DPM: No toll price increase this year, govt to pay RM400m compensation to concessionaires

kuang-toll1

Prices of goods have been on an upward trend as the government implements its subsidy rationalisation programme, but one thing is for sure – there will be no increase in toll rates this year. This was announced yesterday by Deputy Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin.

The DPM said the move was among the initiatives to help the public cushion the impact of the rising cost of living. Something has to give however, and the move will cost the government RM400 million in public funds as compensation to the toll concessionaires.

“We have decided that in order not to further burden the people, the government will compensate the companies. Toll will still have to be paid but users will not be paying new rates,” he said, explaining that the agreements with the concessionaires stated that toll rates should be increased after a certain period.

Muhyiddin added that the Works Ministry had been asked to look into the agreements to find out whether it could re-negotiate with the concessionaires to extend the concession periods. “This is a long-term initiative to ensure that the rates would not be increased,” he said.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• ibabanic on Feb 06, 2014 at 1:16 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 261
    • gov dont need to act like they are the saviour or what not. they uses 400mil of the people’s money. not their own money.
      in fact, this is their fault on agreeing to contract that only benefited the toll concessionaires.
      i know im not an economic guy, but why not just make contract that limit the company profit? i bet they’re a lot of companies which dont mind getting only millions of profit, rather than hundreds of millions and billions of the concessionaires right now

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 141 Thumb down 20
      • D.I.Y on Feb 06, 2014 at 2:37 pm

maybe those ‘company’ owned by someone’s.. who know? limit their profit mean limit they earn

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 6
        • Profit Or Stupid on Feb 06, 2014 at 5:40 pm

According to the the Pandan MP, based on the North-South Expressway’s (PLUS) details of cost in its 2010 yearly report, the longest highway in the country collected RM4.098 billion through its toll collection in 2011 and gained a net profit RM2.515 billion before tax or a 61% profit margin.

Highway expressway sub well protect by G, and tax back by G for net profit, source always come from rakyat. foolish drool

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
      • Anti CO2 on Feb 06, 2014 at 3:52 pm

400mil cash upfront$$$$ No need to wait for traffic volume…hahaha…what a biz…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 0
        • Henry on Feb 06, 2014 at 5:19 pm

We don’t need to be a genius to guess why the Gomen signed such one sided agreements.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
      • AutoFrenz on Feb 06, 2014 at 4:01 pm

The 400 million is our money still. It still comes from our taxpayers money. Bodoh BN. We all know that every single concessionaire is a GLC and crony owned.

So, the rakyat is still fooled by the cheating BN. Much easier now, just give the crony free money.

This what happens when you are lazy, want discounts and want government help all the time. Malas tak habis habis.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 10
        • Our money konon.bayar tax pun sikit bising our money.mati hidup 100kali pun belum tentu nak guna ur tax money buat jalan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 82
          • farizY on Feb 06, 2014 at 5:32 pm

Kasihan kawan kita ni. Melayu oh Melayu. Layu tak habis. Kene tipu pun tak reti nak bangun daripada layu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 12
          • Profit Or Stupid on Feb 06, 2014 at 5:41 pm

jalan untuk BN lari diri ah?

• armandd on Feb 07, 2014 at 2:41 am

Biasa la tu.. The definition of a typical Malaysian: A person of Malaysian citizenship who complain about everything, everyday, until the day he dies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
          • habis ko igt 400juta tu datang dari mana? jatuh dari langit?

• U MORON on Feb 06, 2014 at 6:45 pm

it is not your money! it is taxpayer’s money. taxpayer’s money is not equal to ur money! tell me any government in the world that has got their own money. all monies belong to the people. government is only managing the money. how good or how bad, depends on the people in the government. why u vote for a stupid people like penang CM or sarawak CM. they are ‘clever’ for their own benefit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
    • AutoFrenz on Feb 06, 2014 at 2:33 pm

Thanks BN thanks Najib thats why i voted for you…1M4U…lets sing together2 now…1M4U…hands stretch in front…legs bend a bit…ok now shake your bums…1M4U…yes thats it…cheers and have a good day..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 12
    • Fariq on Feb 06, 2014 at 2:38 pm

What an outrageous statement, you racist. Grow up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 36
      • AcerMan on Feb 06, 2014 at 4:00 pm

FYI, BN consists of MALAYSIAN. Not a single race. The is NO racist statement here other than yours. You really need to grow up. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 49
        • webuser on Feb 06, 2014 at 5:38 pm

He was referring to the initial post at the very top that has been down-voted 175 times as of this reply to you.

• slk3879 on Feb 07, 2014 at 7:46 am

Next time, read properly when you wanna bash someone!!!

• AcerMan on Nov 27, 2014 at 2:26 pm

BODOH!!! U still dun think AutoFrenz is racist!!!! Now I am bashing u!!!!

• AutoFrenz on Feb 06, 2014 at 4:10 pm

Such a racist statement. Can only come from the UiTM and Mara lazy bums. Fail their exams also, they can go into matriculation and later graduate. The statement above clearly shows how these UiTM students think.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 27
      • why are u relating UiTM again?
        i am an UiTM graduate and i really dont appreciate people like u relating UiTM with BN? come on lah. use ur brain! we are not cow that is tied to support BN.

• u need to stop your stupid stereotyping bro..

• OMG…F THE G. dont pretend to be nice, 400 M gone like that….puihhh…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • Bakuteh on Feb 06, 2014 at 5:30 pm

@Ibabanic I won’t call u a pig, coz u are a descendent of pig. I eat pig cause it is delicious. Footballers, successful sceintisst, Nobel prize laureates all eat pigs.

Whenever u lose, u will call for your fellow pigs to start a holy war..shame on u!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 14
      • motorhead on Feb 06, 2014 at 6:25 pm

I don’t agree with this guy username name.. but please type pork in Wikipedia or youtube.. you ll get better info.. I ve many Chinese friends. . They stop eating pork dy. Educate yourself before you talk.. not after you do some readings.. then eatlah how much you want.. eat as much as you can.. Im happy if you get all the disease link to pork.. let me know after you get them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 17
      • slk3879 on Feb 07, 2014 at 7:50 am

Cool down, I don’t think Ibabanic represent everyone in his / her community. Do not over react to these kind of statement.

• STFU pig.. Who are u here to judge. Stop all these racial sentiment.

• Waiting for stupid people like you to comment.

Your assumption that the money comes from Najib and co is just mind blowingly stupid.

400 mil comes from the people, you moron. Go do your research or grow a brain before calling people names.

Your parents must be real proud of you.

• tiger on Feb 06, 2014 at 1:16 pm

V old tactic from govt DAT v not hike toll n result are DAT v pay million to concessior.recover 1.1billion from taib n his son who sucks rakyat tax money
    Boring tactics from bn dey still thinking DAT they use these wordings n rakyat will clapping in full.kampong tactics.nonsense

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 6
  • wiralution on Feb 06, 2014 at 1:16 pm

The DPM should said, that the move was among the initiatives to help the BN Gov cushion the impact of the upcoming PRK Kajang. I reckon this is more precise, although they’re going to lose it, big time.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 11
  • azrai on Feb 06, 2014 at 1:18 pm

People in Sabah Sarawak who don’t even use these tolls also burden with the usage of people’s money in G’s coffer. The G’s should instead come out with a simpler solution like maybe a cutting in tax calculation for compensation instead of paying RM400m to those companies.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 2
  • We’ll see…

• sape tahu hal pembinaan h/way ni??

setakat saya tahu, kerajaan beri geran kpd sykt konsesi…sykt konsesi cagar kat bank utk daptkan loan… dapat loan, guna buat highway… in other word, x guna modal sendiri pun…kerajaan bagi…selpas siap highway, konsesi caj tol kpd user utk bayr balik loan…sampai satu masa, balik modal dan selepas itu dapat untung ratus juta… best kan.

ada lagi…walau dah balik modal dan dpat untung, ada agreement dgn gomen, sampai satu masa, boleh naikkan kadar tol, kalu kerajaan x benarkan, kerajaan kena bayar RM400 juta!!! best kan?? kan? kan?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 153 Thumb down 3
    • Low Budget on Feb 06, 2014 at 1:33 pm

Dengar khabar Maju Highway ke Putra Jaya, konsesi ni tak paya modal. Semua modal dari kerajaan.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 2
      • mmaker on Feb 06, 2014 at 2:09 pm

Ada Pakcik Makcik di kampung peduli? Mereka dapat beras sekampit gula 2 kilo terus nak undi dacing

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 5
    • squall_shinoda on Feb 06, 2014 at 1:58 pm

The first part of your story is correct. Yes, the concessionaire companies have to borrow money from the banks to build those expressways. However, the government does not give even a cent to those concessionaire companies, whether directly or indirectly. The money that the banks provide to those concessionaire companies are not given by the government. Instead, the banks have to borrow money from Bank Negara in forms of bonds.

Anyway, I must agree that the expressway concession agreements are unfair at all. The agreement gives full power to the concessionaire companies to rake up the toll rate every several years, or else the federal government has to pay the compensation, regardless of the traffic volume. The agreement never gives any power to the federal government to use veto powers to prevent any toll hikes should the traffic volume far exceeds the projected rate. That’s the main issue here. That is why Litrak rakes the second-highest amount of profit every year just behind Plus, even though LDP is just short and never adhere to controlled-access expressway standards at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 3
      • comrade on Feb 06, 2014 at 3:16 pm

you should go to JKR and check how much the actual projected traffic in the concession agreement then you’ll understand why there are compensation….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
        • squall_shinoda on Feb 08, 2014 at 1:34 am

Weih, you’re on the wrong department la dude… Since when did JKR become in charge for toll expressways…? It’s supposed to be LLM laa…

• grrrr on Feb 06, 2014 at 1:59 pm

well said bro. have u ever think of federal highway? still dont want to stop toll. besides, they got alot of money from mega billboard along fed highway.

i hope PRU akan datang bagi tumbang ini semua kronis.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 7
      • Low Budget on Feb 06, 2014 at 2:13 pm

The money they collected from Federal Highway is more than enough for them to build more than 10 highways with each one stack on top of each other all the way from Klang to K.L.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
        • Federal Highway (which is under PLUS jurisdiction) starts from Subang Toll, until after Sungai Rasau Toll. The one from Seputeh to Subang is under JKR (i.e the government).

Whatever it is, I agree that the Batu Tiga and Sungai Rasau Toll should be demolished and given back to Government for maintenance..

• goodonme on Feb 06, 2014 at 7:47 pm

Agreed. Fed highway toll booth must have been there for, I don’t know, maybe 20 years? If I remembered correctly, there was no toll both when I went through the highway while I was still in primary school years. It’s definitely a case where existing road has been tolled due to some expansion work carried on the route. Very similar to LDP in Puchong area (where they effectively just built/improvise existing federal road, rather than building new route). Surely these examples would not cost that much. That’s why when the Minister in PM Department say use other route if don’t want to pay toll, I just laughed coz in Puchong, they convert the original/existing federal road into a tolled highway. Stupid. Just plain stupid.

• Low Budget on Feb 06, 2014 at 10:26 pm

It has been in operation for more than 30 years! You are right that they expanded the existing federal road just like LDP.
          They got back the cost after the 3rd year and from then on it was almost net profit all the way for 30 years.

• P2The Best on Feb 06, 2014 at 3:20 pm

Agree… So next year buat lagi satu agreement to raise the toll price and pay another RM400m ppls money… what a great way for them to make money… Bravo

• smokey on Feb 06, 2014 at 1:25 pm

who sign these contract at the first place? signed at loss also can…
    cronies cannot get money from rakyat, no problem, can get back the same from government…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
    • squall_shinoda on Feb 06, 2014 at 2:00 pm

Who else…? The one and only Samy Vellu, of course.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
      • Low Budget on Feb 06, 2014 at 2:14 pm

Actually signing on behalf of xxx.

• Most of them were signed during DSAI time when he was the Finance Minister..

• yeah. we should not be bias.
          both PR and BN sometimes are useless.
          for instance in kajang right now, what a waste of money for his own benefit. pffft

• goodonme on Feb 06, 2014 at 7:53 pm

Partly the senior public servant in relevant department (in this case, either JKR or LLM) were responsible for such lopsided agreement. Minister can give instruction, but ultimately only Gov servant can execute. Surely, there must be a rule/process that takes care the interest of public. IMO, it’s a case of corrupt gov servant (not necessarily about money) who ignore the public general interest when reviewing such agreement. Maybe the reward of such misconduct will resulted in faster promotion? It takes two to tango: the minister and the gov servant.

• Another RM400mil robbed by North-South Robber.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
  • Mann Bell on Feb 06, 2014 at 1:31 pm

nasib baik ada PRK Kajang… kalau tak, dah lama dah naik

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 7
  • 400m to PLUS, 300m back to their own pocket

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
  • Saga BeLum Masak on Feb 06, 2014 at 1:42 pm

Show us the contract please…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Few months later, “Due to global economical fluctuations and a drop in the value of the Ringgit that we can’t control, we have no choice but to ________________.”

Please fill in the blanks yourself :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
  • capati on Feb 06, 2014 at 1:56 pm

kzm, pontiac, abuya123 dan lain2 macai – cepat tepuk tangan. janji ditepati. LOL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
    • I don really care since I seldom use highway with toll….I don know y u all want me to work with the gov/um** which I don’t like to work with…zombies!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
  • sikitol on Feb 06, 2014 at 2:07 pm

Orang umno bn yg buat perjajian dgn pemilik tol lebuhraya kenapa rakyat jelata yg tanggung risiko. Masa buat perjanjian kau tak ajak pun wakil dari kalangan rakyat utk bersama dlm mesyuarat, ini namanya double standard olih kerajaan umno bn haram jadah. Bila susah sibuk bagitau rakyat bila senang ada untung umno bn haram jadah buat senyap. No to umno bn.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
  • this damn aggreements r really bs.. volume of cars increase every year la.. hw many millions they get everyday?! hmm.. but they dont read this forum…

• n these tolls create the traffic jams some more hahaha..

• Brian on Feb 06, 2014 at 2:33 pm

i rather they hike the toll price than paying the 400mil

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
    • Low Budget on Feb 06, 2014 at 3:21 pm

Hike toll price – You lose.
      Pay 400 million – You also lose.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
      • ScuderiaVincero on Feb 06, 2014 at 5:22 pm

Toll price hike: Road users lose
        Subsidies: Malaysian taxpayers lose

• Denaihati on Feb 06, 2014 at 2:38 pm

good news to all, hope will extended to few years. permanently look like impossible.

• Don’t be so happy yet. 400 mil must come from somewhere unless our ministers want to donate that amount. This is just a begining of the story, sooner or later you would see government cutting other subsidy or increase taxes to cover that 400 mil. Ada udang di sebalik batu!

• I'M 22BUT I LIKETHENEWCAMRY on Feb 06, 2014 at 2:42 pm

HHAHAHA. VERY CLEAVER NAJIB & Co. USE OUR MONEY TO ‘SAFE’ US BACK? BULL CRAP ! GO BACK BN YOUR’E DONE FOR FROM NOW ON!

Btw. the camry is quite a nice car :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
    • cleaver…yes…najib is like a meat cleaver, butchering the rakyat in every way possible

• ArancioMars on Feb 06, 2014 at 3:14 pm

hahaha…that outdated trick from BN for the next PRK Kajang…hope ppl out there will not be tricked again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • P2The Best on Feb 06, 2014 at 3:14 pm

So whats next? Reduced BR1M because of this RM400m lost?

• FunnyBN on Feb 06, 2014 at 3:44 pm

what logic is this?? I open the gate to let robbers rob you, you complain, so i help the robbers to rob you from behind so you should thank me. Does this make any sense? FCK BN

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
  • Guan Yin Ma on Feb 06, 2014 at 3:45 pm

Cool. We not the one who racist. Is G , they are the one who promote racist. Why a 30 yrs experience chinese company cannot get a development project, but a 3 yrs old malay company can get a 50m project ? Why ??? Fair play ?? Choose via skin color ?? This no racist ????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 22
    • your mom on Feb 06, 2014 at 5:09 pm

based on top 10 richest man in Malaysia, tell me which races fill the rank.
      2nd go to jobstreet, “candidate who can speak Mandarin will be an added advantage”. this is Malaysia OK.
      3rd, talk about fair , please look at the bigger picture of Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 8
    • SOHAIBABIGUANENG on Feb 06, 2014 at 7:06 pm

there is no such thing as fair play. everybody will try to cheat and kill any competition right or left. of course some of malays are easily cheated but when they try to survive, they,re systematically ‘killed’ by so call ‘caring’ malaysians

• Ah Beng on Feb 06, 2014 at 4:30 pm

Aiya! Tol naik pon bising! Tol tarak naik pon bising! Semua pon mau bising!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 26
  • tambah everything and then want to boast you didnt rise the toll price..go F yourself

• farizY on Feb 06, 2014 at 5:35 pm

More wayang from BN. In other news, our national debt continue to rise. These concessionaires untung dua kali, RM400mil from gomen aka tax payers monies, and our toll. BN dan cronism, tiada berpisah.

• Project on Feb 06, 2014 at 5:41 pm

Guan Min Yan

Chinese company nowdays use a lot of Malay Ali Baba company to do busines… so this is no racist thing… front face malay or chinese…backend maybe chinese or malay…dont talk fair play..

• mamatwhyla on Feb 06, 2014 at 5:57 pm

bugger, pay using public fund rm400mil make so big hoo haa, front page newspaper big2 and all over website. eh gov, when u want collect back the rm250mil moo project?

• superbird #43 on Feb 06, 2014 at 6:22 pm

govt and/or concessionaires should consider upgrading to Electronic Road Pricing system instead of compensating this and compensating that.
    the toll is such a nuisance when you are driving in excess of 70mph on the highway.
    oh ya, why cant we drive in excess of 130mph on Malaysian “roads”? mind to explain?

• Our enforcement like shit, what to do.. ERP won’t work here…

2ndly, our road condition also not so good, with a lot of cornering here and there. so u can never drive in excess of 180kmh..

• act a fool on Feb 06, 2014 at 6:31 pm

All we do is whine n complaints. Corruption is everywhere, as long as we live in a peaceful harmony country is gd enough. We always compare to a our neighbour sinchapore..spore is good no corruption. But its jst a lil tiny piece of land. Even singaporean themselves r running away n migrating to malaysia and aussie. Why not compare with indonesia, india, Philippines, thailand, vietnam or cambodia..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • act a fool on Feb 06, 2014 at 6:39 pm

All we do is whine n complaints. Corruption is everywhere, as long as we live in a peaceful harmony country is gd enough. We always compare to a our neighbour sinchapore..spore is good no corruption. But its jst a lil tiny piece of land. Besaf tahi hidung bopeh la manage. Even singaporean themselves r running away n migrating to malaysia and aussie. Why not compare with indonesia, india, Philippines, thailand, vietnam or cambodia etc. Travel to those cities n compare.. talk bout gov sucks, but then u stil go to school provided by da gov. U still take loan frm gov. Even opposition party also finish their secondary school providMaybe everyone should have da same name n speaks only one language then only it is called 1mlaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
    • why not compare with better country?
      to be better, we must compete with better country.
      not some lower 3rd world country. look ahead!

• P2TheBest on Feb 13, 2014 at 9:31 am

Why not compare with indonesia, india, Philippines, thailand, vietnam or cambodia etc???

Which one will you compete with?
      No. 1 Or No. 10?

Yenadey??

• act a fool on Feb 06, 2014 at 6:41 pm

All we do is whine n complaints. Corruption is everywhere, as long as we live in a peaceful harmony country is gd enough. We always compare to a our neighbour sinchapore..spore is good no corruption. But its jst a lil tiny piece of land. Besaf tahi hidung bopeh la manage. Even singaporean themselves r running away n migrating to malaysia and aussie. Why not compare with indonesia, india, Philippines, thailand, vietnam or cambodia etc. Travel to those cities n compare.. talk bout gov sucks, but then u stil go to school provided by da gov. U still take loan frm gov. Even opposition party also finish their secondary school provided by gov. What a joke.maybe everyone should have da same name n speaks only one language then only it is called one 1mlaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • Richard on Feb 07, 2014 at 1:30 am

In those old day, Malaysia’s economy power was far better than Korea, Taiwan & Singapore. Now we are losing our edge against Thailand, Indo & Viet. Believe me another 20 to 30 years, we will be poorer than these 3 countries (TIV) and only above those sub-sahara countries if our G still maintaining the current strategies & Practices.

For me, I don’t mind that the Toll rate increase 100%; G withdraw all subsidy for petrol and all other price control items. Who will suffer – those are not understand the wind of change. I can imagine, no traffic jam all day long, like in 1980s Chinese New Year traffic in KL.

No real picture, no transparency, no … too many to talk about on this “sure kaya” Toll Concession Agreement. No point to talk, just make sure that you are on top of these issues and able to handle it and overcome it.

Read more, listen more and try to travel to other countries and see the changes and compare what is happening in Malaysia. Then you will find the answer.

Make the right decision and not just paying money. try other way out that good for the country and Rakyat. Do it not only for you, is for yr children, grand children and yr future generations to come.

• Noticed that announcement was made by DPM. Where is the PM? Should he be making the announcement? This lends strength to the rumour mills…he is on the way out..

• Archangel on Feb 06, 2014 at 9:44 pm

Speechless about the government pay RM400m compensation to concessionaires. This is just the beginning as there will be more to come in the near future. Sigh.

• armandd on Feb 07, 2014 at 2:44 am

You guys complain about everthing, huh? Tol naik pun salah, tol tak naik pun salah… I bet even if the toll rates go down, you guys will still complaint it’s not enough. *Speechless*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Low Risk Highway Concessionaire on Feb 07, 2014 at 4:47 am

Why on earth that usually cocky Government was “cheated” by the toll concessionaire?

The RM400m must traded with the congestion. If concessionaire couldn’t agree to give up the compensation they must make sure to limit the number of cars in order to avoid congestion.

In my opinion had the agreement details were an act of accountability as the government of the day is represented the vast rakyat we’re not going to misled by these people.

CONGESTION is reason why government shouldn’t pay them in advance as they’re already benefited from VOLUME game that “failed” to understand by government.

• Aniki on Feb 07, 2014 at 8:17 am

Don’t act like you are loosing money. You can earn elsewhere but you didn’t. You should increase the tax on those wealthy people but you choose to drop it from 28% to 26%. Then you make excuse to increase price on petrol and toll, subsequently affect the cost of transportation and production to increase, thus making your people suffer to buy high cost food, daily supply and electricity. You made the choice, we will also make our choice…

• Chong KL on Feb 07, 2014 at 8:20 am

Just increase the toll rates!
    Let everyone to feel it!
    Why just use tax payers’ hard earned money to subsidize the others?

• maaf 400 juta

• Jebonr on Feb 07, 2014 at 1:00 pm

There comes a time when a tough decision need to be done. In this case, that decision is needed. But I belief it was not done because the Government has made a lot of bad decisions last year. Now,RM400 million are lost because of that. Then again, it’s Friday. So tonight I am going out to celebrate this. While I still can. :-D

• Archangel on Feb 09, 2014 at 11:17 pm

Well now, hope there is no increase on toll price in the future.

• Nicholas on Feb 12, 2014 at 1:00 am

Don’t blame the government, they are not corrupted or wrong, they just buy at a higher price or made a bad decision… Like how they did with our sugar price, or the condo cow case, or the rm3k spanner, or the rm40k binoculars, or the 10% commission paid for printing our ringgit… Totally not because they are inefficient…