Nissan Frontier Diesel Runner Powered by Cummins

Nissan_Frontier_Diesel_Runner_Powered_by_Cummins_03

To give it its full name, this is the Nissan Frontier Diesel Runner Powered by Cummins. If you’re wondering why Nissan is putting a brand new engine into its ageing pickup truck, it’s not. This is merely a concept show vehicle to “gauge the market reaction to a Nissan mid-size pickup with a diesel engine” in the US of A.

You see, over in the States, so-called mid-size crew cab pickups (as opposed to their giant full-size ones) are powered almost exclusively by large-capacity petrol engines. The Frontier – the Nissan Navara’s US name – is no different, and has a 4.0 litre V6 petrol engine with 261 hp and 382 Nm of torque to call its own.

This concept, on the other hand, offers a Cummins 2.8 litre four-cylinder turbodiesel motor that makes nearly 200 hp and over 476 Nm of torque, paired to a ZF eight-speed automatic transmission. Nissan claims that it’s 35% more efficient than the existing petrol variant, but with the same range of payload and towing capacity.

The 2.8 litre Cummins engine is available in Malaysia in the unlikeliest of sources – the Bison Savanna pickup truck. It’s not quite tuned to the same highs as the Nissan concept, though, as it delivers just 161 hp and 360 Nm of torque in the Chinese-built truck, while making do with a Getrag five-speed manual gearbox.

Other than the possibility of a future diesel-powered Frontier models making production, Cummins will also supply a significantly larger and more powerful 5.0 litre V8 turbodiesel engine for the next-generation Nissan Titan full-size pickup truck, which will enter the American markets in 2015.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Jebonr on Feb 12, 2014 at 11:46 am

It’s still look old to me.

• Aerro on Feb 12, 2014 at 11:59 am

For some reasons I don’t like the name ‘Cummins’…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • niterunner99 on Feb 12, 2014 at 12:46 pm

Looks very nice to me!..well at least compare to the normal noes we see on the roads.

• policeman on Feb 12, 2014 at 1:00 pm

Wah… the interior looks just like the Proton Global Car.

• American buy Full Size truck for simple reason:

high durability and nice to sit over long distance travelling.

I wonder if Nissan is trying to challenge this status quo.

• nabill on Feb 12, 2014 at 1:26 pm

one of the best trucks….but in the UK , its also available With a V6 3.0 Diesel….!

• infinity on Feb 12, 2014 at 10:59 pm

Cummin engine is very common for the offshore vessel-very reliable.

• isuzuki on Feb 13, 2014 at 6:06 pm

Nissan V6 TD not good enuf meh?

• JAMES on Mar 05, 2014 at 6:18 am

I HAVE BE WAITING FOR A MIDSIZE DIESEL PICKUP WITH 4-WHEEL DRIVE. I HAVE ALWAYS LIKED NISSAN AND HAVE HAD GOOD LUCK WITH EVERY TRUCK FROM THEM. I WILL BUY ONE, WOULD PREFER A KING CAB, TO A CREW CAB. I WAS WAITING FOR GM’S MIDSIZE EST 2014, OR JEEP GLADIATOR, IF THEY EVER COME OUT, BUT NISSAN RUNNER WORKS WELL FOR ME. BRING IT ON.