Peugeot 108 breaks cover ahead of Geneva debut

peugeot-108-8

Another funky new city car for a Geneva show debut – it’s the Peugeot 108, of which the first details and pics have been let loose. 108 Hatchback and 108 Top! versions have been announced – the latter has a retractable fabric roof that measures 760 mm long and 800 mm wide.

Looking a lot like a mini 208, the Peugeot 108 comes in three- or five-door forms. Announced powertrains are a 68 hp 1.0 litre VTi (five-speed manual/five-speed EGC, with/without stop-start) and an 82 hp 1.2 litre PureTech VTi (five-speed manual) – both three-cylinder engines.

Kerb weight starts at 840 kg, while the running gear has been developed around a pseudo-MacPherson front axle and a deformable rear beam. 165/65 R14 or 165/60 R15 wheel-tyre combos are available; so is a tyre pressure monitoring system. There’s electric power steering, too.

peugeot-108-10

Standard safety features include six airbags, ABS, EBD, ESP, Emergency Collision Braking, Hill Start Assist and Isofix. Brakes are 247 mm ventilated discs up front and 200 mm drums out back.

We have no interior photos as of yet, but Peugeot mentions a cowled speedo housing that’s “part of the steering column,” an LCD screen that’s “arranged concentrically,” as well as a rev counter and gear indicator on either side of the speedo housing. Behind the steering wheel are speed limiter controls.

The steering column is height-adjustable, and so is the driver’s seat. There’s a seven-inch touch-screen (Bluetooth, navigation, colour reverse camera) and auto air-con.

peugeot-108-2

On the 108 Top!, the control switch for the fabric roof is located above the rear-view mirror. The opening can be adjusted to any position, and an aero-acoustic deflector is automatically deployed.

Something called Mirror Screen turns the car’s touch-screen into a mirror image of your connected smartphone. You then operate your phone from the touch-screen, and you can also use apps through voice commands.

The boot holds 196 litres with the tyre repair kit and 180 litres with the spare wheel. Fold the 50/50-split back seats down and you get 750 litres of storage. The loading sill is 770 mm off the ground, with a metre-wide space between the wheel arches.

Lots of room for personalisation, of course – eight body colours, two dual-tone paint jobs (Purple Berry/Zircon Grey, Diamond White/Aikinite), three fabric roof colours, seven personalisation themes, three interior ambiences and six trims.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• isuzuki on Feb 14, 2014 at 7:05 pm

308, 208,108… next 008? LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
  • seancorr on Feb 14, 2014 at 7:42 pm

Cool…a mini city car which is easy to park. So the Picanto and i10 will have some competition…but being a Pug I think can expect price to be from RM60k onwards

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • Electrified on Feb 14, 2014 at 8:05 pm

Proton GSC is better lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 56
    • I wonder what those ah beng and ah lian think about their Myvi if compared to this?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
      • dugong on Feb 15, 2014 at 3:23 am

They think their myvi is lexus, superior to golf gti and mini cooper. 108 is a joke.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
      • dirtyoldmen on Feb 15, 2014 at 11:23 am

A. They think that ….VS is a dirty racist. VS loves to spin his racist prejudices into every issue. VS now wants to spread his corruption to the naive/innocent/weak-minded. Let everyone be mistrustful and enjoy a miserable live… like VS. Hey, misery loves company, right?

I hope that answers your question.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • kadajawi on Feb 14, 2014 at 8:10 pm

So… the 107 is probably the predecessor? That one was developed together with Toyota and sold as the Toyota Aygo, Citroen C1 and Peugeot 107. This is PSA working alone again…?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
    • kadajawi on Feb 14, 2014 at 8:12 pm

Oh. I just checked, this will also be the new Toyota Aygo. Go on conti bashers, bash it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
    • Gently Speaking on Feb 15, 2014 at 1:03 am

all 3 version:
      Toyota Aygo, C1 and 108. Sharing platform and parts to reduce cost.

one reason for doing so is due to VW extensively using sharing parts over ALL VW groups cars from Skoda, Seat to Audi… VW cost of production is very low and threatening.

are upscale Mini Hatch, competing Rival from VW group, such as VW up! Skoda Citigo and Seat Mii.

making VW cars are really boring and same design at the same time.

But one thing:
      VW technology = unreliable.
      Half Baked Research, Half Baked Technology produced for Mass Production.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 15
      • How come that the Toyota Aygo is known for it’s unreliability in Europe?

Quote: ‘Car has needed x2 new water pumps x3 clutches, broken clutch arm,new power steering unit, new alternator, new horn.loose passenger seats.I bought it because Toyota are supposed to be reliable but this car has been terrible.Never again will I buy Toyota.’

http://www.autoexpress.co.uk/toyota/aygo/reliability

It doesn’t use any ‘unreliable VW technology’ as far as I know? ;)

• DatukPa on Feb 15, 2014 at 12:40 pm

Wow..

thanks for your link.

most Toyota Agyo user Rate it having 4/5 to 5/5.

Ur sacarstic make me feel more confident in Toyota.
          World best reliable car, seldom goes wrong.

• Yes, the owners who didn’t have ‘serious water leaks into car’, ‘x2 new water pumps x3 clutches, broken clutch arm,new power steering unit, new alternator, new horn,loose passenger seats’, ‘Clutch needed replaced just outside 3 year warranty’, ‘ headlights both front and rear needed replaced in last 12 months’ think that Toyota is the ‘World best reliable car’.

And the European Aygo has another advantage too:
            Quote: ‘One saving grace is that when it is not in the repair shop it is quite cheap to run with low insurance.’ :D

• kadajawi on Feb 16, 2014 at 10:02 pm

@Mohd: At least the clutch thing is wear and tear, though IIRC a friend who owned an Aygo complained that the automated manual on his did start to get clutch problems not long before he sold it (and he didn’t have the car for long, maybe 2 or 3 years?).

Anyway, the Aygo is not a great car, but compared to say the Atos or the Viva it is leagues ahead.

• kadajawi on Feb 15, 2014 at 1:35 pm

The first version was, yes. I didn’t know that this new car is also a joint development.

I would not call this upscale though. At least the first generation Aygo was… cheap. It worked I guess, but the ride was not nice (ok, the comparisons on that road were a Citroen Xsara, a Ford Focus and a Ford Galaxy… not fair), and the interior just oozes with cheap plastic (though the design was funky and idiot proof, I give it that). Think of it as a Viva, but properly designed and made. Reasonably safe (plenty of airbags etc., but the structure was a bit dated, so it didn’t do that well in crash tests).

• Frankly Speaking on Feb 15, 2014 at 11:50 pm

You have a half baked brain to NOT understand the meaning of economies of scale and margins to achieve sustainability. Did you know that was the exact reason the Austin-Rover company collapsed in the UK. Too many different cars with different platforms and low cost engines and technology, without a proper marketing strategy.

• the truth hurts on Feb 15, 2014 at 11:54 pm

Gently Speaking – You talk with your heart, not your brain. Thats your problem

• handsome car but the tail light less attractive

• IdealTech on Feb 14, 2014 at 9:15 pm

I felt sorry for u little flower, if only u were cheap as other national cars segment here, u will be the queen of my heart 108 pug :-3

• I love this car design

• policeman on Feb 14, 2014 at 9:24 pm

If Proton GSC looks like this the Proton win liao lor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
  • dozy8888 on Feb 14, 2014 at 10:15 pm

NAZA, BRING this in Malaysia. Price it starting RM58K, surely will out sell Myvi!

• Gently Speaking on Feb 15, 2014 at 12:11 am

dont think will outsell.
      One main reason Malaysian buy Myvi due to high reliability.

but can will be the best selling Peugeot in Malaysia.

It’s 3.47m long and 1.62m wide, with minimal overhangs front and rear, and weighs from only 840kg. Power comes from three-cylinder engines developing 68bhp or 82bhp, with CO2 outputs from 88 to 99g/km. A five-speed manual transmission is standard.

68bhp??
      3 cylinder??

How want to challenge Myvi crown sales?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
      • kadajawi on Feb 15, 2014 at 1:38 pm

They will also have other engines and gearboxes, the previous Aygo/108/C1 had an automated manual like the Savvy. And this is A segment, not B segment. It should clearly be an EEV (thus lower taxes), and Toyota was involved in making this. Not sure if they can make it cheap enough though.

• So far I’ve never heard / met a malaysian who takes in consideration about anything you said. All they know is how much they can sell for after a few years.

• I still believe Malaysian not that stupid…

• Nope, I believe Malaysian are still uneducated about car. The evident is still many Malaysian buy Vios even though there are many car with better choices out there.

• kadajawi on Feb 15, 2014 at 1:36 pm

Toyota will be angry I guess. They must have some sort of agreement. But who knows, maybe they can agree on bringing it in regardless, or Citroen will do it, or Toyota, … imagine if this were the Viva replacement.

• intermilan on Feb 16, 2014 at 1:57 pm

My guess.. if the 108 will be sold in Malaysia, if CKD etc etc, (lowest) price most probably will still hit RM70k OTR with insurance.

Which is not a good price point for an A segment car. Unless it is desirable.

• lowprofile on Feb 17, 2014 at 12:04 pm

for that alone, it may not make it here. the other is the cooperative agreement with toyota. we have seen the 4007 not being sold here and now the 4008 because of coopertive agreements with mitsubishi. it is still a question mark for now.

• superbird #43 on Feb 14, 2014 at 10:41 pm

does anyone notice the increase of premium petrol price tonight?

• Wow!

• farghmee on Feb 15, 2014 at 6:59 am

Exterior silhoutte cm mitsu mirage…

• old dog on Feb 15, 2014 at 10:00 am

lets see how protong world car match up with this..LOL..

• SpongeWai on Feb 15, 2014 at 11:04 am

Peugeot 108 is A-Segment city car

their main rival is NOT Myvi, but is Viva and other city car like Smart ForTwo, Twingo etc

• dozy8888 on Feb 15, 2014 at 10:23 pm

Since Toyota will also rebadge this car, soon Daihatsu will also rebadge.. then Perodua will also rebadge this car But 10 YEARS time.. So why Naza make the first move?

• cute.
    If send to wash confirm 10 minutes kawtim in and out.

• jroyz on Feb 17, 2014 at 10:24 am

I wish Proton or Perodua can make cute car like this not imitation others car brands or stick on stickers.

• Joker on Feb 17, 2014 at 11:55 am

Cute, funky and a joy to watch!!! 208 85k, 108 55k?? If priced decently with all those top notch specs, Perodua will need to seriously consider changing to a new engine + gearbox for their Myvi… seriously VSA/ESC or whatever they call it is a very very important features…