Smoky vehicles to be barred from entering Singapore

exhaust-smoke-a1

Malaysian vehicles with excessive smoke levels will soon be barred from entering Singapore, according to a report from The Star. Initially scheduled to take effect at the start of the year, Singaporean authorities have now decided to delay the implementation of the new rule to July 1, 2014.

The neighbouring country’s National Environment Agency (NEA) has lowered the permissible level of black smoke emitted from a vehicle from the previous 50 HSU (Hartridge Smoke Units) to 40 HSU. As such, private and commercial vehicles that fall foul of the new ruling will be denied entry into the republic.

On top of that, hefty fines will also be issued to the perpetrators: S$150 (RM394) for first time offenders, rising to S$200 (RM525) and S$300 (RM787) for each subsequent violations. This new ruling would mostly affect ageing lorries and buses, but owners of older, smoky diesel vehicles should also be wary.

Future BMW M3 and M4 owners, equipped with the self-explanatory Smoky Burnout function, however, need not apply as only exhaust smoke will be measured :)

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Crony Malaysia Rules! on Feb 13, 2014 at 4:25 pm

We can only dream about implementing this because our Puspakom is so dirty and corrupted. Everything also, they take rasuah. I am poor and I sold my Proton Saga for RM2000. But I had to pay about RM500 under the table money for everything to be okey. So, at the end I only get RM1500. I already poor also, the government want to steal more from me! The Puspakom guy told me, that I had to pay RM500 for all the paperwork to be done and if I did not do so, the fail might get lost.

So, we can only dream about clean air in Malaysia. Triple whammy, besides Puspakom corrupted, the government also don’t want to come out with clean diesel because they protecting Petronas and don’t want Petronas to set up refinearies to give us Euro 4 fuel.

So, our busses and lorries emit thick black smoke that chokes the rakyat and eventually our Healthcare system pays more.

Thirdly (the triple whammy), all our busses, lorries and Metrobusses are ALL owned by relatives or Ministers and crony crony. Even the police car follow behind the lorry and kena thick black smoke on his waja petrol car also, he keep quiet like a mouse. The Police officer knows, don’t mess with the Metrobusses in KL or and lorries.

Our government very insincere about giving us clean environment.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 204 Thumb down 26
    • Singapore vs Malaysia on Feb 13, 2014 at 4:55 pm

That is why Singapore is where it is. First world! Malaysia and Singapore started out same time. Both countries got Independance more or less same time from the British.

See where we are now?

Somemore, Malaysia has resources. Singapore got ZERO resources. Malaysia is known to be one of the richest resources countires in the world. We got everything. Tin, gold, rubber, palm oil, iron, copper, Kuprum….nearly everything.

Even our natural gas is one of the most in the world. By right, 50% of all cars should be using LPG because we got tons and tons of cubic metres of natural gas. But government prefer you to pay RM2 ringgit plus for a litres of petrol as opposed to spending 50 sen for LPG.

Petronas also is known to be one of the richest oil companies in the world. Money, we rakyat don’t see at all. Few years ago, Petronas announced that they struck the largest oil well in the world, not just in Malaysia, but the largest oil well in the world. The next day, the story was covered up and all quiet after that.

So, see where Singapore is now without any resources. Their currency so strong. yesterday it was 2.65 to Malaysian Ringgit. Just a matter of time it goes to RM3. Singaporeans also earn one of the highest GDP per capita in the world. They earn about 5x what the Malaysian earns. That is why the Singaporean can go holiday all over the world and use his money with so much freedom. He earns 5x more than Malaysians and yet his currency is so strong.

So how can two countries start at the same time, and one country has 700 billion in debt and another country has hundreds of billions in reserve in US dollars?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 138 Thumb down 12
      • kadajawi on Feb 13, 2014 at 5:43 pm

I don’t think the government prefers us to spend RM 2 on petrol, since that price is subsidized. They lose money with every liter.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 62
      • Ah Beng on Feb 13, 2014 at 5:55 pm

Typical Ah Beng…
        When AES in full force you complain,
        When the enforcement weak you complaint again…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 36
        • mamat on Feb 14, 2014 at 8:25 am

totally agreed. They likes to Oppose not to support.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 16
        • scotty on Sep 18, 2014 at 1:57 am

I believe most right thinking people were against AES coz it’s run by a Sdn Bhd crony making profit out of traffic summons. Imagine what will happen if the AES Sdn Bhd makes losses? Tweak the camera to take more photos of us! Every photo is profit to them! ;)

• frenzyaustin on Feb 13, 2014 at 6:01 pm

And Malaysian are being looked down by the little island neighbourhood.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
      • For your information, Pnas is directly under the PM (aka Minister of Finance). Pnas gives about 50% of total income of the whole country.

In recent years, employees’ benefits has been slowly reduced. But profit is higher than ever. Where does the money go? There was a period when a wave of employees left the company. Then they revise the benefits. Now they are reducing it again. Another wave seems to be coming soon. See, Pnas own employees are being treated badly.

The clean diesel. They rejected it not because they wanted to protect Pnas. Pnas have the technology, but unless the govt enforce that only Euro4 diesel can be sold in this country, there is no need for Pnas to process Euro4 diesel. Pnas have lots of profits, but the profit sometimes lesap. They also want to protect P1 & P2, cause they don’t have the technology for Euro4 diesel engine.

Liquefied natural gas. LNG. We have an abundance of it in the coast of Sarawak. Main clients are Korea and Japan. We have Natural Gas Vehicle (NGV) that use those natural gas, but only taxi, in KL. We have resources, but we did not utilise it. We sell.

See how poor the management of resources in this country? See how poor they treated the staff of a company that provide 50% of the total income of the country?

Our status is still a ‘developing nation’, not ‘developed nation’. Pretty weird compared to Singapore who doesn’t have any resources at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 5
        • Hero86 on Feb 14, 2014 at 11:40 am

how you want petronas to treat their workers? you already got 5 month bonus still complaint? which department are you from? an executive payed for 5K.. can you find all these benefits in other company in Msia???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
      • Ask any Singaporean, they will say that they are poor because of their government.

Singaporeans pay some of the highest taxes in the world. Singapore is rich, but only skin-deep. The reality is that only 1% of Singaporeans are genuinely rich, the rest are no different from us KL, Selangor and Penang Malaysians.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 12
        • dino years on Feb 14, 2014 at 1:09 am

that’s the best comment i heard in a long while. take a drive south and find out how people live in singapore.

in KL, we get stuck in 2 hour traffic jams in the comfort of our own car that we drive out of our own carpark into the carpark we want.

in Singapore, they spend 40 minutes waiting for the bus, 30 minutes packed like a sardine on the way to the mrt, 15 minutes to queue for the mrt, and another 30 sardine like moments in the mrt before reaching destination. Oh, and another 10 minutes walk in the hot sun most likely.

In malaysia, if you are poor, you get to buy a 100k+ rm govt flat. In singapore, the cheapest HDBs are 250+k sgd (admittedly HDBs are in reasonably good condition but they are shoebox sized and probably with less than 60 leasehold years left).

I have been in singapore for the last 4 years and 95% of them tell me that their dream is to leave their “perfect” island. Even the school kids I come across say their ambition is to get a job anywhere outside singapore and get their parents out of their dog cage apartments.

Singapore is amazing on efficiency, anti-corruption, rules, but if that comes at the cost of driving out its own citizens, one does wonder what it is for. Just look at the percentage of Singaporeans:Foreigners on the island compared to 20 years ago. its miniscule.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 7
          • Meltsh on Feb 15, 2014 at 11:32 am

Agreed with u on the transportation and houses, they are damn expensive in Sg. But only those 2 which they do not need to buy a new one everyday, the rest of their living expenses are just half of a Malaysian. For instance, shampoo, toothpaste, etc, etc…in actual fact, there are more rich Singaporeans as compared to Malaysians, I mean the public… :) they just like to complain (the Singaporeans) because there’s not much news there as most of the days things are just too smooth there in Singapore….if they stop complaining ppl might forgot the existence of Sg…if u think I’m talking rubbish when I said things are too smooth there then go have a look at their daily newspaper, most of the days they are reporting malaysian news, and some foreign news…cheers!

• RejimKejamGanas on Feb 14, 2014 at 3:59 am

The max income tax for Singaporeans is 15%. While they do pay GST, we will be paying for it too soon.

• BeemerFreak on Feb 14, 2014 at 7:29 am

Haha bullshit. Singaporeans pay one of the lowest taxes in the world especially income tax. They are poor because housing and car price are ridiculous.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
        • Singora on Feb 14, 2014 at 10:52 am

Very true. Those who said S’poreans are rich, your are welcome to SG to stay and work here.

• Constantine on Feb 14, 2014 at 2:45 pm

i agreed with u. i come from the tiny red dot. our gov suck blood like nobody biz.

• Well singapore started off without excess baggage.singapore was already a developed states with all the facilities except few fishermen quarters and small traditional village that were quite easy to deal with by marginalisation. Singapore was only a city.no need to build roads school clinics all over rural area and employed people to work there.the communist threat just made it worst.imagine to build the grik jeli highway near thai border with communist attack.rail got blown up by terrorism. Plantations got sabotage.who wanted to invest at that time.they go to singapore freeport.you see malaysia leaped after communist laid down thier weapon when fdi pouring in .Malaysia with sabah serawak undeveloped east coast not that quite easy.With the multiracial society and aborigines to deal with again not that easy.unless you dominate and marginalise others yes you can do it very fast.i have to admit malaysia was doing well in its early years to develop the nation but now not doing a good jod to achieve developed nation considering the amount of foundation laid.

• teamsleepnine on Feb 14, 2014 at 2:37 pm

well,grass is always greener on the other side.
        you obviously doesn’t keep abreast of current regional politics and economics situations.
        you keep view on the negative aspect of your country and positive view of others,then go ahead.
        but for the record.geographically it is irrelevant to compare the 2.

• kusochon on Feb 13, 2014 at 5:01 pm

yeah puspakom is very greedy and not honest.. better do inspection at bengkel ah chong since they are very honest and will not con you :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
    • Singapore Malaysia Gomen Workers. on Feb 13, 2014 at 5:05 pm

Singapore Government Workers:
      “Lets take this challenge and finish this task now. And lets aim higher in life with better goals. All you guys, lets do it now with full attention and not procrastinate!”

Malaysia Government Workers:
      “Relaks lah bang, buat apa nak keje rajin rajin. Lepak lah brader. Tengok tu, awek cun, best lah kalau dapat kongkek. Marilah, jom minum teh, makan kuih laps dan relaks. Letih lah skrang ni, nak tidur kejap”

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 15
    • kadajawi on Feb 13, 2014 at 5:41 pm

There are also people in Malaysia removing a perfectly fine catalytic converter just to save fuel or get more power (if there is even an effect, it is tiny. Removing a bit of junk from the boot will probably have a bigger effect!).

• teamsleepnine on Feb 14, 2014 at 2:39 pm

removed catalytic converter check engine light naik liao!!

• Mahchan on Feb 14, 2014 at 4:07 pm

Just ban french cars. Period. enough of this junk break down on the road and cause massive jams. Waste people time and money.

• smarties on Feb 13, 2014 at 6:34 pm

What made you? A saint?
      You have bribed them for your own benefit amd yet you call yourself a victim of corrupt Puspakom. No takers if no givers. Next time fix your car first before you sell them…you have done injustice to the purchaser of your car.

Ppl like you are giving them the opportunity to practice bribery!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 10
      • Unforgiven on Feb 13, 2014 at 7:26 pm

You’ll need to spend alot of time to prove you are innocent for JPJ/puspakom. Is it really worth to take leaves to visit them multiple times?
        You’ll need to go through the pain/hustle to understand more, time = money too, efficiency of JPJ as well. Sad

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
      • Zidane on Feb 13, 2014 at 8:53 pm

Sometimes the people who complains crime rate is high, corruption is high are the one who encourage that to happen. If no givers, no takers… Simple as that

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
        • RejimKejamGanas on Feb 14, 2014 at 4:00 am

They can still make your life miserable. If there is no recourse to their actions they will blatantly continue to abuse their power when they don’t get what they want.

• Unforgiven on Feb 13, 2014 at 10:13 pm

Having lots of hassle on JPJ just to prove my innocent and avoid corruption. Ended up teared off my passenger side window tinting, only 1 side out of the 4 and the back. In fact all the 4 sides and the back are using the same tinted film. 1 day off, waited from morning until afternoon, etc, is it really worth it? Have to send the car for tinting again, although foc. I’m guessing settling during the road block will be easier instead of spending few days for inspection, sad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
        • is it just me who never get asked by enforcers for bribe during roadblocks? i know most of u just making up stories

• complain at paultan no function lah..
      go report at SPRM. exercise your right!

• hameed Koyakutty on Feb 13, 2014 at 10:04 pm

SMOKEY HEAD SINGAPOREAN SHOULD BE BARRED FROM ENTERING MALAYSIA !!!!! FAKER ONLY ACTING GOOD WHEN IN OWN COUNTRY BUT BEHAVE LIKE SHIT WHEN IN OTHER COUNTRY…..

DAMN……YOU BLAMED PUSPAKOM FOR TAKING MONEY, BUT YOU SHOULD BE HANGED FOR GIVING BRIBE!!!!

We should start hanging the giver. No giver, no taker…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 6
      • RejimKejamGanas on Feb 14, 2014 at 4:06 am

What a dumb one sided suggestion. Not only they will continue to ask for bribe, they can also frame you and you get into trouble when you refuse.

It is like saying that those who dress sexy or attractively deserved to be raped. Because if you don’t nobody going to rape you. Idiot!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • Peter on Feb 14, 2014 at 3:24 pm

What are you talking about?
      I have sold/transferred so many cars and sent them to Puspakom for inspection. Only paid the normal inspection fee (less then RM50).
      ….unless your car is totally not roadworthy, then thank you for endangering the rest of us Malaysians life. Hope you are happy with that RM1,500..

• carguy2000 on Feb 18, 2014 at 4:40 pm

make it just 1 day, just a 24 hours only! nobody from Malaysia and Indonesia entering that island. i’m curious what will happen with their so called strong economic.

• stanley on Feb 13, 2014 at 4:33 pm

Other than old car. Many diesel bmw n merc also cannot la

• Guan Yin Ma on Feb 13, 2014 at 4:35 pm

Goood. Very good. Will malaysia government follow up with this rule in our own land ? DREAM ON.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • kusochon on Feb 13, 2014 at 4:56 pm

how about singaporean car entering malaysia? their smoke is so clean ka?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 14
    • Facebook on Feb 13, 2014 at 5:28 pm

Their car require inspection every bi yearly…so emission is 1 of their passing criteria, if failed no roadtax renewer…so will their cars emit cleaner smoke? Stupid question…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
      • Zidane on Feb 13, 2014 at 8:56 pm

Then if that is implemented in Malaysia you complain again why there are so many hassle… The people were being oppressed and the list goes on…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
        • RejimKejamGanas on Feb 14, 2014 at 4:08 am

Gomen got balls to hike prices and introduce more taxes despite protests. Why got no balls to implement this? Implement first, then talk.

• mamat on Feb 14, 2014 at 8:31 am

Why dont want to implement the AES first in PKR states? If the govt implement this, sure sakais will oppose and says govt suck their blood. everything they want free in this world.

• RejimKejamGanas on Feb 15, 2014 at 6:04 pm

@mamat Why should people support AES, when:
            1. Outsourced to an incompetent RM2 company that is not the JPJ/PDRM.
            2. No opportunity for traffic users to appeal summons because it operated above the law.
            3. Implemented like a quick-get-rich scheme that is not sincere in actually reducing road deaths.

• shawal on Feb 13, 2014 at 5:32 pm

LKY Demand clean air for longetivity!!!!
    what LKY wants! He gets!

• Kangkung on Feb 13, 2014 at 5:36 pm

Vice versa, we also should ban those irresponsible Singaporean drivers who drive extremely fast on our PLUS highway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
    • kadajawi on Feb 13, 2014 at 5:47 pm

Ban? Just fine them, and charge them SGD, not RM. If they don’t pay, car can’t go back to Singapore. And if they tried to leave the country without paying, they have to pay double the price. So caught for speeding = a minimum of SGD 300. And since it’s in the computer system and has to be paid at a certain office to get cleared, there’s no chance of bribing the cops.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
      • donkeysaressmart on Feb 14, 2014 at 1:14 am

bribe can, if they dont want to collect black marks but force them pay double, triple, not half, teach them a lesson.

our highways and lives are not for their ah beng drivers flaunting their lambos and ferraris to play with. most of them cant even drive anyway.

• Singora on Feb 14, 2014 at 11:55 am

Typical – always barking at the wrong tree.
      Also, never looking on the rationale of why the other party did it. Come on, for once, grow up – for our mutual benefit and progress.

• isuzuki on Feb 13, 2014 at 6:01 pm

like wise

• steven on Feb 13, 2014 at 6:27 pm

Malaysia should upgrade to EURO 4 AND ABOVE…
    NOW DAYS ALL NEW CAR ARE EURO 5 ABOVE…
    PROTON AND PERODUA DIFF LA…
    SAME GOES TO DIESEL ….

• ponyrider on Feb 13, 2014 at 6:48 pm

I rather live in Malaysia, no matter how ‘third world’ it is. Saya sayang Malaysia. Sy xmau jadi drone, walaupun ianya first world country, mcm neighbor kita tu. Hehehhe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 7
  • niterunner99 on Feb 13, 2014 at 8:14 pm

Thanks all for giving compliments to Singapore.
    But as a Singaporean myself, I think our GOV could have promote more new EURO4 diesel cars by reducing the road tax. Currently it’s more than double than petrol cars!
    Anyway, Singapore will be getting more clean air soon since owning a car is getting out of reach for the common folks.
    Why you may ask…
    current Toyota Altis about SG$110k.
    COE for 1.6L cars = average SG$74k
    car loan = 50% car cost up front, rest 50% pay up in 5yrs. So it’s SG$55k now, & rest in 5yrs.

• Zidane on Feb 13, 2014 at 8:57 pm

And then the haze come to Singapore from Indonesia. Back to square one

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • protonsucks on Feb 13, 2014 at 8:38 pm

lap sap government, Our country is a producer of oil and gas,
    UK now already using EURO 6, we malaysia still using LAP SAP EURO 2, cant even achieve EURO 4.

• good job. bloody smoking lorry shall be crashed and burned to death.

• paucharsiew on Feb 14, 2014 at 1:28 am

kiasu mentality to be barred from entering malaysia also.

• Sam Loo (used kimchi) on Feb 14, 2014 at 1:51 am

OMG my hilux will get kicked out of singapore for spewing black smoke!!!

• Sam Loo (used kimchi) on Feb 14, 2014 at 1:53 am

OMG my hilux will get kicked out of singapore for spewing black smoke!!!

Really hailat this time!!

• Norman on Feb 14, 2014 at 3:17 am

Know why Singapore is freakin rich?Cause their workforce is 70% foreigners including Malaysian..What Singaporean earn much when bosses insist on 3 Foreigners 1 Local law?Sporean earn 2k per mth Malaysian earn 1.6k what much diff?Cost of living here?Education cost?Housing?4 room flat cost as much as 475k sing dollars my friend.Before open mouth investigate first.The dirty gov invest trillions in China alone and see how many China are there in Sg?

• kadajawi on Feb 14, 2014 at 10:36 am

What? Companies in SG need to have several Singaporean employees before they can apply for one foreign employee… Want another one, need to have even more Singaporeans. Unless that foreign employee is getting paid a lot. But IIRC between 2-3k they limit the number of foreigners.

• Segaraga on Feb 14, 2014 at 7:43 am

Wah. Singapore so good one ah. Everything also very good compared to Maresia. Like that ah, tomorrow also i want to migrate to Stinkapor.

• MycarMylife on Feb 14, 2014 at 9:28 am

Dont be sour grapes la,
    To each his own, sudah la , give up .

• farizY on Feb 14, 2014 at 9:32 am

One question though, how are they going to measure this? Inspect every car that enters Singapore? Guys, got any ideas?

• Whenever there is a comparison between SG and Malaysia. There are surely have haters shooting each other. C’mon, both countries are born from the same womb, aka British Empire. Its like 2 brothers, one doing well and another doing poor. No matter how we argue, Sg is always ahead of us due to mentality. Malaysia is good and lovely but the education system is pulling down the citizen’s mentality. U can see a mentality of a person from high-end area compared to rempits. thats the diff. And if the low grade mentality consist of higher percentage in total population, no chance Malaysia will grow.

• I don’t think Malaysians have a weak mentality, otherwise there will be no angry words found in this discussion.

Instead, I think it is the lack of responsible leadership that is dragging the country back.

All residents in Malaysia can easily live a life that is tons better than Sporeans. Malaysia has countless of natural resources that can be explored conservatively so that it never runs out. Singapore has a Free-port.

Well, I’ll let you work out the rest.

• jawabandar on Feb 14, 2014 at 3:20 pm

This is something that SPAD should enforce especially to buses that exhale black smoke.Pity to the motorists..

• Jeremy on Feb 14, 2014 at 4:27 pm

Singaporean now choose to live in JB. Making JB now congest every morning and evening. WTF!!!!!!

• LOL.. Malaysia is an embarrassment of a country. Normally, citizen of each country will praise and be proud of being a citizen of their respective nation.

Yes, I was once a Msian. but that was over 2 decades ago.
    Stand up and do the right thing! This country is falling behind each day.
    Otherwise,

• Jebonr on Feb 15, 2014 at 2:09 pm

Simple solution. Use Public transportations. It’s very efficient over there in Singapore. Malaysia, wait another 50 years maybe public transportations will be ok lah…