ASEAN NCAP Phase III results to be released end-April or early May, likely in Malaysia instead of Thailand

asean ncap alza 2013

The decision has been made to push forward the ASEAN NCAP Phase III results release from March as previously announced to end-April or early May (tentative).

“The postponement was called for due to the safety and security considerations of the event and the participants, as a result of the recent political situation in Bangkok. We do hope the situation becomes stable in due time so that we could plan a similar event in Bangkok, within the year,” ASEAN NCAP deputy sec-gen Azhar Hamzah said in a release.

The Phase III Open Day, where the results will be officially revealed, will therefore likely happen in Malaysia (the ‘Plan B’ venue) instead of Thailand.

asean ncap almera 2013

Phase III evaluation will include the testing of pickups as well as models from various origins (OEMs from India, China and France). Left-hand drive (LHD) cars will be evaluated for the first time.

Testing for this phase will also be carried out in Japan at the Japan Automobile Research Institute (JARI) lab in Tsukuba, with the assistance of Australasian NCAP. The JARI facility is an appointed ASEAN NCAP official test lab, and the programme’s first test lab outside the ASEAN region. Testing will also take place in Korea for the first time in KATRI, with the collaboration of Korea NCAP.

A total of 11 models, with two models in both lowest and premium versions, are due to be evaluated, making for a total of 13 results at the end of Phase III testing.

ACT0017FO_Honda Civic_12Jul2013_1366x768(2.1)

Elsewhere, on the road-map front, the conclusion of testing in phases (the pilot stage is divided into three phases) means that the agency will now operate like other NCAP organisations, in which testing and the release of results are routinely carried out. It’s also set to, like Japan NCAP, introduce the Grand Prix award later this year.

Phase I results were announced in February last year, and those of Phase II in August.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• abuya123 on Feb 13, 2014 at 1:04 pm

Whatever it is…. price, quality and fc are Malaysian concern… safety are last and not count if it makes price up

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 26
    • Gently Speaking on Feb 13, 2014 at 1:18 pm

Main Criteria still goes to these 2:
      Quality and FC.

If we have more money, we will top up abit..
      then fullfilling:
      Quality, FC and Safety.

• No amount of stars is going to save a reckless driver.

• theanswer on Feb 13, 2014 at 3:47 pm

to be exact no amount of stars is going to save seatbelt’less’ driver. trust me..lots of them out there.

• kadajawi on Feb 13, 2014 at 5:48 pm

But the stars will save other drivers who get hit by reckless drivers.

• Besi Buruk on Feb 13, 2014 at 8:48 pm

Not sure what you say is right.

http://www.nst.com.my/latest/iron-rods-killed-4wd-passenger-1.482167

• tokmoh on Feb 13, 2014 at 10:56 pm

So your point is we should completely disregard safety? No need to even bother about safety?

Triton is not known for safety, but with a Volvo, it can even defeat a plane.

http://jalopnik.com/5936571/plane-crashes-into-volvo-volvo-wins

• Besi Buruk on Feb 14, 2014 at 8:28 am

Don’t quick to conclude what I am saying. Allways want to think ahead of the writer. It will affect your neuro system and that is bad for your health. You want to know my point, you can pose question.

• kadajawi on Feb 14, 2014 at 10:40 am

There will always be freak accidents. But on average it really helps to be in a safer car. Do you prefer to be in a Kancil or a Passat when a Vios hits you in the side? Kancil you will be dead. Passat you’ll be fine.

• kadajawi on Feb 13, 2014 at 1:24 pm

Though that may very well be the case it is short sighted thinking. What if you end up in an accident that reduces the RV of the car? An accident that would have been avoided by ESP/VSC. What about having an accident and dying due to it? Or having high medical bills? Being unable to work? What then? What if in a few years Malaysians care about safety features and are unwilling to buy cars without?

• Aerro on Feb 13, 2014 at 3:12 pm

Good news to Proton…with extra time given, no need to do secret retesting anymore…

• Talk nonsense lah abuya. Malaysians are concerned with safety. Anyway this results will be all tipu. If released in Malaysia, sure got under the table money. Anything to do with cars, whether it is Puspakom, Miti, MAI, AP all car matters involve corruption.

The theives in Proton and Perodua will pay these ASEAN NCAP money or give them Ang Pau to alter the results. then you will see Proton and Perodua got high rating.

We all know, Malaysia is No 1 corrupted Nation in SEA and for sure they give money. the first to give money to the NCAP people will be the BN fellows because all of them got some indirect stake in Proton ie they are supply vendors.

Proton always rated as a lousy car in every car mag. There must be a reason why they are rated that

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 28
      • proof don tok kok

• Proof? Saga FLX+

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
          • theanswer on Feb 13, 2014 at 3:49 pm

yes true. but after that proton comes out with new flx based on flx+ testing. one of the reason ‘old’ flx failed the test because no seat belt warning buzzer and light.

• Saga FLX+ do to with corrupt? is it wrong to able getting better result..u oso went to get july paper to better ur BM result..we all know no.1 corrupt nation in ASEAN is Indo

• zidane on Feb 13, 2014 at 6:04 pm

I heard Ingress that supply parts to proton owned by PR supporters? And many proton workers support PR?

• ruffstuff on Feb 13, 2014 at 7:12 pm

Ada sokong UMNO ade sokong PR yang kerja dalam Proton.

• Zidane on Feb 13, 2014 at 8:37 pm

Look at the design and build quality, then you know their mentality… Politics everyday

• Besi Buruk on Feb 13, 2014 at 8:56 pm

You saw them marked the ballot paper?

• Rashuk Khan2 on Feb 13, 2014 at 2:24 pm

Lucky Proton Preve, Suprima and Exora conduct by Australasian. The result is genuin….

• kadajawi on Feb 13, 2014 at 5:50 pm

Yeah. And the 2 airbag Saga was many years ago already tested by ANCAP too, and it scored 3 stars. The difference between the 1 star Saga and the 3 star Saga is probably just the amount of airbags, if you have a 2 airbag Saga that means 3 stars. Even if it was bought earlier.

• kadajawi on Feb 13, 2014 at 4:43 pm

Bullshit. Proton these days makes genuinely safe cars (the newly launched ones). Got tested by ANCAP, good result. Now the test of the Nissan Almera is fishy. Unless you are small have pushed the seat far back there is no way a 1 airbag can get a good rating. And why weren’t side impacts introduced yet? Having those would be in the interest of Proton. But Toyota would take a big hit there. Perodua too. And Nissan. Hyundai. Honda. Etc.

• Besi Buruk on Feb 13, 2014 at 8:54 pm

Are you sure Malaysia No. 1 corrupt. Want to join me for tour of SEA Countries? Remember, you have to pay your own fare.

• tokmoh on Feb 13, 2014 at 11:44 pm

People are just waiting when Proton can be the one to give price, quality, fc and safety. For most of us, it’s impossible. Can proton prove us wrong?

The car market was just fine back then until the mamak decided to f*ck it up with Proton, and it has been skewered ever since.

Had only the interest of his cronies’ pocket kept at bay, the market is much different today. There wouldn’t be any need to slap high duty to protect incompetent bloodsucker for the benefit of few at cost of entire nationhood’s well being. This lack of need to be biased can translate to level playing field, and healthy competition can theoretically thrive better than today’s sh*thole we’re stuck in.

Macais too blind to see the overall picture. They think Proton give 6 airbags + ESP std for all preve, everyone will rush to buy it. If not, butthurt apa lagi msian mau, accuse we don’t care about safety and what not.

Of course safety is important, but it’s no excuse to lousy quality, after sales service, and treating customers like a bloody fool.

And thanks to jacked up price, most of us gotta face reality: we can’t afford safety. We are thinking of needing to save as much as possible when buying, and more importantly, AFTER buying. If car is reliable, reasonably priced parts and affordable service, that wins our pockets.

Go read up my experience in workshop survey post, and I’m not the only one to realise Proton is a bloodsucker that treats us for fools, more concerned in conning us than helping us.

If only alternative is good, BUT IT’S NOT!! Public transport here is ultrashit and huge waste of time, with rail network too few to consider. So back to being forced to get car, even if it leads to bankruptcy, as 25% bankrupts are thanks to HP loan.

So macais, still blind to see our hatred? Blind to Proton’s sin and lack of remorse?

• kadajawi on Feb 13, 2014 at 1:16 pm

So because of them having to move the results will be published late, someone may buy a car he wouldn’t have bought had he known the results, he ends up in an accident and dies.

We are not in the 15th century. They can publish the results online.

Also what happened to the plans of doing side impacts by phase 2? I guess UMW intervened?

• dino years on Feb 13, 2014 at 2:33 pm

why need to do side impact tests? just search online and see what happens to toyotas on side collisions.

• kadajawi on Feb 13, 2014 at 5:01 pm

Elsewhere Toyota has side airbags and curtain airbags, so those results do not apply. And the Americans tested 2 identical Toyota Prius, one with 2 and one with 6 airbags, the results were devastating. The 2 airbag version was a death trap, the 6 airbag one was safe.

• ethan.mook on Feb 13, 2014 at 1:39 pm

What is the use of asean ncap since we already have result from us, europe, japan australia… this is all wasting ppl money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
    • theanswer on Feb 13, 2014 at 3:52 pm

myvi..alza where got result for europe? plus most of our cars here a specifically asean model. u cant find innova or avanza in europe or us.

• kadajawi on Feb 13, 2014 at 5:03 pm

Different specs. Underneath the skin the cars can also be different… you wouldn’t notice the lack of soldering points, or of missing/thinner strengthening. Or when they have used softer, cheaper materials. Look at the Global NCAP results launched recently. Or the Latin NCAP results.

• kadajawi on Feb 13, 2014 at 5:06 pm

As an example, the normally very safe VW Polo did 0 stars in Global NCAP, which tested the Latin American version. Reason? 0 airbags.

• vincent on Feb 13, 2014 at 2:14 pm

2 airbags still can get ‘5 stars’? Either our ASEAN NCAP got no standard, or it is not that difficult to achieve 5 stars because the threshold is very low to score a 5 stars.

• Just look at how our exam (SPM, PMR, whatever) results being manipulated (i.e lowering the threshold). It’s not so hard to conclude that this has no standard as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • theanswer on Feb 13, 2014 at 3:51 pm

that’s why they name it ‘asean’. not european. the standard is lower.

• kadajawi on Feb 13, 2014 at 5:56 pm

Got standard, same as EuroNCAP etc. It is connected to those organizations, they get assistance. The difference is that ASEAN NCAP only tests frontal impact. And for frontal impacts, 2 airbags is enough. More airbags won’t make a difference. The side and curtain airbags are there to protect you in a side impact. The current results are thus only for frontal impacts. Now, if they did test side impacts, those 2 airbag cars will do very poorly, and on average say a 4 star plus a 0 star rating would be a 2 star rating (probably less, cause if one part of the test is completely failed it can’t get the average score anymore).

This is why some companies *cough* Toyota *cough* are not interested in ASEAN NCAP doing side impacts (which were announced for phase 2…). Maybe they will upgrade just before side impacts are finally done, so that people won’t get to see that their car is a 1 star car. That could hurt resale value.

• lol that bcoz the crash test only frontal..of coz la dpt 4 star

• azrai on Feb 13, 2014 at 3:34 pm

No, lah.
    1. Malaysian only care about badges on their cars.
    2. The second important things is it is Japan company’s car no matter where it is made (Indonesia, Thailand, Malaysia).
    3. 3rd thing sure is the the RV. (ask SamLoo on this)
    4. It’s funny what majority Malaysian are thinking when buying cars..

• myslinux on Feb 13, 2014 at 3:37 pm

Come on.. ASEAN NCAP… please add 6 airbags & ESC/VSC/ESP requirement to all vehicle manufactures!!!

Since 2008, Euro NCAP has been promoting broad fitment of Electronic Stability Control – ESC – by all vehicle manufacturers.

Up to 2012 when ESC becomes mandatory for all new cars sold in the EU, each vehicle manufacturer can decide whether or not to make ESC available on a certain model (variant). Consequently, ESC fitment varies greatly between different European countries and between different vehicle categories. To drive greater levels of fitment, in 2009 Euro NCAP has begun awarding three Safety Assist points to a car if ESC is fitted as standard across the model range, or if it is an option on every variant and the manufacturer also expects to sell at least 95 percent of cars with the system as standard equipment. This fitment requirement is steadily increasing and by 2012 Euro NCAP will only reward equipment which is fitted as standard across the whole of the model range.

• kadajawi on Feb 13, 2014 at 6:00 pm

ASEAN NCAP can’t create laws. It can at most advise governments.

ESC should become mandatory by law, yes. But that is up to the government.

As for airbags… simply do side impact and pole impact tests! And rate the cars accordingly. Get it onto TV. Show how the dummies are smashed up in 2 airbag cars. That will have an impact on people. If the media then puts a focus on accidents where someone innocent was killed in a side impact that should do the job.

• myslinux on Feb 13, 2014 at 8:10 pm

consumer right in Malaysia is the lowest in the world.. it used to protect business not consumer..
        could we file class action case in Malaysia against car manufacture???

• kadajawi on Feb 14, 2014 at 10:46 am

How? It is up to the consumer what he buys. Free will. If the consumer buys a car with 2 airbags and no ESC when he can buy one with 6 airbags and ESC for the same price, same segment or bigger too, then what right does he have to complain? And it shows companies that they do not need to offer safety features. In fact if you just look at the numbers you could think that more safety features = lower sales.

As soon as Malaysians buy cars based on safety the car manufacturers will improve it for all cars.

• Spirior on Feb 13, 2014 at 4:02 pm

All these NCAP organisations sometime are quite conniving. Today’s 5 star can be 3 start tomorrow just by altering a standard. No doubt cars have become safer. But they have also become heavier, bulkier, and not to mention more obtrusive in terms of the various driving nannies introduced. Soon there will be the mandatory black box, where government will trace your very location on top of your speed, manouevre and such.

Think you 5 star NCAP car is super safe? It is 5 start because the dummy is positioned smack in the centre of the seating position, has ideal weight and proportions, and the car hits the barrier at a prescribed speed and angle. So what happens if you are a little smaller than the dummy, or sit in a different position, or hit another vehicle at a different angle and speed? Back to square one. While NCAP already pockets the money to homologate all these vehicles.

• kadajawi on Feb 13, 2014 at 6:03 pm

Eeehm… you can, in Europe, of course sell cars that did not undergo NCAP testing. That’s not an issue. The question is if you can find buyers for those vehicles. In any case, yes, it is possible to tweak the cars for exactly these situations. But they will still be safer, even if you’re not exactly like the dummy. Also, if you’re not on the centre of seat, why not? You’re not supposed to have the feet on the dashboard as a passenger for example. You have to sit properly, wearing the seatbelt.

• tokmoh on Feb 14, 2014 at 12:10 am

What utter nonsense. People should always strive to improve themselves, that’s logic. Otherwise, we’re still stuck with Thomas Edison bulb, while others are putting laser light in production.

IIHS recently introduced small overlap test that caught most carmakers off guard, except Honda/Acura and Volvo S60 when this new test was introduced. If crash test authorities have your mentality, they’ll never discover the flaw to further improve themselves.

NCAPs are independent, with detailed reports laid out transparently for all to see. If they rate based on how much they pocket, Proton, Perodua will be safest car in the world today as they are full of cronies expert about bribing. They can’t, they don’t and they shouldn’t.

Here though, is unique. Seeing how Perodua can blindly disregard ethical need to be independent and give money to ANCAP by disguising it as contribution for dummy recalib blabla, just shows difference in attitude and mentality between here and the rest of the world.

• Its sad but most rakyat misled into believing tat foreign brands such as Toyota, Honda purposely omitted safety features in some models eg ESC, VSC, few airbags, in reality they have little choice as their hands r tied due to super excise duties by gomen, they have to make the prices more attaractive, and the rakyat thought wah P1 so concerned about our lives, and so irresponsible for P1 to claim that the occupant survived an accident due to Preves Hot Press Formed HPF feature and engine detached feature, first, the survivability depends on a lot of variables, and secondly, if HPF technology is sooooooooo advanced, why no autocar manufacturer racing to lisence from P1?

• ruffstuff on Feb 13, 2014 at 7:16 pm

How do you explain, kia, peuguot, ford that can offer 6 airgbas with ESC. How do you explain the super duper excise tax, UMW toyota can still give their staff 6 months bonus?

• transformer on Feb 13, 2014 at 9:39 pm

just wished NCAP will move all test for ASEAN cars to Singapore which is ZERO TOLERANCE TO CORRUPT !

after that, ASEAN will really get proper kitted(full with passive and active) car like those sold in EU/US.

* I hope Singapore Gov will do something to attract NCAP to invest there

• ASEAN NCAP is a joke. Their standards are from the 1990s. I only take EuroNCAP, ANCAP and IIHS results seriously.

But we ASEAN people have to start somewhere. It might be true that ASEAN NCAP standards are too low, but eventually, the standards will be raised progressively in the coming years.

Some brands and dealers like Kia, Ford, Hyundai, Honda and Proton are more committed to safety than the others. If you check between Malaysia, Indonesia, Thailand and Philippines, these companies tend to give above average safety equipment. The worst offender is still Toyota. Some Toyotas in Thailand and Indonesia still don’t get ABS or a driver’s airbag.

• dino years on Feb 14, 2014 at 1:22 am

i don’t mind toyota giving shit specs, if they were priced the same as proton: vios at 40-50k like a persona. its their rubbish attitude of pricing a death trap at 90k pretending that its a premium car that really gets me.

• True story on Feb 13, 2014 at 11:49 pm

ASEAN NCAP is just a marketing gimmick for asian car, None of them can pass Euro NCAP!

• universal standard on Feb 14, 2014 at 1:15 am

It will be interesting to see how Proton will score if put to the lab of small overlap frontal crash test by IIHS.ORG in USA, which require at least 6 airbags and VSA/ESP as standard safety equipment from 2014 onwards. Not even qualified.

• azrai on Feb 14, 2014 at 8:43 am

We all here think u are not as universal as your name could be. Do you know Proton’s Preve now standardly equipped with 6 airbags and ESC? Even the low end model have the same safety treatment as well? Plus point, the structure is HRP as well. Improve to the safety of occupants in the cabin.