NAP 2014 Roadmap – highlights of the action plan

NAP-2014-Roadmap-2

Yesterday, the Ministry of International Trade and Industry (MITI), together with Malaysia Automotive Institute (MAI), announced the roadmap for the National Automotive Policy (NAP 2014).

Aimed as a guideline for industry stakeholders, the roadmap highlights the path being undertaken towards transforming the competitiveness of the Malaysian automotive industry and working towards the country being the regional EEV hub by the year 2020.

Six specific areas of development are categorised under the roadmap, these being the Malaysia Automotive Technology Roadmap (MATR), Malaysia Automotive Supply Chain Development Roadmap (MASR), Malaysia Automotive Human Capital Development Roadmap (MAHR), Malaysia Automotive Remanufacturing Roadmap (MARR), Malaysia Automotive Bumiputera Development Roadmap (MABR) and Development of Automotive Authorised Treatment Facilities Framework (ATF).

nap 2014 roadmap slide 2

To recap, the MATR details out the latest green technological trends and future outlook as well as the tax structure rationalisation guidelines for the auto industry. The MASR, meanwhile, aims to enhance the operational effectiveness and efficiency of components/spare parts manufacturers.

The MAHR outlines a plan for developing a competent and adequate workforce at all levels within the industry, while the MARR outlines detailed criteria of remanufacturing standards and best practices to be adopted by automotive players with the aim of making Malaysia the centre of automotive remanufacturing in the ASEAN region.

nap 2014 roadmap slide 1

The MABR focuses on activities related to the development of technology, human capital and supply chain to enhance the competitiveness of Bumiputera companies in the domestic auto industry, and the ATF framework is to serve as a guideline in transforming automotive after-market businesses and aid the development of a complete, sustainable automotive industry.

The MAI has issued an overview highlighting the action plan, including the introduction of new measures that are aligned with global and regional technology changes. The highlights of the NAP 2014 Roadmap is 127 pages long, so we’ve placed it as a complete document here, below. What do you think of the NAP 2014 Roadmap?

[scribd id=205291939 key=key-1utefrqknmpfyw6gpo15 mode=scroll]

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Ohh OK…so? Ngabihkan $$ jelahhh..all talk kok nonstop…bongok botingkek2!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • abdullah on Feb 07, 2014 at 2:08 pm

Roadmap by our no value for money government.

There is nothing about reduction in duties. Our government operating expenses about 200 billion a year is very high. (About RM7200 per person per year).
    Duties from vehicles only contribute about 7 billion a year.
    I see no reason it cannot be reduce.

This NAP 2014 will be a failure.
    It is like the communist system, where the government wants to control free enterprise.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 3
  • hondaman on Feb 07, 2014 at 2:42 pm

kaya consultant yang buat ni.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
  • farizY on Feb 07, 2014 at 3:05 pm

How bumiputera can become competitive? when they get lubang for bisnez (of course with poliyical ties), they sell the business to non-bumi, or let they run them. MALAS. Tau nak kaya cepat je. AP for instance, they sell it to non-bumi. Enough with race based policies. I don’t see first world countries coming out with race based policies, why should us? everything goes back to crony Bumis.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 5
    • We will never be a first world country. Every body needs to get an equal opportunity. Only then the people will push each other to achieve higher which will benefit the country. Success can’t be bought.
      Oh well, might as well just contribute to the brain drain. The world is small these days. If you’re a dreamer you’ll get what I mean.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • Ibrahim on Feb 09, 2014 at 9:45 am

Kau mesti dah jadi jutawan dah sebab kau Bumi. Kalau belum jutawan lagi kau adalah Bumi yg bodoh sebab semua peluang di depan mata kau tak nampak.

• truely malaysian on Feb 07, 2014 at 3:05 pm

Wah terror! What a mouth full MAXX, MBXX etc…all talk kosing, shiok shiok sendiri, what is the STAR in the chart for??? For diesel is very simple: when are we getting Euro 6, forget about Euro 4, don’t waste our time!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
  • drMpower on Feb 07, 2014 at 3:06 pm

A very good approach towards dismantling the excise duty fee. See how a responsible government does its job? Having to forgo revenues is meet by increasing income. It is very easy to delete this and that but not everyone can come up with the top ups.

This is why rafizi isnt in the same league as tok pa. The only way to wreck this plan is by sabotaging it altogether. Lets just hope that does not happen

Ps-there are weakness in the NAP, MAI. Address it as soon as possible

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 29
    • Low Budget on Feb 07, 2014 at 3:51 pm

Please be patient, wait for 2015 for them to address the weaknesses lah. I am sure they will come out with more beautiful slogan and power point slides.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • Guan Yin Ma on Feb 07, 2014 at 3:09 pm

hybrid market entrance till 2019 ? BMW i3 and i8 already start to selling and booking , you still marketing entrance ? By 2019, BMW and toyota already finish develop and start selling their fuel cell car . HAHAHAHAHAHA.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • Sunriver on Feb 07, 2014 at 3:10 pm

As the slides acknowledged, our auto industry is truly on the decline. Unfortunately our policy comes out little too late.

Most of the key auto players have already bypass us and already put in place 5 to 7 years production plans for fuel efficient vehicles for ASEAN market.

To further grasp how far behind we are, please check here: www.automotivemanufacturingsolutions.com

Please a moment of silent to the demise of Bolehland auto industry…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • along on Feb 07, 2014 at 3:46 pm

Greetings…

You can come out with whatever roadmap or fancy diagram, at the end of the day, can ordinary rakyat buy good car with adequate safety level with 3-5 loan only? I don’t think so…

Day in – day out, month in – month out, year in – year out, we always talk, discuss, analysis about what should the government do, what should MITI do, what should MAI do and what should bank do to reduce the car price….

Its always about what others should do, to make sure the car price drop to a more reasonable level (don’t need 9 years loan, more suitable around 5 years loan and the less the better)… but 20 – 30 years of time should be enough to tell us that they wont do anything to our benefit, its always about what manufactures get, what AP king get, what OEM supplier get, so what about us, the biggest stakeholder, the customer …

It is us that send the wrong message to gov, car manufacturers, AP kings… when the price increase every facelift, we are the ones that queue to book the car and some do book the car for 9 years loan even before the launch of the car…

Let talk about, as customer, what should we do? regardless what policy maker, gov agency and companies want to say. Personally, I will maintain my current ride (which is second hand) and refuse to buy any new cars, I repeat any new car, not just proton and perodua. I will also convince my children, my friends, my family, my boss, my office mates so that they they will not be buying either… and justify it by ridiculous price or cars in Malaysia. They (gov, AP king, PerKema, manufactures) can say a lot of thing, but if we are not buying, what they are saying is irrelevant.

If u still need a car, buy a second hand car, since the taxes have been paid by the previous customer. I know it might be difficult to get a good second hand car, but we need to show a strong message that we are the boss, the biggest stakeholder. And this is also the benefit for our children and grand-children.

If we do this and play our part, we will gain mass and trust me there will be oversupply and surely price will drop…
    So come on guy, play our part and don’t hope others to do this, we need to do this ourselves…

If we work together, we can win this…
    When the buying stop, the killing can too…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 2
    • Low Budget on Feb 07, 2014 at 4:00 pm

In local slank it means “Talk Kock only”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
    • Paul Low on Feb 07, 2014 at 8:43 pm

I concur. Never bought any new car in my life. Been driving second hand car for the past 20 years.

When friends asked why pay for the repair, I told them that new car also needs “repair”, every single month for the next 7 or 9 years, it’s called “bank installments”. Then there’s the “real repairs” 5 years down the road if not earlier if you are lucky.

Here’s my favorite part about used car. Bought a almost 20 years old Cirtoen ZX for RM3,000. Spend RM1,000 to replace alternator and coolant radiator, rode it for 2 years and sold the car for RM5,000. I was LOL’ing to the bank.

Next up, Citroen Picasso, launched circa 2003-2004, RM130,000 brand new, with ABS, air bag, stability control and what not, now going for 10k-15k. Another 5 years and it’ll be time for “upgrade” to this car for RM5k.

• Gentleman on Feb 08, 2014 at 10:36 pm

We need people like you to buy our 2nd hand car.

Thank you for being part of the Ecology.

• Low Budget on Feb 07, 2014 at 3:58 pm

Auto industry will be on the decline, that is for sure, this is why there is suggestion cars older than a certain age must be phased out so that the owner can start buying new cars, this is their way of trying to rejuvenate the auto industry.
    This suggestion has died down in NAP 2014, rest be assured it will crop up again in NAP 2015.

• Joker on Feb 07, 2014 at 4:08 pm

2025 still development phase for fuel cell.. Lol!!! I don’t think cars in the road even have wheels by 2025… What a chart that is…

• bumimakanayam on Feb 07, 2014 at 4:32 pm

ha..i stop reading the graph when i saw the word “bumiputra development roadmap”..all crap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 5
  • Plan all sounds n looks bombastic, actual fact, nothing.. Melayu macam ini la, pelan hebat, conference sini sana, tapi pelaksanaan zero.. Berangan kuat..

• Unforgiven on Feb 07, 2014 at 7:00 pm

Free money into the pocket system/process is needed here, so we need an unfair policy that’s sided cronies/gov. This is very sad only, at the end of the day, the rakyat/consumers are still paying 9 years for car loans. In global perspective, we’ll face a losing market and not moving fast enough in this global competitive World!

• kangkung_diet on Feb 07, 2014 at 7:36 pm

Looks more like a roadmap to automotive graveyard. We are totally out of touch with the rest of the world. Why employ all this people to come out with a useless map?

• Desperate Citizen on Feb 08, 2014 at 1:04 am

Is this the best details we have in this so called roadmap?
    With all the hype, the sensation, the anticipation in the media, what came out is only of this quality?
    Not even close to what we have been expecting.
    Enough of this nonsense!

• Same Lor on Feb 08, 2014 at 2:43 am

At the baseline, these are the roadmaps to KEEP PROTON SURVIVE. Chill lar…

• MohdJamal on Feb 08, 2014 at 5:58 am

Where is the 20-30%reduction in car prices
    promised by PM before GE13 ?
    Mr.PM did u forget or were
    you misquoted again ?

• Ah loong on Feb 08, 2014 at 7:28 am

Name me a policy that benefits consumer and rakyat….?
    Now are we clear any policies are for cronies instead?

• MCA guy on Feb 08, 2014 at 7:34 am

They should just replace the word bumiputera=drb hicom.

Tell me how many bumiputera benefits ? All us suffered by paying high price for drb hicom if everyone not realized yet.

• Leafable on Feb 08, 2014 at 9:13 am

NAP = Full of Shit

• Student on Feb 08, 2014 at 10:45 am

Hybrid vehicle from proton is a dillusion

• EnergyAnalyst on Feb 09, 2014 at 7:56 am

Love paultan.org for covering this story. May I suggest to follow up with interview with industry players /car makers to get their views. I am sure they will have plenty to say to this?!

• Archangel on Feb 09, 2014 at 5:31 pm

In the end, people suffer from this kind of thing.

• There is no end to this NAP thing. Their intention all along is to protect some vested groups. If you say Malaysia need to protect certain industry, like shipping, airline, oil & gas, then I understand, becoz they are national interests. But auto industry is not. It has failed. Move on. They can’t even build a basic car to sell worldwide, now they want to start the EV & Fuel-Cell tech? Tell me how much it will cost the country & rakyat. I have a feeling car prices will increase in the future.