2014 Kia Optima Hybrid facelift unveiled in Chicago

7926_1_2

A year behind its petrol-only sibling, the 2014 Kia Optima Hybrid facelift has been unveiled at the ongoing 2014 Chicago Auto Show. The electric motor-assisted model gets its own set of exclusive enhancements on the inside and outside, while boasting improved fuel efficiency claims.

The exterior upgrades introduced on the facelifted standard car (which has since been launched in Malaysia) have been adapted into this updated hybrid variant. The front bumper is bespoke, incorporating additional vents to reduce drag. Unique, lighter 16- and 17-inch wheels also enhance the Optima Hybrid’s aerodynamic efficiency.

On the styling front, there’s a new front grille, LED-infused headlights and fender badges – all exclusive to the Hybrid variant. Inside, there’s an optional white leather package to go along with the more upscale interior. Also in the options list are a high-resolution eight-inch multimedia screen and an eight-speaker Infinity sound system.

Under the hood lies a 2.4 litre engine paired to a 47 hp electric motor and 47 kW lithium-polymer battery, good for a combined 199 hp and 320 Nm of torque. In its primary American market, the 2014 Kia Optima Hybrid facelift is rated to return 16.2 km per litre on the US combined cycle.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Jebonr on Feb 07, 2014 at 12:44 pm

A hybrid by KIA? wow! they sure move fast in R & D.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • Gently Speaking on Feb 07, 2014 at 2:04 pm

Thier R&D is fast.

But there is no Innovation here, just Adopting Existing Hybrid Technology.

Furthermore, Korean R&D have yet to proof it’s reliability.

From Samsung’s Amoled, Samsung Exynos.
      Low reliability.
      Korean Car?

Thier R&D give low reliability.
      Mainly thanks to their Over Confident for Not willing to Test So much on Reliability.

Just Like the Case of Germany’s VW and Ford Ecoboost.

Their Low reliability Technology made them Top 10 least reliability car.

Fortunately, Kia Hyundai dont do much RnD on car, adopting existing high end technology can prevent them towards lowest reliability category.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 44
      • If you think koreans dont have r&d and is low in reliability, please go read more and stop reading gila gila magazine.

Fyi, apple still use samsung chips and screen. Go read up on hydrogen fuel cell and the koreans car manufacturer are already joint venture with german car company to further test the technology.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
        • Korean JV as to give money to support the test maa..

Korean RnD.. can die 1.

Samsung phone are good.
          but not Samsung phone will Samsung Amoled and Samsung Exynos.

just like Korean cars…
          If they develop high tech engine themselve. I worry leh.

lucky it’s just normal engine being manufacture. But still, Korean cars never hit Top 10 reliability.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 22
    • DrCooper on Feb 07, 2014 at 2:26 pm

Optima and Sonata (Optima’s sister car) has been around since 2011 is not mistaken..but US market only

• Kimchi on Feb 07, 2014 at 1:14 pm

Sam Loo, this Kimchi look better than your sushi Camry…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 7
    • Cetak Tak Mati on Feb 07, 2014 at 2:36 pm

lol funny to see all these econobox fanboys poking fun at each other while me high class conti-guy just sit back eat pop corn and laugh at you guys

pathetic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 34
      • Hey..high class continue guy…I bet you have nothing better to do. Go and play with your bicycle..

• Hey…high class conti guy….I bet you have nothing better to do. Go play with your bicycle..

• DrCooper on Feb 07, 2014 at 2:24 pm

Damn, the front actually look good…why can’t make the non-hybrid look like this too ?

• Maserati(Official) on Feb 07, 2014 at 2:52 pm

Good looking. As expected… from KIA :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • Sam Loo on Feb 07, 2014 at 7:27 pm

Sure looks good in my yard, when the max I can offer for this model 15mth old is RM25k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 26
      • Vader on Feb 08, 2014 at 9:42 am

Siok sendiri again? Hahaha…
        Again, let us know where is ur yard, we willing to pay u 100% commission which is RM50k for the 15 months old second hand car.
        Ur yard in ur dream ya… Lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 21
      • Vader on Feb 08, 2014 at 9:42 am

Siok sendiri again? Hahaha…
        Again, let us know where is ur yard, we willing to pay u 100% commission which is RM50k for the 15 months old second hand car.
        Ur yard in ur dream ya… Lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 19
        • Maserati on Feb 08, 2014 at 9:42 pm

Oh Vader oh Vader, you must be another sorhai previous K5 owner who is so upset of your junk car where now left 30% of car price after one year. Come to the junk yard fast, will give you a better price.

• SamLIAR on Feb 08, 2014 at 9:29 pm

Sam, every time I read your post, i saw you bashing korean car. From what I know, you are a Toyota sales man, driving a old camry. Heard from your previous colleage, you are junior sales man, an uncle, extremely arrogant, talk big but you are only sales man. People are laughing at you all the times, dont you feel shame uncle. Dont like that, think of your family (if you have) i dont think they want to see their father who looks so sorhai at the blog.

• SamTheDaiLanNgong on Feb 07, 2014 at 2:57 pm

I am very sure Sam the ignorant will says that this car has no RV. As long as it is a kimchi it will not have RV. Or we should say, as long as a comment by Sam, it is rubbish just like himself. As long as not Sam Loo’s comment, it is useful.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 19
  • Guilt79 on Feb 07, 2014 at 3:08 pm

Nice but dunno why the steering looks weird…

• too uncle looks..haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • KIA Malaysia, can we have that big screen for our local cars?

• Pewit… gti steering wheel…

• motorhead on Feb 07, 2014 at 9:15 pm

Not available here.. but kinda like KIA Picanto.. any owners here? Potential modify abit to look like Abarth.

• Same Lor on Feb 08, 2014 at 2:58 am

This big piece of kimchi hybrid can only archieve 16.2km/l?? Come on, Viva can do better than that.

If you want save fuel, go for Toyota hybrid.

If you want save your pocket, go for P1 P2.

If you are too smart to go for expensive piece of junk, buy this one 16.2km/l-I-can’t-stop-laughing hybrid!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • Archangel on Feb 09, 2014 at 10:56 pm

The overall design looks good for a hybrid car.