SPIED: Renault Clio RS 200 EDC in KL – RHD arrives

P2110027

Nearly a year after it made its Asean debut here in Malaysia, the Renault Clio RS 200 EDC looks like it’ll finally go on sale in Malaysia – the car from last year was a left-hand drive version, but a right-hand drive model has been spotted in KL by regular reader Aero, who snapped some shots of the unregistered car.

The stonking Clio is equipped with a 1.6 litre turbo mill offering 200 hp and 240 Nm, and as its suffix suggests, the transmission is a six-speed Efficient Dual Clutch unit – no stick shifter with this one.

The car comes with a choice of Sport and Cup chassis, as well as two specification levels, these being standard and Trophy. It comes standard with R.S. Drive, which offers three modes of driving – Normal, Sport and Race. There are also two wheel design options, among other things – the spied example wears the more conventional-looking double five-spoke unit, in silver.

The RHD variant’s arrival follows closely on its market debut in Australia back in December; the Clio GT is slated for introduction Down Under in April. It’s already confirmed that we’ll be getting the standard Clio in its TCe 120 form sometime this year – might we expect the GT to eventually come in too?

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• cilipadi on Feb 11, 2014 at 8:53 pm

i love little red hot hatches

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
    • sambal kangkong on Feb 12, 2014 at 8:21 am

“Clio is equipped with a 1.6 litre turbo mill offering 200 hp and 240 Nm”

Another reason not to buy Proton Suprima…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 24
      • cheapka on Feb 12, 2014 at 9:14 am

this car price rm80k?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
        • Probably price around German marques but with that $$$ rather get a proper German car.

Is that 1.6L Engine – also been used in latest Merc model?

• But a Clio RS worth with 3 Suprima S.

3 Suprima S have 420bhp than 200bhp.

12 tyres vs 4 tyres bro.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 17
      • annoy_namous on Feb 12, 2014 at 11:43 am

Sambal kangkong, u better look kadajawi comment when making comparism. If don’t know how to compare apple to apple, better don’t comment. Stay as kangkong and keep quite.

• Carguy on Feb 13, 2014 at 10:04 am

Merc A45 AMG produce 355hp from a 2 Liter unit, and in fact it’s the world most powerful 2.0 turbo engine. So is this another reason not to buy Evo, Sti, VW CC, Megane RS, Focus ST??

• OMG…1ST look at it, i thought is the new Mazda 3 hatch….lol

• kadajawi on Feb 11, 2014 at 8:56 pm

2 things. a) How much will it cost? If the predecessor is anything to go by, it will be around 200k. Way more than it’s competitors, the Polo GTI and the 208 GTI. If it is really that expensive, it will be dead in the water.

And b) Finally the return of Renault to Malaysia, in the form of a NORMAL car. I wonder how much the TCe 120 will cost. And also, it was announced quite a while ago. Why then was the Renault sign recently removed from the Renault Nissan service center in JB?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • Don’t forget the upcoming Ford Fiesta ST. Has received many praises and awards from auto journalists and magazines around the globe.

• Thanks Anthony ! :D

Unfortunately, I missed the front-end. :( By the time I whipped out my camera, it already went past. It looked like a normal Clio though, only the trade plates were unusual.

I kinda like this new Clio, not many nice French cars in Malaysia. Looking forward to its launch here !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
    • I’ve always love Renault’s hot hatch. But this Clio RS without the stick shift is kind of lack in one of the most important aspect that defines a hot hatch.
      Previous gen Clio RS is good enough, and thank God all Megane RS still fitted with stick shift, so far.
      All other aspects of this car are great, but even Fifth Gear and Top Gear comments on the poor selection of transmission in this.

• yeahh~~

• Spongewai on Feb 11, 2014 at 9:28 pm

like I said couple months ago, this car B-segment price around RM200k below

• Jebonr on Feb 11, 2014 at 9:54 pm

I guess my eyes are playing tricks with me, that’s look like a Lexus CT? Hmmm….

• alfisti on Feb 11, 2014 at 10:00 pm

somehow renault has produced a hatch that’s sexier than an alfa romeo… the mito and giulietta are disappointing

• sudonano on Feb 11, 2014 at 10:19 pm

Something tells me that it will be launched the same time TC Eurokars Malaysia opens their Glenmarie outlet. yes they are opening one, at the shop lots opposite the Proton/Kia/Porsche road (on the other side of the main road).

But EDC, hmmm is it good?

• tokmoh on Feb 11, 2014 at 10:37 pm

The gearbox is a turnoff. Dual Clutch only, what were they thinking?

Manual, the only true form of driving.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
    • ponyrider on Feb 12, 2014 at 11:45 am

Nope.. Smart ones drive auto… Manual2 only ni orang syok sendiri ja…hehehhe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
      • tokmoh on Feb 12, 2014 at 1:34 pm

Only ppl who have no appreciation n respect for car drive auto.

European drivers mostly drive manual, auto is seen as rich car’s gearbox, for s-class, maserati etc luxury. That’s why their drivers more disciplined n civilised than here.

Here, with so many ppl bribe to pass lesen, then don’t wasn’t improve driving, take easy way by driving auto, no wonder our road so dangerous.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
        • kadajawi on Feb 12, 2014 at 7:20 pm

Sort of, yes. Auto is an expensive option. It has the reputation of being slow and inefficient, consuming too much fuel. The only thing Germans seem to accept is DSG. Also auto boxes take away the fun from driving. Personally I want to be in control. I know better which gear I want to be in. And it is simply more fun to drive with a manual gearbox.

• tokmoh on Feb 13, 2014 at 12:57 am

Aye, exactly my point about auto seen as luxury option than norm.

More so when fuel price is getting more expensive, they are more fc conscious, greener and cheaper road tax if the difference cause them to fall in different tax band (co2 based, unlike our engine cc based)

In short, the one n only advantage auto has over manual is no need to shift gear. But if one spends so much and much effort put in to learn driving manual, why throw it away?

• Ajdar on Mar 15, 2014 at 1:26 pm

Of course manual gears give us full control of our driving, but in Europe daily jams like in KL are not the norm, that’s why they are popular there- practical wise double clutch gearbox changes eg Dsg faster than manual and much forgiving on our knees

• ponyrider on Feb 13, 2014 at 6:15 pm

Car enthusiats (worshipper?) might agree. But practical people (and their knees), that goes through traffic jam every single,day..theyll agree wif me.. Hehehhe. Kita takpayah cita pasal europe ka apa, kita cita local la…ini ruang lingkup kita. Ka tokmoh ni org europe?

• tokmoh on Feb 13, 2014 at 10:39 pm

Ak tgk local penuh dgn pemandu cam nakharom, itu yg ko nak banggakan.

Europe also got traffic jam la, tak kudung pun kaki kiri diorg main clutch hari2. Macam bapok driver kat sini tak tahan.

Bayar RM200++ sebulan gi gym tak kesah, bawa keter manual bole exercise free takleh?! Bole jimat minyak lagi, tak la sakit sgt harga minyak naik nnt!

• Aman Shah on Feb 11, 2014 at 11:14 pm

hopefully around RM180k instead of announced earlier RM200k.new mazda 3 MPS not coming out wth paddle shift?

• YeapyEvo on Feb 12, 2014 at 12:28 am

As usual Tan Chong will overpriced the car probably close to 200k and then sell only 5 RS Clio a year. This car has lost its small hot hatch throne to Fiesta ST, no point to pay so much when you can get 208 Gti and Fiesta ST at significant cheaper price and spend the balance on petrol and services

• paucharsiew on Feb 12, 2014 at 2:57 am

only reason to buy this over a 208 gti is the four doors and perhaps even better ride comfort.

• hooooooo on Feb 12, 2014 at 1:28 pm

lolz 208 gti is 2 door la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
    • fasszz on Feb 12, 2014 at 10:15 pm

Better buy Citroen ds4…4 doors…163 hp with torque 240…now promotion 5 years warranty unlimited mileage.and free service for 5 years…pretty good bargain…lol

• VWGTIMALAYSIA on Apr 10, 2014 at 9:34 am

Also for the RS monitor…thts simply awesome

• saini on Feb 12, 2014 at 3:28 am

Proton should produce this kind of engine…. 1.6 = 200hp.

• renault is by tan chong , they wont sell cheap,

tan chong is slow and yet expensive

• farizY on Feb 12, 2014 at 11:00 am

Cool car, but ultimately for us poor Malaysians, cost will be a huge factor. Sigh.

• Guan Yin Ma on Feb 12, 2014 at 12:36 pm

No happy can go buy from grey import recond units. Renault Sport Dept made some of the best hot hatch in the world. Their engine come out from the same factory that made renault F1 F2 F3 engine.

• Guan Yin Ma on Feb 12, 2014 at 12:36 pm

No happy can go buy from grey import recond units. Renault Sport Dept made some of the best hot hatch in the world. Their engine come out from the same factory that made renault F1 F2 F3 engine.

• tklim on Feb 12, 2014 at 3:48 pm

we as savvy driver we love this clio rs car,

but not anymore ,since it is losing the 6 speed manual

• DannyRS on Feb 12, 2014 at 4:51 pm

If TC brings in the manual clio 200, it equipped with the same paddle shifter from Nissan GTR.

• A330-300 on Feb 12, 2014 at 5:08 pm

In UK, Pug 208 Gti is priced at £18,895 while Fiesta ST and Clio RS 200 at £17,995 and £19,995 respectively. So i think this Clio RS200 will be priced around RM160k considering Pug 208 GTi price is 140k here.

• Steve Kok on Feb 12, 2014 at 7:36 pm

Dual clutch again?
    Look at those Ford Fiesta / Focus & VWs with their dual clutch issues…
    I prefer a manual stick shift on this one :)

• ah..better wait for civic type r, more value to the money. Even gti will kow tow to type r.

• http://paultan.org/2014/01/27/hyundai-veloster-turbo-malaysian-spec-spied/

What is the standard comparing with Proton?
    Hyundai Veloster should be the 1

• may be a stick is much better for a budget sport car in malaysia.

• choonsta on Feb 15, 2014 at 9:22 pm

Sat in the Clio RS 200 Sport&Cup models yesterday. I’m very impressed. They were introduced into Oz only last December.
    The leather seats of the Sport Trophy model is superb (AUD$37,490 drive away). On specs alone with the look & feel of the car inside just leave my old Pijot 206 GTi way behind. But of course we should be comparing the Clio RS to the 208 GTi.
    The cheapest RS 200 Sport is AUD$31,990 (RM90,000 approx) drive away with 12 months rego & 3rd party injury insurance. The 4 Oz models get the 6 sp efficient dual clutch gearbox. The gear changes are Automatic and can be controlled manually via the gear lever or column-mounted paddle shifters.
    Torque @240Nm start at 1750 rpm – I want that.
    I just get blown away how fuel efficient and fun this car’s been packaged.
    Today I’ve been trying to persuade the love of my life at home that my infatuation with Ms Clio will not come between us. LOL..