Qoros 3 Hatch – Geneva 2014 debutant revealed

130214qor-b

Having previously released a couple of photos of the model, Qoros has now let loose full details of the Qoros 3 Hatch it’s bringing to next month’s Geneva show.

Set to be built in Changshu (alongside the Qoros 3 Sedan) and launched in China around mid-year, the young Chinese carmaker’s second model is differentiated from its booted brother by a new front grille and front bumper, plus fog and tail lamp designs.

Essence, Experience, Experience Plus and Elegance trims have been announced, as have nine-spoke 205/60 R16, multi-spoke 215/50 R17 and five-quad spoke 225/45 R18 alloys.

130214qor-c

Above the projector headlamps sit LED DRL ‘eyebrows’. Elegance variants get self-levelling and cornering Xenon headlamps with washers. The tail lamps feature light guides, and there are twin reversing and rear fog lamps. Twin tailpipes for the turbo variant; single hidden tailpipe otherwise.

Also new are the C-pillars, roof, rear side panels, tailgate and a rear roof cross-member for increased torsional rigidity. Length, width, height and wheelbase are 4,400 mm, 1,839 mm, 1,445 mm and 2,690 mm respectively.

The tailgate opening is 1,080 mm wide (50 mm up from the sedan). The boot holds 403 litres with the 60:40-split back seats up and 1,410 litres up to the roof with them folded down.

It gets the sedan’s engines – 1.6 litre four-cylinder in naturally-aspirated (126 hp/155 Nm, six-speed manual) and turbocharged (156 hp/210 Nm, six-speed manual or six-speed Getrag 6DCT250 dry-dual clutcher) forms. Kerb weights range from 1,320 to 1,410 kg; fuel economy from 6.1 to 6.5 litres per 100 km.

Up front, you’ll find independent MacPherson struts with stabilisers and ventilated disc brakes; out back there’s an Omega-shaped twist beam and solid discs. Electric power steering, ABS, EBD, Isofix and six airbags are standard across the range.

In China from launch, Experience variants and up get ESC, BA, Cornering Brake Control, Hill Assist and auto brake disc cleaning, while Experience Plus and up get TPMS. Naturally, it’s expected to match the Qoros 3 Sedan’s outstanding 2013 Euro NCAP performance.

Unsurprisingly, the dashboard seems a carry-over from the sedan, but Qoros says the Lava Black and Sand Beige interior shades, along with the fabric, fabric/leather mix and leather upholstery patterns are new.

Standard across the range for China is Qoros’ eight-inch 800×600 capacitive MMH touch-screen system. It supports swipe and multi-touch, and offers navigation and Bluetooth, amongst others. It’s enhanced by QorosQloud, which offers 3G, vehicle monitoring, social networking and enhanced navigation.

QorosQloud is Windows Azure-based and is delivered via China Unicom’s 3G network. Besides the MMH, its services can also be accessed from a smartphone, tablet, laptop or the QorosQloud app.

Most of the services are free-for-life, but they can be enhanced with QorosQloud Premium Services, which include Dynamic Traffic Info, Dynamic Parking Info and Map Update features.

Equipment-wise, Essence gets keyless go, air-con, twin rear vents and a four-speaker 100W sound system. Experience adds dual-zone auto air-con, ‘dusk-sensing’ headlamps, a reverse camera and sensors, six-speaker 150W sound and rear armrest cupholders.

Experience Plus adds a powered sunroof, and finally Elegance gets all the bells and whistles, including cruise control, heated and powered front seats with two memory settings, full keyless, auto-folding wing mirrors, an air-con glovebox and red LED ambient lighting.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• superb quality better than our rip off proton shit dunno wtf our car industry is doing all this years baik balik tidur saja la… ppl newcomer in the car industry also can excel better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 106 Thumb down 72
    • see pic know superb quality already..haiya

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 27
      • AutoFrenz on Feb 15, 2014 at 9:58 am

Chinese and complaint complaint complaint are inseparable…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 29
    • Lemer on Feb 14, 2014 at 3:05 pm

Qoros use German brain, engineer and designer to get 5 stars safety rating. If china car industry never get it straight they could always use their money paying german to do for them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 6
      • German brain? It’s the jews brain dude.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 5
        • kadajawi on Feb 14, 2014 at 8:29 pm

Jewish money, you mean. Many of their managers and engineers are Germans. But the investors are Chinese and Jewish.

• Low Budget on Feb 16, 2014 at 11:03 am

This car has ‘Jewish Blood’ and must be banned from entering Malaysia market or else Perkasa will be very jumpy.

• Kalun on Feb 14, 2014 at 9:38 pm

You must be hitler. Mien?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
      • Olala on Feb 14, 2014 at 10:58 pm

The china companies just know how to use or earn money but not brain..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
    • Betul Betul Betul!!!

• AutoFrenz on Feb 14, 2014 at 9:45 pm

They only park the co in china…this is not really a chinese product…read the co profile…

• too much golf family influence..

• If no Kroniputera interested to be Qoros dealers here, let others take it lah…RM64K price…MITI ada berani approve kah? Ha Ha Ha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 7
  • bnbiul on Feb 14, 2014 at 2:42 pm

Amoi chinesr ok car ko.

• carguy2000 on Feb 15, 2014 at 2:05 am

american and europe need 100 years to progress, japan 50 years, korean 30 years, china will have it less than 10 years. malaysian ?

• Matchy on Feb 14, 2014 at 2:49 pm

I think the design of the back is way better than suprima S (which is weird and awkward looking)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 7
    • AutoFrenz on Feb 14, 2014 at 9:52 pm

Ironically most people bought suprima bcoz of the rear…it looks distinctive and original…somehow it makes the car look like mini suv…in fact if proton increase the height a bit it can compete with xv and asx…both c segment suv…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 45
    • almost everyone hates the rear profile of the suprima S. It is buck ugly and a deterrent for anyone who might want it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 6
      • AutoFrenz on Feb 15, 2014 at 10:05 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 128
        • Normandy on Feb 15, 2014 at 12:15 pm

Why don’t you get a life? Talking about race and promoting hate on a car site. Nothing better to do izit? Typical product of a BN ideology.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 5
          • AutoFrenz on Feb 15, 2014 at 2:24 pm

Look whos talking u jelly beans who started it first…want to deny some more podah…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 86
          • Normandy on Feb 15, 2014 at 5:33 pm

Lmao, so butthurt people don’t like Proton until can masuk politics and become racist. Not sure if you’re trolling or not, but given the “genius” our dear leaders exhibit everyday, I wouldn’t be surprised if you weren’t. Get your head checked, bro.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 2
        • antiDynastyLim on Feb 15, 2014 at 6:40 pm

i agree with kit siang bapa rasis.. our country wud b better without them..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 32
          • Bapak AutoFenz on Feb 15, 2014 at 10:48 pm

& also be much more better without moron like u…wana talk politics? pls go to other forum, stupid…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
        • Hadi75 on Feb 17, 2014 at 10:01 am

Criticizing proton = criticizing malay now ah….

• skyjuice on Feb 14, 2014 at 2:52 pm

they know how to design the back.. unbelievable!! Qoros must has more than 30 years experience in building a car.. my bet!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
  • skyjuice on Feb 14, 2014 at 2:52 pm

they know how to design the back.. unbelievable!! Qoros must has more than 30 years experience in building a car.. my bet!

• carnut on Feb 14, 2014 at 2:52 pm

The qoroscloud service is really cool. Offering more than just what the competition is doing. I wouldn’t be surprised if this car is well received in Europe. For a Chinese car maker its quite unthinkable before this.

• good car

• How do u know its good?already test driving it?come on people dont be decieve on design alone!if the car looks gud, just buy it?u have to look at the overall package..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • good design but the rear badge looks inappropriately large..just my 2 cents

• compare to SUPRIMA S, erm…….cant blame……..we are Malaysian……….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
  • this is one of the designs that we expect Proton to come up with..

• yES, but proton end up with black skirting suprima S which cost more than this Qoros 3.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
      • Alifz on Feb 15, 2014 at 9:09 pm

Do you know American did like Suprima design especially the latest variant? Go google 1st

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 16
  • jawabandar on Feb 14, 2014 at 3:11 pm

Now this is how proton should design in the first place.Although looks a bit golfy, but sure it can be a headturn on the streets.

• Hyundai De La Junk on Feb 14, 2014 at 3:29 pm

Now even China car are ahead of Korean..lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • I would give it a try if it cost us less than RM90k. I seriously dun care driving a china made car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • Joker on Feb 14, 2014 at 3:42 pm

not bad… need to read more about the reviews about the handling performance, reliability issues etc… Qoros is heading the right way!!!

• Shame on you PROTON!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 13
    • AutoFrenz on Feb 14, 2014 at 9:58 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 182
      • vroom on Feb 14, 2014 at 10:35 pm

Racist.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 6
        • AutoFrenz on Feb 15, 2014 at 2:27 pm

A hardcore racist aka dap calling another person racist…asshole

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 43
          • Noni Juice on Nov 13, 2014 at 1:39 pm

Hello friend, are you oblivious to the fact that Proton is way behind other automotive makers in the industry?
            Stop living in denial like some MALAYsians and learn to accept criticisms for the betterment of our automotive industry.

• Mr Mac on Feb 14, 2014 at 4:53 pm

50% owned by Israel Corporation. Ok next brand and model please…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • Said it before and will say it again, this is NOT a true Chinese car.

Half-owned, mostly designed and developed by Europeans, only the badge is Chinese.

China has the money to buy over intellectuals to work in their car companies, while they train their local workforce. Malaysia doesn’t have that buying capacity.

At least give credit to our local car companies, most of which are led and manned by born & bred Malaysians.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 25
    • Malaysian on Feb 15, 2014 at 12:03 am

What credit are you talking about? You give credit to people who take you to be suckers???? How many more years do we Malaysian have to suffer..????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
      • fenzo60 on Feb 15, 2014 at 9:47 pm

For those who condemning Proton, , nobody force you to buy proton. Pls buy other brand

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 42
        • AutoFrenz on Feb 16, 2014 at 9:36 am

And the BEST part is there r so.many chinese driving proton even though guan eng warned them not to buy proton but buy chinese cars instead…aiyoo they r not stupid lor to buy cheapskate chinese cars with tin milo standard and a name like greatwall…they want french name like preve n exotic name like exora not geely…so geli maaa…no classs…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 33
          • Hadi75 on Feb 17, 2014 at 10:27 am

So now criticizing proton is equal to criticizing the malay and malaysia is it…..

• Noni Juice on Nov 13, 2014 at 1:42 pm

Why do you have to make everything racial?

• littlefire on Feb 15, 2014 at 8:15 am

I just find out why a lot of Malaysian thinking is always backforward.. Still racist mind…

Proton own Lotus (UK company!) & previously got financial support from the Gov before take over by Sime Derby.. Even in protected market, why Malaysian dont want to buy Proton? You will have to find the root cause before blaming other ppl car jewish laa, chinese car laa..

BTY, coca-cola, starbuck, Dell, facebook, and lots more also owned by Jewish, so why not u complain & boikot all? Just google it regarding jewish business..

We must admit that Quros really did a good job. Think why we always cant improve? Throw away the racist mind, hired some good designer or management from oversea like KIA did, and with good quality control. I believe Proton also can improve even faster & better..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
      • AutoFrenz on Feb 15, 2014 at 10:14 am

This is a very stupid comnent…r u blind or what…people r buying proton in drove…look around u laa…everywhere u can see proton cars…unless of course u live in amazon…over there people ride anaconda…i say go to school dulu la bfore posting any comment ah kau…pity u…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 64
        • Stone on Feb 15, 2014 at 7:22 pm

At least the company started by building the car as a new model unlike how proton started by rebadging a japanese model.

• hadi75 on Feb 16, 2014 at 8:20 am

After reading all your comment….it is people like you that makes it hard for this country to unite as one nation….as one bangsa malaysia…always stuck with racist undertones…this country was build by malaysians not just by one race….

• Noni Juice on Nov 13, 2014 at 1:44 pm

I hope the anaconda eats you.

• I don’t know why Malaysians are so shallow-minded.

When I say ‘NOT a true Chinese car’, I am not implying anything racial. It is purely in terms of economics.

The same case is true for the new Mini Cooper. Some say it is British (because of the brand name), but smart people will know it is German (because it is designed by Germans).

I have nothing against Jews or Israel. I don’t think ‘hating’ Israel and ‘saving’ Palestine will change anything. That is their problem, every country has problems. I don’t know why Malaysians care so much about Israel-Palestine, I believe we should sort out our own problems first and not be too kepoh and busybody with others.

Of course Qoros did a good job, but that’s only skin-deep. Also, so far, everything is only good on-paper. We still don’t know if the Qoros will sell well in Europe. In the end, the sales will speak for themselves.

I too agree that Proton should be led by Malaysians with the drive and passion, regardless of race and religion. It’s fine if Proton hires a few intellectuals in key areas, but if they hire too many foreigners, our local people will never learn and there will be no point in Proton’s existence.

• lemer on Feb 17, 2014 at 4:42 am

I think little fire has slow mind or blind or need thick glasses when you said Malaysians don’t want to buy Proton?

• Aristurtle on Feb 15, 2014 at 12:37 am

Perfect things do happened when u got right soulmate.
    – Aristurtle 512 b.c

• Sam Loo on Feb 15, 2014 at 8:25 am

Another car that can be compared Apple to Apple with Celaka/K3/Elantra, alongside the makes of Tata and Mahindra

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
  • Lisda on Feb 15, 2014 at 3:22 pm

god bless Hitler.

• Abg Long on Feb 15, 2014 at 6:50 pm

ugly design.. ugly name.. next.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • Electrified on Feb 17, 2014 at 7:24 pm

This ‘newbie’ Qoros 3 Hatch butt’s is better than the ‘taiko’ Proton Suprima’s Ass

• Sensibility on Mar 13, 2014 at 8:11 pm

If we are to bring Proton into the conversation and traditionalist patriots were to argue for their sake, would aforementioned ‘patriots’ please point out how exactly is the heavy predilection within the current automotive industry promoting goodwill within industry players? Furthermore, how is this evident bias aiding locals?

@AutoFrenz, the only reason why our roads are inundated by local makes is only due to the impossibly bloated taxes that foreign carmakers are mandated to pay, which in turn inflates the prices of foreign cars. Why so? Refer to the above bias. This isn’t so much a choice as it is an imposition for us Malaysians to purchase local makes due to the high asking price for foreign cars. Had Malaysian carnakers played the game fair and square without being coddled by the present federal government, we wouldn’t be facing unreliability/low sales volumes with local carmakers due to a need to compete with their foreign counterparts. Do you think they would be willing to put in the effort to manufacture anything good if customers are willing to purchase whatever they proffer due to their cut-throat prices?

Furthermore with the 10 year lifespan, our choices become even more limited to a pool of locally assembled cars, again due to price factor. Ask your government why such policies are still being enacted then we can begin to talk about easing off Proton for every minute transgression they pull off.

Also, bashing on a local carmaker does not equate to bashing on a race. Please get your facts right before pointing accusatory fingers at anyone, as for the moment, you’re the only racist around.

• Wang Sen on Aug 01, 2014 at 8:29 am

What many Malaysians do not realise is that a few Malaysians were involved on the Qoros 3 and 3 hatch together with a bunch of Magna Steyr expats who are the main project consultant. Now they are working on the hatch crossover and a brand new Qoros SUV. All of them have a common background: Proton.