Tan Chong confirms five new Nissan models for 2014

DSC_0149b

Edaran Tan Chong Motor (ETCM) has confirmed that there will be five new Nissan models launching this year in Malaysia, along with one new Infiniti model. This was announced by ETCM’s executive director Datuk David Chen at a Chinese New Year dinner with the media yesterday.

To identify the five, let’s start with the cars we know are coming. We predict that the new Teana and new Sylphy sedans will be part of lineup, and the facelifted Livina X-Gear should join its Grand Livina sibling this year, too.

That leaves two blanks, and one of it should be filled by the Nissan Note, which was previewed at KLIMS13. According to a report by Maybank Research, the Note will be launched by the end of 2014. We leave the final ‘coming soon’ model for you to guess.

Nissan Note KLIMS 4

In the premium corner, Inspired Motor is set to debut the Infiniti Q50, a sleek, tech-laden entry into the compact premium exec class dominated by stalwarts BMW 3 Series and Mercedes-Benz C-Class.

ETCM achieved its highest ever annual sales in 2013 with 51,875 Nissans sold. The figure is 48% higher compared to 2012, helping Nissan maintain its No.2 position in the non-national segment behind Toyota and ahead of Honda. The Nissan Almera accounted for 57% of total sales, or 29,647 units.

Chen said that the roomy B-segment sedan is still top of its class in January 2014, ahead of the new Toyota Vios. A new rival will appear this year, though.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Boon Kee on Feb 14, 2014 at 10:26 am

Is there any possibility of Nissan Juke coming into Malaysia by Tan Chong?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 6
    • Pengguna Bijak on Feb 14, 2014 at 11:36 am

As long the price is above Proton cars, Tan Chong can put any price any model to offer…MITI gerenti said OK saja

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 10
    • thaisong on Feb 17, 2014 at 12:56 pm

i saw nissan juke bersepah at juru penang auto city

• The 5th upcoming model should be Nissan X-Trail replacement – it’s long overdue.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 6
  • Apek Chong on Feb 14, 2014 at 10:50 am

Please lah apek launch all the global models like Pulsar,Sentra,Teana,new Dualis and new X-Trail,see 5 models!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
    • The US version of the Sentra will become the new Slyphy here in Bolehland.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
      • Sentra on Feb 14, 2014 at 1:19 pm

Yes it is Sylphy.But hope Tan Chong rename it to Sentra as it is already a global model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • kadajawi on Feb 14, 2014 at 10:51 am

TC actually launching cars. More than one a year? What has happened?

Better launch some Renault models too though. Clio, Captur, Scenic, Kangoo. Later then the Twingo… Small cheap practical car with RWD and low center of gravity and developed together with Mercedes. Should be lots of fun to drive. Or how about Dacia? Just put a Datsun badge on it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
    • rifle on Feb 14, 2014 at 12:55 pm

renault will launch clio in this very soon

• sai hei on Feb 14, 2014 at 1:31 pm

Why bother with renault when they only sell less than 50 cars a year?

Car parts problem, reliability issue, after sales like lan, better buy china car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
      • Gently Speaking on Feb 14, 2014 at 3:55 pm

Half Baked Technology

is the main cause of Low Reliability.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
      • kadajawi on Feb 14, 2014 at 4:17 pm

Do you own a Renault? After sales is pretty good for normal Renaults, and if you own a RS one then you’re treated really well. Reliability just like other cars, also no big problem. Car parts also no big problem, TC keeps stock.

The reason Renault sells less than 50 cars a year is because they currently only sell race cars in Malaysia. Sales figures for those are a bit low, as expected. Who will pay German premium C/D segment money for a normal C segment car with a manual gearbox and a stiff suspension?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
      • Lpost on Feb 14, 2014 at 10:44 pm

You must be joking! Renault brand perception in europe is like toyota in asia. Tan chong so slow, care about money more then image/products..

• kadajawi on Feb 15, 2014 at 2:01 pm

Renault sells better than Toyota, otherwise they don’t have so much in common. Renault used to be unreliable but has become reliable. Toyota used to be reliable but has become unreliable. Also Toyota is for uncles.

• renault service in Nissan service center… after sales service is ok…

• gtr36 on Feb 14, 2014 at 11:08 am

X-Trail replacement?

• New X-Trail?

• puterakupang84 on Feb 14, 2014 at 11:12 am

what about the new x-trail?

• gtr36 on Feb 14, 2014 at 11:12 am

http://paultan.org/2013/11/27/nissan-x-trail-tms/

• X-Trail facelift sudah launch la last year. I don’t think they will launch the most recent facelifted version anytime soon. On the other hand, the facelifted X-Gear should have been launched last year together with GL, since they are from the same DNA. What a waste of launch slots.

• Nasir on Feb 14, 2014 at 11:22 am

New X trail??? Don’t even dream of it. Tan Chong will launch it in 2020 as per their business plan. That model is to advance for us as per their current market analysis….sarcasm mode on.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • spongewai on Feb 14, 2014 at 11:34 am

5 models including

Nissan Sylphy
    Nissan Teana
    Nissan Note
    Nissan Livina X-Gear facelift
    Nissan X-Trail

Infiniti Q50 is the 6th model i think

• Green on Feb 14, 2014 at 2:34 pm

This is fun, i would like to join:

As Danny Tan’s mention, very logic:

5 models:
      1. Nissan Note.
      2. Nissan Slyphy.
      3. Almera Facelift.
      4. Teana Facelift.
      5. X-Gear Facelift, joining new livina design.

X-Trail should not be possible.
      Thailand have not even launched X-trail facelift.

• raymond on Feb 26, 2014 at 12:16 pm

Nissan Sentra?

• I’ve heard Nissan X-Trail 2014 will be launched around 2nd quarter this year in Thailand and also produced in Thailand.

• Ya, even 6 a/bag (include curtain a/b), traction control, BA, LCW, LDW and all safety acronym, are too advance for us too. Sarcasm mode activated *beep*

• dugong on Feb 14, 2014 at 1:33 pm

Dont play play. Our tan chong says nissan amisai body is so strong you dont need side airbags. We only give 1 front airbag so that the driver can sleep when kena bang.

• I think mostly will be the new X-Trail.

• nabill on Feb 14, 2014 at 11:50 am

Maybe the datsun brand to compete @ da low end of da market

• motorhead on Feb 14, 2014 at 11:54 am

Bring the Note.. I need her for my hobby.

• Joker on Feb 14, 2014 at 11:58 am

I hope they’ll introduce Datsun here instead…
    Somehow my guess for the 5th model will be Nissan GTR as all GTRs on the road in Malaysia are all grey imports.. or the new Skyline perhaps???

• sonic31s on Feb 14, 2014 at 12:01 pm

Good job TC. Finally the company is going on a right track… keep bringing more new model in and make the fair price as possible!

• zeebee on Feb 14, 2014 at 12:06 pm

the 5th one will be Almera’s face-lift model witch is just introduced in thaidand (i think)

• Should replace The X-Trail by New Qashqai 2014.

• Nis San on Feb 14, 2014 at 12:19 pm

Juke – nope according to my source got problem with the engine 1.6T. Teana I guess pretty soon saw it on the road with camo heading to Kepong area. Looks smaller compare to current J32. The rest of the models…so so only, new latio that already in China market with Turbo looks good price if convert i think less than 90k. I hope Honda Vezel will be out to compete…that looks better in any angle is time for some hybrid as petrol price is heading up and only up!

• Denaihati on Feb 14, 2014 at 12:26 pm

might be new Nissan X-Trail, but i wonder, why not in list at official Nissan Malaysia website.
    if i’m not mistaken this nissan x-trail was listed in the website years ago.

• alldisc on Feb 14, 2014 at 12:38 pm

120Y, 130Y, 140A, 160J and 180K. i mean err… replacement models for all those.

or maybe for 220C or 280C.

• I have waited for xtrail since last year…quite a surprise if new xtrail model was not in the list….please verify or I should think other model now rather than waiting without any confirmation. ..so frustrated. ….

• Green on Feb 14, 2014 at 2:38 pm

Nissan X-Trial should not be coming in 2014.

Thailand has not launched new X-Trial.
      still the same X-Trail in Malaysia.

• I wish that I keep my nissan stock that I sold 3 years ago…

• Likely ETCM will bring in the Juke. Really quite in this region about this car. CBU will definitely be very costly.

• OMG! Can it be the Terrano? Wow! Just by thinking about Terrano coming to Malaysia is already getting me excited. This would definitely create plenty of interest.

• Valentines'Day on Feb 14, 2014 at 2:00 pm

hi ETCM, may I know why u guys still putting Sentra on your website? Meaning still selling it? I thought I had log in to a second hand car dealer website when I saw that! Goossh

• Could be the Serena facelift also

• jflee on Feb 14, 2014 at 2:12 pm

4 Nissan + 1 Infinity.
    For Nissan, I personally think it would be:-
    (i) Teana – to compete D-segment
    (ii) Sylphy – to compete C-segment
    (iii) Note – to compete B-segment
    (iv) New X-Trail – to compete SUV segment

Facelift for X-Gear should not be categorized as New Model. Otherwise, ETCM should check the dictionary what it is meant by “New Model”.

All of the above, the consumers are more concern about the price and specs of each new model to be introduced.

• DatukPa on Feb 14, 2014 at 2:36 pm

Teana would be a facelift.

Why you call Teana a new model?

• Henry Ford the XII on Feb 14, 2014 at 2:48 pm

I think it is already widely accepted that facelift model is called as “New Model” while a completely new one – which considered as another generation – is referred to as “All New Model”.
      And this is not confined to Nissan alone.

• YaBoh on Feb 14, 2014 at 2:42 pm

What about Qashqai??
    Forget the X-Gear facelift.. it’s boring anyway..
    Bring us the Qashqai.. Please

• iamdjzern on Feb 14, 2014 at 2:50 pm

i think the CKD Serena Hybrid? :)

• Pencinta Kereta on Feb 14, 2014 at 2:51 pm

I think the 5th model to be launched this year is Nissan Serena Hybrid CKD

• Nisson on Feb 14, 2014 at 3:34 pm

Will all the 5 models comes with stability control (VDC)?

• lazyf on Feb 14, 2014 at 4:46 pm

Saw the all new Sylphy early year 2013 when I had my holiday in Thailand

• ChrisLai75 on Feb 14, 2014 at 5:33 pm

the 5th would be Nissan GTR (dare to dream)

• Mohd Shubhi on Feb 14, 2014 at 6:33 pm

Why Nissan let Sentra to disappear just like that in Malaysia…?

• Albert lee on Feb 14, 2014 at 8:33 pm

ETCM launching 5 new models like mad.Good for Malaysians who love to change cars.
    However,may I ask what is the botak MD from Proton launching this year?
    Another round of JOM PROTON CARNIVAL with SV,SP and Sportivos and facelifts?
    At the rate Tan Chong is expanding sales,in no time,it may overtake Toyota and even Proton in a few short years.

• Khooi2 on Feb 14, 2014 at 9:09 pm

Wonder why Nissan didn’t try to convert Grand Livina into Hybrid :-). I think it will hit the high Sale Model :-P

• kah lok on Feb 14, 2014 at 9:45 pm

i think the final ‘coming soon’ model for me to guess is Nissan March or Nissan Latio Sportback

• kadajawi on Feb 15, 2014 at 2:08 pm

I doubt the March will be coming. TC already announced the regular Clio will come, and TC doesn’t like internal competition it seems. The March and the Clio are a bit close, though having Almera and Clio is fine. They are totally unlike each other.

Then again maybe the management at TC has changed… seeing that they want to release so many new cars this year.

• roxas on Feb 14, 2014 at 11:29 pm

the last one should be a facelifted almera

• Jack Philip Yong on Feb 15, 2014 at 9:06 am

The final model is Nissan Pulsar or March.

Another possibility is Tan Chong bring New Sentra (Sylphy) and Pulsar together at the same time, to replace Latio, Sentra N16 and Sylphy.

I guess Nissan Sentra may have 2 variants, there are sedan (aka Sylphy) and hatchback (aka Pulsar/Tiida).

• Jack Philip Yong on Feb 15, 2014 at 9:11 am

X-Gear facelift… It should launch together with Grand Livina facelift, but no need to launch because it has lower sales than Grand Livina.

• Jack Philip Yong on Feb 15, 2014 at 9:30 am

And don’t forget about the Nissan commercial van, NV350 Urvan which already launched in Thailand and Singapore.

• insider on Feb 15, 2014 at 10:50 am

1. new teana
    2. serena ckd
    3. almera facelift
    4. new xtrail
    5. new livina xgear

• Carly on Feb 15, 2014 at 12:01 pm

Cant wait for nissan note and to compare with new honda fit/jazz.

• Sam Loo on Feb 15, 2014 at 2:41 pm

Kimchi Killers in 2014 ….

• tikus on Feb 15, 2014 at 4:25 pm

Subaru XV Hybird…

• sambalbabi on Feb 16, 2014 at 3:15 am

please dump the CVT gbox!

• amid33 on Feb 16, 2014 at 4:06 pm

Really hope TCM will bring in new nissan x-trail with optional 7 seater…

• i am waiting for new x-trail
    when it launching
    can 2014

• amarus on Feb 17, 2014 at 9:15 am

anybody know price of new nissan note?

• SIMON on Feb 17, 2014 at 10:10 am

if using 1.5 engine, should be same range as Almera, but if using 1.2 engine like Singapore, then cheaper la.

but Singapore got 1.2 with Supercharger! mmmmmmmmm.

• amarus on Feb 17, 2014 at 9:16 am

expectation price

• thaisong on Feb 17, 2014 at 12:59 pm

nissan note,

brand like samsung

look like jazz

• i somehow think the 5th could be nissan kix, to compete with jimny!

haha…. joking~… but well if kix is launched below RM80k, i’ll book one.

• Insider on Feb 18, 2014 at 10:47 am

5th Model is new Urvan:
    http://www.nissan.co.th/en/Vehicles/Urvan.aspx

• arcadicus on Feb 20, 2014 at 12:25 pm

The 5th car….it’s nissan EVALIA….

• Green on Feb 22, 2014 at 5:11 pm

Waiting for 5 Seater X-trail and 7 seater X-trail.

Our market lack of RM150k 7 seater japanese SUV.

this would gonna be a great sales.

• Mr. Gautam on Feb 24, 2014 at 1:08 am

Nissan cars are no doubt my first choice and I am waiting for the official launch of these cars in the market. Thanks.

• Mrs roy on Mar 03, 2014 at 2:17 pm

Hi, I’m thinking of getting the Honda, but heard that there’s a new facelift on Almera. Any idea when TC will have this new facelift in Malaysia?

• Mrs roy on Mar 03, 2014 at 2:24 pm

if it’s coming soon like in April, I would definitely wait for Nissan and forego Honda :)

• I noe this article is quite old.. Hahaha Hw i wish the last model is the CKD serena hybrid lolll