Locally-assembled Mitsubishi ASX CKD now on sale

ASX-CKD-01

Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia has announced that the locally-assembled Mitsubishi ASX is now on sale in showrooms nationwide. The CKD ASX, the first modern Mitsubishi to be made in Malaysia, was given a line-off ceremony at Tan Chong Motor Assemblies in Segambut last month. TCMA is the contract assembler.

The facelifted CKD ASX is powered by a 2.0 litre four-cylinder with 150 PS and 197 Nm of torque. The MIVEC engine is paired to an INVECS-III CVT gearbox with six virtual ratios, and one can choose between 2WD and 4WD variants, the latter with the ability to lock drive at 50:50 for both axles.

The ASX has been available here as a CBU import from Japan since late 2010, but only in front-wheel-drive form – the 4WD variant is new to our market.

mitsubishi asx glass roof

Prices start from RM114,743.50 for the 2WD (CBU car was RM139,982), while the 4WD is priced at RM128,879.50, both on-the-road without insurance. Available in four colours – Black Mica, Titanium Grey, Cool Silver and Solid White – the ASX comes with a five-year unlimited mileage warranty. The first 300 customers will also get a “special leather case” from MMM.

Click on the brochure scans below to view the spec differences between 2WD and 4WD. The ASX, in CBU form, participated in our five-car SUV shootout, which you can read here.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• taiko on Feb 13, 2014 at 10:51 am

ohh..la..la..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • Arena on Feb 13, 2014 at 11:54 am

If Proton rebadge it the price might be RM99K…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 20
    • Wow, I like the sexy aunty there. She wear so tight, I cannot concentrate at all now. Power lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 30
    • Munited on Feb 13, 2014 at 5:40 pm

May I know what is the leather case? iPhone case or key case?

Here’s a quick comparasion between ASX and CX-5 (4WD)

ASX (RM132500) CX-5 (RM155k)
      3 airbags 6 airbags
      Panoramic roof –
      – DRL w headlamp washer
      Manual seats Power seats
      Easier to park More boot space

Unknown: Quality issues? Waiting list?

May I know does the side mirror of ASX folds by itself when we lock the door?

The windshield washer nozzle in ASX is placed on top of the engine hood while in CX-5 it is not visible. Does that affect anything?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 22
  • Hairy on Feb 13, 2014 at 11:08 am

The front fender (or whatever you call it) of the ASX is plastic. I think its the same as the front bumper too. Was looking for more information about this, but couldn’t get much from the internet. Does anyone know what’s the pro’s and con’s of using plastic? Thanks for feedbacks. Am contemplating whether to get this ASX or the CX5.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
    • Kangkong on Feb 13, 2014 at 11:28 am

Why not putting Ford Kuga into your list? CBU some more. Of course price is close to CX5 4WD.

• acy1179 on Feb 13, 2014 at 11:59 am

SAFETY
      — Seven-up
      Safety kit is comprehensive across the ASX range, with every model getting seven airbags — dual front and front-side, full length curtains and a driver’s kneebag. The full active safety suite includes stability and traction control and antilock brakes with electronic brake distribution and brake assist. Emergency stop warning lights activate during high-G braking.

Increasing preoccupation with pedestrian safety, particularly in Europe, has seen the company designing a centre fold into the ASX’s bonnet, putting more space between sheet metal and the engine beneath it, softening the landing for any unfortunate sent skyward by the front end. For those same peoples’ protection, the front fenders are made of plastic, which has the added benefit of being deformable enough to withstand low-speed impacts.

Corresponding with the ASX’s local launch crash testing confirmed the car has achieved a five-star rating.

http://www.motoring.com.au/reviews/2010/small-4×4/mitsubishi/asx/mitsubishi-asx-20245

• It’s a shame that we only get 2 front airbags whereas in australia they get seven in total.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
        • Obviously on Feb 17, 2014 at 10:44 pm

You’re forgetting the driver’s knee airbag, for whatever that is worth. So, 3, actually. All focused on frontal collisions. I am sad too.

• qwerty on Feb 13, 2014 at 12:33 pm

Plastic parts so much easier to make and replace, it’s cheaper too. And some makers claim that it helps to reduce the weight of the car compared to metal sheets. The BMW X5 and X6 use plastic fender too.

Judging by looks itself, I might vote for CX5 but the ASX is cheaper, by quite a lot.

• Hairy on Feb 13, 2014 at 1:14 pm

Hi all, thanks for the information regarding the plastic fender. Didn’t know that BMW uses plastic fenders too in their X5 and X6.
        I’m looking at the range of 120-130K+ SUV/Crossover. If I want to go higher, I might as well go for D-Segment cars, but not at the moment. Not at my current age now anyway.
        Popularity wise, no doubt CX5 is much more sought after and there’s more on the road compare to ASX, but I would think its due to the ASX CBU price of 139K+. With this CKD pricing, ASX has become more competitive, whereby you’ll be getting the full safety features and 4WD, on top of the 5yrs unlimited mileage warranty and 2 yrs free maintenance by MMM for RM128K. But CX5 has its advantage with 6 airbags even for its lowest 2WD spec, at RM136K. Maintenance wise, I believe (correct me if i’m wrong) CX5 is higher compare to ASX.

Well, just my 2 cents. Still undecided….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
        • ThePolygon on Feb 13, 2014 at 1:55 pm

Do wait for a while since the Mazda CX-5 SkyActive engine pre-qualifies as an EEV while the price has not been revised yet. In other words, CX-5 is a CKD with EEV incentives… wait for the revised price guys.

Just google paultan cx-5 eev and you will get the article.

• ThePolygon on Feb 13, 2014 at 2:03 pm

Try out the moonroof of the ASX. It’s fantastic. Something not to be missed especially during the night in a city drive.

As mentioned above, plastic fenders are cheaper and lighter and it won’t easily ‘ding’ or dent due to it’s bouncing effect. Go ahead push it in hard. It deforms and reforms.

The CVT provides a smooth ride but with less eager of power. It shares parts with the Inspira.

• mmaker on Feb 13, 2014 at 2:10 pm

The quality of Subaru XV is better than asx. You should try take a look on XV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 16
        • nissan x trail uses plastic fender in first gen model…since it is lighter and wouldn’t dent with minor bang…

• Obviously on Feb 17, 2014 at 10:50 pm

I think also that the plastic fenders are superior to metal fenders for pedestrian collision protection.

• its fiberglass, not plastic like kancil 660 bumper

• nellie on Feb 13, 2014 at 7:31 pm

The fenders are fibre glass, not plastic. Lighter than metal, but unrepairable. This to reduce asx’s weight, thus better fc. Don’t worry. The inner frame is tough and 5 star.

• Fishmonger on Feb 13, 2014 at 11:23 am

Abang Inspira

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 17
  • GTR36 on Feb 13, 2014 at 11:26 am

Tan Chong will also be assembling the new Nissan X-Trail this year when it comes, wonder how this will pan out? Forget about the Subaru, not quite taken up by the local crowd yet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • helmi on Feb 13, 2014 at 11:27 am

Attractive pricing, I don’t like the design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • Saiful on Feb 13, 2014 at 11:32 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 166
    • hafis on Feb 22, 2014 at 8:23 am

Mr Saiful, ini bukan turun harga ok!! Ini Local Assembly ( Maksudnya “cut cost” dari segi transportation charges). Turun Harga sepatutnya “Cut the Tax” from government to the user! Tax yang tidak berpatutan!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
    • rohaizat on Apr 05, 2014 at 7:31 am

Janji DICAPATI yang tidak sedap langsung dimakan.

• drMpower on Feb 13, 2014 at 11:36 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 185
    • Akira on Feb 13, 2014 at 12:05 pm

Are you intentionally trying to get flamed?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 13
    • seancorr on Feb 13, 2014 at 12:20 pm

You do realise that this price reduction is thanks to Mitsubishi alone and the government has nothing to do with it?

We’re talking about local assembly and nothing regarding the governments pledge to reduce pricing by cutting of taxes on foreign models.

You should be thanking Mitsubishi and the other manufacturers for taking the effort to reduce its price (often at the expense of cutting on specifications though) no thanks to Najib and cronies.

So yeah the government can go fly kite until the day they actually start keeping their promise I which I highly doubt they will.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 17
      • drMpower on Feb 13, 2014 at 1:44 pm

Since you blame him for everything which isnt his doing at all so why cant you thank him for that? and please. Ckd bisnes is everything related to the effort of the gotd

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 29
        • Enthu on Feb 13, 2014 at 6:03 pm

u delusional blind supporter. I hope you do wake up in the near future instead of living in that delusional world of yours.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
      • Abg Long on Feb 13, 2014 at 7:38 pm

all things r G related. ok, for this one, i say tq to the G.. but this is not enough hahaha..

• rohaizat on Apr 05, 2014 at 7:40 am

Its thanks to the market conditions. Yes, we should thank the market forces,otherwise no car maker would reduce its prices. With the intense competition in the market Mitsubishi wants to stay relevant and that’s the only reason, I see that they reduce prices, not because they like us Malaysians. SUV’s, there are plenty of choices. My choice would be a continental. They come in small cc’s but are more powerful then the Jap’s or Korean models. Peugeot 3008, Ford Kuga are a good examples. If only these brand holders improve their services and expand their service centres. Anyway, these brands are all in the hands of the cronies of Barisan Nasional. Naza,Sime Darby and Berajaya Group are the same people who are holding multiple brands under different names. Peugeot, Cheverolet, Kia are Naza group. Ford, Mitsubishi, Sime Darby. Mazda Bernaz, or Berjaya group. hahahaha. Steady Malaysians, we got no choices.

• jibbylietome on Feb 13, 2014 at 12:29 pm

dude, are u one of najib’s kite buddy? always go fly kite together until u thank him whenever he cheat on u, haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 9
    • qwerty on Feb 13, 2014 at 12:39 pm

Should the government abolish its heavy duties and taxes, and introduce more attractive plans to attract car-makers to set up plants in Malaysia, we would get more than 15% reduction in price while earning money for us as well as the country too. Imagine the amount of export income, jobs created and the rise in GDP!

Look further, not just your own selfish benefit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 7
      • Yes you can sell cheap car. But how you want to solve the engineering problem? that our people design cars and make cars themselves? you see running.a government isnt.as.easy.running.households. until we solve that.i.think.this.is.the.best approach.

Btw najib is doing all what.the people.before.him.did. that proved the automotive policy, atleast.on.this part, is right

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 22
      • rohaizat on Apr 05, 2014 at 7:49 am

Yes, agree with you qwerty. If only, govt allow all car makers to come in and produce their cars here, there would be more job opportunities in this country. The BN politicians/leaders are not intelligent people. They lack wisdom. They only want to stay in power so that they can squeeze us to enrich themselves.
        I saw an inteligent woman MP in Parliament, Fauziah from Kuantan. During the floods in Kuantan, she brought a very good motion to declare emergency in Kuantan and Kemaman that were severely hit by floods, with the intention of getting support from Federal govt to assist the victims. But, alas, what happened, the Kinabatangan Buang along with the other BN MP’s mauled her to the ground. That is what I say, an intelligent MP.
        Hopefully, the govt opens the sector to all competitiors for the sake of Malaysians. It will improve the economy of the country.

• Tok Berlagak on Feb 13, 2014 at 12:37 pm

Pls Pay RM15k extra for Stability Control and Airbags.

We give u the same engine, but it’s 4×4. though.
    U may not need it, but if u got the chance go to the beach, 4×4 give u good traction.

very romantic.

• Jebonr on Feb 13, 2014 at 1:11 pm

As long as Mitsubishi maintain the product quality, they will be OK. But, if I were to buy this ASX, I would go for the 4×4 model.

• 4×4, hmm….. Gotta try it out. But entry price at rm115k is cheaper than the civic and altis. Hence it’s an SUV version of lancer. Just made taller. Will check it out later. Thanks for the info PT.

• newbie on Feb 13, 2014 at 4:40 pm

guys does this have the same engine and gearbox as the inspira?

• hahaha on Feb 13, 2014 at 5:15 pm

ugly as usual.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • malsam on Feb 13, 2014 at 6:00 pm

SALES!!! If I am not wrong 2-3 month same price as shown here, what sales is that???

• Old news

• Really hope that Paultan can post a showroom review full HD video for comparison between 2WD and 4WD, the 2WD price really tempting but not sure can accept the front face without chrome or not, thanks!

• too short compares to other suvs…overall below par

• kerapu on Feb 15, 2014 at 1:44 pm

im just moving to labuan for job reason. it surprising me coz lot of labuan people use asx. and mirage also….not as semenanjung asx hard to find the road.

• DriveCarefully on Feb 17, 2014 at 2:46 pm

How about safety specifications?
    The previous CBU models have 6 airbags.
    The CKD version says “dual SRS airbags with knee cap protection”, so does that means there’s none for the rear passengers?

• Ugly interior

• FoongKeong on Feb 23, 2014 at 7:05 pm

MMC probably positions themselves wrongly with this ASX, should call it a Crossover rather than SUV. If you think it is a SUV, you will probably be a bit disappointed by the cabin space. The whole car is bigger than segment C sedan but smaller than the SUV of CX5, CRV, Tucson, etc… A Crossover sound suitable with its sporty design.

Overall, it is a good car with reasonable pricing. My personal rating is around 70% b’cos of the safety features and driving pleasure with good handling. With the same price for 4WD, if MMC could:
    1) put back the missing 4 airbags (which they scored EURO 5 star standard), then it is a 80% rating.
    2) plus, put back the Rockford Fosgate Audio System, then it is 85% rating.
    3) plus, make the rear seating adjustable like Tucson (too steep same as CX5) and change the cargo cover retractable, then it is a 85% rating
    4) plus, give some free accessories like LED Daylight, Front/Rear Undercover, add-on SoundProof rubbers cover 4 doors/Engine/Boot, then it is a 90% rating
    5) plus, future facelift version, interior cover with more soft rubber, then it will be very close to perfection

Since it is a CKD, further tax reduction would helps…..consumer in Malaysia always lose out, too bad.

• Casey Tan on Mar 10, 2014 at 10:13 am

I have just purchased the new ASX (4WD option). What is the mileage for this model. Is it the same as the 2WD version or consumes much more petrol?

• FoongKeong on Mar 10, 2014 at 2:13 pm

It is CVT…..FC should be fine.

From the Web, it claims can up to 24 city / 31 highway..

• Casey Tan on Mar 12, 2014 at 8:52 am

From Monday (on full tank)to Tuesday (based on full tank), I noticed the FC bar has reduced by about 22%.
    This happened after 2 trips from Taman Midah to Tong Shin Hospital and back. Is this considered ok for this type of car?

For comparison, same trips as above but driving Avanza 1.3 manual, the indicator only showed less than 10% consumption from the full tank.

Does the new 4WD version consumes more fuel even when we only drive on 2WD mode?

• Casey Tan on Mar 17, 2014 at 4:41 pm

I’ve driven the ASX for a full week around town and the consumption came to about RM0.26 per km (based on old petrol price of RM1.90 per liter). Is this considered high for ASX? I’ve yet to test it on the highway.

• Hi FoongKeong, you mentioned 24 city and 31 highway.
    What do you mean by that?

• Hi FoongKeong, on weekly average, my ASX consumes about RM80.00 for mileage of 257km city driving. Is this considered high as this works to 31.14 cents per km (based on RM2.10 per liter) or 28.18 cents per km (if price remain at RM1.90 per liter).

Can share what other SUVs consumes fuel more than ASX?
    From what I’ve read in car reviews in US, the ASX consumes less than the Mazda CX5, probably due to its lesser weight.

• Buying a new car on May 12, 2014 at 7:35 pm

I’m looking for a safe good looking car with low maintainance cost good resell value.
    should i buy ASX or the New Nissan Sylphy?

• I recommend you test drive the ASX thoroughly befre buying due to the following:-
      1. For the 4WD, the fuel consumption is high for city driving even while you select the 2WD driving mode and this is the feedback by several owners including myself.

2. When the car is in the slope facing downwards, when the hand brakes are applied and the driving position is placed at Neutral, the brakes emit a very noisy creaking sound (especially when the engine is still cold).

• 2WD@4WD on Jun 10, 2014 at 1:35 pm

I’m struggling to make decision between 2WD & 4WD. Anyone can advice which model is better for daily use and 95% city driving? 2WD does not equip with TC, ASC, HSA, are these features important for city driving car?

• Although the 4WD comes with many features, most of this we, in my humble opinion, can do without. It may have more safety features but I have driven many lower end cars without the above mentioned safety features and no problem encountered so long we drive safely and defensively.

Just remember, the 4WD model is not fuel efficient even though we select the 2WD mode while driving the vehicle while I have heard 1 owner of the 2WD version claim that her car if fuel efficient.

Not sure if this info helps but the ASX 4WD (driven in 2WD mode) uses about 25 to 30% more fuel than a Toyota 1.3 manual Avanza under the same city driving conditions.

• Hi 2WD@4WD,

So which one do you plan to buy?

Also check out today’s SUN newspaper Gear Up! column which reviews the ASX 4WD.

• 2WD@4WD on Jul 10, 2014 at 1:07 pm

End up with 2WD. Soundproof need to be improved. Maybe noise will be reduced after change tyres.

• Hunter on Aug 04, 2014 at 11:15 am

Just had my 2WD ASX and there was a big problem on USB port;I used my iphone cable and USB drive to test but it was unable slotted..I told my MMC SA and tried also in the showroom for sample car and it was similar problem!
    Just to know any ASX owner here is facing the same problem? How to solve?

• canada goose kensington parka price on Nov 02, 2014 at 7:00 am

Great blog! Do you have any tips and hints for aspiring writers? I’m hoping to start my own site soon but I’m a little lost on everything. Would you recommend starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many choices out there that I’m totally confused .. Any recommendations? Thank you!
    canada goose kensington parka price http://finishingconceptsinc.com/flash/canada-goose-outlet/@[email protected]

• Mr.Kanyan on Nov 23, 2014 at 12:39 am

I just bought ASX 2WD and found out that its very economy to drive esp. on long distance travel.
    14 KM/L is awesome. Comfort and stability for relax driving on the countryside. A friend of mine sold it to me for RM50K only, registered in 2011 CBU.

• no credit personal loans on Mar 10, 2015 at 1:00 am

Saved as a favorite, I really like your site!