Toyota Agya/Daihatsu Ayla spotted in Malaysia!

toyota-agya-debadged-spotted-1

Reader Melvin Choong sent in this photo of what appears to be a debadged Toyota Agya/Daihatsu Ayla on Jalan Duta. We’re going out on a limb here, but could Perodua have brought this in to test and evaluate its upcoming Viva replacement model?

After all, Perodua CEO Datuk Aminar Rashid has revealed that a “new model” is set to launch in the second half this year, and since it’s not going to be a sedan and the Viva is nearing seven years of age…

Anyhow, the “new model” will be built at the new Perodua Global Manufacturing plant located next to the existing Sungai Choh, Rawang facility, while its gearbox would come from the E-AT plant at the Sendayan Industrial Park, Negeri Sembilan.

The exterior will be designed in-house by Perodua, while the interior was previewed by the GMA Space concept you saw at KLIMS13. More info on the Viva replacement model here and here, and a Theophilus Chin rendering here.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Still awfully boring

• i hope they give proper spec..in indo u can cry to see the agya n ayla spec to enable them to sell it cheap….kancil era spec

• design ok laaa daripada viva kotak sekarang

• Doesn’t matter Perodua copycat or not. As long can give fuel saver engine is OK to help rakyat jimat duit. Unlike Proton talk so much new engine CFE CPS NFE ABCD but still 10L/KM…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
        • Same Lor on Feb 12, 2014 at 1:09 pm

It is subjective to judge the car’s outlook. Some people also comment Ferrari is fugly too.

For relatively cheap price, good fuel consumption and reliable build quality, it will definite outshine the Proton GSC.

Look into the past, does any Proton car outsell Perodua’s rival model? No! So stop dreaming!

No matter how proton fans bash on this car and blow the awesomeness of CFE CPS NFE XYZ etc. Sales figure will tell Perodua is still the hottest.

Sam Loo may accept second hand kimchi at dirt cheap price but for Proton, you give him free also he won’t accept.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • TeresaCockBadutBetina on Feb 10, 2014 at 9:45 pm

How much this Aiya or Ayoyo will be priced?

• nabill on Feb 10, 2014 at 10:23 pm

Thats the thing. Its jus all predictable, its like we can guess what the design wd be when its out, ppl wil buy bcos its jus thr, not bcos it has any thing nice to see or drive… Zero excitement…. Its like ppl go to showroom n whatever its thr thn jus buy… Life is short n being as boring as this is a waste…

• BLT Club on Feb 11, 2014 at 11:16 am

You’re right bro. Owning a car should be an experience. But lots of us don’t dare to take a risk, hence all those vios/city/myvi around.

• Perodua should follow Theo’s rendering… looks better with number plate on top bumper like current Viva.

Better still, change the door handle to pull-type like Myvi with chrome.

• Fries on Feb 11, 2014 at 11:37 am

Actually, I can’t believe how terribly interesting this is!

• lim guan eng on Feb 10, 2014 at 6:56 pm

ini keleta manyak buluk…tak usah dibuat lah Pelodua…Savvy lagey ciantik

• perodua? boring…

• Boringg

• assem on Feb 10, 2014 at 7:17 pm

so this is the so called ‘new model’? what effort does P2 contributes in building of this ‘new model’? let’s me guess, setting up new production line for assembly only right?

• Besi Buruk on Feb 10, 2014 at 9:50 pm

So what is youuuuuuuuuuuuuur effort?

• ccy7218 on Feb 10, 2014 at 11:31 pm

the way p2 did is much more successful than p1 because p2 know their capabilities,therefore it is better to set up production line for assembly of even daihatsu models for export as well as domestic demand with toyota/daihatsu dna and proven car sales very well, however ambitious p1 go nowhere as they are too arrogant, thinking of building their own cars without very detailed R&D, technical capabilities and as a result, lousy engine, fuel consumption bad, bad combination of gearbox+engine and car sales failed!! my 2cents only…

• fusoy on Feb 11, 2014 at 7:59 am

they CKD only because they don’t have capabilities to produce own model. the bezza for example (even just a concept model) is very funny you know…..

• Low Budget on Feb 11, 2014 at 10:22 am

Perodua do have their own research and design team lah. Remember the concept car at the expo where almost everybody give the thumb down? Perodua are quite successful too in re-design the grills and bumpers of their cars, you just need to take a drive down the roads and see the varieties of grills and bumpers fitted to their MyVi and Viva to get what I mean.

• ruffstuff on Feb 11, 2014 at 9:37 am

Then what is the point of Perodua? Isn’t it better for having Toyota/Daihatsu badge with the price of Perodua? For how many years Perodua has to pay rebadge license to Toyota/Daihatsu just to have that Perodua badge. We know for the fact Myvi development cost is whopping RM220 million. That is rebadging with little effort already cost that much. Proton did much better with P3-21A (Preve) with RM300 million. Building car from scratch. Toyota is not generous in giving cheap rebadging license though.

• theanswer on Feb 11, 2014 at 12:43 pm

and most profit goes to…?

• ccy7218 on Feb 12, 2014 at 12:44 am

You are right, it is definitely better to have the Toyota/daihatsu with the price of perodua and if this happens, I am very sure that p1 will bungkus… so this is very difficult to happen, therefore perodua adopt the strategy of leveraging in own capabilities, I.e. design and r&d in car aesthetic such as shape, interior design, aerodynamic which we have a strong.capability,whereas internal of the car such as engine,gear box,aircond, which forms the heart of cars, they use Japanese as the technology is well established… they realise still long way for us to match those Japanese, and as a result, perodua cars can sell very well as we believe the Japanese engine is under the hood… my 2cents again…

• BLT Club on Feb 11, 2014 at 11:22 am

While I see the merits of your argument, especially with the size of our market which does not necessitate/support a domestic car maker like Proton, I fail to contemplate why Perodua cannot include all the basic safety elements into their vehicles when Proton can. In this day and age, 2 airbags don’t cut it. And before anyone assumes I own/drive/am bias towards Vios, I never owned a Toyota.

• ruffstuff on Feb 11, 2014 at 2:24 pm

As long as UMW Toyota own cars does not come with better safety spec, the same goes to Perodua. There is no way Toyota will allowed better safety spec in Perodua.

• IdealTech on Feb 10, 2014 at 7:17 pm

Proton GSC p2-30a VS Daihatsu Ayla, wonder which will malaysian go for this time, new NFE engine VS improved old engine hmm..

• celicazz on Feb 10, 2014 at 8:08 pm

its the new aluminium engine they r going to use. so, NFE vs Daihatsu aluminium engine

• DatukPa on Feb 10, 2014 at 9:05 pm

Old Tech Built Campro Makan minyak

vs

20km/L toyota improved engine.

let’s see.

• datuk pa jangan kelirukan orang yer

• theanswer on Feb 11, 2014 at 12:47 pm

1kr-fe is old but proven engine. 4 years straight best engine award. no doubt proton new small car will be a benchmark for good handling and solid city car.

• Toyota’s 1KR-FE is a good engine, but it’s not brand new.

It’s build in Poland already since 2005 for the Toyota Aygo/Citroën C1/Peugeot 107.

• Tracks on Feb 11, 2014 at 7:46 am

Although I agree that the engine plays the most important role in a vehicle fuel economy, other factor should be taken into consideration. E.g. by chaning to Electrical Power Steering from the old tech Hydraulic Power Steering, you can an average of 3% fuel saving.

Another example is tyre size which also plays a major role. Both current Saga and Myvi are available in 1.3L engine, but Saga is using 185mm vs Myvi 175mm width tyres hence Saga has more roling resistance as compared to Myvi. Therefore, these factor attributed to the overall vehicle fuel economy.

• safety first please……….

• Low Budget on Feb 11, 2014 at 10:32 am

I do agree Campro engine makan minyak but not so teruk lah.
        We should be happy if a normal 4 cyl cars give us 12-14 KM/L.
        You mention Toyota engine can give 20 KM/L, which car model? Is this figure is under normal driving conditions in the city?

• ccy7218 on Feb 10, 2014 at 11:36 pm

kalo p1 gsc p230a pakai engine campro mesti tak berjaya tawan sales kerana not proven reliability and frugality, whereas model daihatsu ayla pakai engine jepun yang proven, even lamapun masih relevant,kalo proton nak menang sales,kena pakai engine partner jepunnya, i.e.honda…then ada persaingan sales, kalo still stick to campro, then nak tawan myvi pun tak jadi…

• AutoFrenz on Feb 10, 2014 at 7:19 pm

Not bad looking…will steal sales from.the average honda jazz…

• RUGAL on Feb 10, 2014 at 8:23 pm

Are u kidding me? The first generation Jazz looks better than this..

• Besi Buruk on Feb 10, 2014 at 10:01 pm

Nothing to steal. Market is big.

• agree with you,this year if people want a A segment car go to new viva if want much bigger such b segment car go to new proton gsc its a win win situation

• toyota fan on Feb 11, 2014 at 12:25 am

NO, it will steal sales from average merc A-class.

• id have a “daihatsu or toyota” over a proton or perodua anyday of the week.

• policeman on Feb 10, 2014 at 7:29 pm

I’m pretty sure when Perodua releases the car, they would enhance its looks, a lot. Just like Alza and MyVi. They’re good at it as well.

• mokhlisnor on Feb 10, 2014 at 9:20 pm

agree with you policeman. as proven before..

• GrenMa on Feb 10, 2014 at 9:28 pm

this one I couldnt agree more.

Our Myvi and Alza are prettier then JDM version.

• aiyoo…sudah sudah lah P2 salesman… gua sudah boring dengan u punye ass-kissing-syok-sendiri comment

• perhaps a new member of tailgater club which currently comprises of viva, saga, the mighty myvi and veedub the king.

• you forgot dugong the king of the road and alza the mpv F1 wannabe.

• rifle on Feb 10, 2014 at 8:06 pm

so gsc is in its final test state, new viva is starting its tests

• Shaun on Feb 10, 2014 at 8:59 pm

I dont understand some people here. Whats your problem if it was designed by Perodua or not. In fact, if Perodua does design a model, you, the very same people will be saying, no need to buy this car lah, Perodua is lousy in designig and never designed a car before and bla bla..

As long as we are getting a decent car within decent price range, whats your problem? If you like it buy it, if dont then buy something else.

Perodua does not par with Toyota or Daihatsu in R & D, so it is best to buy the technology from them and localize it for us.

People, start to be satisfied with something, it will make your life happy.

• mokhlisnor on Feb 10, 2014 at 9:19 pm

agree with you Shaun..

• bacang on Feb 10, 2014 at 10:47 pm

brother. come and join P2 (if they open any vacancy). and see how it looks inside. outsiders will not know the true story what is happening right now. so sad.

• mokhlisnor on Feb 11, 2014 at 10:34 pm

bacang, thats the problem when we give ‘extra’ shares to Japanese. They will run the company like their own. no more nation pride except their pride n profit.

• Problem is perutdua cars are never decently priced. In fact they are unbelievebly overpriced. WHen the viva was 1st launched, they used the 26k base model to lure ppl in only when they know most ppl will be buying the auto model which was min 40k!!! Most ppl got ripped off buying that puny paper junk at 40k!!!

• Low Budget on Feb 11, 2014 at 10:42 am

Agree that Viva Auto is completely over priced.
        Closed to RM40K and yet only 3 cylinders, luckily there is a 4 cylinders Proton SV with boot space to ‘tendang’ the Viva.
        Some MyVi 1.3 owners also said their cars makan minyak, not sure if true or not.

• driver on Feb 11, 2014 at 7:35 am

No. Perodua is owned by Toyota. Why would they setup another R&D?

And yes, some people care less whether it’s locally developed as long as it fits with their definition of value-for-money.

• Fries on Feb 11, 2014 at 11:39 am

But I’d only be happy if P2 doesn’t exist… cos they serve no purpose at all yes?

• Green on Feb 10, 2014 at 9:09 pm

Welcome 20km/L @ Affordable Price.

• The exterior will be designed in house by P2??omg tats a very misleading statement…a far more accurate statement shoule be ” some exterior parts such as the bumpers and colors will be designed by P2″ heck they arent even capable of touching the basic shape of the headlight and rear light placements or shapes, becoz the platform and mould all set in stone by the japs

• nabill on Feb 10, 2014 at 10:28 pm

Dont forget the R&D 12mnths it took to slap some chrome on da bumper… I hv nothing against those who buy, bt honestly thy canot survive in diff markets… Its like a huge yawn u never knew u can yawn this much b4!

• Gentleman on Feb 10, 2014 at 10:34 pm

Perodua said 2014 2nd half = new model.

CEO stressed that it’s not a sedan, also not a replacement model.

I wouldn’t think that This Agya/Viva replacement is coming in 2014. Maybe 2015..

• Peaceaim on Feb 10, 2014 at 11:57 pm

Oh cammon… viva is not a replacement for kancil back then. we all know this car is not a replacement for viva. Only that P2 will continue selling viva until they run out of stock and this car will take over viva.

• roxas on Feb 10, 2014 at 11:14 pm

nothing to bash actually, just hope its cheap for the cheap n basic motoring ~

• Denaihati on Feb 10, 2014 at 11:18 pm

most affordable cars in Malaysia. my perspective Theophilus Chin rendering is beautiful than original agya. this new model is not viva facelift, should be very interesting, moreover 658cc engine with CVT transmission.

• Jerry-built project

• John A on Feb 10, 2014 at 11:41 pm

I am a 6feet tall person, with some “boroi”…hahaha…
    I have a persona for long range journey and a kenari for work, yeah malaysia is always rain and I dont want to get wet to work with the kriss anymore…
    I am searching for a cute, sweet new car that can be driven in the city coz my kenari is old enuf…
    I hope produa can bring in the new generation of daihatsu move…im begging u produa ooooohh!!

• Annihilated on Feb 11, 2014 at 12:09 am

That’s definitely a Daihatsu Ayla. Notice that only the brand’s emblem is covered without any further camo like other manufacturers usually do?

I came across to this exact car very close and I saw all the instrumentation. What they are testing is not the car but the new aluminum engine. Thus the lack of camo.

The body of the car will be redesigned by the Perodua. Actually, if you take the words of Perodua CEO, they already have the body designed and it’ll be ready for market this year.
    Now what they have to do is to put mileage into the engine.

• dkseng on Feb 11, 2014 at 12:17 am

this car undoubtly will be malaysian favourite ……………

even if sell more expensive

• P2 is favourite only because non- P1 / P2 cars cost an arm and a leg in Malaysia. If no price protection given to P1 and all else equals, see who is gonna buy P1 or P2.

• mamat on Feb 11, 2014 at 8:42 am

P2 tolong kekalkan namenya VIVA.. jangan hapuskan keturunannya ~

• padeli on Feb 11, 2014 at 9:07 am

why they still need depend on toyota,start built their own car from zero la . if you want to see a future of perodua model you better see an new model by daihatsu. And one more thing the actual R&D project for daihatsu has been done in Indonesia.so what are they doing at Rawang there.?
    Still R&D ..Lol
    http://paultan.org/2011/05/31/daihatsu-to-open-rd-centre-in-indonesia/

• Whatever lah Macai.

Look at Proton bla bla bla talk so much global car new engine new hope new future but still give 10KM/L fuel mileage…

• 1_diy on Feb 12, 2014 at 11:18 am

hey padeli…for your information, daihatsu sirion yang dieorg jual kat indonesia is designed by perodua. didn’t you notice that??? You don’t have to worried becoz if R&D p2 useless, P2/daihatsu management already terminate P2 R&D themself.

• Anti-Kiasu on Feb 11, 2014 at 10:12 am

sesuai sangat kereta ni utk ah-so n apek2 kiasu tu….jilat toyota smp mati ahahahahaah!

• nice design far better than Viva.. viva make my eye hurt and fell sorry for those who own it. ..

• nzain on Feb 11, 2014 at 7:10 pm

viva replacement ah??…as usual once release could be pricey and the quality not that good even has an efficient petrol save.

• Albert Lee on Feb 11, 2014 at 9:42 pm

Perodua is the champion rebadging specialist,but at least their engines are much,much more economical in terms of fuel,than Mr.proton.After the Inspira,who wants to let proton rebadge?

• Toxic Cars on Feb 12, 2014 at 12:26 am

Why are most Japanese cars so dull, unimaginative and boring? The traffic scene in KL is pathetic with more and more of these cold and soulless machines.

• All of you stop fighting…… crossed about rebadging??? Be thankful Mitsubishi Maven did not land here…….still confused??? Apa lagi google la….

• Duhhh on Feb 17, 2014 at 9:49 pm

It looks like the hyundai i10 from rear view o.O

• Rubbish laa…jerry-built car still want sell to blind ppl

• NAKbeli Kereta on May 15, 2014 at 4:03 pm

bila nak keluar kereta ni?
    tangan dah gatal ni..
    huisshh

• Samad Jain on Jan 08, 2015 at 9:18 pm