Proton Preve LPG available in Thailand, 58-litre tank

proton-preve-lpg-thailand-1

An LPG-powered variant of the Proton Preve is now available in Thailand, as the Proton Thailand website indicates. Available in Standard, Executive and Premium trims (like the regular Thai-market Preve), the Proton Preve LPG comes with a 58-litre tank in the boot and an electronic fuel gauge on the dashboard.

Powering the Standard and Executive trims is the 1.6 litre IAFM+ engine, mated either to a five-speed manual or a six-virtual ratio CVT. The Premium gets a 1.6 litre CFE turbo engine and a seven-virtual ratio ProTronic CVT with shift paddles. Of course, the engines have been modified to run on LPG.

Regardless of trim, the Proton Preve LPG gets ABS, EBD and 16-inch alloys wrapped in 205/55 rubber. Standard gets two airbags, Executive four and Premium six. Premium gets brake assist, traction control, ESC and auto headlamps all to itself.

proton-preve-lpg-thailand-a

The Proton Preve LPG is priced from 664k to 798k baht (RM67k-81k) in the Land of Smiles. In comparison, the regular Preve is priced from 625k to 759k baht (RM64k-77k).

A three-year or 100,000-km warranty, 24-hour roadside assistance, emergency medical assistance and concierge service are offered. The buyer can choose from Blue Lagoon, Tranquility Black, Solid White or Genetic Silver body colours.

If any of you can read Thai, we’d be grateful for more info!

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• abuya123 on Feb 10, 2014 at 4:12 pm

Wow…. Mesti beli!

• NGV and LPG the same thing or not?which is more efficient?

• for sure…NG much cheaper, safer and less CO2 n oso no need to modified engine…but LPG give more power than NG..LPG more efficient

• vincent ang on Feb 11, 2014 at 11:54 am

Why not on Malaysia? LPG powered vehicles beat diesel kg for kg.

• LPG is ‘liquefied petroleum gas’ and basically the same as cooking gas (propane/butane mix). It’s stored in containers under a relatively low pressure of 1 MPa.

A natural gas vehicle or NGV uses compressed natural gas (CNG, mainly methane). The gas is stored under a much higher pressure of 25 MPa. The required tank is more massive and costly than a conventional fuel tank.

CNG is generally cheaper than LPG, but LPG produces over twice the amount of energy than natural gas.

• watta???!!

• Proton did it again… the good thing always sell to outside but not local… not like Japan and Korean, the good car always benefit their local 1st. really not understand proton..

• press f5 on Feb 10, 2014 at 6:07 pm

i disagree. have you actually been to korea?
      there are hardly any non-korean car on the road, but their offering locally doesn’t necessarily means better than oversea.

furthermore, who will buy LPG car in Malaysia when the infrastructure is not ready.

• Weird-policy on Feb 10, 2014 at 6:39 pm

Chicken and egg problem:
        LPG infrastructure not provided because nobody uses LPG vehicle,
        Everybody wimp to buy LPG vehicle because LPG infrastructure not provided.
        One side has to start the ball rolling, but most chicken out early on….

• I agree, Having been there, I can Malaysia is more auto Diverse than S.Korea. Hyundai,Kia, Samsung and Daewoo just filled the streets and what looks outstanding in Malaysia, gets abit dull there. But as far as spec goes, our standard model seems to be better spec in most ways than Japanese/Korean cars sold in their home market…..for instence, most Kia Optima/K5 dosen’t have LED DRL and Cerato/K3 still come with steel wheels and noraml bulb rear lamp as expose to the Angelina Jolie-lip LED rear lights that we get. Also in Japan, most car are sold without a built–in radio as standard, what I guess is that most Japanese still prefer to buy their own aftermarket audio system

However, their Domestic market car have one very clear winning point, all cars, steel rims or not, empty ICE or not, ALL cars are equipped with the Paultan-commetors-stamp-of-appproval safety kit; 6 Airbags and ESC MINIMUM, which should be the way its done.

• 4G63T DSM on Feb 11, 2014 at 10:50 am

That’s right.

While leather, alloys, fancy lights and stereo can be options, safety shouldn’t be.

That said, I like the direction proton is heading with standard safety gear on its Suprima and Preve.

As for LPG/CNG. The lead should have been the government. No consumers would risk “investing” in technology wihtout any infrastructure.

No one will buy cars if there aren’t any roads to drive them on. We can see it already with electric infrastructure getting the green light, but it is not moving at the speed we would all like. Malaysian Government is still too slow and flippy floppy when it comes to infrastructure….and even when its implemented, its half past 6.

And to address the elephant in the room. When you restrict half the populations’ brightest entrepreneurs in this industry, what do you expect?

• I want to say Why Proton waste the time and money to invest in a LPG car for Thailand only but not an NGV version for Malaysian? u get my point here? isn’t Proton should spend the resource and benefit for Malaysia market 1st?

• Annoynimouse on Feb 10, 2014 at 6:55 pm

The Japanese automotive approach is that new technologies they bring out will be tested on domestic markets first before applying them on exports. They have a large market abroad, so its a safe strategy. Some techs will see it through to exports, some may not.
      Dunno know much about Korean.

• Rinnegan on Feb 10, 2014 at 4:21 pm

I hope Proton will come out with a pre-installed CNG Preve for consumers. It will be much more beneficial that way.

• Malaysia?

• not sell in malaysia??

• Gently Speaking on Feb 10, 2014 at 4:24 pm

Preve PEtrol – 5 years warranty.

Preve LPG – 3 years warranty.

why lesser? U know i know, no need to say.

• Wait wait wait, before you bashers start your business;

There is absolutely NO POINT launching this Prevé LPG in Malaysia. There are very few LPG stations here. Most are in KL only.

Thailand is well known for their LPG coverage, their taxis are mostly LPG powered. Malaysia is a mix of NGV and petrol.

So there. Read up a bit before commenting.

• SO many ill-informed people. Sigh.

Anyway, M’sia is not the place to bring and try new ideas. Government is SO EFFICIENT in discouraging talented entrepreneurs.

• newbie on Feb 10, 2014 at 4:28 pm

This is kinda stupid question. But, will the LPG variant be marketed in Malaysia? Hope nobody will bash me. :D

• Nha Keliyd on Feb 10, 2014 at 4:29 pm

How many units Preve sold in Thailand last year 2013? Embarrassingly low sales?

• Thailand sales in 2013
      (Source – Best Selling Cars Blog);

Toyota (no.1) = 445,225 units
      Hyundai (no.13) = 4,202 units
      Kia (no.19) = 888 units
      Proton (no.21) = 685 units

In December 2013, Proton sold more cars than Kia. Also, a lot of Hyundai’s sales are from commercial vehicles, not passenger cars.

In Thailand, you are considered rich if you own a Hyundai, Kia or even a Proton. Why ? Because to get a loan for a non-Japanese car is very hard. The Thai NAP strongly favours the Japanese cars which are made there. Only the rich can afford non-Japanese cars.

The grass is green where you water it.

• Gently Speaking on Feb 11, 2014 at 12:52 am

Jesus.

Toyota have their own car finance.
        Nothing to be supported by Thai Goverment. Not sure about the others.

While Korean or Proton.
        Thailand people never like Korean Cars,
        just like how Malaysia dont like Citroen Chevrolet.

If it’s so hard to get a car loan,
        The rich Korean would have set up their own car finance.

• Kesian Proton….tsk tsk tsk…(aku menangis tapi ketawa juga)

• Carlover on Feb 10, 2014 at 4:30 pm

Proton are find hard to sell in the open market country…

• Thailand is not an open-market.

Australia is. The United Kingdom is. Germany is.

South Korea isn’t. Japan isn’t. China isn’t.

• Same Lor on Feb 11, 2014 at 2:09 pm

Then why Toyota Honda still selling hot in non open market countries?

If Proton can’t fight Toyota Honda FAIRLY and OPENLY in its homeland Malaysia, no where else it can beat them.

• losing your boot space to an LPG tank and you have to drive with unnecessary laden weight…it’s time for proton to focus on pure hybrid rather than offer a cheap but inefficient ways to save fuel.

• armandd on Feb 10, 2014 at 6:42 pm

Saga hybrid will be marketed by Proton by end of 2015. Search the article in paultan.org

• driver on Feb 10, 2014 at 8:09 pm

I see no further point to not agree with you. absolutely this is the way future. No need to catch-up with bigger players on conventional engine technology, but instead work on hybrid technology. Malaysia has a very high potential of using solar (for electricity?) or fuel cell.

OK, this may sound too ambitious, but why not?

• 4G63T DSM on Feb 11, 2014 at 10:56 am

and this is any different from loosing space and adding weight to a battery pack?

The futurist in me says that the market will eventually polarize into 2 segments.

pure electic – short range city cars
      hydrogen fuel cell – for people who commute.

Either way, we will be moving away from petroleum based fuels.

• vincent ang on Feb 11, 2014 at 12:04 pm

Friend hybrid vehicles electric moptor and batteries very light?

• when NGV variant for boleh market?

• mamat on Feb 10, 2014 at 5:07 pm

MALAYSIA ade x?

• Pororo on Feb 10, 2014 at 5:09 pm

soon, there will be Proton basher and people who don’t know the different between LPG and NGV like the post in FB….

• wahedenator on Feb 10, 2014 at 5:44 pm

would you mind to explain why natural gas powered vehicle is named NGV while LPG powered vehicle did not use LPGV ?

In Aussie they also using LPG instead NG (natural gas). not sure why malaysia is prefered NG (or NGV u called it)

• Keith Duckworth on Feb 10, 2014 at 6:01 pm

Petronas got a lot of supply of NG mah. NG price also cheap

• not that hard….bolehland is among main producer n exporter of NG in the world…boleh produce 66 billion metre cube NG(2011)…boleh export half and use the remaining half..n import in small quantity (1 billion metre cube)

• Prebet Sapu Rata Panje on Feb 10, 2014 at 5:16 pm

Takdok nok ado buat untuk pasare Malaysia ko Proton weh?

• twwwwwww on Feb 10, 2014 at 6:29 pm

sell “super value” milo tin in “super Premium price” in malaysia, sell “super Premium” cars in “super value” price in other countries.
    i’ve been to australia! and i saw they threw the protong cars like a rubbish bin. DARE those who comment me wrong!

• SMK Proton KH class design on Feb 10, 2014 at 7:30 pm

Epic fail by proton again, look at the LPG indicator next to the start button, looks like some design from a Form 3 student in kemahiran hidup class putting some led’s lights on a circuit board…so fugly as hell on our jaguh kampong ….haha watt an epic fail !!!

• Please somebody make a list why you hate proton so that proton people can see clearly and your proposal how to make proton successful like other car manufacturers like kia in 5 years for example if you are the md of proton holding.

• give already but Proton dont want listen.

For short term: Adopt Honda engine, achiving high quality and fuel efficient.
      For long term: focus developing on Hydrogen Cell/EV, with high reliability.

• pearl on Feb 10, 2014 at 10:21 pm

First proton must improve on its reputation.people look down at proton because of its quality and reliability.i know they ve tried with all tuv things but didnt work. Focusing on lotus handling wont work although most car reviews give high rating on proton handling.proton parts vendors are the culprits.they supply poor quality parts.secondly the quality controls. Try to adopt perodua quality control at least. Employ Japanese in proton quality control u see the different.secondly proton must penetrate american automotive market.consumerism is strong there compare to uk. Thats how most korean earned thier reputation started as el cheapo than slowly work thier way up.look

• Denaihati on Feb 10, 2014 at 10:22 pm

Hope we will have NGV variant for consumer or taxi, not just for fuel saving, in term of safety, i believe much better, because the built in from factory not modified. Photo show the tank is proper mount, covered and looks very nice.

• totti on Feb 11, 2014 at 9:17 am

The next disaster for campro engine if they use LPG.

Go and ask the NGV user especially the Taxi. The Compro engine will fail miserably after 50,000 KM.

• vincent ang on Feb 11, 2014 at 11:59 am

NGV IS NOT THE SAME AS LPG. Please do some homework.

• Cosmo Artemis on Feb 11, 2014 at 1:19 pm

Oh come-on…I believe all those taxi die due to lack of maintenance.

• Thais on Feb 11, 2014 at 11:32 am

In December, Proton gave 10-15K RM discount for each Preve or 0% for 72-months(I believe the offer still valid)
    For LPG, it’s from Prins.

• WTH Proton, this is available in Thailand and not your own origin in Malaysia? Next time i foresee u guys launched new models in other countries and then asked us malaysian to wait for your new model to come rite?!!

• In Malaysia LPG is used merely for cooking, shortage of supply can cause trouble for us. Then someone will say please use fire wood instead of LPG for cooking.

• kambinganas on Feb 12, 2014 at 5:19 pm

Sebab tu lah kite pakai NGV untuk kereta. Tapi tak kan lah proton tak leh nak kuar kerete Preve NGV kat sini pulak?

• Albert Lee on Feb 11, 2014 at 9:46 pm

The Thais simply has so many Japanese cars to choose from.Why do they need Proton?

• Ask the gov to allow petro station to build LPG pumps first la…