Proton Sales Carnivals collect over 2,000 bookings

proton-kuala-terengganu 061

The past three Proton Sales Carnivals in Shah Alam, Melaka and Penang have collected a total of 2,002 bookings out of 6,700 test drives, Proton deputy CEO Datuk Lukman Ibrahim announced in his speech at the just-concluded Kuala Terengganu carnival.

The first carnival, held in Shah Alam, garnered 396 bookings. The Melaka carnival did considerably better with 727 while the Penang carnival achieved 879.

Each carnival hosted launches of new variants that the public can buy (Persona SV in Shah Alam, Suprima S Super Premium in Melaka, plus Inspira Super Premium and Satria Neo Standard 4AT in Penang), except the KT carnival, which saw the unveiling of the Proton R3 Suprima S Malaysian Super Series race car.

proton-kuala-terengganu 060

“When we initially started the Sales Carnival late last year, our intentions were clear; that we wanted to get down to the ground, meet the people, showcase our quality as well as give everyone an opportunity to know our products and services better,” Lukman said.

He also revealed that as of end-January 2014, the Saga SV had recorded around 55,000 bookings since its launch, with close to 40,000 cars registered. The Persona SV, which was launched at the Shah Alam carnival only last November, has managed around 2,000 bookings, 1,300 of which have been registered.

Gallery includes shots from last weekend’s KT carnival.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Filter on Feb 10, 2014 at 11:40 am

2,000 bookings only…wait for CTOS and CCRIS finance profiles…how many get loan approvals???

• Gently Speaking on Feb 10, 2014 at 3:22 pm

This also given that
      got 3 months up to 6 months free installment.

and all for stock clearance 2013 built model.

• Pinky on Feb 10, 2014 at 11:52 am

I’ve went to 2 of those carnivals.. All the cars having “promotions” are actually stock of 2012.. But it’s 2014 already..

• nabill on Feb 10, 2014 at 1:37 pm

its pretty normal if u buy a car in the first quarter of the year,thr wil be old stock from the last quarter of the previous year…most showroom have that,n stimes u get 10%-15% off the new model price which is quite a good value if ur looking for that particular car…

these carnivals show that if u educate the public abt ur products,thn thrs always buyer waiting…most brands should follow

• Normal to have 2012 stock for 2014 (freaking 2 year gap)?? It’s normal for Proton I guess since their cars are junk. Probably should recover the cost by just sending those units to the scrap metal dealers.

• Punky on Feb 10, 2014 at 2:37 pm

So many dust debu on the cars…really desperate lelong old stock kah!

• Denaihati on Feb 10, 2014 at 11:57 am

congratulation proton, hope will continued this carnival and will located to many more town.
    very interested on preve chassis photo, clearly saw the structure that rarely in exhibition or galery.

• Sam Loo on Feb 10, 2014 at 1:11 pm

Useless junk toyo atis n sivik cannot compare to the Ancap 5 star Proton Suprima.Very happy to have a Suprima and Kia Cerato 2013 batch.

• Sam Loo on Feb 10, 2014 at 1:15 pm

Kia Cerato population has increase in our country.Everyday drive to work can see Cerato and other Kia and Hyundai flooding the road.
        This shows that Malaysians are already bored with what UMW,Honda and Tan chong do with us,and soon these three will gulung tikar balik jepun.

• rchoo on Feb 10, 2014 at 3:01 pm

Yes, never before in my life that i have seen so many new Korean cars on the road otherwise could very much be a Japanese ones, Japanese car segment is gradually being eroded by the Continental and Korean. keep up the good work – Korean and European.

• Same Lor on Feb 11, 2014 at 2:32 pm

Don’t masquerade people you fool!

Don’t judge by own perception, the figures in car sales tell. Many people at your taman or office buying kimchi cars and drive around you doesn’t mean more korean cars are sold in Malaysia.

End of the days, people will trade in their kimchi and proton with little resale value and get a vios/city (coz the little value not enough for them to book altis/civic).

• Global car company but jual kereta kat padang pokok kelapa…sungguh menyedihkan

• lemer on Feb 10, 2014 at 1:07 pm

You are having no regard with nature. Those pokok kelapa indeed beautiful than empty field. Sir, please check your brain please.

• armandd on Feb 11, 2014 at 1:36 pm

This thing also wanna bash ka? U’re a disgrace to the nation…

• policeman on Feb 10, 2014 at 12:43 pm

LOL. Must go to ulu place to sell their crappy car and con the ulu minded people.

• Sam Loo on Feb 10, 2014 at 1:17 pm

nope,ulu minded people only buy those junk like Vios,altis and honda.They know nothing about cars.

• mata mata on Feb 10, 2014 at 1:19 pm

That’s why Saga SV big sales popular in Sabah and Sarawak…LOL.

• dino years on Feb 10, 2014 at 3:01 pm

you sir are the “ulu minded person”. who are you to judge them as “ulu”?

• qwerty on Feb 10, 2014 at 3:17 pm

Excuse me, katak?! How long have you not watched the news, read papers or even go traveling? Sabah is a lot more developed than so many places in west Malaysia.

• mind your words sir, this is exactly the perception of the mindless ‘katak bawah tempurung’ moron that always think S’wak and Sabah are still ‘ulu’. Get out of your bed and travel the world sir. S’wak and Sabah are in fact a better place to live in compare to the racially tense semenanjung..

• jaguhkpg on Feb 10, 2014 at 1:44 pm

No surprise, cause it’s a jaguh kampung…

• You call Penang people ‘ulu minded’ ? Most of the carnival sales came from Penang, if you read the article.

Why are Penang people buying Protons ? If you go to Penang island, you will notice fewer new cars, a lot are still old, 10+ year old cars, meaning that they take care and value their possessions. Penangites are rich, but they are also very prudent with their spending, they won’t simply buy cars and things that aren’t worth it. A house and education are far more worthwhile investments, because a house will appreciate in value over time, whereas education is invaluable. A car is always a loss-maker, unless if you buy a rare classic car, then ok lah. lol

So… still believe that it is only those ulu-minded or poor people who buy Protons ? I am not so sure about that.

And I’m not a Penangite btw. But I respect their ways and perspectives.

• wantan mee on Feb 10, 2014 at 10:55 pm

No Choice, penang standard of living so high.
        only housing installment will kill u.
        beside Saga SV i think didnt have a sedan car in this price range that cather for family.
        takan buy a viva as family car meh….

• Tchaivosky on Feb 10, 2014 at 7:30 pm

so you are saying that my hometown penang is ulu ? your statement apparently shows who is more ulu.

• Steve Jobs on Feb 10, 2014 at 12:49 pm

hahhahaha.macam pasar tani.dah.takpelaa janji jual.

• taiko on Feb 10, 2014 at 12:53 pm

only 2k..the 100% main reason is picture no.2. if there are kpop star on pic2 probably 20000k will be book.CHEERS

• downsys on Feb 10, 2014 at 1:11 pm

Negatives aside, almost 1 out of 3 who did a test drive made a booking. Not bad, really.

• mata mata on Feb 10, 2014 at 1:20 pm

the other 2 out of 3 must be very well informed, internet savvy car buyers to skip the bookings!

• Lelong lelong!!!

• CarsUnite1M on Feb 10, 2014 at 1:43 pm

Wah, that’s amazing stats! One out of three who test drove the cars made a booking! Not many manufacturers can boast those kinds of numbers. Really shows that Proton is on the up! Good job! :D

• dodgeviper88 on Feb 10, 2014 at 1:50 pm

The statement is too vague for me. Out of these 2000 bookings, are these bookings a direct result of the carnival? Are there any sales spike in comparison to last year’s? What are the carnival cost and whether the costs is covered by the increase of sales? Were there any market research done or the just decide to have a carnival To syok sendiri?

• Besi Buruk on Feb 10, 2014 at 9:24 pm

Cakap macam major shareholder of Proton.

• caprico on Feb 11, 2014 at 2:53 pm

i’ve been to one of the carnivals in Auto City.. and have tested one of their latest, Suprima S.. The personnel told me that they are having such carnival to tell people that they have their own customers (Exora club members, Preve club members as well as Satria club members, etc) and at the same time to sell original, genuine parts up to 90% off. And by the way, Suprima S is awesome.

• RabbitSeductive on Feb 10, 2014 at 2:26 pm

The more local cars selling cheap like nasi lemak out there. The more jam it will be. Have u guys noticed the jam in KL and Selangor nowadays! We’re going to be like Jakarta and Bangkok very soon. You will see people peeing at the roadside soon because of getting stucked for hours in the jam. With the lack of security and good public transportation, everyone would want to own a car today!

• I wonder why no more acrobatic car show, just 2 wheel on the ground like old time.if 27 years ago saga can do for sure suprima preve can do. i think that more fun than slalom.

• Superman on Feb 10, 2014 at 3:13 pm

all the cars in these carnivala are ex stock older model 2011-13 and they try to clear them. all these carnivals cost so much a s2000 bookings only? out of these bookings maybe 300 plus will become actual sale of loans approved. do you call this marketing and sales? this is how dato lukman trying to turn around proton?

• mamat on Feb 10, 2014 at 5:17 pm

i can see lancer wanabe.. haha!

• iskhalifah on Feb 10, 2014 at 5:32 pm

Surprised that the Persona SV booking is ‘so-so’ compared to its Saga SV sibling. The Persona is super value indeed. Try to look back 15 years ago.. can u get a Wira 1.6 DOHC with that price & equipment?

• iskhalifah on Feb 10, 2014 at 5:43 pm

IMHO, the Persona SV is the ‘most bang for buck’ ever produced by Proton. Although pricier than the Saga, it offers more room, better ride comfort & solid handling and some safety equipment. It is among the most reliable Proton models ever produced despite its Gen.2 origins (Proton learnt their lesson from Gen.2 & Waja, and engineered the Persona with their past mistakes in mind). The only complaint is that there are some rattling sound inside the dash & door trimmings when car goes over bumps & potholes, which is not that disturbing anyway. Other than, it works perfectly fine. My persona mileage is nearly 100K km and it still rides comfortably and solid over corners… despite I haven’t changed the absorbers yet.

• suffer Malaysian on Feb 11, 2014 at 9:46 am

Many people forced to buy a car to survive. Using private transport is a primary option compare to public transportation. With our current “best” security condition, nobody want to squish in the bus together with Bangla, indon, etc…
      Buying a Saga already make so many people only can afford for eating kangkung. If buying a higher spec car, more can only eat sand as no more money to buy food.

• Albert Lee on Feb 10, 2014 at 10:23 pm

The facts are out.Saga SV sales 40,000units from launch till end January.So actual Saga SV sales in 2003 is around 35000units excluding the standard and premium FLX.
    Total Proton cars sold is 136000 cars in 2013.
    Without this price reduction FLX SV,actual Proton sales just hit around 100,000 units.10 years ago it is 200-250 thousand units annually.
    Sales have fallen by more than half.
    Do you classify anyone who present these facts as BASHING ?
    Why are some people getting emotional and label us as Proton bashers when facts are presented?

• moforox on Feb 11, 2014 at 1:11 am

The fact which i know:-
    10 years ago = many bashers about P1
    TODAY which is 10 years after = STILL many bashers about P1

• Same Lor on Feb 11, 2014 at 2:46 pm

The fact which we know:-
      10 years ago = P1 cars are junks.
      TODAYS which is 10 years after = Still P1 cars are junks.

People buying it because it is CHEAP, not because it is good. Those who bought it and starting to regret it, keep on deceiving themselves the car is good.

Same like you keep on telling yourself you are using iPhone while you actually holding a Nokia 3310.

• Low Budget on Feb 11, 2014 at 12:07 pm

I think the bashers are getting less now a days lah.
    I still bash Proton for causing inconvenience with faulty parts and alignment to me some years back, now I do appreciate their effort on trying to improve their quality.

• Same Lor on Feb 11, 2014 at 2:40 pm

When the seller is desperate, sales carnivals are held. You see the supermarkets on sales all year long, are they doing good?

Toyota/Honda don’t need sales carnival, because they don’t have 2012 cars for sales, they don’t even have September 2013 cars for sales.

Do you see iPhone has sales carnival? Rolex has sales carnival?

Simple fact: good items don’t need sales carnival, their quality walks the sales.

• These carnivals are waste of time. What are they trying to do? People already know Proton and there is no need to arrange circus for people to go and book a car. These special activities can be done professionally in the main dealerships. Instead of spending money on this sort of time wasting programs, Proton so called marketing head must do her work by doing better TV and radio campaign as well as sales promotion. These carnivals are arranged like like Pasar Malam. They make company look cheaper and more desperate for sales. DRB claims that they don’t want people look at Proton as a cheap car but they make the car cheapest in Australia and still very low sales. They need to make customers to trust the brand. See how KIA did this from a dead name to one of the most respected brands in the world. Proton Bosses always think of how to make money and don’t care how. This is their downfall. Incompetent people claim to be professionals. That Dato lukman who has Zero charisma and showmanship. Compare him with DSSZ or Steve Jobs.

• Samad Jain on Feb 11, 2014 at 6:47 pm

those cars are collecting dust. Nobody (dares) touching it?? Just look at the photos….

So pity, Proton….

• Albert Lee on Feb 11, 2014 at 9:37 pm

Some bright sparks in proton are getting 12months bonuses before Chinese New Year for coming up with SV,Super Premiums,Organising carnivals to boost sales.The botak MD simply said” Good idea,since our sales are lagging behind Perodua,lets give these proposals our best shot”.
    However,in 2014 what is going to happen?Any new global sellers on the way,Mr.Proton?