VW, Hyundai and Toyota top China car sales in 2013

vw-lavida

The headline above is the answer to which brands made the sales podium in China last year. Volkswagen dominating the world’s largest car market is no surprise, given its long presence and strong branding there, but coming in a (distant) second is the Korean brand Hyundai. Foreign marques accounted for the top eight spots in 2013, according to IHS Automotive.

Volkswagen sales rose nearly 17% to 2.4 million units. Korean rival Hyundai saw even more growth – nearly 20% – to just over one million vehicles, while Toyota grew 15% to 858,000 units. Overall sales of light vehicles in China rose 14% in 2013, so each of the top three outperformed the market.

In the battle of the giant groups, Volkswagen Group edged out General Motors in total sales. GM’s top brand in China last year was Buick (fifth), followed by Chevrolet in seventh. They sandwich Nissan in sixth. Ford, which recorded an amazing 62% sales growth, finished the year in eighth.

The Blue Oval’s third-gen Focus sedan was the best selling car in the dominant compact sedan market, ahead of stalwarts VW Lavida (pictured above) and Buick Excelle.

Where are the local Chinese brands, you ask. Great Wall leads the domestic charge in ninth place, ahead of BYD (11th), Chery (13th) and Dongfeng (16th).

Top five brands in China, 2013
Volkswagen 2,395,695
Hyundai 1,030,708
Toyota 857,749
Nissan 842,847
Buick 807,769

Top five compact sedans in China, 2013
Ford Focus 403,640
VW Lavida 374,056
Buick Excelle 296,183
Toyota Corolla 294,401
Chevrolet Sail 276,242

To find out who sold how many in Malaysia last year, see MAA’s vehicle production and sales data for 2013.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• sudonano on Feb 04, 2014 at 1:30 pm

Sam Loo MIA already?

VW has a lot of China market models, like the Lavida (3 variants, the Cross, New Lavida, Gran Lavida) and the Santana Vista. Many of these VWs sold are the older models, and with manuals so yea, they are relatively reliable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • Proton Memalulan Malaysia! on Feb 04, 2014 at 2:23 pm

Korean cars started same time as Proton. See where is Proton and where is Hyundai now? Worldwide sales of ALL cars in the world, Hyundai is ranked as No 5 in the entire world and No 3 in China.

If Proton did not practice cronyism and get low quality parts from their crony vendors, we too could sell 1 million cars in China just like Hyundai did. This what happens when you give supply vendor contracts to your relatives, kakak ipar, anak ipar, abang saudara, abang angkat, kakak saudara, atuk dan nenek.

Proton has ZERO International name. Both Hyundai and Proton started same time. More or less the same time. See the difference now. Infact Hyundai had it harder. they had to fight Kia, Ssangyong, Daewoo and many others without the kind of Protection Proton got.

Somemore, Korean government never protect Hyundai like Malaysian government protect Proton. Rakyat Korea free to buy other cars which are more or less same price as their local Hyundai or Kia.

Proton got ZERO marketshare in global market. Local market also, because rakyat kena paksa, that is why got sales. If MITI does not control the prices of other cars so that it does not undercut Proton, Proton would have gone bust 20 years ago.

So shameful for Proton. We also could have sales like Hyundai if not for Proton’s low quality parts and crony vendor program.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 153 Thumb down 15
      • Tyler Durden on Feb 04, 2014 at 2:50 pm

Bloody good comment !

Hats off for you, mate !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 6
      • sudonano on Feb 04, 2014 at 2:56 pm

Have to agree. The Kia Cerato/Hyundai Elantra just feels nicer than our Preve. Such a pity.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 3
      • kadajawi on Feb 04, 2014 at 3:03 pm

Actually for the most part the protectionism in Korea was much more extreme than in Malaysia. Like foreign brands being completely banned etc. Only recently have they opened up. Also Kia was established 1944, Hyundai 1967.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
        • Sam Loo's step brother on Feb 04, 2014 at 4:05 pm

Shhhh..are you crazy!? According to Kimchi fans, cronyism, protectionism and corruption NEVER exist in the Land of Glory Morning~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 14
          • kadajawi on Feb 04, 2014 at 5:25 pm

Actually protectionism exists in many places. In China, where companies can only sell cars if they corporate with a local company (or there are very high taxes for cars that aren’t a coproduction, something like that. In the USA where trucks must be made in the US. And on and on and on. Doesn’t make what happens in Malaysia better of course.

• kadajawi on Feb 04, 2014 at 5:27 pm

Another example… IIRC the French had very high taxes on high cc cars, cause the Germans tended to produce high cc cars. Stops people from buying them.

• kadajawi on Feb 04, 2014 at 5:30 pm

I miss an edit function here…

IIRC the Greek were a bit odd though. They’d put high taxes on LOCAL vehicles. Foreign ones weren’t taxed that high. But then, well, look at where they are now.

• farizY on Feb 04, 2014 at 4:47 pm

Kia was established in 1944 to produce bicycles and steel tubings. Not cars. They started with cars in 1974, but had to give them up after new ruler took over (to focus on just trucks), the current KIA is rebooted in 1986.
          I mean, why can’t we look up at those who is successful instead of continue to protect our insecurity?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
          • rickylleow on Feb 04, 2014 at 10:42 pm

I hate to say this but no one in the management or vendors of Proton not even one staff or assembly worker dare to stand out and say ” I do not need protection from the government, I can stand on my own and I am confident enough to compete with the world best.” Instead, they will always say,” Give us more grants, impose more restrictions on others, make us monopolize the market.” With this type of mentality, can Malaysian expect something good from Proton.

• youbo on Feb 04, 2014 at 11:39 pm

Name me auto companies that say such things to their government? Or else you are living in your dream, have you ever said to your parents when you couldn’t afford money that you dun want any monetary help from them?

Stupid.

• Kia was establiish in 1944, but along with Honda, or more specifically Soichiro honda, was only making bicycle. Its history mirrors that of honda where Kia continues to make motorcycles and steel under the name Kyungsung industry. It move on to make Mazda cars for Ford in 1986 and rumors states that the oval badge of Kia was meant to be that so that itt can be swapped with a Ford’s blue oval badge. It only started building its own cars in 97′ with the 2nd gen Sephia with help from the Hiroshima-based Mazda. The Asian financial crisis also meant that the Sephia/Spectra is the only car Kia to develope before merging with Hyundai.

Hyundai is a much, much Larger company akin to mega company like Toyota, Mitsubishi and Volkswagen, comprising not only cars but construction, defence and shipbuilding amongst others. But Hyundai-motors started of with Korea’s first domestic car in 75′, the Pony, is design, engineered by Europeans and (like Proton) has its powertrain derive from Mitsubishi…Hyundai is now the 2nd largest autobile company in asia and also the 4th in the world, they also have the largest single auto manufecturig plant in the world, in Ulsan.

• Low Budget on Feb 04, 2014 at 4:02 pm

“Proton got ZERO market share in global market..”

I am afraid you are not so correct here, Proton do manage to export a few units here and there, so please be kind enough to give it some shares, perhaps like 0.001 per cent?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
      • Only blind macai surely deny your truthful statement! Bravo Sir, bravo!!!

• Moores on Feb 04, 2014 at 4:32 pm

Korean protection to their car market and other industries are far more extreme to Malaysia. Just over 15 years ago, foreign cars are almost unreachable to most Koreans. Over 90% of cars in Korea are local. I believe also most Koreans are more patriotic and support their cars. It was only after IMF stepped in during economy crisis in 1997 that Korean economy are more liberal. It’s a blessing in disguise actually. Because of the IMF condition in bailing Korea out of the crisis, Korea are now flourishing. From car industries to kpop, yes even K-pop benefitted from the open economy. Too bad, Mahathir refused to accept IMF at that time because of NEP and other special privilege protection which is against IMF requirement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
      • Win Er on Feb 04, 2014 at 4:49 pm

You think Proton care? As long as they are still earning the cold hard cash of Malaysians they will continue supplying vendor contracts to their relatives, kakak ipar, anak ipar, abang saudara, abang angkat, kakak saudara, atuk dan nenek.

• Low Budget on Feb 04, 2014 at 9:21 pm

Proton is not making any profit by selling cars at all, they depend on the gomen to ‘cucuk’ them a few hundred million each year under the guise of research and development.

• who cares , it’s not under gomen anymore.

• razibar on Feb 04, 2014 at 6:35 pm

i sense sourgrapes here. if you got a contract to supply parts to proton, then you will sing a different tune…muah ha ha

• Low Budget on Feb 04, 2014 at 9:23 pm

It is a fact that cronies companies are supplying parts to Proton and some parts are of inferior quality, the Power Windows parts up to a couple of years ago are legendary!

• AutoFrenz on Feb 04, 2014 at 8:18 pm

Since theres nothing good about proton about the govt about this country about this about that and almost everything except you…you are still hadap to live here…ish ish ish…you really have no shame arent you…you are the one who should be malu…puiiii…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
      • AutoFrenz on Feb 04, 2014 at 8:36 pm

Since theres nothing good about proton about the govt about the country about this about that and almost everything except you…the big question is why are you STILL so hadap to live here…you should be ashamed of yourself because you are the one who have no malu…puiii…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
        • Low Budget on Feb 04, 2014 at 9:28 pm

Same old, same old lines…
          This is always your last argument,
          “If you don’t like it here go back to China/India”.
          The farking thing is we want all Malaysians to improve quickly together rather than one section is dragging another section down.

• AutoFrenz on Feb 05, 2014 at 12:47 pm

Then balik laaa…dont make any more noise here…complain this complain that…puiiiii

• Spirior on Feb 05, 2014 at 6:53 am

You must be dreaming. South Korea had various measures of protecting its local players via various taxation. They are also infamous of their crony chaebol system. Very similar to Jap’s keiretsu.

All foreign brands in China are JVs with local parties. And these are tie ups with people close to the Communist party.

Try to read a bit.

• autodriver on Feb 05, 2014 at 9:57 am

I am agree in some points but also disagree in the other points. In fact some components Protxn taken from famous or big MNC company. Like the chassis steel, it is taken from local company (non-malay owned, my friend working there) but the unprocessed steel was imported from “Korea”.

And guess what, Preve, Suprima S and Savvy were designed by foreigner, there are non-Malaysian design.

It is undeniable Protxn having bad quality control. The root cause may not only pointing to its supplier but to its own QC team should take the most responsibility.

• phuwekkk on Feb 05, 2014 at 10:16 am

actually hyundai was started at 1967. meanwhile proton was established in 1985. that’s a 18 year different. But as much as i hate to admit it. you were right. Proton suffer is cause by those cronies vendor (pak cik, adik punya etc. What to do kroni punya pasal ma.

• Albert Lee on Feb 05, 2014 at 1:51 pm

Just a passing thought.Do you know why Toyota kept using the same engine for their new Vios?Simply because it has been proven reliable and economical fuel wise.Why spend 1 billion dollars on R n D for new engine?
        The Americans have not invested in new rocket engines for their ICBMs for the last 20 years,but still have enough nuke firepower to obliterate rogue nations.Why?Simple cos their rocket engines have proven reliable and efficient.
        How about Proton,the last 25 years?They cant even produce a proper engine.

• AutoFrenz on Feb 04, 2014 at 7:13 pm

See even chinese dont buy their own cars haha…only malaysian chinese are so hadap to defend china’s cars…so good lah, high quality lah…haha what a joke…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
  • farizY on Feb 04, 2014 at 1:33 pm

Ahhhh, China, the land where Toyota isn’t king.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
    • kadajawi on Feb 04, 2014 at 3:04 pm

Neither is Toyota in Europe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
      • Jolokia on Feb 05, 2014 at 9:11 am

Toyota is King in the yankee land & offcoz King in the world.

• Where is Proton?????????? on Feb 04, 2014 at 3:21 pm

Where is Proton? Local market champion for 30 years but still cannot get marketshare in China?

In UK, kena kutuk gila gila from Jeremy Clarkson. Top Gear awarded it the “Most dangerous Car”

In Australia, Australians also awarded it the “Most Dangerous Car”

Yet in China, even with DSG scandal, VW still can sell 3 million car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
      • Low Budget on Feb 04, 2014 at 4:06 pm

Cannot sell in China, they drive on the other side of the road, the steering is installed at the wrong place.

• farizY on Feb 04, 2014 at 4:12 pm

As long as cronies thinking of protecting their pockets, Proton will remain nowhere.

• Look at how Youngman sell Gen2 in China…fugly like hell

• Preve got 5 star australian ncap safety rating.
        Dun talk bs here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
        • kadajawi on Feb 04, 2014 at 5:35 pm

Proton has been absolutely dangerous. But they did get better over time. The Saga was a sort of reasonable cheap effort. The Exora was better, and the Preve and Suprima are genuinely safe.

• Mee Goreng on Feb 05, 2014 at 4:54 am

‘Yet in China, even with DSG scandal, VW still can sell 3 million car.’

And even more surprising: Even with the ‘brake doesn’t work’ scandal and ‘roll over in curves’ scandal Toyota sells more than 800,000 cars there… ;)

• phuwekkk on Feb 05, 2014 at 10:18 am

can you give me a link or proof of your statement here? and what model did this was awarded to in aussie?

• So how many cars did Youngman Proton sold? As much as China Lamborghini sales units??

• taiko on Feb 04, 2014 at 1:43 pm

well done VW but not in the boleh land.CHEERS.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
  • Petrolhead on Feb 04, 2014 at 1:43 pm

2013 Top 5 brands in Malaysia
    Perodua 196,071
    Proton 138,753
    Toyota 91,185
    Nissan 53,156
    Honda 51,544

2013 Top 5 brands in China
    Volkswagen 2,395,695
    Hyundai 1,030,708
    Toyota 857,749
    Nissan 842,847
    Buick 807,769

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
    • farizY on Feb 04, 2014 at 4:14 pm

No thanks to AP and ridiculous tax in Malaysia. Otherwise, it would have been very different.
      Don’t anybody start with patriotic BS; even the ministers and their cronies do not drive Protons/Peroduas.

• Lemer on Feb 04, 2014 at 1:48 pm

China, European countries and south American countries they all like VW. VW there is always number 1.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Yours Faithfully (YF) on Feb 04, 2014 at 2:34 pm

China is one huge market and to see more Hyundai sold compared to Toyotas are sight for sore eyes! And people say Hyundai is still far away from Toyota…ish ish ish….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 10
    • Vader on Feb 04, 2014 at 3:41 pm

People say this, people say that.. haizzzz… if these statement make your feel comfortable, why not?
      But the fact is Korean car getting strong and strong.

• kadajawi on Feb 04, 2014 at 5:55 pm

Toyota is suffering from their idiotic government. It is surprising that Malaysian Chinese have forgotten their past and ignore the constant insults by the Japanese. How can they buy Japanese products after what happened, without even an apology? No, the Japanese government still celebrate their war criminals. What the hell. And now they are preparing for an attack on China (the pledge to never again start a war was removed recently), so much so that the USA is getting pissed off at the Japanese and pressed them into returning the plutonium the Americans have lent the Japanese during the Cold War.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
      • Black Dog on Feb 05, 2014 at 1:03 pm

we are not living in the past. Get a life!

• Moores on Feb 05, 2014 at 10:39 pm

So we don’t eat Cadbury chocolate also because British came and conquer us last time?

• You might not know that there are reasons why Japanese cars are not selling well in China. This is historical reason and not forgetting the current conflict over the Senkaku/DiaoYu islands.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
    • Lemer on Feb 04, 2014 at 3:14 pm

Why Japanese cars are not selling well in mexico all the way to down south to argentine? And a lot of countries in the between? And why Japanese car are not selling well in european from UK in the north all the way down to turkey in the south and many countries in betweens?

• Oh, Ivan will say there’s conflict in those countries as well with the Japs. What a pussy.

• Agree with ivan, there were some toyotas n nissans smashed up in china over the diaoyu island issues. Generally, the mainland china people still really dislikes Japan. Can’t deny that they won’t purchase jap cars due to this.

• kadajawi on Feb 04, 2014 at 5:59 pm

Well, IMHO in Germany Toyota has the image of being quite reliable, but utterly dreadful. You’re immediately an uncle if you buy a Toyota, especially a larger one. And Toyota realized that and rebranded the Corolla to Auris in a huge campaign. Problem was the first Auris was a Corolla with a new name. It wasn’t in any way better than the Corolla. So people saw that and gave it a pass.

Also the Yen seems to be too strong, making CBU cars from Japan too expensive to compete (hence the failure of Daihatsu).

• kadajawi on Feb 04, 2014 at 8:11 pm

Oh, and also the image of bomb proof reliability has taken a hit. Toyota isn’t as good as they used to be.

Other things… they have basically stopped importing Japanese MPVs to Europe, cause conti brands were too much of a competition. Nissan is not even selling regular cars anymore. They sell mini SUVs, compact SUVs, big SUVs, 4x4s.

Mitsubishi was never big. Honda wasn’t either, though the old Civics were quite popular IMHO amongst enthusiasts. Or the CRX. Mazda did so so, still so so. Not too bad I guess. It’s a shame that the MX3 is history though.

• Lem Hee on Feb 05, 2014 at 1:58 am

Because Japan never apologized to all countries south of Mexico

• I think the more suprising fact is that they still buy Japanese marques there given that the political stability in that region is not in Japan’s favor. But than again, the rising growth of non-Japanese foreign marques kinda reflects that.

• Walter Ty on Feb 04, 2014 at 3:13 pm

This much is clear – mainland Chinese consumers have a definite preference for German & Korean vehicles. The current dispute over Diaoyutai/Senkaku has really affected Toyota & other Japanese vehicle marques in the People’s Republic.

• roxas on Feb 04, 2014 at 3:51 pm

bcoz the chinese owasys wanted to change and does not want to lose, so they chose VW n hyundai over toyota ! no more toyota 1st !

• hyunkia on Feb 04, 2014 at 4:31 pm

Let”s together boycott all jap product and their AV industry too!haha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • motorhead on Feb 04, 2014 at 4:34 pm

Not worth talk about proton.. not relevant. It’s a fact. Please swallow it. Like it or not. Spoon fed industry won’t work.

• Sushi my a$$ on Feb 04, 2014 at 7:15 pm

Shame to see China is better than choosing car than Malaysians. We still stick to lousy spec overpriced me toyota cars, and the badge of course. Who say sushi is better than kimchi? Go argue with the biggest country in the world (beside russia). They 1 person spit each also can drown the umw cronies sam/hilux/maserati.

• As u can all see, we can see the breakdown of sales by individual models, in Malaysia the geniuses at MyCc banned tis info from being published, no wonder Malaysia falling further and further down..they should classfied the monthly car sales by model u der ISA, Potong oso good, no one can know how teribble their Preve amd supima models r selling

• Green on Feb 04, 2014 at 10:30 pm

Japanese Car Sales plunged about 50%.

reason – Sabotaj.
    Anti-Japanese Car campaign.

1. http://online.wsj.com/news/articles/SB10000872396390444024204578045724099165996

2. http://www.usatoday.com/story/driveon/2012/10/09/toyota-honda-sales-china-plunge-dispute-japan/1622003/