Toyota Prius recall – 6,160 units in Malaysia involved

prius fl malaysia

Toyota Motor Corporation has announced a “special service campaign” a.k.a. recall for the Toyota Prius 1.8. The wordwide recall is for cars manufactured from year 2009 to 2013 – 6,160 units of the Prius are involved in Malaysia.

The issue concerns a certain software characteristic used to control the boost converter in the inverter assembly of the Prius. In the worst case scenario, afftected cars may see various warning lights illuminated and the vehicle will enter into a fail safe mode with a reduction in motive power.

This recall seeks to reprogramme the software for both the Motor Generator Control ECU and the Power Management Control ECU on affected cars.

UMW Toyota Motor (UMWT) says that although there have not been any reported cases in Malaysia, the recall is to ensure that customer vehicles remain reliable and perform at the best performance level. UMWT will contact all customers involved to carry out the necessary corrective measures at no cost.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• caprico on Feb 12, 2014 at 3:36 pm

T brand again? Way to go…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 6
    • Hyundai De La Junk on Feb 12, 2014 at 4:33 pm

Which U prefer Toyota recall rectified before problem occured or Korean brand keep quiet & denied any problem. (Always says recall not included malaysia batch)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 82
      • Hyundai De La Junk - Sore Loser on Feb 12, 2014 at 5:09 pm

We all know you are a loser and cannot even afford a car, whatmore a Hyundai.

Don’t be jealous lah. Don’t dengki Korean cars. If it is so bad, how is it Hyundai is the 4th largest car sales in the world??

Of the 50 over brands of cars, Hyundai is the 4th in the world with millions in sales.

So who do we believe? Millions of buyers of Koreans cars every year OR a pariah called Hyundai De La Junk who is a sore loser in life?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 18
        • De La Junk - Otak berak on Feb 13, 2014 at 4:40 pm

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Automotive_industry

Hyundai sold 7,126,413 vehicles in 2012. You mean 7,126,413 can be wrong?

By the way Nissan only sold 4,889,379 vehicles in 2012 and Honda 4,110,857

• obama on Feb 12, 2014 at 5:22 pm

Buy Proton better, never recall…LOL!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 6
      • Korean cars got like that meh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
      • Sam Tow Truck on Feb 12, 2014 at 7:59 pm

Calm Down. Business have improved lately with many Priuses that kwai tai on the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
        • dino years on Feb 13, 2014 at 8:53 am

cham lor, Singapore “green” taxi fleet also kwai tai soon, and then the transport system will collapse.

• Dr. Sardesh on Feb 13, 2014 at 1:18 pm

Hyundai De La Junk is a low life. In every post, he will condemn Korean cars. Obviously he is a Toyota salesman who is frustrated in life.

Nowadays the Toyota and Honda salesman really feeling the pinch from the Koreans. the Koreans just took 10 years to establish a strong presence in Malaysia, compared to Honda and Toyota taking 50 years to establish a presence in Malaysia.

Every other car now is a Korean. The buyers are clever. They think about their life. They think about safety. Look at Toyota, until today also, UMW cheating people and taking out the VSC. In all the Corollas in the world, VSC is standard. But in Malaysia, UMW consciously takes out VSC just to safe cost at the expense of your life.

So the buyers of Korean know this and buy Korean cars for safety features.

Oh btw, about RV, Korean cars and Japanese cars got same RV lah. It was 10 years ago that Korean cars had lower RV than Japanese cars. But now, it is the SAME. Go to MUDAH, OTO and Motor Trader and comapre it for yourself. More of less the same. Infact, I got A Honda Civic 2012 and a Hyundai Elantra 2012. Both cars got SAME percentage of depreciation.

So to the scum who calls himself Hyundai De La Junk, go get a life lah. You are so sad. A very sad person who is frustrated in life. Probably even your wife left you, that is why you resort to car blogs to spread false rumours

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
      • michael on Feb 13, 2014 at 1:44 pm

hyundai De la Junk is one big idiot! A very big one!

• drama on Feb 13, 2014 at 3:34 pm

another sam loo in making. *munching popcorn waiting for drama to unfold*

• Koreans Rule on Feb 12, 2014 at 4:59 pm

Toyota is the car company with the most recalls in the world. The sudden acceleration case was not the first. It was just the largest involving more than 10 million cars as people died in the US due to that.

So you think Toyota is reliable.? Think again, this is the car that might kill you!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 11
    • desiree on Feb 12, 2014 at 5:12 pm

RECALL = TOYOTA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
    • abuya123 on Feb 12, 2014 at 5:50 pm

Macam biasa. UMW cakap…. model Malaysia tak terlibat… Hahaha…. Malaysia boleh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
    • Green on Feb 12, 2014 at 10:11 pm

1. impossible to produce a perfect car.
      2. to produce a perfect car, it would be higher cost right?
      u have do alot alot alot of Testing.

3. Consider Toyota made it so hard to become World Top Reliabilty..

Others cars with low reliabilty rate,
      to me is not worth at all.

They didnt invest in Quality. giving headache constantly.

A car is A car, not a Toy.
      it should be of high reliability that make it worth to buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 23
    • Sam Loo on Feb 13, 2014 at 1:04 pm

Kimchis will let their owners scratch their heads, sweep everything under the carpet.

Besides, rotten cabbages have an effective road life of only 15months, so there is no point recalling anyway

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
  • Ismail Saad on Feb 12, 2014 at 3:39 pm

rilek2 semua macai jgn complain psl toyota.. just complain pasal proton je..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 33
    • Tok Berlagak on Feb 12, 2014 at 10:16 pm

I dont buy a Toy,
      I buy a car,

Thank You Toyota serving us well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 11
    • Support proton on Feb 12, 2014 at 10:29 pm

Tak semua kereta perfect terima laa kenyataan…berapa lama agaknya Toyota buat researh sebelum keluarkan Prius??? Ada masalah juga…he..he..he..ADIOS PENGHENTAM PROTON…TERIMA LAA SEADANYA…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
  • tathoong on Feb 12, 2014 at 3:42 pm

is CT200h also affected?
    they r sharing the same hybrid system.

• Tyler Durden on Feb 12, 2014 at 3:42 pm

Danny,
    Would this affect the CT200h as well?
    TD

• Datuk on Feb 12, 2014 at 3:48 pm

Well Sam Loo, any idea?

• sam loo dah pegi lick kereta kia dgn hyundai..siap kunyah2 kimci lagi…manusia sombong mcmtu diam sekejap lps ni dtg balik…malu besar skrg sbb kereta prius dia kena recall…

• wongck on Feb 12, 2014 at 3:50 pm

We rarely heard other cars manufacture recall (especially in Msia). But does it mean their car no defect and more reliable? Many cars had complain till newspapers, but sadly it quietly close case. We know it ourselves.

• rm140k for this car ? hell no! within 5 years only sold 6160 units? seriously this amount very little but i still think it should be only sold 1000 units

• Jerry-built project

• azrai on Feb 12, 2014 at 4:02 pm

Since it’s software related problem I beg you can download it from Google Play and Bluetooth to the car. :-)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
    • average joe on Feb 13, 2014 at 10:55 am

Too many bloatware like samsung. Owner should root their prius

• hahaha please keep on calling on your rubbish car

malaysian please wake up, toyota is not a quality high value luxury car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 21
    • theanswer on Feb 12, 2014 at 5:41 pm

to be exact malaysian toyota. we only get 3rd world country toyota.

• Nothing is pefect.

High Reliability is what i want after all the trying..
      Toyota is my top choice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 17
  • comrade on Feb 12, 2014 at 4:05 pm

no cases reported in Malaysia so this a good effort from Toyota to make this special service campaign..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 26
    • Heng Lee on Feb 13, 2014 at 4:28 am

No, it’s a good effort from gouvernment to limit the top speed to 110km/h.

Of course Toyota’s ‘boost converter’ is very reliable at low speeds when it is not needed at all.

• Not long after H made a recall and T follows.. what happened to J’s product?

Advanced in technology testing?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
  • toyotaboleh on Feb 12, 2014 at 4:14 pm

toyota do recall, is responsible company, recall before someone get hurts, good, bestnya…

proton do recall, tu la beli proton, padan muka, proton sucks..

pfftt….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 26
    • proton got do recall meh?

• yes proton juga ader buat recall sebelum nih
        for me recalls mean services after sales hehe

• abuya123 on Feb 12, 2014 at 5:50 pm

Double standard…..

• Support Proton on Feb 12, 2014 at 10:33 pm

Bila proton buat recall kau kata jgn beli proton bla…bla…bla…Bila Toyota buat recall kau kata ianya adalah satu tanggungjawab Toyota…komen kau laa yang paling bangang dalam 25 juta rakyat Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
  • “afftected cars may see various warning lights illuminated and the vehicle will enter into a fail safe mode with a reduction in motive power.”

This one is Prius Hari Raya limited edition. If rosak, all lights kelap-kelip…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 3
  • GrenPa on Feb 12, 2014 at 4:22 pm

There are no Prius owner complain.

Meaning all problem are well taken care.

but Toyota are worry that other Prius may be affected, hence, ALL car give a service 1 Shot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 28
  • Richard on Feb 12, 2014 at 4:25 pm

This is the 3rd recall since I owned the car from 2010.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 3
  • Guan Yin Ma on Feb 12, 2014 at 4:30 pm

This is a good example of a good company. Recall before any issue occurs on road. I drove my prius for 120k km already, and not even a single warning light come out in my dash before.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 53
  • Guan Yin Ma on Feb 12, 2014 at 4:30 pm

This is a good example of a good company. Recall before any issue occurs on road. I drove my prius for 120k km already, and not even a single warning light come out in my dash before.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 45
    • petrol low fuel warning light also never came out before ha? better go check. maybe need a recall for that.

• gmorque on Feb 12, 2014 at 4:32 pm

malaysia punya style.. lau apa2 problem memang akan cakap malaysia punya semua ok punya.. x kira kereta ke makanan ke, pinggan mangkuk.. oversea jek problem.. belum siasat dah kuar statement.. mangkuk..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
    • nama org putih tp hampeh on Feb 12, 2014 at 6:06 pm

Cuba be positive skit.. ko ingat depa pasang basikal ka.. semua ada track record…so diorg tahu la batch masuk malaysia batch ni masuk zimbabwe…keta ni pasang ECU serial number apa…tu kat dunia ni dia cipta sistem FIFO..so selagi satu batch xabes diorg xkan tukar batch lain..then diorg ada TPS ..apa punya negatif statement da ko keluar..tp yg grey importer tu diorg xtracking sbb bukan dr umwt

• Same Lor on Feb 12, 2014 at 4:39 pm

For this, Toyota is willing to do worldwide recall. If each Prius cost them USD 5, it is USD 9.5 million (RM 30.4 million) for this recall and they FULLY ABSORDED the cost. It show its responsible attitude toward build quality.

For proton? You die your own problem… They may not even survive a recall financially.

NO RECALL DOESN’T MEANS NO PROBLEM! And we all know how good Protons are…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 63
    • Proton recall cars via mail la idiot. I had my Inspira recalled for “possibly defective (noisy)” Mitsubishi bushings, and also my friends’ Preve recalled for “engine CVVT one-way valve replacement” and “ECU/TCU update”.

All of them are not really necessary and does not pose safety risk. They just wanted to make their cars running better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
    • blublibla on Feb 12, 2014 at 7:57 pm

Proton HAS done a safety recall before. Vehicle recalls are only subjected to cars with safety issues. Not wear and tear issues. And I suppose you are refering to Proton’s wear and tear issue. And if you were, it doesn’t make sense. If a Proton vehicle that has some sort of safety issue but no recall than your statement makes sense.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • Besi Buruk on Feb 12, 2014 at 8:04 pm

Why such statement? Proton bang your backside today.

• Same Lor on Feb 14, 2014 at 12:28 am

Bang my backside only?

Proton bang every Malaysian frontside, backside, inside out!

Because of these piece of junks, we have to pay high car prices, high car tax, high car maintenance (we are either current Proton owner or ex Proton owner).

Every part made by Proton break down sooner that you expect (except the favored Mitsubishi engine, coz it is NOT FROM PROTON), and these are not safety issue for you?

• Keris Jawa on Feb 12, 2014 at 9:27 pm

A very irresponsible comment indeed!

• Low Budget on Feb 12, 2014 at 9:41 pm

Most recalls by various car makers are related to the electronic/digital application problems, it simply means there are bugs in their applications.
      Proton do not have recall means the technology built into Proton cars are not up to the sophisticated level yet.

• Can p1 recall for tayar… My saga tayar sudah tipis la…my car light bulb oso oledi burn can recall?

……….lol

• Bob Vettel on Feb 12, 2014 at 4:52 pm

Idiot – Proton has done recalls before if you even care to search on the Interweb.

All the recalls made by carmakers involves safety issues only – wear & tear issues are NEVER part of any recall.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 15
    • Besi Buruk on Feb 12, 2014 at 10:33 pm

You can agree or disagree with others comment. But why the word ‘IDIOT’?

• its such a bad word but perfect for sam lor

• Bob Vettel on Feb 13, 2014 at 6:09 am

He deserves it – it’s not that hard to find info about Proton’s recalls but being the lazy basher he is, he still condemns stupidly and without fact.

• tathoong on Feb 12, 2014 at 5:04 pm

is CT200h also affected??

• affected. dont buy a wannabe lexus next time.

• CT200h on Feb 12, 2014 at 6:07 pm

Yup..even honda cup also effected..

• Fries on Feb 12, 2014 at 6:18 pm

yes if it’s called a Prius.

• Samad Jain on Feb 12, 2014 at 7:13 pm

Statement says prius car bro, you pulak ask CT200h….Why ah??

Next time you order roti canai, the mamak guy give you mee goreng…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
      • Same Lor on Feb 14, 2014 at 12:36 am

I understand Prius and CT200h is way out of your affordability, but don’t simply comment to show your can’t afford them.

If one day Proton recall Preve Campro engine, you will worry of your Persona too.

• suprima on Feb 12, 2014 at 7:43 pm

You mean Cina Tongkang 200 Hailat?

If yes, lu boleh claim kat tongsan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
      • Besi Buruk on Feb 12, 2014 at 10:37 pm

What happen today? Lousy day eh! Feel no good, go take cold shower and come back tomorrow.

• too stupid? on Feb 13, 2014 at 4:32 am

too stupid to check what prius and ct200h share in similarity?

• tan sari on Feb 12, 2014 at 5:14 pm

toyota, piece of junk crap at so high prices, always recall, even my japanese friend said don’t buy it, lol

• Das Auto on Feb 14, 2014 at 2:05 am

Totally agree. Prius is fxxking THE WORST overpriced car in the world. TAX FREE and still can be 140k+!!!!! IT is only USD20k in states with taxes and profits included (RM66k)

Only brainless idiot and blind supporter will buy fr bloodsucking UMW. Serves them right !!! ahahahhahah!!

• motorhead on Feb 12, 2014 at 6:23 pm

Facts…all the faulty in the previous Gen2, Waja.. NO RECALL!!! regardless how many complaints. No worth talk about Proton here.

• Wong San on Feb 12, 2014 at 6:42 pm

Relax, I never worry for my Prius because it is a CBU!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • WhereAreYouSam on Feb 12, 2014 at 6:50 pm

meanwhile P2 still never recall after all

• rayram on Feb 12, 2014 at 6:50 pm

Oklah macam ini. I drive dkt 75k all ok. Experience have proton before… complaint sc but sc denied n respond “kereta encik je masalah macam ni”..??

• hahaha on Feb 12, 2014 at 6:55 pm

tat 6160 units means the total number of prius in msia? lol.. if its 6160 total then vios 20k booking is really scary lor.. lolzz

• From 2009 to 2013? Does that mean the problem had persisted for 5 years and today only the solution was found??? So if they had not found the solution, would they have kept quiet about it for another 5 years??? Sorry to say that Toyota is no longer the brand it used to be. Their 2013 sales declined and in China they are only no. 3 in sales after VW and Hyundai. Only in Malaysia, ppl still think Toyota is a brand to be worship and praise its resale value..etc. etc. etc. I personally owned a Toyota for 2 years and experience horrible after sales service where delayed my warranty claim to a point that I had to dump the car before it rusted into a bucket of bolts…

• Danny G on Feb 12, 2014 at 7:30 pm

Where are those Sam Loo followers.?

• transformer on Feb 12, 2014 at 7:52 pm

until todate, no Gov initiative to introduce “Recall” policy/law…. automaker are still dumping save cost low-tech, unreliable parts to bolehland !!!

in US, carmaker has been recalling cars for EVEN a MINOR “blurry headlight”(impede vision, so affect safety)…. in Msia, i can see a lot of Wish, Livina, Perdana, Camry with this plight….

really need to wait 2020 to start implement ?
    or wait after UBAH or TURUN ?

can Paul/Danny/Chris/Hafriz/Harvinder write an article on this “recall policy” so reader can share view and know their right! Thank you!

• tiadaid on Feb 12, 2014 at 10:26 pm

Safety & regulations are consumer driven – right now the typical Malaysian carbuyer don’t give two hoots about safety etc. All they care about is buying the right brand.

Until this mentality changes, the situation will remain the same.

• RBA fanboy on Feb 12, 2014 at 8:08 pm

when Sam Looi

• Siewai on Feb 12, 2014 at 8:45 pm

Better check with Lexus Mutiara Damansara whether there is an official recall

• Green on Feb 12, 2014 at 10:08 pm

http://my.news.yahoo.com/video/toyota-recalls-1-9-million-120000878.html

only Toyota Prius So far.

• Heng Lee on Feb 13, 2014 at 4:37 am

Not only:

“Toyota Motor Co. is recalling 885,000 vehicles worldwide over electrical problems that could prevent airbags from deploying in a crash, the latest in a series of major safety-related actions for the carmaker.”

http://www.nbcnews.com/business/autos/toyota-recalls-885-000-vehicles-over-airbag-problem-f8C11414211

• Jialat on Feb 13, 2014 at 8:59 am

U went out of topic.

They asking if Lexus CT-200h is invovled.

Green solve his problem that Lexus CT-200h is not in the case.

• Denaihati on Feb 12, 2014 at 9:26 pm

No cases in Malaysia, good corrective measures, make customer more confident.

• AKoNGz on Feb 12, 2014 at 9:39 pm

As a person working in a semicon line supplying chips to automotive sector, we know that there is always at least a defect in every million parts we sold and mind you, we manufacture for almost all the brands in the world.

For T to sound the recall alarm is an applaud-able move as they have concern on their customer’s safety.

You need to be worried on those brands that kept their mouth shut… Recalls are an extremely expensive move

• There are 308 cases reported, in Japan which leads to this recall. No accident happened caused by the fault, but toyota decided to recall worldwide.

• DatukPa on Feb 13, 2014 at 12:38 am

This is why I love Toyota.

Striving hard to give the best quality for consumer.

In fact a High Cost Sustainable Management.

• alldisc on Feb 13, 2014 at 10:44 am

this is called responsibility

• DSGfanboi on Feb 12, 2014 at 11:01 pm

VW bashers and trollers why so silent?? got nothing to say after honda double clutch recall and now toyota recall? Cat caught your tongue??? So now use bicycle? But then bicycle also might have recall….

• In UMW Toyota website as well as Paultan.org, Estima advertisement has been taken out. Why ? Wrongly post ?

Also that Alphard article has gone as well. Wrongful act ?

I wonder….

• BeemerFreak on Feb 12, 2014 at 11:58 pm

Reliable my foot…….also end up being the same. Toyota maniacs just have to admit, their cars are just the same as anyone elses.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • DatukPa on Feb 13, 2014 at 12:36 am

Go buy your Toy Car.

we love real car with good quality such as Toyota who keep on ensuring the best quality for us.

to ensure high quality, this is a real big investment with very high initial cost and high operating cost.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
    • Gently Speaking on Feb 13, 2014 at 8:11 am

Apparently the problem has not affect anyone.

It’s Toyota Genuine Initiative to Preventive measure.

Hence, there is no reliability issue happened here.

• Maserati(Official) on Feb 13, 2014 at 8:36 am

I don’t get the hate, Toyota is doing what most luxury makers are doing, being humble and recalling any faults found in their cars. Their reputation is really well known and have been compared to the likes of Ferrari and Lamborghini.

Meanwhile the Korean junks are still in denial mode, selling lousy looking and faulty cars to the clients and making sure they climb up the ladder rank by any means, which is an evil tactic at the expense of their customers. I’m guessing their customers either die from car faulty or when they find out the car’s resale value.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
    • SamTowTruck on Feb 13, 2014 at 11:09 am

Hey Maserati,

I know this morning your VW dsg break down again causing a massive jam in PJ.

Sorry lar, i know you are my vip customer but i am busy towing your wife car and buying her valentine breakfast.

Told you to buy Toyota lar. Why so degil ? Your wife says my Toyota Hailat really make her feel so good.

• Joker on Feb 13, 2014 at 2:39 pm

nice one haha…

• nampak sangat sam tow truck penyangak..tulis mesej mcm penyangak..baru pakai kereta toyota second tp satu dunia hina kereta orang lain…
        dasar manusia penyangak!

• Masakroti on Feb 13, 2014 at 12:16 pm

I see your maserati lies in workshop more than on the road.

• TauJang on Feb 13, 2014 at 8:43 am

If i would recommend cars, i only recommend Japanese.

But if u ask me which one best quality, I recommend Toyota.

In all cases, Toyota will take good care of u as if you own a luxury car..
    In case of any small issue, they will recall and give u the service u deserved. In case u have any issue, Toyota never fail to resolve the problem for U.

This is the best treatment one get Get for buying a Toyota compared to the others Japanese.

Highest Reliability + Best customer service+Support.
    Peace Of Mind.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
    • Sam Loo on Feb 13, 2014 at 1:11 pm

But if you ask me which car is best bought pre-owned, I would recommend the K5.

15 month or less units can’t be traded in, so desperate owners will sell them online.

Knock it down to RM30k, you will find many desperate owners selling them

• DSGfanboi on Feb 13, 2014 at 2:22 pm

Ya lah….
        If VW recall = crap shitty car
        If Toyota recall = “In all cases, Toyota will take good care of u as if you own a luxury car..
        In case of any small issue, they will recall and give u the service u deserved. In case u have any issue, Toyota never fail to resolve the problem for U.”

• MessCapati on Feb 13, 2014 at 8:51 am

Toyota@UMWT should do recall on Vios ‘Dugong’ which can suddenly fly. Hope the new Vios ‘Keli’ can’t fly like his previous sister hehehe!

• Gently Speaking on Feb 13, 2014 at 8:57 am

I have seen Preve and Accord overturn turtle.

maybe Honda and Proton should do recall too.

• taiko on Feb 13, 2014 at 10:53 am

oh.oh.i am not in trouble.CHEERS

• walk around on Feb 13, 2014 at 11:04 am

Proton is ok, but i hate most is using others brand to chop his own logo and call is their design. what the hack we need the R&D for then? and yet all the feature been reduce just to cater for proton market, if is oversea, proton is long gone. infact can’t compair T with P, different market secment, P and cherry should be closer… but spec is far more beyond what P can offer… Same old days.. no creativety…

• talking about perodua are you? All model are chop off logo from daihatsu.

• Sam Loo on Feb 13, 2014 at 1:09 pm

Understand that this is software issue.

Should be an easy fix for customer that brings the car in for service at the next interval.

For kimchis, they will ask the owners to pay for any form of recalls, indirectly by charging extras into the maintenance bill.

They are the “guai guai sheee sheee” untrustworthy people coming from a pretty barbaric culture

• Joker on Feb 13, 2014 at 2:37 pm

It’s been a long time since Toyota is the most reliable car brand in the world. This is a due a some software glitches that shows that Toyota can only build reliable old technology car and are not capable of manufacturing reliable high technology car. I basically don’t think there’s any car manufacturer out there today that you could call and brand them as reliable.

• Why not recall Toyota Vios, with so many complaint on the engine keep sounding grik grik (pinging)… during you press the pedal.

http://webcache.googleusercontent.com/search?q=cache:o9yr163LIH0J:www.tribetoyota.com.my/forum/topic.dot%3Ftopic_id%3D2965+&cd=1&hl=en&ct=clnk&gl=my

• benedict on Feb 19, 2014 at 11:36 am

I am a Prius luxury owner since 2012. Overall the car is good, sturdy, economic and reliable. But my only complaint is UMW themselves. Since the tax reduction enforced by Malaysian Government, Prius price dropped 30k from rm17+k to rm14+k, so i bought mine thinking it is a good buy. Upon getting my car, I realized that UMW has undercut so many things, no GPS, no solar fan, no sports rim (just rim cover, only 15″ rim (and not 17″ like the ones in Thailand or Singapore)… I mean they call this ‘PRIUS LUXURY’! but where is the luxury? As i did my research, i realized that although our Malaysian Govt gave tax reduction of 30K to this model, but instead UMW also ‘discounted’ on the spec of the luxury models. In US, our ‘luxury model’ is NOT the USD29k++ models but the standard USD24k+ models! What a rip-off!! Damn you UMW, i will not support Toyota in Malaysia anymore and truthfully, last year I bought a Hyundai Santa FE, no complaints so far.

• Keris Jawa on Feb 19, 2014 at 1:30 pm

You have to understand, they are in business, and they have to make money. But it is exactly this kind of BUSINESS practice that steers me away from Toyota, and to a certain extent, Honda. Sorry guys, truth hurts, I know.