First new EEV manufacturing license under NAP 2014 to be announced in two months time – MITI

Mustapa MITI

The holder of the first car manufacturing license for energy efficient vehicles (EEVs) under NAP 2014 will be announced in two months time, according to Minister of International Trade and Industry Datuk Seri Mustapa Mohamed.

The MITI minister said that the car manufacturer in question, a multi-national one, will build EEVs in Malaysia primarily for the export market. Actual manufacturing is expected to start within the next two years. He was speaking at today’s launch of the six roadmaps for the National Automotive Policy (NAP) 2014, which was revealed last month.

According to Malaysian Automotive Institute (MAI), EEVs are defined as vehicles that meet a defined specifications in terms of carbon emission level (g/km) and fuel consumption (l/100 km). EEV includes fuel efficient vehicles, hybrids, EVs and alternatively-fuelled vehicles, e.g. CNG, LPG, biodiesel, ethanol, hydrogen and fuel cell.

Click here for a detailed explaination of Malaysia’s EEV definition, and find out all you need to know about NAP 2014 in our round-up post.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Madani Dungu on Feb 06, 2014 at 5:13 pm

Wahai Bangau, buat apa have EEV when all your busses and lorries are emitting thick black smoke into the environment?

And nobody can touch the busses, Metrobus, lorries because they are all owned by GLC or Menteri Menteri punya kakak ipar, bapa saudara, abang ipar, anak mertua, kakak mertua, atuk, cucu dan cicit.

No point having EEV venture when all these smoke detroy the Environment worse. EEV should be encouraged to have a cleaner environment.

When you don’t sort your dirty diesel and dirty petrol full of sulphur, you want to do EEV?

One kroni GLC lorry that emits thick black smoke alone that is equivalent to 1000 EEV cars sold.

I don’t blame the Minister here because their stupid MAI and Madani don’t do proper research on Environmental and CO2 impact by cars. Chicken and Egg story. Sort the main pollution in Malaysia which is your dirty diesel

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 103 Thumb down 8
    • fresco on Feb 06, 2014 at 7:27 pm

To add on – our poor road conditions too. full of potholes and half-done repairs.

EEV cars depend heavily on environment to operate at best performance. Imagine all the potholes ruining the low-rolling resistance tyres which offer less grip to begin with.

The best starting policy to kick this off is to also address all road construction processes. Build it right from the start, not do patchy fixes.

2sen

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • zalendo on Feb 06, 2014 at 7:41 pm

Malaysia diesel is very dirty .better dont buy any diesel car here .will cost u lot maintenance fund

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
      • hellhole on Feb 06, 2014 at 11:34 pm

Zalendo, don’t talk shit that you don’t know. I have been driving a 520d for the last 3 years without a single problem. In fact I find the torque and top end speed not being affected after all these years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
    • Rulered on Feb 06, 2014 at 11:09 pm

Errr….I think they’re busy doing climate research in antartica…??

• ganeson on Feb 06, 2014 at 5:19 pm

Any news from this press conference this morning / afternoon. Who signed the MOU?

• wonder which company is that…

• For export?

I thought new NAP benefits rakyat in getting cheaper car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
  • t2357s on Feb 06, 2014 at 5:34 pm

I just wonder why do they need to have press announcements when there is no content to announce?

Getting tired of all these pre-announcements.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
  • Aerro on Feb 06, 2014 at 5:37 pm

Tesla, BYD, all of them cancel their plan once they heard about Bumi vendors must be included indirectly for EEV…Sigh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 8
  • Malaysia Sweet Grade Oil on Feb 06, 2014 at 5:39 pm

Only country in the world where EEV is measured by fuel consumption (1/100km)

All over the world, EEV is measured by BOTH carbon emission level (g/km) and fuel consumption (l/100 km).

This is because Government does not want to give us clean petrol and clean diesel. They don’t want to burden their own Petronas to come out with cleaner fuel for the rakyat.

So who suffers? The rakyat of Malaysia and also the car industry moving forward with better fuel efficient vehicles.

This is utter nonsense by the government. Infact, with clean fuel, most cars now even can qualify for EEV.

It is funny. Malaysia is well known globally that we produce the finest and cleanest and purest grade oil in the world. Globally in the oil community, Malaysia is known to produce the “sweetest” crude oil with the highest quality ever. Even higher in quality than Saudi oil producing countries.

But we Malaysians don’t see that oil. It is exported overseas and we import the worst grade oil for the rakyat. So, to the rakyat of Malaysia, you are not geeting the real oil of Malaysia eventhouh you are anak jati Malaysia.

We are getting dirty filthy fuel imported into Malaysia from another palat country. Why can’t we Malaysians enjoy our own high grade fuel?

With all this crap, now, Government want to introduce EEV car incentives.
    EEV. What is more important is we get our own high grade fuel. It is our right to use our own high grade fuel. It is from our land. Why sell it to another country and then import dirty fuel into this country

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 8
    • I have no idea in petrol enineering, so please do correct me. Aren’t oil that are imported in the form of crude oil, and the the filter process is done in our local oil processing plants. Which mean that it is our oil processiong plant that are having old/outdated machinery that are processing lower petrol quality than other nations.

And another thing, There was a post up on both WorldCarFans and Jalopnik about the Proton Suprima S Super Premium(which are gathering much positive views on the looks), and most of the international commenst are refering the dismal performance of the 1.6l CFE enngine, more specifically that an engine of that size and layout and that performance will not be working as efficiently as world standard turbocharge 1.4-1.6l , saying that consumption and emission will be bad. They got it right on the consumption part, but what about the emission. Proton has yet to release emission figures which will not only meant exporting to Europe and America futile, but also maybe even the inclusion of emission standard in Malaysia’s EEV progremme will stay just a fantasy…..just a thought.

• crude on Feb 07, 2014 at 12:07 am

The high quality oil mentioned are crude oil (i.e. unprocessed oil), normally called “sweet”. What makes it high quality is due to low content of impurities (sulphur, co2, etc). Low quality in the other hand is called “sour”. No matter how sweet the crude is, you cannot pump it directly to your car. They need to be processed first, and after processed, both sweet and sour crude will result the same. At least in theory it should be.

Exporting expensive sweet crude overseas and importing cheaper sour crude for domestic use is due to higher profit margin. After all, they have refinery to process the sour crude.

PS: I found this link when googlong “Tapis blend”. That is what Malaysia sweet crude called.
      http://www.petronas.com.my/media-relations/media-releases/Pages/article/RELATIONSHIP-BETWEEN-CRUDE-OIL-AND-PETROLEUM-PRODUCT-PRICES.aspx

PS2: I’m not pro govt or oil company, just sharing what little knowledge i know :)

• Green on Feb 07, 2014 at 3:16 pm

it depends on RON.

Sour Crude Oil give u lower RON.
        Higher Crude Oil give u higher RON.

If u want Sour Crude Oil churning High grade RON.
        It will be costing too much.

as for now,
        our sour crude oil petrol is good enough for us to run engine for so many years.
        I have no complain.

While with the rise of EEV.
        Global Car player, as following Global demand, they have to produce engine with lower emission.

Malaysia Should be prepared for this to fully attract them come to invest in malaysia.

• Green on Feb 07, 2014 at 3:00 pm

EEV is to attract car come to malaysia to manufacture..

The Less stringent rules will allow almost all international play to manufacture car in Malaysia.

This is Great.

It’s not the matter of getting high quality petrol or not.
      For the time being, Attraction is the main thing.

That further raising up quality is 2nd stage.

• More nonsense with no substance. MAI, MITI all are nothing but useless bodies who are good for nothing except wasting more taxpayers’ hard-earned incomes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Sonyman on Feb 06, 2014 at 6:58 pm

All,this is for show and tell only, more of a you do, I also do, but I don’t know what I doing. Basically, miti, Mai and all these body is just a waste of money and time,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • shawal on Feb 06, 2014 at 7:56 pm

Isn’t it every manufacturer’s right to produce any kind of vehicle they wish..
    Then the said vehicle is scrutinized to qualify as an EEV..? or commercial , performance etc..

WHY do they need an EEV manufacturing license to export EEV cars (which are based on malaysia’s own definition) to other countries..?

MAI and MITI are biting more than they can chew, spending money nonsensically , they get paid for projects which does not benefit the people

By right EEV vehicle with higher safety ratings should enjoy tax breaks ,this will encourage competitiveness among manufacturers…

• Whatever on Feb 06, 2014 at 9:21 pm

Agree with you, however you must know for the government the words ‘tax breaks’ for cars by itself is a taboo word and out of their mind altogether. It is also something that they would live out with. Muscles are in pain and body trembles whenever someone utter the words to them. So forget about it dude, maybe not in our lifetime as the current gov leadership will likely remain for eternity.

• presna on Feb 06, 2014 at 10:41 pm

hmmmm, was expecting there to be a guessing match on the EEV manufacturing license……

anyhow my guess, one of it is gonna be Honda…. pretty sure all they need is the darn EEV certification for their jazz hybrid to further their sales……

• Kepiaq on Feb 07, 2014 at 7:22 am

It will Great Wall Motor of China that will get the eev license.

• EnergyAnalyst on Feb 07, 2014 at 12:18 am

Taking a guess.

BERMAZ for Mazda

Or

DRB Hicom VW

• Unclear_policy on Feb 07, 2014 at 9:22 am

“Primarily for export market” does that mean Malaysians won’t get to enjoy it? Brings to mind the export (a.k.a higher) spec Protons which were sold at lower prices overseas as compared to its home market…

• Annihilated on Feb 07, 2014 at 9:30 am

with previous reports that Mazda SkyActiv engines are pre-qualified as EEV engines, I wonder if it’s Mazda / Bermaz who got the manufacturing license.

DRB Honda had just opened their second production line that churning out Jazz, which could possibly hint their chance of getting the first EEV licence too.

whatever it is, I hope these assemblers would utilize the EEV licence well and pass the benefits to Malaysian consumers. We want safer and better equipped cars with lesser price not the other way around.

Looking at current CKD practice, what you’ll get is cheaper car with lesser spec. It’s a practice of brand bastardization. consumers have to live with multi years debt for a decent car while those assemblers / manufacturers get multiple months bonus every year.

I have doubt that even the government let go the tax, our car price will go down. Most likely it’ll be more profit for those assemblers / manufacturers. May I know if we have a law that regulate the car price?

• Green on Feb 07, 2014 at 2:56 pm

##The MITI minister said that the car manufacturer in question, a multi-national one, will build EEVs in Malaysia primarily for the export market. Actual manufacturing is expected to start within the next two years.

— Why need 2 years from now?
    — There is no CKD car in Malaysia already achieve EEV criteria?