Maserati sales grow 27.5% in South East Asia, Pacific

maserati-quattroporte-72

Maserati has recorded its best ever sales performance in the South East Asia and Pacific region (SEAP) in 2013. Compared to 2012, sales were up by 27.5%, and records were registered across all markets (South Korea, Thailand, Malaysia, Indonesia, Philippines, Australia and New Zealand) except Singapore, which introduced new regulations in taxation and financing.

The region’s strongest markets in terms of sales were Australia and South Korea. The latter also registered the strongest growth rates at 132.7% over 2012. The best sellng Maser in the region was the sexy GranTurismo (47.1% of all cars sold), followed by the Maserati Quattroporte, which was launched here by Naza Italia in December 2013.

maser-ghibli-s

“This historic sales record shows that we are on track for our global mission of producing 50,000 cars annually by 2015. To achieve this, we have heavily invested into the development of our latest models and our new state-of-the-art production facility in Grugliasco, Italy,” said Umberto Cini, MD of Maserati Global Overseas Markets.

By expanding its lineup and dealer network, Maserati aims to widen appeal and double sales volume in SEAP by 2015. This year, expect to see the new Maserati Ghibli rolled out across the region. It is scheduled to be launched in Malaysia by the first quarter of this year, likely to be next month.

We drove the all-new Quattroporte in Torino last year and came away impressed with the big limo, which does a brilliant job in mixing business with pleasure – read our full review here.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• policeman on Feb 14, 2014 at 9:27 pm

I saw an old man and wife driving a black one in Sea Park PJ. He’s like 60+.

• mizuru on Feb 15, 2014 at 6:54 am

cant help to shake the feeling that it look like mazda 6 kodo style design in every way.correct me if i’m wrong but if the badge is removed,can anyone(aside from true maserati fan) distinguish between those two.hmm.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
  • TechSmart on Feb 14, 2014 at 9:49 pm

From < 10 units to another 2-3 units more, is not that hard to get the "20%+" increase haha

• Malaysia’s annual sales for Maser is more than 10. Its actually around 20-30 not including reconds and parallel importer. If adding them together, will be more that 60~70 per year.

• CibaiBarisanNasional on Feb 15, 2014 at 12:29 am

Najib Razak and Taib Mahmud must be their biggest customers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 16
    • Er.. please stop politicize everything about cars. I have enough shit about BN and goons on newspapers. Thought to come to paultan.org to find some peace by reading at cars review and comments. Not again with all those politics.Not bn cronies can buy, I have known a handful of rich honest businessman that can afford easily. I personally have one friend who have ah beng mentality, hate BN, own factory and around 48-50yo. Buying ferrari with cash, buying with installment is a shame to drive such car. he told me this. So there are many non-cronies businessman out there work their ass off to afford what they want. Open ur eyes and one day u can earn ur own.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
    • Dynasty Lim n Families n Cronies on Feb 15, 2014 at 3:00 pm

Their biggest customers r my family n my chinese friends..