2014 World Car Awards finalists announced

volkswagen golf mk7 coty

The New York International Auto Show (NYIAS), scheduled for April, is set to host the 2014 World Car Awards, and a list of finalists for five titles – World Luxury Car, World Performance Car, World Green Car, World Car Design of the Year and finally the much-coveted World Car of the Year – has been released. The finalists are as follows:

World Luxury Car
Bentley Flying SpurBMW X5Cadillac ELRCadillac EscaladeMaserati GhibliMaserati QuattroporteMercedes-Benz S-ClassPorsche MacanRange Rover SportRolls-Royce Wraith.

World Performance Car
Alfa Romeo 4CAudi RS 6 AvantBMW M6 Gran CoupeChevrolet Corvette StingrayFerrari 458 SpecialeFord Fiesta STLamborghini Aventador LP 700-4 RoadsterMercedes-Benz A/CLA 45 AMGPorsche 911 GT3Porsche 911 TurboVolkswagen Golf GTI.

World Green Car
Audi A3 Sportback e-tron (and e-gas), BMW i3Honda Accord HybridMitsubishi Outlander PHEVVolkswagen XL1.

2013-ECOTY-BMW-i3

World Car Design of the Year
BMW i3Cadillac CTSCitroen C4 PicassoMazda 3Lexus ISMercedes-Benz C-ClassVolkswagen XL1.

World Car of the Year
Audi A3BMW 4 SeriesBMW i3Cadillac CTSCitroen C4 PicassoFord Fusion/MondeoInfiniti Q50Jeep CherokeeLexus IS, Mazda 3Peugeot 308Skoda Octavia.

The top three finalists in each category will be announced at the Geneva show on March 4, ahead of the prize-giving ceremony in New York. The World Car Awards and NYIAS have announced a five-year alliance that will keep the awards programme in NYC through 2018.

Past World Car of the Year winners include the Volkswagen Golf Mk7, Nissan Leaf, Mazda 2 and Lexus LS 460. The World Car Awards is now in its tenth year.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Where is Proton? on Feb 13, 2014 at 5:17 pm

30 years protect also, Proton not even to be seen or heard. For 30 years, 30 million Malaysians suffer to pay high car prices because Government protect Proton to the Maximum. Each and every single rakyat of Malaysia suffer to pay high car loans and Proton got nothing to show in International market.

All the models shipped to the UK and Autralia also, kena rated the most dangerous car in existence. Jeremy Clarkson said it was worse than trash!

Maybe we should go back to having no Proton. Then with a mere RM65,000 we can buy a decent Camry or Honda Accord. In the US, the Camry 2.5 CBU and the Accord 2.4 is sold at RM65,000.

Or with much lesser, we can buy an Altis or a Civic.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 275 Thumb down 74
    • Albert Lee on Feb 13, 2014 at 5:53 pm

Welcome to the PROTON BASHERS CLUB.
      Proton should be nominated for “Worse Performing Car Of the Year”.
      Those still protecting Proton should see how Jeremy Clarkson hoisted a Kelisa and dropped it 50 feet from a super crane.
      We were forced to buy Proton cos other Japanese cars were slapped with high duties.
      At the rate Proton is losing sales,Perodua will be renamed PERTAMA.It won’t be long those Nirvana specialists will allocate a burial ground for Proton.Either Proton SHAPE up or SHIP up.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 31
      • still complaining about proton? get a life la, or even better, work harder, but your dream honda car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 57
        • takNakP1 on Feb 14, 2014 at 10:55 am

you are not wrong, work harder buy a dream car and ‘sell your life’ to the bank.
          The end result is the same… you can’t ‘get a life’ because all gone to the banks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
      • kelisa being destroy? y p1 kena? should be p2..no?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
      • Bomoh on Feb 14, 2014 at 7:59 am

Proton Preve – World’s Ugliest Sedan Rear Butt Looks

Proton Suprima – World’s Most Delusional Hatch

Proton CFE – World’s Most Fuel Inefficient Turbo (10KM/L)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 8
      • ponyrider on Feb 14, 2014 at 9:14 am

Ahhh mamat jeremy clarkson ni memang bias! Typical briton! I dont listen to him much..hehhehehe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 28
        • Low Budget on Feb 14, 2014 at 10:36 am

We should listen more to Tun Dr Mahathir, “Malaysia Boleh!”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
      • Kelisa? on Jun 20, 2014 at 6:31 pm

Seriously.. a kelisa? Since when Kelisa was made by Proton?

• wheelie on Feb 13, 2014 at 5:53 pm

Which episode/ what year did Clarkson mention about proton cars? I bet that time even Kia n Hyundai was no where, even now they are not listed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 9
      • Vincz on Feb 14, 2014 at 12:23 am

This basher, I BET YOU DONT WATCH TOP GEAR AT ALL! WATCH THIS! STOP TALKING RUBBISH.

Hammond was in the satria neo and clarkson drove a myvi LOL

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r0AAopOHr-k

• bluebird on Feb 13, 2014 at 6:30 pm

Proton is only jaguh kampung, build in Malaysia , only sell-able in Malaysia.
      In order to compete in overseas, the price become cheaper than buy in Malaysia BUT specs are much better.
      Something is wrong somewhere.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 19
    • Pinky on Feb 13, 2014 at 6:49 pm

Proton haters gonna hate this.. They just couldn’t accept the fact that it’s actually true.. :) And due to this, local car dealers such as UMW are taking advantage of it, cause they know that the older generation Malaysians dont care and don’t know about the importance of safety features, due to the 30 years of long term brainwashing by proton..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 7
    • nabill on Feb 13, 2014 at 7:22 pm

seriously get a life…advice u should think about …i bet topic about nuclear power oso u wil twist and run around n get to proton somehow…read books man,,broaden ur horizons..life is short , u stay narrow minded all ur life is such a waste trust me…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 14
      • pacifictuna on Feb 14, 2014 at 10:07 am

well this is not related but…. one will eventually mention ‘proton’ when it come to nuclear power. it’s the fission of proton!

• can u buy Camry or Accord CBU RM65k in Brunei/thai/indo/phi/viet/myan/laos/sing/timor/cambo?…in those country p1 either not available or not protected at all. in thai u can buy Vios not Camry or Accord for RM65k….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
      • kambinganas on Feb 13, 2014 at 11:33 pm

Thailand is equally corrupt like Bolehland and like them our currency is weak with the intention of making cheap exports but expensive domestically.

It only costs BND 60,800 for a 2.4 Accord in Brunei. Guess how much a graduate in Brunei earns compared in Malaysia?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
        • It still does not cost RM65k…B$60k that almost RM150k…why need compare wages?..uk oso high wages but their camry/accord not price B$60k..Do they?..last time I check brunei graduate wage range bet B$2-4k..

• Kia Optima is BND 36,300 which is MYR 95,191.24

• still not cheap

• facepalm on Feb 17, 2014 at 9:49 am

Facepalm to your statement..
            Brunei graduate B$2-4k can buy B$60k Accord..
            Malaysia graduate RM2-4k can buy Preve RM60k..

Can u see this?
            actually its just the same. no matter what currency they use.
            you need to compare wage with the car price not converted to our currency. I bet u r using Protong.

• Um, actually its BND 54,700 for a 2.4 Accord in Brunei according to http://depd.gov.bn/projects/control/car/CarPrice.html

• farizY on Feb 14, 2014 at 9:24 am

Why could not we follow good examples? Why must use third world countries as examples? Mahu maju lihat orang lebih maju daripada kita. Sigh. Typical “Malaysia Boleh” mentality.

• Ibrahim on Feb 13, 2014 at 9:05 pm

Please check the food price in US.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 17
      • Mario on Feb 13, 2014 at 10:49 pm

Pls check salary range in US.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 8
        • Vincz on Feb 14, 2014 at 12:25 am

Pls check the tax rate there.

• U please check their cost of living there n here…not just salary….

• farizY on Feb 14, 2014 at 9:27 am

Please check their purchasing power. While at that, check that of the Scandinavian countries and the UK also. For example, in the UK, their salary is 67% of their GDP, unlike us, only a mere 24%. Well, not as if you would understand what I’m talking about. Again, why look at the negatives of other countries when want to improve? Why can’t take what’s good, and make it better?

• then y boleh people not seeing the +ve side of own country? everyday -ve side..doing that corrupt, doing this keloni, doing this rasis doing that waste money?….how to improve with that attitude? Why can’t take what’s good, and make it better?..sori i answer a question with question coz i want to know ur answer…i take both +ve n -ve equally. i don see all gud n all bad..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
        • mmaker on Feb 14, 2014 at 9:29 am

You can get pretty good salaries there. When you in college you can buy honda fit for cash and then you can buy nice house with harley davidson in your garage. Thats after you get your seat in office. Here in Malaysia i dont see any post graduate students with harley davidson

• kadajawi on Feb 14, 2014 at 10:21 am

Many Americans earn so little despite working full time that they can’t even afford food. They need to get food stamps from the government to survive.

• AutoFrenz on Feb 14, 2014 at 10:41 am

All jelly beans start attacking now…dont give face to proton and perodua…make sure the whole world know how teruk MALAYsia is so that we chinese can go back to china…thats where we belong…our ancestors shouldnt have come here in the first time…they should have gone to the USA so that we can become ABC there and everyday we can eat abc with jelly…auw auw…ouch…it hurts…so sarcastic meh…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • KampungBoy on Feb 13, 2014 at 5:20 pm

Mazda 2 is one of the past world car winners? Seriously?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • kadajawi on Feb 13, 2014 at 5:40 pm

Wait a minute. Design award for the i3? The interior, ok. It’s gorgeous. But the exterior… My vote goes to the C4 Picasso. When was the last time that a MPV (!) was stunning and attractive? (Though I think the Grand Picasso is even better looking).

• vincent on Feb 13, 2014 at 5:41 pm

Where is Toyota camry? :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 3
    • frenzyaustin on Feb 13, 2014 at 5:52 pm

Malaysian Uncle car of the century! I buy it because my friend say it’s good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • Albert Lee on Feb 13, 2014 at 6:00 pm

Doesn’t matter,Mr Camry owner.Toyota’s worldwide sales overall is still TOP Number ONE.
      Those kwai lohs would obviously vote kwai loh brands.
      The japanese cant be bothered if you don’t nominate them.Toyotas universally is a top seller.They have beaten the Americans and Germans.A nice Vote would be a added advantage,but most important is the SALEs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 20
      • watchman on Feb 13, 2014 at 6:57 pm

the award is not a popularity and highest sales contest. you don;t need an award to show how much you sell. it is in the sales figure. why are you so butthurt ?

• silvia33 on Feb 13, 2014 at 8:19 pm

No camry in japan
        Its only in ASEAN

• Besi Buruk on Feb 13, 2014 at 8:31 pm

The next time, use a wide screen monitor to read. Using a smart phone screen will confuse you.

• kadajawi on Feb 14, 2014 at 10:25 am

Toyota mostly sells well in not so demanding regions. They also do well in the US because the cars are cheap and fully loaded. They are not cheap and they are not fully loaded in the ASEAN region. You can’t even get such a well specced Japanese car in Malaysia, no matter how much you pay.

• Hyundai De La Junk on Feb 13, 2014 at 6:16 pm

Where is Korean car, scan scan opps not a single one..lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
    • Abg Long on Feb 13, 2014 at 7:30 pm

ya la.. no toyota hahahaha..

• Das Auto on Feb 14, 2014 at 1:29 am

Camry is in the junk yard lor. Besi buruk where it belongs.

• spongewai on Feb 13, 2014 at 5:48 pm

i predict Mazda 3 will win WCOTY

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
  • wiiii on Feb 13, 2014 at 5:49 pm

mana proton o?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
    • Abg Long on Feb 13, 2014 at 7:30 pm

almost 30 years n proton still cannot compete.. proton pls wake up, pls work triple hard n smart.. hope with the new GSC, proton will succeed at world stage..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 17
  • frenzyaustin on Feb 13, 2014 at 5:58 pm

World Luxury Car
    Mercedes Benz S-Class hands down!

World Performance Car
    Mercedes Benz A/CLA 45 AMG, that little 4 pot outrun CLS63 in a drag race. Since when a little hatchback can challenge a larger sports car?

World Green Car
    Honda Accord Hybrid. BMW i# and XL1 has better efficiency. But for the price you pay and what features you omits, Honda Accord Hybrid still on the more value side.

Citroen C4 Picasso, Mazda 3, Lexus IS. Lexus IS and C4 Picasso looks funky and modern. Mazda 3 is little conservative compared to others but it might more suited towards the mass.

World Car of the Year
    The major breakthrough of the automotive technology. Mass producing CF and a tough pillar less chassis.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
    • Green on Feb 13, 2014 at 7:51 pm

Define High Technology:

High Technology is defined as, the provision of a more effective, more efficient and lower defect rate with higher reliability.

in short:
      1. Low defect rate
      2. High Reliability
      3. High performance
      4. High efficiency

In fact, looking at this definition.
      Europeans car are Top 10 least reliability in American consumer Report 2013, failing no.1 and no.2 criteria.

Lexus is rated No.1 highest reliability Brand in Americaon Consumer Report 2013.

Hence,
      Fulfilling the High Tech Definition: LEXUS.

Bonus for Lexus for being 1 of the World Car Awards.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
  • All these people syok sendiri. If Proton Preve & Suprima enter, they will grab all the categories.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 21
  • no name on Feb 13, 2014 at 6:13 pm

So dissappointed bcos vios not in the list… =(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
  • zeebee on Feb 13, 2014 at 6:19 pm

World Performance Car
    Why there is no Nissan GTR Nismo?
    BMW i3? one of the ugliest car i have ever seen
    Lexus IS? one of the worst lexus ever design

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • zamer on Feb 13, 2014 at 10:17 pm

gtr is an old model..
      if gtr enter, then might as well put toyota trueno inside

• where’s Toyota Vios!!! grrrr :3

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • btw, Honda City shoul be included in list as well!

• Joker on Feb 13, 2014 at 7:01 pm

Eh, Peugeot launch the new Pug 308 d?? When it’s coming to Malaysia??

• Datuk on Feb 13, 2014 at 7:26 pm

worst salesman of the year is sam loo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • Abg Long on Feb 13, 2014 at 7:32 pm

bmw x5???

• Albert lee on Feb 13, 2014 at 8:14 pm

One more comment.
    In case you were not even nominated for awards as a car producer BUT came out tops like Toyota in terms of sales,which would you choose? Sales volume,profits or gaya nominations? Its hard to have all three but in economic sense it is better to have PROFITS.
    All the major car manufacturers in Australia are stopping production in 3 years time.Why? They are not making money,simply.No point having awards if the banks are going to lelong your factories.

• silvia33 on Feb 13, 2014 at 8:15 pm

Not only proton but korean,china and most of Luxury Japan car also not in the list.Unfair to protect Proton with put tax higher now better give malaysian chance to drive excellent car with reasonable price.
    Hopefully no more comment to relate with proton.
    And want to see how much reduction price by other OEM after tax reduce.

• mmaker on Feb 14, 2014 at 9:34 am

At least japanese and korean cars were nominated in previous years, some of them won including the best engine of the year. Awesome

• Wahahhaaa… No Proton!!!

• protonshit on Feb 13, 2014 at 10:51 pm

No money, go buy proton lah… No talk talk…

• protonshit on Feb 13, 2014 at 10:55 pm

So what?

• protonshit on Feb 13, 2014 at 10:58 pm

I wont drive a proton even its given free to me :-D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
    • Rubikian on Feb 14, 2014 at 6:01 am

Many doesn’t like Proton but in fact when you don’t buy Proton you became more patriotic without knowing coz you pay more tax to the government. :)

• Low Budgets on Feb 14, 2014 at 12:11 pm

Yes, those buying P1 and P2 are the greatest tax dodges! Very un-patriotic.
        Buy lah BMW, Merc, Lexus and borrow money from banks to pay taxes for up to 9 years to help the B.N. Gomen.

• ponyrider on Feb 14, 2014 at 9:22 am

Angkuhnya bercakap… Hehehehhe

• Maserati on Feb 13, 2014 at 11:17 pm

Wheres KIA and HYUNDAI?!

hahahahaha

hahahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
  • Jon Jenine on Feb 14, 2014 at 12:50 am

Luxury car: Mercedes S Class
    World performance car: Porsche 911 GT3
    Green car: Volkswagen XL1
    Design of the year: BMW I3
    World car of the year: Audi A3

• sudonano on Feb 14, 2014 at 1:35 am

World Luxury Car
    Mercedes Benz S class. Or the Range Rover Sport.

World Performance Car
    BMW M6 Gran Coupe or the Fiesta ST. M6GC looks good. Performs well. And super comfy. Fiesta ST, for the money it’s good.

World Green Car
    Might be the i3 cause of the fact that it shows BMW handling and electric powertrain can be in the same line. Or the XL1 by Volkswagen.

Design Car of the Year

Mercedes Benz C class. Or even the i3

Car of the year
    Ford fusion/mondeo or even Mazda 3.

• farizY on Feb 14, 2014 at 9:30 am

For all Proton/Malaysia Boleh commentors, please accept the fact after 30 years, Proton is nowhere. Try go to Autoblog or Jalopnik, see if any of the guys there knows or even heard of Proton. Inconclusion, after 30 years still nobody knows, there must be something fundamentally wrong with Proton.

• http://jalopnik.com/this-proton-actually-looks-pretty-good-despite-the-absu-1516016920

• Pengguna Bijak on Feb 14, 2014 at 11:45 am

That’s only one American praise Proton…the other 300 million Americans might not think so…

• VW Fanboi on Feb 14, 2014 at 9:51 am

World Luxury Car
    X5

World Performance Car
    VW Golf GTI

World Green Car
    I don’t care

Design Car of the Year
    Lexus IS

Car of the year
    BMW 4 Series

• Peter on Feb 14, 2014 at 10:01 am

Once again prove jap cars like toyota, nissan design is moving backward especially the exterior design and features.
    p/s: lexus != toyota

• breeze on Feb 14, 2014 at 12:52 pm

Why world green car no Prius, but Accord Hybrid??