NAP 2014 – six roadmaps announced by MITI

NAP 2014 Roadmap-2

In a follow up to the National Automotive Policy (NAP 2014) that was announced last month, the Ministry of International Trade and Industry (MITI) – in conjunction with Malaysia Automotive Institute (MAI) – today announced six roadmaps for the development of the local automotive industry.

Meant to serve as a guideline for industry stakeholders, the six roadmaps are known in their shortened form as MATR, MASR, MAHR, MARR, MABR and ATF. These roadmaps will be under the supervision of MITI, with the MAI coordinating and implementing them.

Details were not announced at the presentation, and we’ll be taking a closer look when we get them, but here’s a summary of what the roadmaps are about:

NAP 2014 Roadmap-1

Malaysia Automotive Technology Roadmap (MATR)

The MATR details out the latest green technological trends as well as the outlook – the roadmap also includes tax structure rationalisation guidelines for the auto industry.

Malaysia Automotive Supply Chain Development Roadmap (MASR)

The MASR aims to enhance the operational effectiveness and efficiency of components/spare parts manufacturers. The roadmap consists of measures to improve quality control systems, operation and business management as well as enhance capability in product testing and validation.

Malaysia Automotive Human Capital Development Roadmap (MAHR)

The MAHR outlines a plan for developing a competent and adequate workforce at all levels within the industry. It also focuses on improving the quality of existing programmes for technicians and operators at local training institutions.

Also included are plans to develop skilled local manpower in areas of product automation and manufacturing of hybrid components, engine and transmission systems.

NAP 2014 Roadmap-3

Malaysia Automotive Remanufacturing Roadmap (MARR)

The MARR outlines detailed criteria of remanufacturing standards and best practices to be adopted by automotive players with the aim of making Malaysia the centre of automotive remanufacturing in the ASEAN region. It will also provide guidelines to optimise recyclability and recoverability levels of used components.

Malaysia Automotive Bumiputera Development Roadmap (MABR)

The MABR focuses on activities related to the development of technology, human capital and supply chain to enhance the competitiveness of Bumiputera companies in the domestic auto industry. This initiative is in line with the government’s efforts to create globally competitive Bumiputera entrepereneurs.

Development of Automotive Authorised Treatment Facilities Framework (ATF)

The ATF framework will serve as a guideline to transform automotive after-market businesses in an effort to develop a complete automotive industry that is sustainable.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Guan Yin Ma on Feb 06, 2014 at 8:30 pm

When I saw this ” Malaysia Automotive Bumiputera Development Roadmap ” I laughed. HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHA. Eat till so big , got arm got leg , still need people guide you in life .

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 160 Thumb down 26
    • ........ on Feb 06, 2014 at 9:40 pm

absolute rubbish. do they STILL need help???! MABR=Malaysia Always Bantu Rakyat(bumiputera)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 15
      • Alex260 on Feb 07, 2014 at 12:19 am

Said only help, but end up majority of bumiputera stay in LOW COST house, or RUMAH PANGSA! Or HUTANG 3 bulan ansuran

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
        • ahli baba on Feb 07, 2014 at 4:22 pm

Nothing will happen lah! Until year 2017 election year MITI will annouce same thing again new NAP 2020…macai kena tipu lagi

• MAI Bodoh Betul on Feb 07, 2014 at 9:33 am

Madani, why come out with the 6 Road Maps when the most basic problems you have not sorted.

There are TWO main critical issues that has never been addressed that is hindering the progress of the whole Car Industry.

Madani needs to address this because if the root of the problem you all cannot solve, no point coming out with Road Maps Mumbo Jumbo

First, where is Najib’s Promise?

Where is Najib’s promise of 30% reduction in car prices over a period of 5 years? Najib promised before the election that if we voted for him and BN, he would ensure that he would match PKR’s offer to reduce car prices.

Najib himself quoted saying that the BN government would reduce car prices by up to 30% gradually over 5 years and we should trust BN. Infact he said BN always keeps to their word. 7 months have passed and nothing has been done. He promised last year! No need Road Map for this. Just implement your promise tomorrow. Otherwise why promise? Is Najib lying to the public with false promises?

Infact companies like Toyota and VW have increased their prices. Does not matter now whether a car is EEV or ELV. What matters now is where is Najib’s promise?

Madani, please ask your boss Najib to honour his promise. This basic thing also MAI cannot do, how can the rakyat trust MAI and the BN Government? We feel cheated and humilaited.

2nd issue:

What is MAI, Madani and MITI doing about the AP issue. The AP issue was born to help the Bumiputera Businessman to penetrate the car industry. But we all know what happens. 90% of all AP holders sell their AP to the chinaman immediately once they get their APs. So, the whole spirit of the AP system is defeated. Every car import showroom is run not by Bumiputeras at all. Every staff manning the showrooms is not manned by Bumiputera at all. Go to Jalan Genting Klang and see every car import showroom there. Its all chinaman. So, the AP system has failed completely.

Also the AP system has cause car prices to go up tremendously. Genuine companies like Honda, Toyota, MB and BMW want AP’s to bring down their cars, they don’t get. So, they cannot benefit from large volume sales and economies of scale to reduce car prices to benefit the rakyat.

The AP system just benefits about 20 or 30 crony individuals. They get free money. Each AP they sell for about RM50,000. Each individual gets hundreds of APs. So, each individual can just do paper trade and get hundreds of millions per year.

Lately the PEKEMA boys lobbied to get more years, and somehow, they got more years to do their AP business. Even Chips from Autocar mag said, the AP boys really got strong influence!

Then, there is the issue of the buyers of the APs ripping off customers. Most cars they bring down are 20,000 pounds to 30,000 pounds.

But when it comes to Malaysia, the customer is charged RM500,000 for the car. Buta buta clean profit of few hundred thousand each car despite taxes being paid.

Don’t also forget that Malaysians also get cheated by the AP crooks. Nearly every AP crook clocks down the odometers of the imported cars.

These AP holders make a huge profit. Because in overseas, high mileage cars are sold dirt cheap. In UK, the price of a car is based on the mileage on the odometer and NOT the year of make.

For example, a 2007 Porsche Carrera with 10,000 miles clocked on it is very more expensive than a 2009 Porsche Carrera with 100,000 miles on it.

The price difference can even be about 20,000 pounds.

What our AP cowboys do is very simple. Besides getting hundreds of free AP’s, they buy these high mileage cars dirt cheap from car rental companies, bring them to Malaysia, and then clock down the odometer to say, 8,000KM. And then sell for a hefty sum telling you the cars are hardly used or showroom cars in the UK.

In reality most of these cars are ex-rental cars that have been trashed over the years by people who rent them.

Ask any used car dealers or AP dealers and 99% of the time, they tell you the car has no service history or service booklet. Even if the car is a 2013 model and is still under warranty in Japan or the UK. Surely if it is still under warranty in the UK or Japan, the owner must keep his service booklet and warranty card to service his car in the UK.

Bear in mind most cars in the UK have 5 years warranty. So, if the owner in the UK does not give the warranty booklet or service history, something smells fishy.

Who loses? It is the buyer of the AP cars. You think you are buying a car that has done 8000KM but in reality, it has done 300,000 KM. So, you will have to spend few hundred thousand ringgit in replacing worn out parts.

Many AP car buyers have seen shocking mileage. According to Porsche Centre Glenmarie, so many buyers of recond Porsche take their Welcome Package, when they plug in their Porsche to the Proprietory Diagnostic machine, the Porsche shows it has clocked around 200,000 to 300,000 KM. The Malaysian buyer gets a shocked because when he bought the car, the odometer showed only 8000KM.

This example is not only Porsches. Nearly every car by the AP crooks face this. You think your Vellfire or Alphard is low mileage? Think twice!

So Madani, what are you really doing about these major problems in Malaysia? Don’t talk about Road Maps. What is blatant and glaring on our faces are 2 issues.

1) Price of cars as promised by Najib and

2) The AP issue

There is no need for Road Maps. This should be treated like a crime. Should just come in and arrest the criminals. If rape happens, the police just come in and arrest the rapist. They don’t come out with Road Maps for months or years before they do any arrest.

The AP issue is a total failure. It is a burden on the rakyat. It should he halted with immediate effect. It should be stop immediately.

MAI has travelled ALL over the world to study car issues. Everytime, one big team travel by Business Class and stay in 5 star hotels. Mind you, each Business class ticket is about RM15,000 as opposed to Economy Class which is RM3000.

Yet we are paying MAI people to travel all over the world to study car issues and come up with formulation on drafting NAP but until now, NAP is not fully done up. Still all sorts of Road Maps to confuse the Rakyat.

Crimes have been committed against the Rakyat of Malaysia. Take action tomorrow itself!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 114 Thumb down 4
        • Vios buruk on Feb 07, 2014 at 10:53 am

Well said bro…

• GTR36 on Feb 07, 2014 at 1:12 pm

I respect your comments and the things you put in here. Too bad crooks like Madani are just cronies of the PM’s adviser and is here to collect buta gaji. They are not interested to help bring down the price of cars for the ordinary rakyat as they are too busy counting profits from the APs and biz they are getting from sitting in that position.
          All smoke and mirrors to confuse the people and bring our economy down.

• Keris Jawa on Feb 07, 2014 at 2:01 pm

The sad truth of our auto industry.

• Tq so much for soch dramatic article, now I skip even ap car in this bolehland, hope every rakyat dont make purchase car consistently….kasi mereka turun!!!

• faris on Feb 07, 2014 at 4:52 pm

Well I agree 100% with what you state about AP recon cars.. Most of Malaysian buyers doesn’t seems to take extra steps before buying recons cars. For example my previous company bought a 2005 BMW X5 UK spec from one of quite famous recon cars dealer in Penang. The car carries 75k miles shown on the dashboard, nice, clean, come with 20″ sport alloy wheels all round(but doesn’t come with run flat tires and no spare wheels in the luggage compartment) and new leather seats (which I doubt it is an original BMW X5 seats as the head rest seems very much difference). The dealer gives 3 years ‘dealer’ warranty, new service booklet (as the car doesn’t come with original service booklet and owners manual) and 5 years free service. Interesting offer.. 2 months after using the vehicle the true color of it starts to show.
          1. Air Cond fan only runs at 1bar instead of 4bar or 5bar as set by the driver (during noon).
          2. Lost all power during high speed highway driving.
          3. Central lock unlock during driving without any one touching the button.
          4. Rear passenger door cannot open from outside.
          5. Engine oil drains out (no white or black smoke or smell at the exhaust and no leaking either)
          6. The steering always pulls to the left during driving.
          When the car was took back to the dealer they said they can fixed the prob. but at a cost which is not realistic at all. Further more with the X5 75k miles it is ridicules that most of its mechanical parts has to be change compared most of BMW cars.
          Feeling unsafe (as I’m driving the car most of the time), I took it to a friend, a BMW mechanic to have it check out. The result came at an alarming rate. The original mileage of the car is 197k miles, the car was written off by an insurance company in UK for minor head on collusion on the left side, and the best part is the X5 was actually owns by a car rental company in UK before it was written off and brought to Malaysia to be resold. Well for eager recon car buyers out there who wanted to buy a recon car PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE HAVE THE CAR YOU ARE BUYING THE BE INSPECTED BY SOMEONE EXPERT. You may get your dream car but don’t let yourself dreaming of driving the car when you get to know the truth about behind it after you send it to the service center.

• Bataman on Mar 06, 2014 at 11:28 am

Nice Info. Tq for sharing. That’s why…buying recond car is very risky unless you have all the means to get the info….I will rather stick with new cars.

• KillBox1Alpha on Feb 06, 2014 at 9:59 pm

Still need tongkat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 9
      • AutoFrenz on Feb 07, 2014 at 10:52 am

petrol subsidy, sugar subsidy arent they tongkat as well ah kau…even kaum pendatang pun dapat BR1MS…want to talk cock some more…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
        • RejimKejamGanas on Feb 08, 2014 at 7:00 am

Subsidies are bad because it distorts our economy and makes us less competitive. Subsidies were created to keep wages low and our exports cheap. You can thank your ketuanan warlords for the unsustainable subsidy and BR1M handouts that you treasure so much.

By the way, I hope you realize that unless you are an “orang asli”, you are in no position to call others “pendatang”.

• Chong KL on Feb 07, 2014 at 8:09 am

Of course, they still need tongkat what! They feel being threated even though they are majority of 60% which mean they are very weak in physically and mentally. No tongkat how to survive?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
    • hway de Cruz on Feb 07, 2014 at 8:50 am

all these crap. just abolish insane excise duties, that’s all!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• farizY on Feb 07, 2014 at 8:56 am

As a bumiputera, I’m utterly ashamed by all these “helping” bumiputera schemes. After 56 years of independence, still need all these? Surely, there must be something fundamentally wrong with the government if after all these years, still need to come out with race based policies. Sigh.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 6
      • RejimKejamGanas on Feb 07, 2014 at 1:42 pm

The “bumiputera” policies are just a smokescreen to rob the people blind and concentrate power in the hands of a few. Ask any bumiputera SME whether any of this actually benefits them and they will tell you the pie is already small because of stiff competition from GLCs or family members of well connected UMNO division chiefs!

• AhNeh on Feb 07, 2014 at 10:02 am

Can we call them racist ?

What if an indian minister emphasize on Malaysia Automotive Indian Development Roadmap or a chinese minister emphasize on Malaysia Chinese Development Roadmap ?

If the goverment is serious about 1Malaysia, this bumiputra word shouldn’t even be here. That shows, even after almost 30 years, their mindset is still like leeches. How to progress when there’s always tongkat mentality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 3
    • vk9545 on Feb 07, 2014 at 11:47 am

Bumiputera development roadmap? Then how about indian chinese and other races? Don’t we have rights? We do contribute to the nation via the tax. And still special privileges for a certain race. Im very sure malaysia wont prosper or be a develop nation with this 3rd world mentality that cant be erased. Its should have been malaysian talent development. Who ever has the talent can involve in the business.

How long the bumiputra needs tongkat? Wake up and walk on ur own please. U people should be ashamed of ur self how the government treating u. Dont be happy that ur the bumi putra and u get all the benefits. If if the government go bust the biggest hit will be on the bumi putras civil service. If the black gold runs out? Where the government will get funding to improve bumi? How long wana improve? 56 years x cukup ka? Chinese indian can stand on thier own feet why dnt the bumi too? Y still needs spoon feed? Sorry if I hurt any1s feelings. Stabd on ur own feet n dont depend on the government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • 1malaysia jib on Feb 07, 2014 at 3:15 pm

thats the difference between human n animals

• Ah so in the end, just to benefit a few of the selected elites. Well done NAP.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 3
  • Ben yap on Feb 06, 2014 at 8:34 pm

Any of these help to lower car prices?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 1
  • crony on Feb 06, 2014 at 8:34 pm

Cronies… BN… Pro Bumi… Unfair APs… Overpriced cars… Cash rich pro BN politicians…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 6
  • tishaban on Feb 06, 2014 at 8:37 pm

How many consultants were hired to come up with these roadmaps and how much were they paid I wonder?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 2
  • Mazda Familia on Feb 06, 2014 at 8:42 pm

I dont understand sepatah haram

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 0
  • ‘To come out with this and to print this, we used up tax payer money 10mil. Now please excuse us as we are taking leave to celebrate success. See you all in 2015….

ps. You gotta give us credit to come out with so many short forms and acronyms, took us few years to delay it you know….”

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 2
  • AutoFrenz on Feb 06, 2014 at 9:06 pm

Excellent…good corp governance…kudos to najib n his team…klau guan eng poker face
    tu jgn haraplah…eh i donno i donno…everything donno tp cip minister…no wonder got e-coli…never wash one…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 95
    • Low Budget on Feb 06, 2014 at 10:05 pm

Just six new un-cooked alphabet soup and you already tasted excellent? You should go examine your taste bud.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 3
    • farizY on Feb 07, 2014 at 9:43 am

That “know-nothing” Guan Eng managed to reduce state debt by up to 95% for the last 5 years compared to that “know-everything” Najib, only manage to increase national debt by more than 100% for the last 5 years. LOL! what a joke.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • Tok Berlagak on Feb 06, 2014 at 9:10 pm

already 2014.

Still Bumiputera Protection?

somewhat i feel shame.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 7
  • Whatever on Feb 06, 2014 at 9:15 pm

Whatever it is, I just hope these are all not hoaxes, as what has happened several times before especially on the tax rationalization part. At the end of the day, until it is really materializes just expect these words to come out from their filthy mouth ‘ sorry, actually we’re not ready yet to rationalize, reduce the tax / we’re going to announce in 2 months and then history repeats itself. Rakyat will pay the price and play the waiting game.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • policeman on Feb 06, 2014 at 9:20 pm

Tak faham…

What is this about? How will this affect us?
    Remanufacture tu apa? Macam Accordana?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
  • How many roadmaps they actually have?? They should called them ” syiokmaps” instead, MITi and the gomen still tinks Malaysian auto market is at the center of the world and the world worldwide auto industry so eager to invest here…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 1
  • transformer on Feb 06, 2014 at 9:58 pm

by just changing the skin/theme only, inside still the same ingredient/intention…

apparently, they’ll still continue to protect certain quarter perpetually…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • Keris Jawa on Feb 06, 2014 at 10:01 pm

Cars will still be expensive and the rakyat continue to suffer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
  • bslee on Feb 06, 2014 at 10:06 pm

no point coming out with all this blue print. it will definitely be replaced with another Big Master Blueprints few years down the line. i have seen enough of this. of course i will support whatever blueprints if i can reap RM easily without any sweat…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • The EEV hasn’t even started and I am already loosing hope. I’ve tried reading and re-reading the article and come out of the conclusion that it is primarily there to enchance the manufecturing and also quality control of the automotive sector while having to improve bumiputras competitiveness in the region(no offence but seriously, after 44 years….well okay). In other words, same sh*t but different way of interperating it.

Now the only one that actually make sense in this is the Malaysia Automotive Technology Roadmap (MATR) which includes as quote ‘tax structure rationalisation guidelines for the auto industry.’…I never like to get my hopes high when two words that are synonymous to ‘government’ and ‘lowering of price’, but this is by far most relevent to the car prices and ownership cost in Malaysia…..trouble is that it is so poorly elaborated here in the article and never mention anything of price reduction, only tax ‘rationalisation’ which can also mean that they will still sell cars at Everest-high prices, but they will try to make it sound….reasonable, and more disturbingly, the Polo and Jazz hybrid CKD is just that, lower price but significantly lower specs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 1
    • RejimKejamGanas on Feb 07, 2014 at 1:49 pm

If you want an idea of what ‘rationalization” is actually meant in this context, you can use the subsidy ‘rationalization’ as a guide. Ergo, the government will pass the buck to they rakyat to bear.

• Protect Bumiputera?

It only Protect BN Crony.

Jangan Kena Tipu.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 3
  • i_swear on Feb 06, 2014 at 10:53 pm

My questions-

So to summarize:-
    1. What main objectives that set for these 6 roadmaps?
    2. What is the vision?
    3. What is the purposes?
    4. What is the target achievement on these roadmaps?
    5. What is the benefit to gov and rakyat by these 6 roadmaps?
    6. The KPI(key performance index) review frequency?
    7. The difference of these 6 roadmaps and the old one? Mana advantages?

So these fella doing these so called roadmaps without a draft objective and achievements for these roadmaps? So what the point giving a lot of acroynm that serve no purposes?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • Alex260 on Feb 07, 2014 at 12:24 am

Inilah lobang mereka nak KOREK DUIT, they will declare the overall cost of producing these idiot knowledge is more than 3 billion, the printing cost alone is RM500/book, INILAH MALAYSIA! Bukan untuk rakyat punya, untuk DUIT MASUK POCKET saja!

• Alex260 on Feb 07, 2014 at 12:28 am

Inilah lobang mereka nak KOREK DUIT, they will declare the overall cost of producing these idiot knowledge is more than 3 billion, the printing cost alone is RM500/book, INILAH MALAYSIA! Bukan untuk rakyat , tapi untuk DUIT MASUK POCKET saja! Hail BN, you make us so proud in INTERNATIONAL CORRUPTION FIELD, Hail Mahathir, Hail Najib tun Razak! The best SPORT ACTIVITIES in the world!

• Arcee on Feb 06, 2014 at 11:30 pm

So whats in store for d tax paying malaysians?

• Arcee on Feb 06, 2014 at 11:30 pm

So whats in store for d tax paying malaysians?

• vincent on Feb 06, 2014 at 11:43 pm

Talk like no talk when you have useless minister or director sitting on the top running things and is obliged to report to their political master.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • blue-traveler on Feb 06, 2014 at 11:43 pm

6 more ways to con the tax payers money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
  • EnergyAnalyst on Feb 07, 2014 at 12:07 am

Drop roadmap replace with satnav

More jargon but felt even less substance

• Malaysia Boleh SAPU on Feb 07, 2014 at 12:09 am

With the series of six commandments installed, one should wonder if these will help our national car to stand out from the crowd. Or, being viewed as a clown instead. At the almost-cut-throut world economy we’re facing today, the so-called road maps should revised to only one, MAISSAAAMPFI (Malaysia Automotive Industry SAPU All And ALL Malaysian Pay For It)

• nabill on Feb 07, 2014 at 12:09 am

bunch of incompetent ppl hold these kind of positions,past and experiences tell us that thy cant do cow dung,so how should i convince myself that thr wil be a smart intelligent policy wil come out of this…no fat chance….

• ProBumi on Feb 07, 2014 at 12:27 am

Talk so much also no use. At the end of the day, Malaysians still have to pay high vehicle taxes. What to do, there are still so many who support them.

• Car enthusiast on Feb 07, 2014 at 12:37 am

Auto companies from developed countries do not organize by race. They will not see the need to separate MAHR and MABR. Thailand and Indonesia seem to be doing fine without a policy to breastfeed their indigenous people!

Competing companies are like competing soccer teams. Seriously, how to enhance the competitiveness of Bumiputera soccer teams and gain peer recognition and respect if they are not subject to the same rules as their opponents?

• so all the promises to bring down the car price just won’t happen after all and you come up with more ideas to feed your fat cronies,yeah cheat your own people

• All roads lead to Rome. But these six roads lead us nowhere. Also, only thru actual and fair competition can only brings up a worthy competitive individual/rakyat. It is all started in biased education system that lead govt to continue provide assistance to bumi. This is a short sighted agenda in BN gov to gain control of country and causes country losses it competitiveness in many areas.

• Aaron on Feb 07, 2014 at 12:58 am

A good policy should have be drawn for the betterment of all rakyat and regardless of races & ethnic group. Why we still need “Malaysia Automotive Bumiputera Development Roadmap”? A policy for the majority group in the country, why not minority? We already have Billionaire Tan Sri Dato’ Seri Syed Mokhtar who owns the country’s biggest automotive company, DRB-Hicom Bhd. Malaysia Bumiputera is already very successful. Thanks Gods & our Government.

• thebugbud on Feb 07, 2014 at 1:54 am

Somehow I am getting a feeling that this are all for show.. macam macam instant noodle with different flavour.. later all forget…

30% car reduction …. forgotten. Pity malaysian

• Desperate Citizen on Feb 07, 2014 at 2:26 am

How is this supposed to make my life better? This is what happens when the country are run by politicians.

• encik boss on Feb 07, 2014 at 8:07 am

6 jahanam

• i hope there’s a book WTFAL – what the f*** all this?

• amfin on Feb 07, 2014 at 8:24 am

Malaysia Automotive Bumiputera Development Roadmap (MABR)IIISSS actually (Taadaa: with small drumroll please) Malaysia Automotive Umnoputra Development Roadmap (MAUR). Guys this is just typical outcome of Umno politics to continue their plundering. The final and only questions is: 1)Do Malaysian GUARANTEED to get cheaper cars as compared to being the SECOND MOST EXPENSIVE country in the planet to own one. 2) What benefit will 29.24 Million Malaysian get out of this as compared to a handful of Chronically Chronic Cronies. And 3) Does this elevate Malaysia to a new level of economic prosperity with increased jobs and probably bigger slice of automotive manufacturing capabilities?.Any answers?

• Just to “help” a few ppl and sacrifice other ppl including malay?

• Don’t worry be happy, waiting for NAP 2015 ha ha ha

• bujang on Feb 07, 2014 at 8:40 am

Hi Govt
    Just copy paste Indon’s road map lah
    Tak payah lah susah buat sendiri but the result is so embarrasing

• Razak on Feb 07, 2014 at 9:17 am

Rubbish…
    Only Help cronies,
    not help bumi
    not help malaysian.

• Steve Jobs on Feb 07, 2014 at 9:28 am

ini bukan tolong bumi… ini tolong kroni.saya bumi,saya malaysian.where got benefit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • ely_lye on Feb 07, 2014 at 9:36 am

oh, So just help bumi than others races just boycott Proton?

Seem our Govt still wanna play divide conquer in Automotive also LOL…

• Malsam on Feb 07, 2014 at 10:03 am

Sorry to say that, Bumiputera, you all are so WEAK, still couldn’t stand on your own feet, Don’t complaint other races look down on you anymore…what ashamed..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
  • Soooo many programs and yet… the cars are still expensive!!!

• saiful on Feb 07, 2014 at 10:40 am

xxx bumiputera roadmap? nak MUNTAH!! baru terbaca dah nak muntah kalau dengar dari ‘ucaptama’ kambing2 hitam ni mau tercirit keluar lava gunung berapi. eeeyuuwwwww… so we’re talking reconciliation now eh? WTH ??

• QChan on Feb 07, 2014 at 10:44 am

NAP Roadmaps??

Apparently, everything is carefully crafted to maintain and preserve the status quo on APs and Excise Duties (i.e. no reduction in the near future.

And no car prices reduction can occur without the abolition (or even scaling-down) of the above-mentioned two items. What we have now, is super value this and super value that – matched with features/specs removals! Worse…. continuation of previous-gen models (Honda Jazz?)!

• bluebird on Feb 07, 2014 at 10:54 am

For those who voted current government, you all have no rights to complain.
    For those who voted opposite, try again in 5 years time.

• medic on Feb 07, 2014 at 10:56 am

Bumiputra policy is just an excuse for selected UMNO linked cronies to continue getting APs aka Free $.Don’t tell me if the policy is so good why other than NAZA or DRB there isn’t any other Bumiputra car companies?60 years on…now it’s 2014,still need help?The rakyat,meaning all Msians,tak kira bangsa suffer high car price to protect Proton & AP holders.Suffer high car price,suffer 9 yrs bank interest,suffer high insurance,..triple whammy.Don’t let UMNO macai deceive you.Even if you are an ordinary malay(means not linked to UMNO),the help you get is ‘peanuts’ than the ‘wealth’ you’ll get eventually without any Bumiputra assistance policy.In the end you’ll be stronger,richer,more competetive,more united Malaysia.

• Apparently, a lot of Paul Tan readers are not aware of the Social Contract as guided under the Federal Constitution.
    Some comments borders provocation which is not necessary if these commenters understand the social contract

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • RejimKejamGanas on Feb 07, 2014 at 2:07 pm

What ‘social contract’ is detailed in the federal constitution? Though a bumi myself, I have not read of such garbage in the constitution. Article 153 specifically refers to only quotas for the civil service and education. In fact this very same article guarantees the legitimate interests of other communities, not the continued marginalization by the current UMNO Baru administration in all sectors.

I advise that you “lebihkan membaca” than spewing racist nonsense here.

• abdullah on Feb 07, 2014 at 10:59 am

Too much regulation of the car industry.
    It is just like the communist system.

NAP 2014 WILL BE A FAILURE!

• cursingbn on Feb 07, 2014 at 11:04 am

6 road maps to fill umno bn cronies pocket with more money from duit rakyat, anything concerned umno bn better dont trust them because all these people are greedy and selfish.

• meegorengmamak on Feb 07, 2014 at 11:28 am

Whenever there is an announcement it’s always bad news.

When can we Rakyats finally receive some good news??

• Joker on Feb 07, 2014 at 12:03 pm

1 Malaysia konon… Malaysia Automotive Bumiputera Development Roadmap (MABR)!!! Although this sounds racist enough but i don’t think the main purpose is to help develop bumiputera… It’s only and only to help their own $$ pocket !!! Just look at India now.. Manufacturers from all around the world is swarming there and look at the sad condition of Malaysia… R.I.P.

• Riddler on Feb 07, 2014 at 12:26 pm

Wonder how they select those ‘Bumiputera’ from? Sick and tired of this Umno joke lah

• Jebonr on Feb 07, 2014 at 12:48 pm

The only things I can say about this is, “My neighbour is laughing now that his Honda CRZ have higher 2nd hand value”. Kah..kah..kah..

• What a bloody waste of money.

• All of these things r joke la seriously.. All those conference NAP la, EEV la, all talk joke only.. Similar to those MLM person yang nak tipu orang. Putar belit, nampak bagus, dia untung, kita rugi.

• Josh Ling on Feb 07, 2014 at 1:34 pm

at the end of the day, still want to help a certain group of people and not thinking Malaysia as a whole. rubbish.

• ae101 on Feb 07, 2014 at 5:41 pm

The word bumi is just for the sake of BN macai la. Look at your surrounding. How many malays really benefit under this policy aside from house and education. pui pui pui laaaa… tiu nasing bn!!!

• easy money, me know one mr ap carry thick wallows of cash in poket saw it on my own

• The Malays are being suckered big time by UMNO, and they dont even know it.

All their cronies make millions, they bdont even get crumbs.