2014 BMW X3 M Sport LCI – first shot of kitted-up F25

2014_F25_BMW_X3_M_Sport_LCI

This is the first look at the 2014 BMW X3 M Sport LCI (left), the kitted-up version of the updated F25 range. It joins the standard and xLine (right) appearance packages unveiled yesterday. Does it look better or worse than the outgoing X3 M Sport? Do comment below.

To recap, the facelifted F25 BMW X3 gains a whole new front face (that will be shared with the upcoming X4), a more upmarket interior and a revised engine lineup. Making its debut with the model is a new up-tuned xDrive20d engine, now with 190 hp and 400 Nm of torque.

For a more complete coverage of all that has been changed in the refreshed mid-sized SUV, check out our initial 2014 BMW X3 LCI report. Here in Malaysia, the pre-facelift F25 X3 is available in xDrive20i and xDrive20d forms. Both locally-assembled, they are priced at RM323,800 and RM348,800 respectively.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Looks like a 2003 KIA Santa Fe! BMW is getting uglier in their SUV design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 29
  • I have always liked my 2011 X3 except that noisy diesel engine. Now with this facelift, my car immediately looks aged! WTH….

• razibar on Feb 07, 2014 at 5:40 pm

what does LCI stand for?

• Annoynimouse on Feb 07, 2014 at 6:12 pm

I’ve seen better designs elsewhere…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • NurburgringDriver on Feb 07, 2014 at 6:33 pm

Before facelift, the M-Sport looks too weird. Now this looks hell a lot better. More aggressive (to me). Good to know fog lights are just option so I can have a BMW X3 LCI M-Sport without fog lamps. How good will that look? Also they’ll introduce M-Performance Parts to the X3. Will that mean a potential X3 M on the way? Rivaling both RS Q3 and GLA45 AMG?

• Isn’t X3 to compete with Q5? Porsche Macan is coming….

• NurburgringDriver on Feb 08, 2014 at 2:46 am

Right… Thanks for correction. I wonder if there will be an Audi RS Q5? But still, judging by the availability of M-Performance parts, could it mean that a BMW X3 ///M will come to join other X-series with ///M Power such as X5 M or X6 M?

• smiley on Feb 07, 2014 at 7:04 pm

Am I the only one that notice that the M-sport had a angry face while the non-msport model had a smiley face.

So there you go, get the m-sport trim and you’ll be equally angry at your self as you drive off the lot.

• Cetak Tak Mati on Feb 07, 2014 at 8:26 pm

very small SUV, outdated and ugly design. totally cannot fight with Mercedes GL,GLA,ML in term of exterior design,interior quality & design..

but no doubt handling is much better compared to its competitors

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
    • paucharsiew on Feb 08, 2014 at 8:14 am

handling good? u obviously never driven one

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
      • Cetak Tak Mati on Feb 08, 2014 at 11:13 am

you obviously never driven q5,q3,x5,ml,gl,x6 . in fact i dont think u have ever driven any suv for that matter

typical bodoh sombong

• What happened to BMW? Their designs are getting uglier…except for maybe the 4 series. Merc seems to be at the top of its game right now…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • skatax on Feb 07, 2014 at 11:22 pm

when will they ever get the X1, X3 design look right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
  • Archangel on Feb 09, 2014 at 5:21 pm

Although both are locally-assembled, the price is a bit steep. Then again, that is a pretty decent looking car.

• niterunner99 on Feb 10, 2014 at 1:09 pm

To ans NurburgringDriver, there’s a ‘S’ Q5, and should be launching in Malaysia soon…Singapore just announced this model 2wks ago.
    3L, 8spd, 345hp, 0-100: 5.3s, 470NM torq.
    As it’s a ‘S’ model…pricing is also eye watering SG$335k.
    So if it’s a true ‘RS’ version…maybe a few point something seconds faster, 50-70hp more, but pricing will be much higher!