Subaru XV – UK models get improvements for 2014

subaru-xv-update-1

Subaru XV models in Britain have been significantly updated for 2014. The slew of changes are aimed at improving the quality, refinement, ride, handling and safety of the Impreza-based crossover.

The biggest improvements are on the 2.0 litre petrol models, which receive suspension modifications for better ride quality, as well as new valvetrain components to reduce engine noise. No matter which model you choose, however, the XV features additional sound-proofing in the bulkhead to reduce NVH levels still further.

Also standard on all Subaru XVs is a revised electric power steering system, which is claimed to reduce steering wheel and column vibrations and has been tuned to provide more weight, better feel and a more linear response. In addition, thicker suspension lower arms and reinforcements around the base of the A-pillar improve the car’s safety performance, which has already netted it five stars in its Euro NCAP test.

subaru-xv-update-2

Elsewhere, the Subaru logo on the steering wheel is now in its traditional shade of blue instead of black, the steering wheel button and heater control surrounds are in a higher-quality silver finish, the switches controlling the air-conditioning system are now gloss black and a Tyre Pressure Monitoring System (TPMS) and a gear shift indicator in the instrument cluster are now standard on all XV models.

The reshuffling of model trims sees the base 1.6 litre petrol model dropped from the UK range, leaving the 2.0 litre petrol and diesel engines as the sole engine choices. A new top trim level, the SE Premium, replaces the Lux Premium and adds satellite navigation and leather interior. Equipment levels elsewhere remain unchanged.

Two new colour choices have been added: Venetian Red Pearl and Quartz Blue Pearl, alongside the existing five colour choices. As with other models in the Subaru UK range, the XV gets a five-year, 100,000 mile (160,000 km) warranty.

We drove the XV in Bali last year – read our impressions of it here.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Howcome the improvements only apply to the UK? It seems unfair to other market..it should’ve been a global improvement

• Pinky on Feb 11, 2014 at 4:27 pm

And by the time it reaches Malaysia, it’s year 2020 already..

• Any Subaru XV owner? Please comment about this car, thanks

• Does the current xv model in Malaysia have a gear shift indicator in the instrument cluster?

• Pakcik on Feb 11, 2014 at 5:51 pm

So far is good and balance car, torque is good compare to most SUV ie crv,cx5,tucson,sportage. If u need beter pickup u can opt for forester xt or santa fe.Off course this burn your pocket.
    XV got some small issue like :-
    NVH
    loud engine noise + tyre noise,
    bluetooh pairing unconsistent,
    radio station keep searching ,
    rear tail gate hard to close.
    rear headrest to high unconfortable.

All this compensate by good boxer engine, balance and fun to drive handling and worth and value for money OTR. Comsumption is good no worry bro.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • mmaker on Feb 11, 2014 at 7:17 pm

white xv + sporty sport rim look stunning!

• motorhead on Feb 11, 2014 at 7:21 pm

Tq pakcik.. eying this suv quite some time.. I just wish the grille fllw the new wrx.. simple.

• burgerking on Feb 11, 2014 at 9:08 pm

Own a XV. Good fuel economy – 200km out station travel only use up 2 fuel bar, at least more than 700km per full tank for SUV. Stable road handling n really can handle off road compared to other SUVs test driven, thanks to permanent AWD (the reason I decided on subaru). Can use for construction site n no worry of diesel shortage at such site since it’s on petrol. Basic but solid interior. Only setback is that it is a crossover so boot is small. Hey, for RM129k++ c/w 5 years free service, very worth it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • motorhead on Feb 11, 2014 at 9:52 pm

I read about its FC.. quite impressive for a permanent 4WD.. superb. Happy for you.. will join you soon.. I just worried about services.. as I travel alot & go places.. & quite busy… need service my car quick & easy.. that’s the only problem.

• mmaker on Feb 12, 2014 at 8:43 am

If you live in klang valley shouldn’t be problem for you. There are a few subaru services nearby

• motorhead on Feb 12, 2014 at 12:09 pm

I use to travel in Johor. . Mersing & Kluang area.. almost all school holidays. New car should be ok. But breakdowns cause by accidents or faulty, I can’t avoid.

• david on Feb 11, 2014 at 10:00 pm

why copy proton suprima -s ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 20
    • motorhead on Feb 12, 2014 at 12:55 pm

Are you sick? Feeling well lately? Mental ok? XV ve been in market quite some time dy.. before Suprima S. Wtf…

• why so aggressive? your ego hurt when people compare your upcoming XV to the Suprima panties?

• Peminat kereta on Feb 11, 2014 at 10:18 pm

Dun worry,
    we are going to discuss tomorrow about XV_ cosmetic change for 2014..especially for Malaysia,Thai, and Indo market..made by TCMA Segambut.
    wait n see..it will coming soon shortly.

• hm… it sounds like the 2013 version is a failure now…. ckd sales figure in malaysia any sifu knows?

• Exiga on Feb 12, 2014 at 7:43 am

if not mistaken, only for ckd xv figure already reaches 1000 units. kudos!

• Sam Loo on Feb 12, 2014 at 10:29 am

This is a piece of junk with low quality built & the most important is low RV. Trust me , only sohai will purchase this car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 15
  • matt eco on Feb 12, 2014 at 2:53 pm

Ford kuga 1.6 n cx5 (cbu) far better than this subaru.engine,tech,hp etc..better overall package..anyway,gud try XV..

• Pasangkia on Feb 12, 2014 at 8:33 pm

I completely disagree. AWD technology is way way better than Mazda or Ford even for Land Rover Defender. Watch this http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7NPq4kv9k7Ea

Power and traction no need to explain further. Stability and control i think kuga need to sit on the bench!

Better overall package…yes maybe I agree with u.

• burgerking on Feb 12, 2014 at 8:24 pm

Ford Kuga – 180PS / 1682kg = 0.1070PS/kg
    Subaru XV – 150PS / 1430kg = 0.1049PS/kg
    Almost the same performance

Future Engine repair after warranty – easier and cheaper to repair non-turbo engine
    Moreover, Subaru XV has a better and more lasting look than Ford Kuga.
    And again, the permanent AWD – it’s the real deal [http://youtu.be/kRniF4JQN2U]. That’s why we buy Subaru.

• creator on Feb 13, 2014 at 4:22 pm

Own one and milegae now almost 2000km. Good car, only issue is boot space not big enough. Radio station auto search could be turn off in the head unit. Free 100,000km service and 5 year warranty, worth the value. Handling and road holding is superb for a car at this height. Fuel economy, one full tank on high way on 100 to 120km/h is almost 800km (based on info meter), in town is 450km. Tested H&M before, this is a better drive. Resale value? May get worries maybe after many years when I am changing it, only hope that it is not 0 value. :-)