, 2014 at 6:32 am

at least diesel-powered cars are not the ones to scorn at for Land Rover, unlike some European brands always put diesel-powered ones as their bare-spec cars.

• mmaker on Feb 05, 2014 at 9:26 am

The S means Sampah

• i’d rather top up to get an XC60, the freelander is not here not there, not as as sporty to drive as a BMW, not as safe as a Volvo, not as nice inside as a Mercedes, not as robust inside like an Audi, not as reliable as a Lexus, yet priced like one of them..seriously think Malaysian consumers are dumb?

• keluangman on Feb 05, 2014 at 1:25 pm

a good SUV to drive on or off road, but at a ridiculous selling price. I blame the CBU tax and poor forex leading to this high price.

• taiko on Feb 05, 2014 at 2:16 pm

my dream car.need to wait for 7 years more.hopefully.CHEERS

• Wut…? U seriouus?? Even if i afford this car also dun want to buy..baik i angkut x3 or xc60

• Its interesting because the hyundai santa fe and the freelander are priced almost similar in the UK. I wonder why the freelander is much more expensive. Surely all the options marked cannot be 70-80k more. Our santa fe here is already pretty much well equipped.

• WhatYearAreWeLivingIn? on Feb 06, 2014 at 12:58 am

What year are we living in again? Wow, i didn’t know con jobs are in your face these days.

• Guys, who in the world told you that Freelander is a luxury vehicle?? You guys just saw the price of 300k n started talking bad about the car, cuz you cant afford it.

This vehicle is for rough use with decent amount of features. If you want luxury, go buy the range rover hse

• tougeke70 on Feb 07, 2014 at 11:41 am

funny how people comment on how expensive landrovers are. Landrovers are engineered to be luxrious yet not sacrificing offroad performance and good on road performance.

Try bringing your crv for some offroading and compared to this landie.

• Melcos on Feb 07, 2014 at 8:18 pm

If got money, just buy it…got no 300k, just be happy and dream about it when see it on the road..chears