BMW Laser Light goes into production on BMW i8

P90143177-highRes

Well, that’s it guys – BMW have officially beaten Audi to the punch by being the first to put laser headlights into series production. From autumn this year, the BMW Laser Light system will be available as an optional extra on the BMW i8 plug-in hybrid sports car, which otherwise comes with full LED headlights as standard.

The lighting system uses a series of laser diodes that emit a powerful bundled beam that is projected via special lenses onto a fluorescent phosphorous substance inside the headlamp unit. This substance turns the laser beam into a bright, white light that is similar to daylight, which is pleasing to the eye.

P90143233-highRes

This technology doubles the visibility range at full beam compared to conventional high-beam LED lights, while using 30 per cent less energy. Camera-guided high-beam assist prevents the headlights from dazzling oncoming traffic or vehicles ahead.

The other benefit is a reduction of size and weight, as laser diodes are ten times smaller than LEDs. This means that the size of the reflectors can also be smaller by a factor of ten versus the reflectors on conventional LED headlights.

BMW states that its other models will also be fitted with the BMW Laser Light system in the coming future.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Since it is using reflected lights onto a mirror plane to illuminate the road, I think this is the first time in automotive history that the primary lightsource are not directly illuminating the road ahead[i.e, you cant see the bulb directly inside the headlights]. I wonder it help reduce the risk of blinding cars ahead as lately I find Xenons and Projectors(and usually Perodua’s projector) awfully and dangerously bright even in low beam. nice tech ,much more useful and innovative compare to Mercedes Swarovski Chrystals in their headlights

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 13
    • bigman on Feb 12, 2014 at 3:59 pm

copy from the article “Camera-guided high-beam assist prevents the headlights from dazzling oncoming traffic or vehicles ahead.”

• 4G63T DSM on Feb 13, 2014 at 11:21 am

yes and no.

While you can’t see the light source directly, this is no different from conventional bulbs and HID bulbs when used even in reflector headlights. Said bulbs will have a shield in front of the bulb that reflects the light back to the reflector.

Dazzling comes from improperly aimed headlights and wrong bulbs (ie. using HID bulbs in a regular Halogen Projector or reflector assembly). Perodua’s projectors seem to be the worst of the lot because their headlights actually sit pretty high and their soft suspension means that once the rear is loaded , the front gets tilted up.

You don’t need super bright HID lights to blind you. Even my 10W (900Lumen) Cree T6 LED bicycle lamp will blind a person stupid if not aimed properly.

• Usin Kangkong on Feb 12, 2014 at 2:01 pm

Powergghh arghhh!

First to komengggg

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 50
  • dewaSemut on Feb 12, 2014 at 2:42 pm

Wowwww..
    the price for a pair of this laser headlight, if ever sold here in Malaysia sure can buy one Perodua Viva or Proton GSC.. :)

• wonder hw much will it cost..

• Joker on Feb 12, 2014 at 3:08 pm

1st it looks cool..
    2nd it is much more safer for everyone since u have better visibility and it won’t blind out traffic up front and incoming thanks to the camera assist system!!
    Thumbs up!!!

• lamanblog on Feb 12, 2014 at 3:09 pm

balik kampung sure kena highbeam kereta opposite je manjang. too silau.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
  • Beng ngong on Feb 12, 2014 at 3:33 pm

stupid “ah bengs” who use blindingly bright and damn annoying headlights, u r outdated..get rid of the road!

• Thompson on Feb 12, 2014 at 4:07 pm

Especially some who installed hid without proper projector

• kadajawi on Feb 12, 2014 at 3:56 pm

Yes, it will try to not blind cars with their headlights on. What about cars without headlights on? What about pedestrians? Also, since the surface area that emits light is much smaller than with other systems, won’t that make the part that is bright very, very blindingly bright?

I’m not convinced. Though it is rather cool.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • sudonano on Feb 12, 2014 at 4:02 pm

Okay. This, is amazing. Lasers in cars!

• ahbeng on Feb 12, 2014 at 4:06 pm

pew pew pew

• To Read and To Lead on Feb 12, 2014 at 5:27 pm

Dear Beemer, after you inspired DRL to many and later with rear lights design fluidity, you never fail to be the pioneer. Congrats. Soon we can see this from Audi, Mercedes, Kia and more.

• haa haa.. What a Joke, based on the fact.. DRL & Full LED Headlamps introduce by Audi fitted in R8.

Haloo, since when DRL was inspired by Beemer?

• BMW BEST on Feb 13, 2014 at 1:43 pm

The Audi sport quattro also has some sort of laser light which is first introduced on the I8, so?

• Haa haa.. But the fact said other way, Laser Light/Lamp Audi introduce it first lerrrr at 2011 Frankfurt Auto Show fitted at Audi A2 concept using LASER DIODES..

• Arcee on Feb 12, 2014 at 5:34 pm

It won’t be cheap. As it is, jst one side of a projector lens on a 3 series is close to RM5K. Imagine if its a pair. New tech will cost a bomb until it is cascaded to the lower end models. The idea is good but until it is affordable, it will remain as a dream to many

• Yes it won’t cheap, that why BMW said it was “OPTIONAL” & not as standard equipment in i8…

• shawal on Feb 12, 2014 at 6:44 pm

The cut out components reminds me of my 2ndary schooling time in the kemahiran hidup workshop..

China brand is working hard in bringing you their take on lazerlight for your average joe consumer

• armandd on Feb 12, 2014 at 7:15 pm

When it fails and need replacement, even the richest BMW owners will sweat.

• Samad Jain on Feb 12, 2014 at 7:18 pm

Very hi-tech…

MAybe in 5 years time, kedai abang would sell such product….can install in all cars…

• Tis is real R&D, the real deal…meanwhile Potong oso R&d, wit hundreds of millions of ringgit free from the gomen, they R&D on how to rebadge more and more cars

• Megane on Feb 13, 2014 at 8:53 am

This post is about BMW laser lights and you bring in PROTON into this . Your comment has no basis at all . Try to stay in the topic next time .

• No matter what, it would be expensive.
    But i won’t think that it would spoil that easy.
    I been waiting for BMW to announce this laser light to be in production for a year.
    It would be the best R & D after all.

• Unforgiven on Feb 13, 2014 at 9:15 am

Are we using conventional LED headlights?
    Halogen/Xenon/HID?

• Since when bringing P1 into the discussion is considered a crime or maybe even sedition? Wit narrow minded people like u, no wonder bolehland so backwards

• bob is an a-hole on Feb 20, 2014 at 12:55 am

probably since you cant shut your hole bob…people get nagged when straying off topic happen everytime..so learn something today.