SPYSHOTS: Proton P2-30A Global Small Car – first clear look at the B-segment hatch’s interior

PROTON-GSC-1

After showing various shots with a peek at the top of the dashboard, today we can show you the first revealing photos of the upcoming Proton P2-30A Global Small Car’s interior.

The main feature on the dashboard is what appears to be a 2-DIN infotainment screen flanked by silver trim. This infotainment screen has two aircond vents on the left and right. This layout makes it easier to use the infotainment system such as reading the GPS navigation instructions, since it’s positioned higher.

Below the infotainment screen you have various controls. From left, we have the parking sensor control button, door lock button, hazard light button and an button to switch ESP stability control off, which confirms that this car has ESP stability control. Below that you have three air conditioning control knobs – the left one controls the airflow direction, the middle one controls the fan speed, and the right one controls the temperature.

Other things we noticed – steering wheel audio controls, and a lever for manual steering adjustment. The gear lever has D and L modes, which probably mean it’s using a CVT gearbox like other new Protons. The photo angle doesn’t show any cupholders but we reckon it should most likely be next to the handbrake.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• jroyz on Feb 10, 2014 at 7:50 am

Buy Malaysian Car 2014! Ehehe…

• Bapak Kau on Feb 10, 2014 at 10:01 am

Another unwanted shit in the making. I bet my ass this would be an epic fail just like Tiara & Savvy. Nice job Potong haha.. Haktuih!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 74
      • ponyrider on Feb 10, 2014 at 10:19 am

Aloo abang.. tak suka tak apa… Tp,xpayah ludah-ludah. Mulut kau tu busuk! Hehehehhe

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 2
        • loving the all black interior

• theanswer on Feb 10, 2014 at 11:58 am

lot better than savvy’s beige interior.

• policeman on Feb 10, 2014 at 1:12 pm

Colour blind?

In consists of 8 shades of grey, black, and some odd colours.

• driver on Feb 10, 2014 at 8:00 pm

3 factors for P1 to get it right:

1) Pricing: have it less than 40k, even hot cakes will envy it

2) Engine: Pickup & FC is crucial. Top speed is not the main focus

3) Quality control: please be stringent!

Other comments: please improve after sale services, and please.. listen, listen, listen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
          • if it’s below 40k it sure is a bargain!

• SyukurMalaysiaAman on Feb 10, 2014 at 10:36 am

biarkn, dia ludah2 pun tkena dia balik juga tu. Dok Malaysia tak mgutuk Malaysia baik dok dlm gua sorg2.

• Celicazz on Feb 10, 2014 at 10:28 am

Hahahahahaha…

since when savvy was a failure? its underpinnings forms the Saga today. Tiara was DRB-Hicom projects also, but, for your knowledge, it was based on the car of the year Citroen AX. so, its the problem with the automaker or malaysian?

• sktan on Feb 10, 2014 at 11:14 am

typical jealous malay,

probably a poor kapcai rider

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
        • ARIFFIN on Feb 10, 2014 at 12:18 pm

You think all kapcai riders are poor ah? I know many Christians who give a quater of their salaries to their churches. Not all people spent their money on things ok.

• penunggang kapcai yg kasihan atau penunggang kapcai yg miskin?

err… me inglis not gud.

• DonkeyKong on Feb 10, 2014 at 2:25 pm

Poor and have lousy financial management skills

• arsene ntmu on Feb 10, 2014 at 12:40 pm

mybe dye pon pkai pr0ton…luar dye haktuih hati kata laen..cun plak proton ni

• TeresaCockBadutBetina on Feb 10, 2014 at 5:41 pm

Setan. I’m also jealous & riding kapcai ma…

• hadi anwar on Feb 10, 2014 at 2:39 pm

please get ur mouth wash.

• org zaman batu je masih cerita ttg savvy dan tiara bang oii.. dudukla kat takuk lama tu.. jgn beralih oii…

• berani ko pertaruhkan asss ko

• AnakMerdeka on Feb 20, 2014 at 2:22 am

Kau sedot balek ludah kau..aku takut anak kau yang jilat nati..

• sirimusa on Feb 10, 2014 at 10:10 am

Looks quite good actually!
      But what engine are we talking about? Will it be MMC or Honda sourced? Because a 1.3 CamPro just doesn’t cut it anymore. Bad fuel consumption and antiquated technology.
      By the looks of it, Proton has a good product. Now complement it with a modern, clean and efficient engine!

• policeman on Feb 10, 2014 at 1:17 pm

It will use the same 1.2 engine from the Honda Brio, but with light pressure turbo for higher specs.

• DonkeyKong on Feb 10, 2014 at 2:27 pm

Come on man, don’t spout BS here. It’s already been said for a long time that it will be based on Campro NFE, which is Camrpo with VVT. Basically Proton will standardize their supply chain by having the same variable valve timing head across their naturally aspirated and turbocharged engine lines. It will still have a Punch CVT though. No indication if it’s a derivative of the improved VT3+ unit.

• Die Maker on Feb 12, 2014 at 4:20 pm

Pakai enjin Campro NFE la..mne de enjin honda..dgr kata pakai enjin campro CFE tapi takde turbo..tu la jadi enjin NFE kot..

• kampung on Feb 10, 2014 at 5:01 pm

Kalau Wira orang buat curi lembu, yang ini boleh buat bela ayam. Nasib baik ada proton ….kereta orang kampunn…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • wowit on Feb 10, 2014 at 7:53 am

wow, i have to admit it, very nice interior…..

• tokmoh on Feb 10, 2014 at 8:17 am

It looks like a pickup truck interior.

lorry styling.

Built tough, built low FC, built stabiliy.
      built RM25k starting price.

• for Arab buyers it’s RM12K price lah…??? manyak cantek lu Proton

• Celicazz on Feb 10, 2014 at 10:31 am

Saudi arabia doesnt have taxes, loan oso not interest based.

• u need to read arab black story don just read arab glory…do you know almost 30% of arab is considered miskin? they cant even buy food or shelter..not many news about this came out in the news since the arab gov control the media..people who oppose will end up in jail..this in saudi arabia..if arab people cant buy food do u think they can buy RM12k p1?

• policeman on Feb 10, 2014 at 12:54 pm

Ya. Macam old nissan frontier. or some old Korean car dash.

They keep using that cheapo silver finishing all over. And that stupid design door handle.

That gear lever! I just know it’s gonna feel light and flimsy.

Steering wheel colour doesn’t match the car. macam sial the colour matching!

• das auto on Feb 10, 2014 at 2:10 pm

Cheapo silver? toyota harrier uses it too. And as i recall harrier ain’t cheap one bit!!

• driver on Feb 10, 2014 at 8:24 am

zooming to the white box down-left of the first picture.. it says “bosch”. I wonder what’s that for. Temperature recorder?

• theanswer on Feb 10, 2014 at 12:05 pm

maybe abs or airbag module.

• pirlo on Feb 10, 2014 at 10:43 pm

it is ECU. some of the biggest customer from Bosch ECU are VW & BMW. Audi has some, but they majorly sourcing from Continental.

• Yeah right…the gear knob looks like Batang Berjuntai…

• Proton seem very serious in making their global car.. go go proton.. all the best.. improve your car quality and show u can compete..
    i still frustrated with proton upon what happen to my Saga but still want to see proton success…

• Global car but dare not enter USA market…kenapa ya…??

• glocal on Feb 10, 2014 at 9:25 am

so, if you enter USA only that can be considered as GLOBAL?

please google the meaning of GLOBAL, ok……..

• fahmi on Feb 10, 2014 at 9:33 am

Tell that to Peugeot also..

• vincent ang on Feb 10, 2014 at 10:33 am

Peugeot is losing money and market share compared to car manufacturers like Volkswagen and Mercedes. Like Proton it is only alive due to massive cash injection from the state.

• intermilan on Feb 10, 2014 at 10:58 am

there are different between peugeot and proton. don’t simply lump them together.

peugeot biggest market (europe) is in sickening decline, year on year, for 5-6 years already. sales over there were at worst figure for the past 20-30 years during this time period. (since 2008 if not mistaken).

but proton biggest market (malaysia) generally is growing steadily during the same time.

and peugeot was only helped when the situation became unbearable; unlike proton which is helped at all time, even when the market is positive and expanding.

• ang ngok on Feb 10, 2014 at 11:06 am

Again looser basher since 2o years minded ago.. Proton DRB-owned.. who said it injected by govt? mindless talking rba guy.. some more if Proton be injected to for our own auto car..so what’s wrong? proud od Honda belong to japan? langsi maa..

• ang fool on Feb 10, 2014 at 12:49 pm

It is drb owned (private owned) not goment anymore.

• massive cash injection? why the past 10 year their cash is in red not black?

• Suraya Natasha on Feb 11, 2014 at 10:38 am

you maybe just wake up from year 2000… welcome to 2014, bro…

• thelonely on Feb 10, 2014 at 10:40 am

USA market is more on performance, big engine cars.

• DonkeyKong on Feb 10, 2014 at 2:31 pm

Because they drive on the other side of the road in the US, in case you didn’t notice.. katak bawah tempurung..

• Besi Buruk on Feb 10, 2014 at 10:18 pm

Why such comment? You have travelled the whole world or just watching the world through the internet? – Tempurung diatas katak = katak dibawah tempurung.

• that bcoz there is extra cost need to be pay to make the car can be sold in the US..that y some manufacturer do not enter US especially low volume car maker

• TeresaCockBadutBetina on Feb 10, 2014 at 5:58 pm

It’s still under testing but you already know dare or dare not?

• USA has the highest and strictest law and regulations regarding cars to be entered to their market.
        Google this: USA NHTSA.
        Even major car makers have to consider US-spec in designing their cars.
        Who said American only for big and thirsty vehicles? Current stats shows that American consumers are towards fuel-efficient mid-size vehicles, just like the rest of the world too.
        I heard that Proton has once tried to enter US market but didn’t pass.

• JogetGanas on Feb 20, 2014 at 2:28 am

Tu otak boleh pikir luar kotak tak..mohon makan vitamin banyak sikit..

• keyless or no keyless?

• wiper on Feb 10, 2014 at 8:01 am

not bad

• nabill on Feb 10, 2014 at 8:01 am

Center meter n aircond dials looks like inspired from the inspira dash… Dashboard looks like a dark blue color??
    And al da sticker writings are in swedish!
    N da driver hand rest looks abit low… Same like all protons… But ovetall the design doesnt doesnt scream low rent which is excitibg!

• kadajawi on Feb 10, 2014 at 10:44 am

No, the stickers are in German.

The red button has a sticker that says: Emergency-Off. The one next to it is an abbreviation, not sure what they mean with it. Probably something they can plug in something to diagnose the car with.

The big sticker at the bottom is unfortunately cut off, what I can read is “… the buzzer for the emergency-off-monitoring-system is (looks like it could be fuse…?) measurement engineering (probably they mean a department of that name) 5A immediately to be replaced.” Maybe they want to say that in case the buzzer goes off they have to replace a fuse?

• wiper on Feb 10, 2014 at 8:02 am

first n second!!

• kenot on Feb 10, 2014 at 8:04 am

when I look at the interior, what can I say, “this is European style”. well done proton.

Only I really hope proton can do the right thing especially fit and finish.

go go proton

• 3 knob design from Inspira.

Steering from Honda Accord.

• most cars on the road are identical since ford model T came out. just like smart phone nowadays, all look like i phone.

if don’t want to be identical to any existing car, use motorbike handle to replace steering wheel?

through the history, accord steering wheel and inspira/lancer knobs also not the breakthrough designs. other models already using that too.

• squall_shinoda on Feb 10, 2014 at 10:57 am

Since when did the steering look like a Honda Accord…? Are you blind or what…? The steering wheels are the same as in Proton Exora, Preve and Suprima S.

• Steering wheel center looks smaller n squarish as compared to preve exora steering

• Abg Long on Feb 10, 2014 at 11:48 am

i hv no problem. as long as quality is there, price is ok. Go Proton Go! but if this car still mengecewakan, i’ll say bye2 proton. aku beli kereta lain tahun lain haha..

• Besi Buruk on Feb 10, 2014 at 10:32 pm

After reading this article and seeing pictures, is that all you can say?

• kadajawi on Feb 10, 2014 at 11:13 am

Are you sure?
      Renault Clio:
      http://bit.ly/1f8URdg

Ford Fiesta:
      http://bit.ly/1gfirbR

Citroen DS3:
      http://bit.ly/1biAwa9

Opel Adam:
      http://bit.ly/1lUtGMw

Opel Corsa:
      http://bit.ly/1bDYLu7

Seat Ibiza:
      http://bit.ly/1fSifxf

Fiat Panda:
      http://bit.ly/1h37ZHK

Skoda Fabia:
      http://bit.ly/1iPQkjG

VW Polo:
      http://bit.ly/M4rPo6

Alfa Romeo MiTo:
      http://bit.ly/1eICYXZ

And… good news! The Dacia Sandero:
      http://bit.ly/1egMbkf

• Top gear fan detected!

• DonkeyKong on Feb 10, 2014 at 2:33 pm

Anal retention detected

• das auto on Feb 10, 2014 at 5:54 pm

HOw come you get to post so many links of picture? I just post 1 link n my comment gets censored .

• kadajawi on Feb 11, 2014 at 2:43 pm

I’m a celebrity here.

• kadajawi on Feb 11, 2014 at 2:45 pm

To be honest though I don’t know. Maybe it was the content of your link? The moderator did change the links to bitly (thanks!).

• Hope everything works very well for proton this time..

• Low Budget on Feb 10, 2014 at 1:04 pm

You need to pray for them to succeed. For P2 too, will come out with new model to compete with Proton the 2nd half of this year.

• thelonely on Feb 10, 2014 at 8:07 am

not bad at all
    now i’m really hyped up, i think launch will be around april this year

• From the “spyshots”, I can tell that this car is going to take the world by storm just like proton’s previous models like preve & suprima. Toyota, ford, GM & vw must be shivering now.

• What the ****! Preve and Suprima ain’t selling. You better get your facts straight dude.

• squall_shinoda on Feb 10, 2014 at 11:04 am

It is you who should check your facts. Dude, where did you get your facts…? Proton Preve is everywhere now. Even Proton Suprima S sells a decent amount, even though not as many as the Preve.

• Enthu on Feb 10, 2014 at 1:33 pm

I am SOOOOO blinded by your “facts” now.

• kobealex on Feb 10, 2014 at 2:06 pm

Take the WORLD by storm?! Seriously dude…?

• That’s what proton would like us to think. Seriously I see more new Vios that both Preve & Suprima combined.

• wkaka on Feb 10, 2014 at 7:21 pm

His definition of “world” obviously means Malaysia, LOL! “Jaguh” Kampung GO GO GO *sarcasm*

• Profit Or Stupid on Feb 10, 2014 at 4:19 pm

Keep your suprimama & preve in malaysia,Talk global they proton is old KIA

• TeresaCockBadutBetina on Feb 10, 2014 at 6:06 pm

P2 salesman detected.

• From the design, i can tell the sales will be maintain like b4

• Low Budget on Feb 10, 2014 at 1:07 pm

“To take the World by storm..”
      Trying to be sarcastic or what? At best Proton will be just drawing level with Perodua here in Boleh Land, Proton can’t even take Indon or Bangla by storm.

• no name on Feb 10, 2014 at 5:23 pm

i think this is the first time ioma have +ve comment about P1…

• Positive? oh … with your kind of intelligent, no wonder Proton are so syok sendiri.

• GrenMa on Feb 10, 2014 at 8:10 am

it’s a Truck interior.

macam lorry’s dashboard.

• driver on Feb 10, 2014 at 8:20 am

sigh. why don’t you just say “kereta kebal”?

anyway, leather seat, not bad.

• lorry dashboard or not, it still looks good.

btw paul i think theres a cup holder in front of gear lever. they just cover it to put some type of switch there

• ang ngok on Feb 10, 2014 at 11:07 am

Scania dashboard also lorry defined.. but like staying in mobile hotel.. luxury. so whats wrong lorry..pity basher!

• policeman on Feb 10, 2014 at 1:08 pm

That’s the problem with people these days. If it’s shniy, it looks good. That’s why I guess Proton used the Silver finishing on the dash, to impress people like you. Handbrake knob looks like silver also. How long will it be before it starts to wear off???

What a colourful interior, you got black, not so black, grey, bluish grey, silver, light grey, dark grey, white, beige.

Designer: Yes, it’s a functional dash, ie utilitarian.
        Stylist: Let’s add some silver finishing on it, and gloss up the steering wheel and gear panel.
        Ulu people: Wah cantiklah, berkilat-kilat. Door handle pun cantik macam Nike logo.

• Saga Hard Dashboard on Feb 10, 2014 at 8:13 am

I notice Same quality as Saga FLX’s dashboard.

that’s real plastic.

but never mind consider starting selling price is RM25k range.

it will get some sales.

• taboogen on Feb 10, 2014 at 8:42 am

its a prototype lah…

• nabill on Feb 10, 2014 at 9:59 am

we have found a genius who jus by looking at the pic can tel the material/quality used…..wow…praise the lord!

• policeman on Feb 10, 2014 at 1:20 pm

Is it so hard to tell? This and brittle plastic has a distinctive appearance. Like visible in the pictures. The material used to mask certain parts of the dash and the door trims are soft materials, probably made from cardboard.

Was that so difficult?

• Celicazz on Feb 10, 2014 at 10:34 am

dats prototype, it doesnt have texture yet laa

• Low Budget on Feb 10, 2014 at 1:11 pm

Wah, RM 25K? Almost same price as P2 Viva 660cc. The dash board look much better than Viva by many times.

• DonkeyKong on Feb 10, 2014 at 2:36 pm

Proton better buy it from your for 25k to sell to the public

• Besi Buruk on Feb 10, 2014 at 2:37 pm

Eyes of the devil – Can see through the monitor.

• When they replaced all top managements then maybe I trust Proton back!

• maybe you should not trust them all and stop fooling yourself ok

• Besi Buruk on Feb 10, 2014 at 2:38 pm

Why change the management just for you?

• Proton CEO on Feb 10, 2014 at 4:50 pm

I don’t think you know anything about Proton to comment here. How many CEOs’ come and go already?

• Proton does NOT have a have a CEO since DSZ left last year, only a deputy CEO in DLukman. Maybe that’s why it lacks direction and vision.

• This is the 2nd collaboration project with Honda, to enable Proton to compete head-on with Perodua and gain market share.

So, its high-time that Proton should drop its claim of being the only true national car project, since it is no different from Perodua now – a RE-BADGER.

• Nice interior.. Now peoples have one more option for affordable and comfortable compact car besides myvi ;)

• how about MITI let Ford selling Fiesta at RM60K

only then you can talk open fair competition…

• some ppl jst don’t know to live in reality

• ask la ford to ckd here first..then u can talk open fair competition n ask miti to reduce fiesta price

• affordable? on Feb 10, 2014 at 8:52 am

You know the price?

• policeman on Feb 10, 2014 at 1:22 pm

RM27K basic spec with 800cc engine and 4 speed manual.

RM65K for high spec 1600cc engine with turbo, and 7 speed CVT.

• Pengguna Bijak on Feb 10, 2014 at 2:02 pm

Better buy Kia Picanto RM60K full accessories

• DonkeyKong on Feb 10, 2014 at 2:37 pm

800cc with 4 speed manual LOL.. 65k with turbo engine and 7 speed CVT – even bigger LOL!

You have just won the championship belt for Bullshitter of the Year. Please don’t pretend to be an insider and spread rubbish..

• farizY on Feb 10, 2014 at 8:29 am

I have high hopes with this car (actually with every Proton cars), hopefully, it’ll be a bang for the buck!

• flx user on Feb 10, 2014 at 8:45 am

Judging from all these features, I expect the price would be around or higher than my full spec 1.3 saga. Maybe up to 50K. Idk, it just my feeling telling that. I hope the price would be lower than that. If the price is around 35K with basic features without the touchscreen and ESP, I will consider to buy one. ^^

• magpie on Feb 10, 2014 at 10:18 am

Me too. At 35k, tin milo viva will extinct.

• theanswer on Feb 10, 2014 at 12:14 pm

we deserve cheap car with basic safety spec. abs and airbag is a must. but minus alloy rims..leather seat.

• old dog on Feb 10, 2014 at 8:53 am

Vios wannabe? oh wait, Vios is not even selling in other market but this Asean low cost market…

Altis related should be in terms of USA/Europe territory, so this so-called WORLD car is funny code name…especially no diesel and non-hybriad nor EV for Europe? go see who in Europe will buy.

• RejimKejamGanas on Feb 10, 2014 at 11:25 am

The Vios is sold as the Yaris in the US. Don’t be ignorant/lazy, at least read Wikipedia before stating misinformed opinions as facts.

• Wow… the size is almost the same as Peugeot 208 next to it… great with RM40k-RM55k pricing , and parking sensor, ESP, ABS, 4 aribags… it will be worth it

• mmaker on Feb 10, 2014 at 9:06 am

it has usb and aux port. Thats good news

• policeman on Feb 10, 2014 at 1:09 pm

It also has a big red button for you to press when the car breaks down. This will send an SOS to proton iCare.

• the layout is nice..i just wish Proton would use a decent looking head unit..if they decided to use this head unit, its kinda pointless, the shade/material of the head unit do not match the silver trim..it doesn’t look like the head unit is custom made for the car..just like preve head unit..its like you go and buy after market product and slap it on your car..ford is using sony head unit but somehow they are able to match the head unit finishing with the trim beside it..just a little detail improvement like will make the dashboard more pleasing..

• Sam Dol on Feb 10, 2014 at 9:26 am

it’s 2014 already. The interior is nothing to shout about. Wuold it hurt to design it more modern? Get a Peugeot 208 for reference. CHeap, yet excellent on interior design.

• kadajawi on Feb 10, 2014 at 11:30 am

Agreed. Most new B segment cars (I’ve linked a few above) look far more stylish, more thought out, more expensive than this. If anything this can compete with the Dacia Sandero at best. Not that it’s awful, it’s just… nothing special. It looks at home with those B segment cars that are waiting for a refresh/new model, that have been launched many years ago. Maybe it is a budget offering…

Btw., those exterior photos start to remind me of the MG3 (by the Chinese company that bought MG Rover).

• kadajawi i think the interior design are nice event in this pic with many black tape covering the dashboard.for mg3 its such a nice car too,at europe u can choose your own styling at affordable price

• There’s a 208 next to it, you may imagine the size of this car.

• powershot on Feb 10, 2014 at 9:35 am

center console looks better than preve or suprima

• Fahmi on Feb 10, 2014 at 9:37 am

Hope that it will be a success for Proton..

• not bad…not bad at all. if proton put a little bit more effort to improve the fit and finish surely this car will give a better competition to other hatches especially from korea/japan

• P2-30A GSC is going to bite a chunck of P2 30% market share. With P1 stood at 24% last year, a 4% of P2 share (~25k unit) will be suffice to bring P1 at the top after 8 consecutive years as the runner up. P1 hope that by being no.1 again will bring confidence back to domestic market. However, that would not bring any good if the local players 55% market share dips further below than 50% indication that despite of no changes of car prices, Malaysian has lost confidence with P1 & P2. P1 & P2 are so confident that car buyers buying their products because of their quality and good drivability but the facts is that they are buying because of the limited choices that they have in respect with their monthly earnings. I feel pity to Malaysian. The ministers knows about this and heck I believe, P1 & P2 knows about this. They are not competent enough to bring P1 & P2 to the next level of competitiveness and still want to reign at the throne. The spirit of true Malaysian are no longer in their veins ansld as the result, Malaysian suffered tremendously.

• Lunch time you makan kangkong or hisap weed?

• driver on Feb 10, 2014 at 7:49 pm

You have a point. But I think the bigger problem is that most Malaysians have low household incomes relative to the expenses required.

• Sang Fakir~ on Feb 10, 2014 at 9:46 am

best spy shots eva~! proton keep secret even in malaysia’s road.. Paul.. how much u pay u paparazzi? :P

• Hope this not another transportation from P1!

• ruffstuff on Feb 10, 2014 at 9:55 am

Everything seems to be proper. The outlook, the interior seems adequate and decent for a global B segment. This only my opinion based on the screenshot and rumors spec.

The only thing left is the fuel consumption that should be at the same level of B segment which I highly doubt for Proton. Unless they have something new in their ECU which is now using BOSCH instead of Continental. Under the hood, it’s pretty confirmed that it will used the ongoing CVT2/3 transmission.

Reliability, one cannot judge until the cars been sold. But looking at previous Proton history, nothing to be proud. Especially when new model that is built with less carry-over parts. P2-30A more than 80% new parts.

All the best for Proton with GSC.

• RejimKejamGanas on Feb 10, 2014 at 11:32 am

I believe if Proton uses the same quality parts as their export market in their domestic market, the cars will have better durability. The discrimination between export quality and domestic quality has to stop if they want to regain domestic market confidence.

• DonkeyKong on Feb 10, 2014 at 2:41 pm

Proton uses Siemens-VDO ECU all the time. They use Bosch for other auxiliary systems and components. The Campro NFE engine will continue using Siemens-VDO ECU because it has the same cam phasor package as the Campro CFE.

• sudonano on Feb 10, 2014 at 10:04 am

Looks interesting, not a big fan of the painted silver trim (cause they usually peel off fast thanks to scratches from rings on finger, or fingernails etc) but at least it looks not bad compared to the cheap look of the current Saga. still got a lot of cardboard over the front passenger dash and door trims so cannot comment on the overall design. But so far OK la. Good that there is ESC available. Head unit looks the same as the one in the Suprima, which I am not too fond of, cause they use such an old version of Android.

• kadajawi on Feb 10, 2014 at 11:23 am

Yes, silver painted plastic is usually horrible. Looks like cheap mice… It’s nicer on my Logitech G400, but sadly the photo looks more like the cheap sort of plastic. Plain black might even look better than that…

• sudonano on Feb 10, 2014 at 4:54 pm

Yea, like those cheap mice with multicoloured LED. Plain black will be nice, piano black nice too, but difficult to take care.

• uncertaintyFan on Feb 10, 2014 at 10:07 am

i like the tachometer/speedo doesn’t use the rounded design like the saga LMST.. maybe because i’m used to the square look of the 1st gen saga.. hahaha

• Dato' Azhar on Feb 10, 2014 at 10:09 am

Conservative interior

• iskhalifah on Feb 10, 2014 at 10:19 am

Just my 2 sen.

Pros:
    1. First ever proton to use vertically-designed central aircon vents. Looks OK, but not as good looking & refined as other makes.
    2. Tachometer rings looks sporty. But can’t see whether there is central digital display like the Preve.
    3. Adjustable steering, touch screen :)

Cons:
    1. I’m hoping DRB Hicom to consider sharing WV Polo’s interior parts especially Auto Climate Control.. but sigh its just plain dial.
    2. Interior door handle should be with painted chrome, instead of plain silver. Plus at the aircon knob, steering buttons & aircon vent adjuster. Just add only a bit can improve that ‘premium’ness feeling. And then, theres a blank button.
    3. Errr until I see the real thing, I can’t really comment on the plastics which looks rather ‘shining’ & plasticky just like the Current Saga. Its really an upset if they can’t improve on the plastics quality. At least produce one that can match the Hyundai i10, which is a class below the GSC.

• Celicazz on Feb 10, 2014 at 10:43 am

dats untextured plastics… not until design finalised, the texture are applied on the mold. thus, prototypes will have shining dashboards.

• vincent ang on Feb 10, 2014 at 10:40 am

Back looks like Savvy or is it just me. Truth be told the Savvy looks a lot better than the Kelisa. Pity.

• Celicazz on Feb 10, 2014 at 10:44 am

What type of tire they used there? the threads, looks expensive.

• kadajawi on Feb 10, 2014 at 11:17 am

Continental ContiWinterContact. 15″. They are meant for cold weather and snow, so no use in Malaysia, but in those conditions… have you watched the YouTube videos of car pile-ups in America when there is a bit of snow? They didn’t use winter tyres (there’s only snow for a very short time in those regions, so buying an expensive tyre just for that…).

• Huge leap of improvement from the past. No more awkward buttons and air passageways great job. However, those blue plastics look cheap(kinda like plastics from the Mitsubishi saga). And a simple car should have a simple and fun interior, look at the VW up’s interior. This one looks a little too complicated and not cohesive enough, like a mix and match job.

Are these seats going to be in the production car?? If so then well done with the seats. They look comfortable and premium, not flat and unsupportive like other cars in the class.

P.S. These images look like planted shots from proton. Do you have somebody stationed in arjeplog, Paul?

• ruffstuff on Feb 10, 2014 at 11:38 am

I don’t think so it is planted by Proton. It is an independence cars paparazi. They sell the photos to PaulTan. Possibly Paultan instruct this people to watch out for this particular model.

The other local blog who covered most about Proton, are not allowed to use these photos from the original owners.If Proton intentionally want to leak this, that blog should already been allowed to exposed this picture.

• kadajawi on Feb 10, 2014 at 11:38 am

I think it’s more like there are photographers who have specialized in this, who stay there, and they’ll snap photos of all the cars being tested there. Then they sell them to anyone who is interested.

• intermilan on Feb 10, 2014 at 11:00 am

I like the leather seat!
    Looks good..
    Hope its a good quality leather.

• Fly High on Feb 10, 2014 at 11:25 am

Apa function button merah tu? NOS ka? tak pun keluar torpedo..Kalo ade, aku orang pertama beli..tembak AES hahaha

• testing on Feb 11, 2014 at 10:44 am

torpedo guna kat dalam air boss. Nak best baik letak guided missle. lock on tembak AES. harga missle karang lebih mahal dari harga keter. bawak kete pelan pelan.

• Then nnti ada yg ckp vios better than this haha…

• kadajawi on Feb 10, 2014 at 11:36 am

Look at the MG3. And compare it to the GSC…

http://cached.imagescaler.hbpl.co.uk/resize/scaleHeight/655/?sUrl=http://offlinehbpl.hbpl.co.uk/galleries/RCW/MG3rcorn.jpg

http://www.sinaimg.cn/qc/photo_auto/photo/10/53/4391053/4391053_950.jpg

They do look quite similar, though the interior is quite different, and, to be honest, it does look better to me (though the Proton might be better to use).

• Abg Long on Feb 10, 2014 at 11:38 am

wah wah wah this is nice.. if the price is ok for me, i think i might tukar my current small old car! its about time to tukar oledi. jgn kiciwakan kami proton!

• Denaihati on Feb 10, 2014 at 11:47 am

leather seat, better navigation unit, audio control control steering wheel, every thing looks premium. can’t see overall dashboard might be covered by something but hopefully great too.

• hakim on Feb 10, 2014 at 11:55 am

this is actually looks really good. this is how people will be much more convince to buy and own a proton car. may Malaysia brand go global with proud!!

hope the quality also as good as it looks.

• center console and aircon vent look similar with Ford Ranger

• Ahhh the seats looks quite a body hug and very comfortable considering the same one will be used for Saga replacement model soon.

p/s: quite nice dashboard for entry level model, yes?

• Joker on Feb 10, 2014 at 12:17 pm

If they could add some red/blue/yellow lining over the seats and dashboard, then the interior will look great… Comparing it to a 208 is a no. The 208 is one of the best looking and handling B Segment Hatch out there with top specs and relatively cheap price… Perhaps this new Proton GSC will b a in the range of Jazz CKD, i10, Picanto, Myvi etc.. Wonder how it’ll be priced…

• OMG! just saw the Golf MK7 steering wheel design inspired. with two split fork at the bottom. seriuously this is a nice one.

• prolever on Feb 10, 2014 at 12:31 pm

A pillar AIRBAG sign Spot. So its a conform is a all around curtain and side airbag.

• policeman on Feb 10, 2014 at 1:10 pm

Why so obsessed with airbag. You’re hoping to crash all around?

• ajark on Feb 10, 2014 at 1:54 pm

Bodoh!! Ko eksiden comfirm ke dr depan je.kan bagus kalau banyak airbag..abis kenapa premium car sibuk pasang byk2 airbag jgk kalau xpenting..extra value la kalau ade lebih dr 2 airbag.xmcm satu jenis kereta tu.1 airbag je die bg.harap bayar je mahal.safety out

• Besi Buruk on Feb 10, 2014 at 2:52 pm

Which Private Secretary School you come from? Write comment like talking to your pet.

• ajark on Feb 10, 2014 at 8:53 pm

Hehe sory bcoz too emotional… :) i tarik blk that “bodoh” word.peace…..

• policeman on Feb 10, 2014 at 11:16 pm

I don’t get it. People obsess about getting more airbags. It is as if they buy a car thinking they’re gonna have a terrible accident.

Why don’t people like this wear an armour? They have higher chances of getting stabbed in the streets. Or

• kadajawi on Feb 11, 2014 at 7:06 pm

Yes, I buy a car thinking I will end up in an accident. Statistically that will happen, and I want to be prepared. Better safe than sorry.

How many are shot in Malaysia every year? How many die in a car accident? It is something like 7 times as likely to die in Malaysia in traffic than, say, in Germany. It’s certainly not because of speeding, Germans are notorious speeders. The speed limit indicates the minimum speed people will drive, typically it is 10-20 km/h over that. Not to mention the highways without speed limit. It is the drivers education, the way they drive, and the safety of the car that makes the difference.

• Guan Yin Ma on Feb 10, 2014 at 12:49 pm

What you see is the top spec with ESP . RM 65k.

• Gently Speaking on Feb 10, 2014 at 3:34 pm

Pricing is never a problem.

In the end we shall see Proton Close shop for Wrong Pricing.

• Horrible Exterior at least improve the interior on Feb 10, 2014 at 1:12 pm

Crap interior still, too many silver parts and if you look at the overall picture of the interior, they trying to hard with cheap plastics parts everywhere. The aircond vents also looks badly design. Really wasting time, if they cannot come up with a nice interior higher some of the foreign people overseas to further improve the design rather than just doing testing on the car, they would have really good ideas on how to improve the interior of the car as they have much better cars over there to compare with. I bet you one thing, I’m sure the tester of these cars will be saying, Well at least we don’t have crap shit cars over here like this one, this is for third world countries so the hell with it, just keep pressing that button on top, like what is written …hehe !!

• ruffstuff on Feb 10, 2014 at 2:53 pm

Well at least they are the engineer and doing the testing. And you are not, and you ARE the one who live in the 3rd world country and live up to it’s standard with you level of thinking.

• You dont need to be an engineer/designer to tell that the interior looks like crap.

• ruffstuff on Feb 10, 2014 at 6:31 pm

Sure you can critic, but saying it looks like a crap is not criticism, it’s simply bashing. And you haven’t see the final product yet.

• I can tell you now that the interior is going to remain, I am not afraid to admit if it looks better on the production car.
            But until then, it still looks like crap.

• kamil on Feb 10, 2014 at 6:37 pm

wow! what a genius.. just by looking at several pictures u are able to tell that the interior is badly design… oh god! how do you know it is badly design sir? ooppps, wait i think u must be the chief interior designer for tata nano isn’t it? hahahahaha…

• hahaha on Feb 10, 2014 at 1:32 pm

really looking forward to the launching of this car…cant wait to see the price and the standard features available across the range

• hehehe on Feb 10, 2014 at 2:04 pm

hopefully the same automatic engine ejection like Preve is offered too…

• Waaahh, ejection engine also can, ejected from car the moment u start..

• vincent on Feb 10, 2014 at 2:05 pm

this is replacement for Viva lah, not Proton.

the engine is using Toyota 1000cc turbocharged, tested FC is amazing 25km/L (combined).

2-door version will be launch by early next year. 1600cc turbo (170hp) + 6 speed manual.

• hohuyo on Feb 10, 2014 at 4:49 pm

dreaming……………….

• kamil on Feb 10, 2014 at 6:25 pm

waaa, i never thought that perodua engineers would test their cars in sweden! for all this while, i thought that the perodua R&D department only knows how to change/design new bumpers for their cars.. hahahaha

• policeman on Feb 10, 2014 at 11:21 pm

ya. the 2-door version is actually the same 4 door version, but being a proton, 2 out of the 4 doors will be jammed and unusable hence the 2 door.

• roxas on Feb 10, 2014 at 2:44 pm

ooooo, not bad, at least not flat center console like the preve. looks like a nice steering too

• robocop 2014 on Feb 10, 2014 at 3:27 pm

Paparazi is like dirty scoundrel. When people already asleep then they will do their work.

Wonder how much they get paid for the pictures.

• Genius Pricing on Feb 10, 2014 at 3:46 pm

GSC trying to fight viva:

1. GSC 1300cc manual RM25k, base spec.
    2 airbags, no abs, no ebd.

GSC 1300cc CVT, RM28k.

2. GSC 1300cc CVT RM33k, exec spec.
    2 airbags, abs, ebd.

3. GSC 1600cc CFE manual RM50k, premium spec.
    6 airbags, TCS, ESC, mirror blindspot indicator.

1.6 CFE CVT premium RM53k.

Base Spec VS viva.
    Premium Spec 1.6 CFE VS Myvi 1.5 VS Alza 1.5

can survive?
    Not necessary to be King Sales,
    it’s about sustainable.

want King Sales?
    should have adopt Honda Engine, not China quality Campro.

• Tok Berlagak on Feb 10, 2014 at 3:51 pm

Yeap, I doubt this car will help proton climb up.

but it should help Proton to sustain in No.2 Position rather then drop out of Top 3.

• Looks convincing and hopefully as hot as 208.

• cheap but beautiful. Hopefully the price will also cheap.

• Thompson on Feb 10, 2014 at 6:16 pm

Back to the 90s where Proton exported wiras, putras and satrias to other europe market such as belgium germany etc and other countries like philippines. But Proton stopped exporting to some market due to 1997 financial crisis and declining sales. Hopefully Proton can expand more markets in the future.

• CarsUnite1M on Feb 10, 2014 at 6:26 pm

This new Proton looks absolutely superb. A real improvement over the previous product they had in this segment, that being the Proton Savvy. The interior looks fresh, and the features seem quite outstanding! I think this will be the first car in its category to feature TSC in Malaysia? But in any case, well done Proton, and we the public look forward to seeing better cars in the future! :D

• Myvi78 on Feb 10, 2014 at 6:37 pm

Wau..great interiorlaa..better from before..cuma warna head unit should dark colour.. better with metal black.. Paul mana kau dpt gmbar ni ha.. maybe somebody will sue u after this..

• Checkmate to myvi ;)

• justin on Feb 10, 2014 at 8:03 pm

Paul , any idea what is considered as a green engine ?

• policeman on Feb 10, 2014 at 11:23 pm

an engine where the coolant leaks and turns everything green aka Campro

• Jack Philip Yong on Feb 10, 2014 at 8:21 pm

Dashboard looks like Nissan Serena C25….

• Proton fan on Feb 10, 2014 at 8:57 pm

Proton is the best car brand in the world!!

• syaskakreta on Feb 10, 2014 at 10:44 pm

finally i see a so much better interior for proton car…! kipidap proton!!!

• another tiara failure?

• Chris on Feb 11, 2014 at 1:21 am

I hope there will be a manual option for the 1.6 premium version and priced 45k or below. Since Proton targets 60000 units/year for the INITIAL production, it has to be priced at least 10% less than Myvi for it to be attractive, and to meet such targets.

Otherwise people will go for Myvi regardless of how many gadgets you equip the car with.

• kadajawi on Feb 11, 2014 at 7:00 pm

I’m afraid that will be what will be happening, cauae Malaysians don’t care so much about their lifes. Image is more important.

• biggy on Feb 11, 2014 at 2:00 am

hope the price will be around 30k..

• IdealTech on Feb 11, 2014 at 6:46 am

With proper pricing for this P2-30a as in head to head with the new Daihatsu Ayla, especially the tachometer and steering will make people go wild on which will be their 1st A to B car or 2nd car/replacement for their aging ride (savvy/tiara/saga/kancil/wira(high fc)/atoz/picanto/kenari/getz/kelisa/viva if big enough potentially same goes to myvi), it’s sure a killer if the driveability of low end torque as smooth as a myvi, if this happens, Malaysians can expect a more aggressive competition from P1(if good sales on their side) and P2

• Black A-Pillar! Roof shoould be black as well and it will be as cool as Golf GTi!

• Jebonr on Feb 11, 2014 at 11:24 am

No comment on the design, but familiar interior Proton look. But, if this new design perform like how a new design car should be. Then Proton have a good start for 2014.

• BLT Club on Feb 11, 2014 at 11:30 am

All in all, looks quite good. At least this will break the monotony of seeing so many Myvi/Vivas on the road. Should have R3 version, manual transmission, 120hp a little pocket rocket for the B roads ala Suzuki Swift Sport. That I would buy!

• drkarma on Feb 11, 2014 at 6:57 pm

These Proton bashers are real sohai(s) la. Duno how many more times to mention “criticise constructively”!!
    The very fact that Proton is fitting ESP and several airbags is applaudable.. What matters more than safety while driving? EsP saved a lot lives around the world, avoiding collisions taking place, so whats r u all whining about?
    Looks matter yes, but looks are alwiz subjective, isnt it? If not, we all wud end up going for the same gal, dont we??! So keep ur opinions constructive, for god’s sake, the car is not even out yet!
    Proton’s strongest points are handling and engine performance, in terms of power. Saga smokes Vios easily on acceleration. Wonder how many models Preve Premium could smoke, will definitely smoke Uncle Altis and Civic, tats for sure!
    Tat being said, I am not tryin to say Proton’s the best. They reali have to work on the interiors, make it more pleasing for their customers, please dun let them down. But the situation is in such a manner where its getin difficult to find a car that has it all..
    Proton certainly has to put in a bit more effort with how the car looks like, as we pride in the machine we are in. Offer more comprehensive features that will put a smile on a customer’s face. Leather seats, a good alarm system, optional accesories will be all good.

• When it comes to Proton, Malaysian are forever in this deluded idea that they want everything that a Polo TSI has but with the RM25K price tag … sigh …

• seat looks comfy!

• Biskut on Feb 12, 2014 at 8:13 pm

Very nice interior design there. Hope the engine and price can match it’s well designed interior. And I REALLY hope that there’s a sunglass holder and 2 cupholders. Small cars like these should come with those practicality.

• Duhhh on Feb 17, 2014 at 9:38 pm

Oh man, the three circle air cond control again? Why proton cars have to design the air cond switch control in two or three circles? Gen2, waja, savvy, preve, saga blm, saga flx, suprima S, exora, inspira, satria neo.. aduuhhhh

• Poor Proton on Feb 17, 2014 at 10:10 pm

WHAT!!! I’m shame to be a Malaysian seeing tis ugly dude.. What type of car designer Proton have in line??? They must be joking.