SURVEY: Workshop woes – share your experiences

bmw-workshop

Is this repair really needed? Am I paying the right price? Rings a bell? Well, we thought so. The workshop experience can be an inconvenient one, although some petrolheads among us do love to hang out at the workshop for the love of their rides. Mind you, we’re not talking about those bright and shiny official service centres that owners of under warranty cars go to, but more of the ‘under the tree’ Ah Chong variety.

In the interest of car owners, Carama and paultan.org are conducting a survey to understand customer concerns in the area of car maintenance. We’re seeking to improve the quality of service and repair in Malaysia and ultimately uplift the standard of independent workshops in the country.

So, dear reader, please spend a couple of minutes to complete the mini survey below.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Frustrated on Feb 11, 2014 at 4:16 pm

The survey submission have problems with questions 1 & 2. The text box too have problems getting filled in.

• Frustrated on Feb 11, 2014 at 4:19 pm

The survey have submission problems, indicating questions 1 & 2 are answered despite so. The text boxes too have problems filled up. And this comment section too have submission problems

• I hate workshops that just want to quickly get the job done and not care about anything else. I once sent my car to a Proton service centre to fix the loose handbrake. They ripped out the plastics too hard and cracked it. They later tried to hide it but the crack is blatantly there and they think they can escape with it. Needless to say, I gave them hell. Another experience when I did wheel alignment at Ah Chong tyre shop. They needed to adjust the steering wheel and so took a screw driver to pry out the plastics to gain access to the nuts and bolts holding the steering wheel. Obviously, by prying with a screw driver, it’ll scratch the plastic isn’t it? Why so dumb? Just want to get the job done and couldn’t care less about anything else is it? Cannot use a cloth to put on the plastic first before prying it meh? So, this champion of a workshop, obviously made an almighty big gash on the plastics covering the steering wheel. When asked how could you be so irresponsible? All they can say is, “mou pin” meaning “What to do?”. What to do my ass. I’ll sue your ass off, or even better if I’m evil enough, I’ll reveal the name and address of the shop here so you guys reading this comment can stay away from that shop and tell all your friends that this workshop wouldn’t think twice about scratching your beloved car.

• pakzam on Feb 12, 2014 at 7:53 am

Be extra careful when you send your car to Proton COE (Center of Excellence kononnya!)- 1st – you make appointment – no point..! when you arrive.. you still have to wait.. you booked slot are being taken over by other car. 2nd – always keep you eyes on your car – the mechanic are very rough in doing their job – once i got my wife gen-2 to go on ramp, the mechanic drive it hard and the low bumper (original r3) hit the jack-up ramp. when complaint – they said it’s not their fault! This also happen to my boss preve car. I totally BAN this place. Better send to under the tree mechanic if like that.

• Kumar on Feb 11, 2014 at 6:04 pm

the bigger concern is even authorized dealers’s employees are lazy to resolve a symptom reported of a potential failure/breakdown and the employee prefers to push matter under the carpet or for the next service which by then causes damage to other parts of the car. What more for Independent repairs then and here the concern is are we getting the original parts as being charged.Its like out of the “pan and into the fire” more often.

• Luoshi-ma on Feb 12, 2014 at 1:32 pm

Very true. I’ve been thinking if those young chaps at the authorised service centres are technically competent other than changing engine oil. There was once when the alternator was disconnected after a routine servicing. As a result, the battery went flat. When brought back to them, I had to buy a new battery but it went flat again soon after. Then, they replace another one. And when the problem persisted, they claimed that there are other problems with the car that needed extensive check. Luckily, I had consulted an outside battery workshop guy proir to that and was told it could be the alternator problem. I told the service centre guys straight away of that but they still insisted it was other problems and required days of extensive check. Well, after I insisted that they check the alternator first there and then, it was indeed just a disconnected alternator issue. That speaks so much of authorised service centres.

• Sam Survey on Feb 11, 2014 at 6:05 pm

What about resale value ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
  • dungu on Feb 11, 2014 at 6:10 pm

The problem with our car workshop servicing, more than half are of them are incompetent and lazy and they don’t care about your property. Technical knowledge is laughable. If you have live in angmoh country and send your car to the workshop, it’s like heaven and hell when it comes to customer experiencing and the professionalism in fixing your car.

Here, the charkuay mechanic not only leave some black streaks on your car paint, car seats, scratches here and there, but missing screws too. And it’s not like the current mechanic is charging cheap either. Somehow, there is no sense of ownership of the mechanic when they repair customer car. It is like…f**k it…i need to go home sharp 5pm.

• workshop mechanic very violent wan..beat ppl to death

• LatukBandar on Feb 11, 2014 at 7:13 pm

I agree, this is why I ride a horse. Organic, no CO2, sustainable, produce fertilizer, no oil change or maintenance.

• The horse still need to eat rite

• RejimKejamGanas on Feb 12, 2014 at 2:36 am

Horse also can get sick and die. By the way, some cars are so expensive and fragile that it is just like owning a horse. Make sure to vaccinate your horse from time to time, would not want it to go crazy and you get hurt.

• paangiant on Feb 12, 2014 at 2:46 am

You’re riding a dead horse? No CO2?

• mr president on Feb 12, 2014 at 9:36 am

can feed your horse with kangkung?

• Low Budget on Feb 12, 2014 at 10:43 am

The horse can fart, thus producing explosive gas.

• MessCapati on Feb 13, 2014 at 9:01 am

You better ride his sibling – a donkey…low maintenance, very durable & no need recall to fix faulty bodypart!

• CinaBeng on Feb 11, 2014 at 6:53 pm

I never send my car to workshop.

Even after warranty, I send it to Service Centre.

10,000km service interval with peace of mind.
    Genuine Oil Filter,
    Genuine Air Filter,
    Properly designed Engine Oil, Gear Oil.

These are very crucial to ensure Car’s Reliability and Durability.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
    • Altima SSS on Feb 11, 2014 at 8:55 pm

Agree with you.. yeah, it costs much more, but it gives you the piece of mind and you have proper access to channel your complaints if anything goes wrong.

For my much older car, I do the repairs on my own most of the time, except for bigger jobs like replacing absorbers etc.

• dodgeviper88 on Feb 11, 2014 at 11:46 pm

not bothered by the survey at all, just waiting with my popcorn and refreshing the comments section

• Beat the traffic on Feb 12, 2014 at 12:40 am

I was grown up in an environment which we learnt some minor hands on experience on car repair. I believe thats the reason ppl like me prefer workshop than service center. The young cikus nowadays know nothing about cars at all and prefer paying high price at service center. You can only find real sifus at workshops not sc. Only losers work in service center and never dare to open their own workshop

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • RejimKejamGanas on Feb 12, 2014 at 2:33 am

Unless you are driving a Datsun 120Y, cars these days are much more complicated. With manufacturers/distributors also giving longer warranties, they require that you service at an authorized agent. So unless you drive an old basic car, you can dream about DIY repairs if it is under warranty and complicated to fix.

• PAMELA on Feb 12, 2014 at 10:00 am

Outside workshop mechanics will use their greasy hands and touch all over your car and headlamps. Proven already. They need to save on handwash and detergent.

• Low Budget on Feb 12, 2014 at 10:49 am

What they did was ‘Trial and Error’, I have this kind of experience with the car workshops too.Either those bunch of idiotic mechanics are highly incompetent or trying to rip us off.

• tokmoh on Feb 12, 2014 at 1:25 pm

Or both. Eventually, the fuel pump did give way, and they charged rm450 (still sempat wayang summor, say give big discount wor, otherwise it’s rm600).

Macai can butthurt ppl dun want support/bash proton, wait until they kena. See they go back proton or not, and when it’s their own money n leave need to be sacrificed, then they know.

• Stanley on Feb 12, 2014 at 2:09 pm

SC can do oil change well only. Other issues also depends on luck. My experience with one Honda FC is quite bad also. They change fuel filter during one of the major service but didn’t install it securely. Halfway drive the car engine died. I park at roadside and luckily i saw fuel dripping from the car. I bend down n saw the lose fuel hose. I connect it back to the fuel filter till it clicks. Any sparks around my car will be on fire d. I change timing belt also that time. end up check engine light on. Complaint to Honda Malaysia also no action.

• Mr Mac on Mar 02, 2014 at 3:17 pm

I service my own car. An old 1989 Volvo 740 GLE. What a great and easy car to maintain. Spacious engine compartment even a 2.3L inline 4 engine is inside. It makes my life easier and encouraging to do it my own. Newer cars now are bullshit. An Audi A4 needs to remove the bumpers before u can excess the engine. Exorbitant costs! You can DIY. Parts are not expensive. Sometimes u need to be creative to use used parts or rojak with other parts. I do that on small items but most of the wear and tear parts replace them with volvo original parts. Been keeping my own maintenance book and smartphone software. my brother is also maintaining his own cars including XC90.

IF only workshops treat my car as if his own, I would not need to sacrifice my free time. Mechanics always like to cincai especially when it involves wiring. Simply taping with black tapes. Use proper fasteners and connectors la. Cover the body with blanket or such so that the paint would not be scratched when working. Cover the seats so that no oil and dirt will be pasted on the seats.

My suggestions:
    1. Implement a maintenance software . They are a lot available in smartphone applications market. Link it with your customers. Put alerts and scheduling for next services. Remind owners to insert recent mileage so that the workshop and owners are synced. Make it all online. I dont think this setup is expensive.

2. Workshops can track returning customers and from the software, insert good deals. Discounts or rebates or free car wash ..

3. Provide kapcai for willing customers to use it while their cars are in service. Sometimes we dont have people to drop and pick us up from the workshops.

4. Collaborate with nearest car wash..send to carwash when repairs are done.

5. Most importantly..Is it too hard ? Is it too expensive to drop a call or sms telling customers that their cars are ready for pickup? Use whatsapp la . It is free, right?

understand your customers and u will do fine.