Aston Martin recalls 17,590 cars, Chinese supplier’s counterfeit plastic pedal arm at fault

AM-Virage-Volante

Aston Martin is recalling a total of 17,590 cars after discovering that a Chinese sub-supplier was using counterfeit plastic material in a component, Reuters reports. The cars are being recalled because the accelerator pedal arm may break, increasing the risk of a crash, according to NHTSA documents.

The recall involves all of Aston Martin’s left-hand-drive models built since November 2007 and all right-hand-drive models made since May 2012. It affects 75% of all vehicles produced in that period. AM’s latest flagship Vanquish model is not affected.

Aston Martin found that Shenzhen Kexiang Mould Tool Co, a Chinese sub-contractor that moulds accelerator pedal arms, used counterfeit plastic material supplied by Synthetic Plastic Raw Material Co Ltd of Dongguan. A spokeswoman for Aston Martin said there had been no reports of accidents and that the financial impact to the automaker was small.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• kadajawi on Feb 06, 2014 at 1:05 pm

Why did Aston Martin use plastic pedal arms made in China in the fist place?! Have to cut cost cause the car is just too cheap?! The arm in my cheap Renault is made from metal…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
    • AutoFrenz on Feb 06, 2014 at 4:07 pm

If Aston Martin with all their Audit and strict Accounting can kena cheat, can you imagine how our Proton is being cheated by the crony vendor suppliers? All the crony vendor supliers are all relatives of ministers and kaki kelentong.

Buy door handle from china for RM20, but sell to Proton for RM200. that is why our Proton is so expensive!

Bodoh BN

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 32
      • armandd on Feb 07, 2014 at 2:47 am

Can you at least provide some evidence before coming up with such statement? If I say bodoh sure you will get angry, but that’s the truth.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
      • kerapu on Feb 07, 2014 at 12:27 pm

actually the bodoh is belongs to u….

• TeresaCockBadutBetina on Feb 06, 2014 at 6:58 pm

Made in China ma…..normal lor…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
    • forza 3 on Feb 07, 2014 at 11:22 am

Ok la pedal arms made in China… still can shift gears.. Volvo lagi banyak parts made in china maa… no need to recall.. increase price some more.. can auto drive some more. Volvo for life anyone?

• azrai on Feb 06, 2014 at 1:15 pm

Hahaha..even Exora and Preve use German made accelerator pedal. This one use Chnia ‘counterfeit’ one?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 6
  • Deng Xiao Peng on Feb 06, 2014 at 1:16 pm

Ha, ha, ha. Even Aston Martin buys its parts from China. No wonder it is not doing well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 4
  • AutoFrenz on Feb 06, 2014 at 1:18 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 157 Thumb down 436
    • AutoFrenz on Feb 06, 2014 at 3:59 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 228
      • Coul notbagree

• Could not agree more. …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
        • Yeahh..regardless their nationality

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
          • And the Malaysia one is the worse of all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
          • azrai on Feb 07, 2014 at 10:54 am

Yup… Especially Malaysia one, coz they were too long live together with bomipotera. So when they cheat will also become bodoh ckit. They become lazy to think. Whatttt alsooo lazzyy. High 5 mate..

• TeresaCockBadutBetina on Feb 06, 2014 at 7:06 pm

Talak halal talak halam ma… Asal jadi luit semua boleh lor…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
    • HiHiHi. 2 x 5 je. krikrikri.

• Ben yap on Feb 06, 2014 at 1:35 pm

Nowadays many things are made in China. Even Robocop is made in China!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 3
    • fatchicken on Feb 06, 2014 at 2:16 pm

Robocop testing facilities in China but built in Melaka plant, check ur facts right before u post anything Robocop. That’s why I never use eyephone!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 14
      • Ben yap on Feb 06, 2014 at 8:30 pm

Since when robocop built in melaka. U watch the movie or not? Or just bodoh sombong? Show proof that it’s built in melaka.

• Mate, it’s just a joke, chill…

• armandd on Feb 07, 2014 at 2:50 am

From Aston Martin to Robocop built in Melaka thing, you guys are really @ss#oles, hahaha…

• Saga BeLum Masak on Feb 06, 2014 at 1:36 pm

The Integrity of a world class co. Admit their fault and do a corrective action even after 7 years.

Just dreaming to see the same in our bolehland…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 20
    • kadajawi on Feb 06, 2014 at 2:54 pm

Yeah, but any self respecting LUXURY brand wouldn’t be using cheap bargain bin parts. I may accept a plastic accelerator pedal arm in a Viva, but not if I have to pay a million or so.

THIS is a big f*** up, would you want to buy an Aston Martin after this? If the accelerator pedal is made so poorly, what else is? And why, if I have to pay so much for it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
  • Now I wonder if P1 and P2 is safe?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 20
  • I aint surprised for the counterfeit part as it is from China; but what surprised me is how did the QA/QC folks at Aston Martin did not do a thorough check on thr products knowing that it’s from China – the only country where the greedy folks used MELAMINE for baby milk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
  • heybadigol on Feb 06, 2014 at 2:41 pm

Wow, considering their cars cost more than 1 million Ringgit here, this news must piss of AM owners and would be buyers here. Yeah, how did QC not notice this? Or they only sampled a few (which turned out ok), but those not sampled was not in compliance to specs?

• Garfield on Feb 06, 2014 at 2:59 pm

The part comes from a sub-supplier. So the main supplier is at fault. The main supplier may already know the issue but macam biasa undertable money settled the issue at personal level.

China-made parts are inevitable to cut costs. I know that Perodua is doing that (a good friend regularly flies there to do QC), so they can accede to the gomen’s request of cheaper cars. Which part, I don’t have any clues but just wait for typical warranty to be over and the cars start to pile at bawah pokok workshops to realize which parts had gone through the cost-cutting measure.

• Ainon on Feb 06, 2014 at 3:54 pm

I wonder if the pedal will detach itself during an accident …..he he just could resist it ;-)

• Ainon on Feb 06, 2014 at 4:12 pm

Jokes aside, I don’t think AM uses cheap plastics like those used for making china made toys. I’m sure its supposed to be some kind of fit for purpose engineering thermoplastics that are stronger and more durable than metal. Somehow their QA/QC couldn’t detect it all these years.

• Buying Ford next time since Aston Martin also has parts made in china. Ford has Aston front grill anyway. lol

• There'sacock on Feb 06, 2014 at 4:20 pm

chinese again..caught in action

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
  • plastic for an accelerator pedal… interesting..

• reydtz on Feb 10, 2014 at 7:49 pm

yes plastic, it is to reduce weight.
      Not Fake Plastic Tho.

Anybody can help to list down which cars use Plastic gas Pedal?

1.Honda & Toyota also used CTC sourced PPS Gas Pedal – http://www.ctscorp.com/automotive/awards.htm
      http://www.ctscorp.com/automotive/pedal/specifications.htm

• may i know why the accelerator pedal arm was made of plastic? i thought all vehicle regardless of price use metal as the material. luckily they didn’t use plastic as brake pedal arm…surely gonna break off when we braking hard.

• Ash Crimson on Feb 06, 2014 at 5:54 pm

“China” historychannelguy.jpg

• motorhead on Feb 06, 2014 at 6:15 pm

There you are.. those who like to compare conti & japs milo tin?.. Aston Martin… parts made in china?? we don’t know what else made in china.. this why I enjoy to see brand ego maniacs fall into financial traps.. made in china?? Haha.. anyway I like china girls.. haha..

• Keith Duckworth on Feb 06, 2014 at 8:02 pm

You never know – pedal made in China. Springs made in Korea, fuel tank made in Mexico and the radiators made in Taiwan. Except nothing comes from UK. Hahaha

• wanjamakwanjusoh on Feb 06, 2014 at 8:45 pm

this is the chinese supplier for aston martin! with all the strict measure, they still can find their way to cheat. imagine parts for other lousy brand like chana la, changan la.. and foton la.. and other crap! those who mati2 support china car in malaysia must be illegal immigrant from china and being GRO boy/girl at nite. ptuih!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
    • TeresaCockBadutBetina on Feb 06, 2014 at 10:58 pm

Siapa makan cili dia rasa pedas. Pedasnya!! Air! Air!

• zamer on Feb 06, 2014 at 10:17 pm

i wonder how is the process here for this recall?
    send the car to where?
    and applicable for 2nd or 3rd hand owner?

anyway, its a shame that a million dollar car is using cheapskate parts..not Aston’s faulty, but they got bad name for it.

• Tracks on Feb 07, 2014 at 1:08 am

To be fair the parts may not be cheap when it was sold to AM by the 1st tier supplier. Also, test reports and analysis reports can be faked as well so AM could have not realised the change in material used.
    Furthermore, stating that the plastic material is counterfeit is very vague as the material can be from re-grinds or other grade.

• Hoi!Hoi!Hoi! Im Chinese but made in Malaysia! Support Buatan Malaysia ok?

• dereks on Feb 07, 2014 at 8:00 am

That’s why James Bond keep changing people – all of them die in car accident due to accelerator pedal broke.

• Sam Loo on Feb 07, 2014 at 10:34 am

terrible this is why you should not splurge on excessive cash on a useless luxury car

• leonardo on Feb 07, 2014 at 12:47 pm

Zamer, in this case the ‘Principle’ is accountable, ie Aston Martin.

• Jebonr on Feb 07, 2014 at 1:04 pm

Moral of the story to all Aston Martin owners out there. If anything happen to You, your families and Aston Martin. don’t just sue Aston Martin, but also that “Bad Attitude” Chinese Sub-supplier. Huh!

• this is the hottest news for 2014…so far.

• David on Feb 07, 2014 at 7:56 pm

Next time sub contract to a Malaysian company