2014 Honda City specs teased by Honda Malaysia

honda-city-teaser

Honda Malaysia has put up a teaser on its website for an upcoming car, and we’re guessing it’s the new 2014 Honda City. The teaser is in the form of a three by three grid of nine icons, each representing a feature of the new Honda City. No launch date is mentioned.

The features being teased are from the first row to the bottom, left to right – ECON mode, Push Start Button, 16 inch alloy wheels, seven inch display audio, cruise control, 1.5 litre i-VTEC engine with CVT gearbox, rear air conditioning, platinum front grille, and six airbags.

Yes, it appears that the CVT gearbox will make a return to the Malaysian spec Honda City in this generation, instead of a five speed automatic. Both the Indian market and Thai market cars that we’ve seen unveiled this year so far also use a CVT gearbox.

Despite the mention of six airbags, curiously VSA stability control isn’t mentioned as one of the features. We hope this could just mean the extra mention would cause inconvenience in fitting every feature in a 9 box grid and the car eventually ends up with VSA stability control as standard on all models. With the second-generation car, only the E and E+ variants get VSA stability control. It would be great if VSA was standard on the Malaysian spec cars just like how it is in Thailand, where airbag count varies but VSA remains standard across all six Thai spec variants.

The features being teased will of course very likely only be standard for the top end variants, with niceties like cruise control and the seven inch display likely to be omitted from the cheaper variants. It’s still a question right now how many variants the third gen City will get.

honda-city-oto-2

An ad on our sister car classifieds website oto.my claims we’ll get four variants – S, S+, E and V, with a price range of between RM74k to RM89k. An estimated launch date of mid March 2014 is given, with first batch deliveries claimed to be in April.

Other than the features listed in Honda Malaysia’s official teaser, the oto.my ad also mentions VSA stability control, keyless entry, as well as HDMI and USB ports.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• heybadigol on Feb 15, 2014 at 7:38 pm

They also didnt mention the 8 speaker sound system, which was included in the Thai & Indian City. Hopefully it does make its way here.

The features here look like a massive win for the City in terms of specs anyway. Dare I say that even the larger segment Honda Civic & Mazda 3 seem rather naked compared to the City. The Mazda 3 doesnt even get cruise control nor leather seats, which is so basic for a car, they should be made compulsory for anything costing over RM100k. Not to mention most of the C segment cars dont have rear aircon, which is such a nice luxury car touch.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 147 Thumb down 7
    • kadajawi on Feb 15, 2014 at 7:58 pm

Some people don’t like leather in their car. I don’t think a car must have it. I’m fine without, even if the car costs 200k.

However I do like the specs here. I’m just a bit saddened that we won’t get to see a 2 airbag car looking really bad in ASEAN NCAP.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 47
      • mizuru on Feb 16, 2014 at 2:46 am

i still dont understand why people prefer leather seat.high end luxurios car use high end soft Nappa leather which is superior,but most low end car end up using faux synthetic leather which have more con than pro especially in hot damp climate in malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 7
        • Najib, where is the 30% you Promised? on Feb 18, 2014 at 8:34 am

Where is Najib’s promise of 30% reduction in car prices over a period of 5 years? Najib promised before the election that if we voted for him and BN, he would ensure that he would match PKR’s offer to reduce car prices. Najib himself quoted saying that the BN government would reduce car prices by up to 30% gradually over 5 years and we should trust BN. Infact he said BN always keeps to their word. 9 months have passed and nothing has been done. He promised last year!

Infact companies like Toyota and VW have increased their prices. How can Thailand sell this car cheaper with VSC and 6 airbags? Why do we get 2 airbags only? Malaysian lives not important for you Mr PM?

Its time to honour the AFTA treaty. Cannot be running away from it with all sorts of excuses. Now, runnning away already 10 years. If we can get CBU from Thailand cheaper, why not help the Malaysian people? We are struggling with high car, gas, petrol, electric, food prices already? Bangsa sendiri yang banyak susah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 7
      • AutoFrenz on Feb 16, 2014 at 8:00 am

Shame on you PROTON!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 95
      • Quite agree with “Some people don’t like leather in their car”. It’s very uncomfortable to sit on it after parking under hot sun for a long time.

• driver on Feb 15, 2014 at 9:59 pm

Generous spec indeed. Waiting or the official price announcement then.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
      • driver on Feb 16, 2014 at 8:13 am

on a second thought, how can you consider “platinum front grille” as an innovation?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
      • if based on Thai oni top spec SV+ get all those for RM75k..in US u can get Accord full spec for RM65k

• go live in US..U should happy..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 24
          • i just resonance wat some guys here said…i know we cannot get that price in ASEAN including brunei..

• Sgdude on Feb 19, 2014 at 4:47 am

Dude, check honda accord price in Japan…it will amaze you, also checkout the car price in Sg and its 50% downpayment…

• Vios is so lonely because everyone are better looking than him now!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 2
      • driver on Feb 16, 2014 at 8:00 am

vios never was a good-looking to begin with. LOL

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 5
        • But i think the first gen of vios is quite good looking but they getting worst! second is dugong and now is alien ship lolx

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 6
          • theanswer on Feb 17, 2014 at 9:13 am

they push too hard to look good and modern..end up weird bcause still using more or less previous measurement.

• No offence but I’ve seemed to be reading in most comments that there is an anticipation that there will be Leather seats, was there some rumor or stating leather seats will be implemented?

Still, the current City has what I belive is the most ingeneous seats for its segment, water resistent seats, something I hope will continue on this City.

• Halim on Feb 16, 2014 at 5:45 pm

Nice specs, beat all of its class really

• Sam Loo on Feb 17, 2014 at 11:31 am

no sam loo here says it can’t beat kimchi.
        because sam loo here loves kimchi so very much.

sam loo loves gangnam style and everything kimchi.

• Sam Loo on Feb 18, 2014 at 9:12 am

Hello, you wanna screen capture my avatar also dunno now to do properly, obviously a very unintelligent kimchi owner with a low literacy on I.T

• policeman on Feb 17, 2014 at 12:11 am

Rear aircon = luxury car touch?

Why bother with 8 speakers? With the awful soundproofing, road noise will be louder than the 8 speaker system.

• policeman on Feb 17, 2014 at 12:18 am

To the gullible ones thinking with all of these “features” the price is going to be at 89K, (lower than the current top grade) mark this post and come back once it’s launched and I’ll laugh at you.

Starting from 74K? Almost 10K cheaper than the current lowest spec. Really? What will the 74K spec do without?

Gullible!

• based on thai city…safety aspect remain intact oni airbag is different..oni top spec get all 6 airbag..the rest get 2 airbag..in car entertainment almost all omitted including 7″ LCD n get oni 4 speaker the SV and SV+ get the lcd n 8 speaker…others i cannot read in thais maa..

• laughed on Feb 23, 2014 at 1:52 am

i think u’re d 1 who will be laughed

• Moores on Feb 17, 2014 at 2:52 pm

I am quite bemuse that most Malaysians seems to buy car based on market perception. They like to compare whats in the car that others have or don’t have. Isn’t it we buy car based on what we like or what we need or what’s best that meets our requirement? I don’t buy car because other model offer more specs that I don’t need or not my priority. Anyway this is what I observed on Malaysians car buyers which is quite unique and very unlike to others outside Malaysia.

• MG250 on Feb 17, 2014 at 3:00 pm

A car is more than cruise control and leather seats. You can’t compare a B segment with C segment car. Beside bigger, Civic and Mazda 3 have better handling and comfort. Of course above all, totally different engine size and power. Even the build quality of these cars compare to City are totally different.

• roxasr on Feb 15, 2014 at 7:42 pm

nicely specced !!well done !!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 1
    • Sam Loo on Feb 15, 2014 at 9:55 pm

Yes the useless junk vios can gulung tikar soon

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 121 Thumb down 28
    • Sam Loo on Feb 16, 2014 at 4:39 pm

No Avatar means penipu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 14
      • dino years on Feb 16, 2014 at 8:59 pm

got avatar means sohai then i suppose…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
      • Sam Loo on Feb 17, 2014 at 11:28 am

yes, i am Sam Loo.
        am i like KIMCHI.
        i hate toyota.
        i hate vios.

whoever still buy vios after this is as stupid as Sam Loo.

• this time im with Sam Loo…no avatar means penipu

• yes. i agree with myself.
          i’m kzm. i only read utusan and i think malaysia is the bestest place to live in the entire universe.

• this guy do not has identity of his/her own…can not defend his/her opinion..had to choose this method..

• Sam Loo on Feb 18, 2014 at 9:43 am

You need a new pair of specs.

A low lifeform with little I.T knowledge like this kimchi owner that does not even know how to do screen capture like that sticks out like a sore thumb.

As the saying goes, you are what you drive, so unintelligent people drive low value low moral and untrustworthy cars

• Sam Loo on Feb 17, 2014 at 7:25 am

Great to see that there are still enough sor hai tai lan ngongs that buys Hyundais and sell them off within 15 months.

I will stick with trading Hyundais as the margin is the best, locally and for export

As for KIA owners, do use the car for the next 20 years, because you can’t even trade them in

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 13
      • drust on Feb 17, 2014 at 10:13 am

Mr. Sam Loo, why you so hate Kia? you have been thrashing them like nobody business. They are not so bad actually.

• Sam Loo on Feb 18, 2014 at 9:13 am

I don’t hate KIA.

I trade korean cars.

If KIA cannot be traded in, I will let you know.

• Hopefully the weirdness of steering handling should be improved..i have no idea why current city steering so hard to control.so heavy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 32
    • did your EPS light lit up, and what is your tire pressure ? ori rims and tyre size ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • jeremyng90 on Feb 15, 2014 at 10:29 pm

seriously ?! I drove it and i think it abit too light for my liking especially u drive high speed ……..

• Nasi lemak on Feb 16, 2014 at 8:34 am

Guess u still driving d/s 120y. Tatz y u nv experience the so called electrical power steering. U shud try proton wira 1st b4 city.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
        • dino years on Feb 16, 2014 at 9:00 am

i guess you only drive japanese carTs

• Besi Buruk on Feb 16, 2014 at 9:45 pm

Nobody restrict the number of words you can comment, so why all the junky words? Show some maturity in your language.

• kadajawi on Feb 16, 2014 at 11:14 pm

If the steering is too light that is an issue. A self centering and heavy steering helps in terms of comfort and safety. I can let go of my steering wheel at 150+ and the car will go straight. No need to correct. It’s perfect. Of course I won’t let go (just testing purposes), but it makes highway driving very relaxed.

Most new cars have a too light steering wheel…

• dino years on Feb 15, 2014 at 10:42 pm

HEAVY?? It’s like driving with a feather. No stability and comfort at speeds higher than 120km/h. Altho im sure city isnt meant to be driven fast anyway so that’s not really a problem.

Glad to see Honda is starting to give good specs. Toyota please follow suit soon?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
    • policeman on Feb 17, 2014 at 12:19 am

Because you are a weakling? Am I right? Stop being a poosy and try manual labour. Daffodil!

• Wilson on Feb 15, 2014 at 7:55 pm

Come on! Give me the full spec to impress me!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 18
  • Engineer on Feb 15, 2014 at 7:56 pm

If all of these specs is true.
    I would buy this.
    No doubt

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 0
  • hakim on Feb 15, 2014 at 8:00 pm

all these features put the vios to shame!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 3
  • No SUN ROOF…Why india spec got :<

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 60
    • kadajawi on Feb 15, 2014 at 9:01 pm

Malaysia needs sunroofs? You don’t get enough sun already?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 177 Thumb down 3
    • x-city on Feb 15, 2014 at 11:14 pm

want to sunbath in your car haaa?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 2
    • lolipop on Feb 16, 2014 at 7:03 am

hopefully bird will poop inside your car when u open the sunroof.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
    • Low Budget on Feb 16, 2014 at 10:51 am

With frequent thunder storms, hot and humid afternoon, noisy mat rempit motor cycles, black smoke and debris dropping from lorries, and sand dust flying from construction sites, do you need a sun roof, seriously?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • dewaSemut on Feb 15, 2014 at 8:04 pm

Pretty sad with the heftier price tag of Civic, Accord and CRV.. the features seem inferior as compared to their little brother City..

shame on you Honda Malaysia :(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 35
    • driver on Feb 15, 2014 at 10:03 pm

Perhaps this is the beginning. I reckon the big brothers will soon be well equipped. So for those who’s thinking of getting them, maybe should wait a little longer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
    • Steve on Feb 16, 2014 at 7:19 pm

Maybe Civic facelift coming soon? huhuhu

• I am highly anticipating the launch of this car, which according to my usual SA, is confirm to be march.

It’s weird that VSA is not confirm but instead six-airbags. I say this as HM has a reputation for fitting VSA standard across all but their Freed models, heck even the RM72k jazz gets it, and none of their CKD models bar the CRV 2.4l gets curtain airbags. So I’ll take this with a pinch of salt, but it’ll be beyond awesome if it has 6-airbags WITH VSC and I prize Stability control above all safety features(not that I turn a blind eye towards airbag-counts but I generally prefer to system that avoid any accident at all).

If the price stated is accurate, than the new city will be cheaper than the current one and will have a low spec(hopefully manual, the 1.5l I-vetc is an ideal manual engine)to compete with the Vios J. But I’ll take it with a pinch of salt, after all , prior to the new Vios launch, oto did state that it will have ESC/VSC

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 0
    • kadajawi on Feb 16, 2014 at 11:17 pm

Overseas features like 6 airbags and VSC are a given, and thus may not even be mentioned. Maybe Honda thinks along those lines and didn’t have space for VSC? Then again, they had space for a platinum (probably painted plastic…) front grille!

• Bye2 vios….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 1
  • But, will it outsell VIOS? This is Malaysia you know

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 6
    • City managed to overtake Vios in the sales chart back in 2009. Then, the cheap Vios J came out and retook the lead because there’s no equivalent (read: cheap) City model to compete against it.

Now, the Vios vs City third round should be Honda’s best chance to dominate the sales chart again. In any words, the consumers will have more to choose from.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 1
    • driver on Feb 15, 2014 at 10:20 pm

if so then that only says our buyers are either irrational or still not well-informed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
      • Tok Berlagak on Feb 18, 2014 at 7:16 pm

Any Japanese Car, with lower starting price.

Will Lead.

Example: Almera, Vios, City.

Almera high spec worst then Vios J spec.
        but some people still buy Almera.

reason = mind set @ RM69k almera.
        but, when see brochure, attracted to some additional features, so booked a better spec almera. ( which still loose to Vios).

Almera Vs Vios Vs City.
        just the same case.

City Vs vios.
        Vios is definitely more Comfort, more fuel saving and more reliable.
        City will have additional safety features.

*New Honda City = Made by DRB HicOm.
        The Proton Owner in Malaysia.

• Phoenix on Feb 15, 2014 at 8:18 pm

I hope auto climate control will be included as well

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
    • Hahaha on Feb 15, 2014 at 10:09 pm

Hahaha if its included it will be the best B-segment sedan loo (VSA too) but if the auto climate control is not included and it is priced reasonably, it will still outsell vios teehee! :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • But, will it outsell VIOS? This is Malaysia you know

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
  • All these goodies being offoered because of cost cutting measure by changing from 5 speed gearbox to CVT.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 39
    • don^don on Feb 16, 2014 at 2:52 am

bro, do you know that CVT is abit more expensive than conventional 5-speed? CVT is also lighter than conventional 5-speed. Also, less moving parts = more lasting transmission. And the programming part for CVT has improved vastly now. Have a look at Nissan’s CVT.

Only reason why it failed last time is because it’s still new and people are not used to it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • wkaka on Feb 16, 2014 at 12:49 pm

Please don’t spew your nonsense here, at least read up before talking rubbish

• Nonsense? I work in R&D and u think I no idea the differences between both systems? Cmon, u know how many mechanical parts compare to CVT and what is the cost to produce every single component by precision casting and machining? Don’t la syiok sendiri, if u like the car, go ahead, its all bout business only

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
        • Besi Buruk on Feb 16, 2014 at 10:47 pm

You don’t have to tell people what is your job to support your comments. If people don’t agree, let it be.

• Too many people here pretend to be smart ass, even a junk steel also pretend to be a solid gold

• walaweh on Feb 15, 2014 at 8:27 pm

if vsa n 6 airbags are available for the highest trim,even price at 90k,its a good buy. the space isnt far cry than the altis. if cheaper,its even better. kudos to honda.

toyota,now ur turn. honda already follow koreans n even proton foot steep even for non luxury segment. if others can do that without noticable increament in pricing, still u want to bulshitting us with ur statement bout costing n treat us badly. same as nissan. its time to step up the game.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 0
  • Quite well equipped for a Honda, Now if they price this right, this could be a big competitor to the Vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
  • wow! rear air cond vent and six airbags! really surprising me!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 0
  • This model would determine whether Honda overtakes Nissan being the second top foreign car manufacturer or even the top foreign car manufacturer which is Toyota since this segment of cars are the ones that has the highest sales volume.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • the full spec is definitely very worth it for 89k, B segment of the year

but they shouldn’t use the word “innovation” in their teaser or ads…. none of those are hardly ground breaking, in honda msia standard maybe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • walaweh on Feb 15, 2014 at 8:34 pm

using cvt isnt cost cutting measure. its not even related with the safety gadget offered.

i rather driving manual trans with 6 airbags n vsc rather than 5 speed auto with dual airbags only.

the gearbox is more important than ur life?no wonder toyota sell vios with 4 at n dual airbags only n it sell tremendously well in malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 4
    • Believe it or not, some people still associates safety to a car’s brand instead of looking at the spec sheet for equipped safety gizmos.

• Low Budget on Feb 16, 2014 at 10:56 am

Don’t think they think of safety, but the perception of whether the car can ‘tahan lama’, in this respect Toyota (any models) scores big.

• civic and accord owners probably need to hold back now

later honda release updated specs with 6 airbags lol. happened before with toyota (added VSA) and proton (added 6 airbags)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • Ryan.C on Feb 15, 2014 at 8:48 pm

Uncle stills love to buy vios for their son.
    same goes to toyota fans..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 13
  • i love my current city..very responsive n fuel save. obey command..always there whenever i need it..that is SPEED. The new city fitted with CVT gear box..have to test drive it to know whether it is as responsive as the current 5 speed city..interm of design and spec wise, the new one is champion

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • Denaihati on Feb 15, 2014 at 9:12 pm

not much changes for exterior but main changes additional
    -econ mode,
    -engine start button,
    -7″display, cruise control,
    -back to cvt gearbox(so smooth),
    -rear econ(rare for B-segment with this price range),
    -6 airbag(hope equipped for all variant) and 16″alloy(previously for Grade E and E+ ), so, it should be great choice…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • spongewai on Feb 15, 2014 at 9:14 pm

I dont mind about price and the variants but I just want to know how many features in all 4 specs

for example V got 6-airbag, vsa, reverse-camera with touchscreen audio etc

• IAmThePro on Feb 15, 2014 at 9:17 pm

Almera beats Vios in Jan 2014.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • Gently Speaking on Feb 17, 2014 at 8:40 pm

Most Almera on the road = RM69k.
      1 airbag.

People buy Almera, to Avoid buying Proton.

on the other side:
      Vios Imported 2 airbag, ABS EBD: RM77k.
      Almera Local Assembly 2 airbags, ABS EBD: RM76k.

• Proton Jebat on Feb 15, 2014 at 9:21 pm

Preve is still a better car…got a better specs too!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 97
    • Nah,don’t simply say that,the Prevé doesn’t have rear aircon vents ._.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 7
      • As if other C segments have rear aircond vebts in Malaysia, moreover proton cars aircond is very cool.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
        • hirulez on Feb 16, 2014 at 8:12 pm

Cerato is C segment, and have rear aircond, and the spec well equip too

• kadajawi on Feb 16, 2014 at 11:21 pm

The problem is by the time it is cold in the rear the front thinks they are at the north pole. Ok, for a sedan it’s not that bad, but it simply takes a while for the rear to cool down when there are no vents there, so it is a nice feature to have, despite the strong Proton aircon.

• Like hirulez said,and like the Cerato,other C-Seg like Peugeot 408 or Volkswagen Jetta has rear aircon vents.

If Proton’s AC is cool,great! Just top it up with rear vents = cool as heaven. I guess i ll forgive the Prevé,just add rear vents to their future cars (especially their upcoming D-Seg for the public). Malaysia,closest to the equator,and the cars from here has no rear vents,i once honestly thought ._.

• Albert lee on Feb 15, 2014 at 11:01 pm

Preve’s fuel consumption i s HORRIBLE.
      Wait till Mr.Najeeb makes another petrol price hike this year.At 1.4 ton,it is horribly overweight.Other competitors use very high tensile steel to reduce weight.Stripping Japanese cars of all the horrible duty structures,Proton can close shop tomorrow.
      Preve,alto locally produced is still overpriced even tho given maximum Gomen protection.
      Overseas,the Preve can’t compete at all.Don’t let Jeremy Clarkson get his hand on the Preve.Remember what happened to the Kelisa?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 29
      • iskhalifah on Feb 16, 2014 at 1:04 am

Horrible?? At 10-11km/L combined city/highway (CFE), I would say it’s OK, neither good nor bad. U have the torque that is similiar to other NA 2.0 engine at your disposal (FC like 2.0 of course) and u may also have the fuel consumption of 1.6 if u r gentle at throttle. U won’t get 13-14km/L like the Vios/City, but then can these 2 cars match the mid-range to top-range torque of CFE? Neither the 2.0 City/Altis can beat the CFE (refer to Paultan previous review).

All in all, it depends on how u foot the pedal bro.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 31
      • Why bother with JC, he is not even an engineer to begin with and then show is only for laugh. preve is 1.3tonne car, most C segment cars have similar weight. and the steel, sigh, it’s already got 5 star Australian NCAP safety rating.

bad FC? do you think vios can return 16km/l in bad traffic city driving? go out from cave.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
      • lolipop on Feb 16, 2014 at 7:12 am

Kelisa = Mira = Daihatsu = Japan

• Preve on Feb 16, 2014 at 7:31 am

Now I know Kelisa was made by Proton. TQ for this useful piece of information.

• Besi Buruk on Feb 16, 2014 at 10:53 pm

Reading is one part. Understanding is another part. Which is yours? I don’t think you are are both – from the statement you made.

• what? on Feb 16, 2014 at 4:20 pm

Like hell it is!! Dont compare proton shitbox cars to japanese brands la.Different class.Read up bastards!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • Besi Buruk on Feb 16, 2014 at 10:07 pm

Don’t get angry so easily – Not advisable for drivers – You may never live long on the road.

• Athlon88 on Feb 15, 2014 at 9:48 pm

Official launching date @ 18th March 2014

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • seancorr on Feb 15, 2014 at 9:57 pm

Wow this is a good move from Honda Malaysia if all the spec we want is confirmed. Now they need to update the Civic and Accord as those cars are more expensive.

• Potong salesman detected beep beep bepp

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
    • driver on Feb 15, 2014 at 10:27 pm

“beep beep beep”

LOL Bob!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • Besi Buruk on Feb 16, 2014 at 10:11 pm

Why detect here and there? Be direct and ask him if he is a “Potong” salesman? Don’t hide behind beep beep beep.

• Hehehe on Feb 15, 2014 at 10:14 pm

Yesssssss this car is really awesome! Honda Malaysia finally woke up! Lolzz Toyota ahh still in their sweet dreams nvr noe hw important VSC is.. Lol.. Cut cost? Vios’ body is equivalent to five star standard? Hahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • digir on Feb 15, 2014 at 10:14 pm

Standard features including leather seat and rear aircond? Wait and let the new Nissan Sylphy change the rule of the game.

• quoted from another forum

My Honda SA attended the product training and mentioned that Honda City will be launched on 13 March 2014. Quick ideas of the car:
    – four versions available, priced from RM7x,xxx to RM9x,xxx – no Manual version though
    – seven-inch touchscreen infotainment system, which supports a smartphone interface
    – automatic air-conditioning system with a touch-control panel
    – keyless entry with push-start ignition
    – cruise control
    – VSA stability control
    – six airbags
    – 5 years warranty
    – 10,000km service interval

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 0
  • nabill on Feb 15, 2014 at 10:49 pm

Dat cvt better have an oil cooler…

• Maybe the sportrim means new honda city also have hybrid engine because the spoke look like hybrid model

• alaneovx on Feb 15, 2014 at 11:12 pm

how about the paddle shift and rear disc brake???

• Albert lee on Feb 15, 2014 at 11:13 pm

The Vios has landed.The Almera is selling well.The City is coming this April.
    What is coming out from PROTON?SUPER PRIMA?SUB PRIME SPORTIVO?SUPER RACING TURBO ?JOM HEBOH CARNIVALS ?
    Proton,time is running out.Without new models with a replacement engine,you are living on borrowed time.
    Might as well mass retrench ,redeploy Proton staff to Perodua,UMW,Naza,Berjaya etc.Just get a huge AP to bring in other cars like what Naza is doing and
    let us Malaysians buy Toyotas,Nissans and Hondas at affordable prices.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 37
  • Between this and Proton Inspira 2.0P, which would be a better value buy?

• dino years on Feb 16, 2014 at 7:54 am

Proton inspira as you write, is a 2.0, so obviously

power: proton

handling: proton

features: about same

space: inspira

refinement: maybe honda

quality: honda

safety: certainly honda, inspira isnt really a proton and doesnt come with their normal safety.

of course most importantly for malaysians,

FACE: ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • kadajawi on Feb 16, 2014 at 11:23 pm

City. If the choice would be between the Preve and the City… the Preve might win. But the Inspira… it lacks all the safety features the City and the Preve have. I think if these specs are true the City is a genuinely decent car.

• Matchy on Feb 15, 2014 at 11:22 pm

Platinum front grill more important than VSA…? Hope they will include VSA in all variant…

• waiting..♡

• Beat the traffic on Feb 15, 2014 at 11:56 pm

I have a 2008 6 years old vios and a 3 weeks old E spec City. I thought I have a good buy of the Honda City after getting a discount of RM 7888. Really dissapointed with the 120 hp City, No power at all! The steering is really hard as described by someone earlier. FC is lousy at City driving.

My vios still can reach 160 km/h even already clock 210000 km, tested at Maju Expressway last month. Excellent FC even its already 6 years old. My next car is definitely is going to be a Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 85
    • lol bring the city to the highway. it will smoke that vios easily once it reach 5th gear

and when this this new city come out, it will smoke the vios in acceleration because of the cvt

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 47
    • Beat the traffic on Feb 16, 2014 at 12:41 am

Dont just thumb down , give gentleman discussion. Toyota entry Vios already using DOHC while even Accord 2,0 still using SOHC. No wonder Toyota is the taiko worldwide.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 42
      • dino years on Feb 16, 2014 at 9:04 am

dohc, sohc tohc, zohc, all technical speak saje. seriously for vios/city market, that extra 1 sec of acceleration is hardly important. it’s the safety that counts: i spy with my little eye, no vsc, and dual airbags in vios, even the TRD one. Oops.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • Toyo salesman detected !!!

• Besi Buruk on Feb 16, 2014 at 10:19 pm

People who comment negative on Toyota = Toyo salesman detected? You nose and ears have better sense than an animal!!!

• Test first on Feb 16, 2014 at 2:05 am

So, your point is everyone should have a test drive before buying any car? You should be able to get a feel about power, handling and comforts of a car in a test drive.

• Besi Buruk on Feb 16, 2014 at 10:20 pm

That should be the way.

• Joker on Feb 17, 2014 at 11:40 am

What i really don’t understand is those people test driving the car don’t actually push the car to the limit to test the acceleration, braking distance, cornering speed (understeer/oversteer), turning radius, steering response, gear smoothness etc… I notice alot are test driving at 40km/h.. How is that a test drive???

• dino years on Feb 16, 2014 at 7:52 am

if by that you mean that the vios steering is even lighter than the honda’s steering that’s terrible, no wonder vios drivers always get into accidents.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • Lookman on Feb 16, 2014 at 8:57 am

My City 2013 easily pawned vios on hiway. So far quite fuel efficient in town driving. I managed to get 17-20km/l if cruising on hiway 90-110km/h.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • Is your three week old city happen to be second hand 1st gen version?
      I basically clocked 150kph(averegaed 130kph)during CNY and got around 10-12km/l….basically a RM60 full tank in my city E can go to and fro the 198 km KL-Kuantan route with abit more to spare. The City is also a fairly nippy car when you use those paddle-shifters making the engine work. Like I said before, problems with my City includes poor low-end torque and horrible NVH. But as for driving wise, having sat in all but the latest Vios, I can say the Vios is tune in for comfort and has the NVH-edge over the Honda, but the city just win the driving-part. maintaining a 40/50kph throu a hairpin turn is rather impressive for me.

• dugong on Feb 16, 2014 at 5:39 pm

Your dugong is paperweight of course feels fast la. A kancil drive at 80kmh also feels damn fast wat. Use your brain la. City weights alot more than dugong. Speed 160kmh in that empty shell? You’re lucky to still be alive.

• GrenPa on Feb 18, 2014 at 4:22 pm

City is only slightly more heavy compared to vios.

Almera is the lightest despite the biggest in size.

• city power will only kick in after 3000rpm, vtec only open if u press the gas pedal hard enuf after 3000 rpm, u have to get use to i-vtec b4 comment, any car can go 160km/h , get the fact right,steering wil get light in slow driving and heavy if drive fast, it is gud 4 u

• both of them get smoked by preve..

• rchoo on Feb 16, 2014 at 12:05 am

Sorry everybody, offtrack a bit.

I need a confirmation on this AES Speed camera supposedly at KM 309 LEBUH RAYA UTARA – SELATAN (E0001) located around Kampar coordinate being 101.14151 4.193372 speed 110Km/Hr. On checking at GPS internet site, it was found not on this NS Expressway (as claimed by JPS) but on this off road of Jalan Kampar – Changkat Jong. Anybody who knows please confirm, appreciate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
  • great spec, if they can top it up with optional
    leather seats, gps, & reverse camera that would be perfect!

• NISSpengAN on Feb 16, 2014 at 12:47 am

Still can’t beat my mighty Nissan Almera

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 53
    • Your almera is a total rip off with just one airbag , no VSC. What it has is only the spacious cabin which I think the new city would be comparable as they have increased the dimention of the city

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • what the hell? on Feb 16, 2014 at 4:27 pm

A big NO to you man.Almera may be a nissan but no offence they build excellent machines like murano and the Mighty GTR(shitbox recond junk cars here in bolehland!),honda city is much more powerful to drive and has way better build quality over ur outdated Almera.Again check compare both and u will surely know which is better.Both have different class one.Hahaha…

• Besi Buruk on Feb 16, 2014 at 10:30 pm

Sometimes, I wonder why people must laugh after their own comments? Which part in your statement is funny that you laughing at?

• hakim on Feb 16, 2014 at 9:09 pm

Even if the new facelift Almera available here in malaysia, the almera still can’t win over city.

• Almera = A point to B point transportation.
        Vios = Reliable, peace of mind.
        City = Power of Honda
        Polo sedan = Logo, tough metal structure.

• shawal on Feb 16, 2014 at 1:10 am

Itl hv 2 more airbags than d accord

• shawal on Feb 16, 2014 at 1:10 am

Itl hv 2 more airbags than d accord

• I’ll get the full spec :)
    cheers honda u got me with all those spec.

• Guys, take a look at this, then you’ll get to know which car is a better choice!
    https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10203520164709151&set=gm.731942246824814&type=1&theater

• hakim on Feb 16, 2014 at 9:06 pm

it seems vios being T.K.O by the City.

• yeah, even MyVi & Saga precede Vios in term of Child Occupant Protection NCAP rating! :O

• Even if those features put on high end variant, Honda manage to put VIOS to the shame. Love 6 airbags n rear aircond

• Never know the front grille is a platinum,and not chrome?Honda really throwing everything to fight against Vios,salute!!!
    Waiting for 13 March launching,then will go book my City,YEAH

• Megane on Feb 16, 2014 at 8:44 am

Ugly as shit .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 50
    • Besi Buruk on Feb 16, 2014 at 10:34 pm

I know shit is ugly. You don’t have to mention to everyone.

• Good job honda on Feb 16, 2014 at 9:54 am

This is how Malaysians should be treated. Fair price and unbeatable features.
    Good riddance to umw and it’s cronies stalking this website.
    Without new city, vios sales already big flop. Now really vip vios.
    Do spread the word about the new upcoming city guys. Good job honda Malaysia.
    Can’t wait to see toyo salesman face hilat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
    • dugong on Feb 16, 2014 at 5:43 pm

vip vios? you mean RIP vios!

Actually those vios drivers really think they are VIP.

• hahaha on Feb 16, 2014 at 11:01 am

around 80k with all of that spec will be fantastic! my only slight complain will be that the rear design look similar to the BMW and doesn’t match the car

• Man Accord no CVT on Feb 16, 2014 at 11:50 am

Man, I wish the current Malaysia Accord can equip with CVT which is same as US Accord and new City. The CVT on US Accord was getting good review and good FC.

• james on Feb 16, 2014 at 3:09 pm

Est. to be price fr. 75-95k based on thailand pricing…converted thailand price to RM+RM8k

• City Owner on Feb 16, 2014 at 3:30 pm

Just placed my booking yesterday. Hope can get mine in April.

• tklim on Feb 16, 2014 at 4:47 pm

gearbox 27k , aye or nay?

• How you know? 27k is the CVT old City wor. Trying to spread rumours again? Heh. Plus the old idsi/vtec City have flywheel problem which can be solved in 1k+-. Only you who has no idea go say 27k.

• honda city lover on Feb 16, 2014 at 6:13 pm

I wish the new honda city 2014 will be cheaper maintenance with 10k service interval available.

• Sam Loo on Feb 16, 2014 at 8:29 pm

As long as its not a kimchi, you will be assured of the lowest TCO, and zero maintenance headaches and no breakdown nightmares

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
      • As long as on Feb 16, 2014 at 10:38 pm

As long as umw and all it’s cronies and salesman who spew crap about rv go holland, I don’t care if kimchi island sink to bottom of sea.
        Good job honda malaysia! Ur accord beat Camry kao kao. Ur new city will beat vios Kao Kao. Now u just need to bring ur civic up to par, and umw can close shop except selling its hilats. Bring in the upcoming euro civic pls!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
      • das auto on Feb 16, 2014 at 11:13 pm

So what? But they get conned and scammed big time by paying 90k upfront for a junk product ( vios ) worth 50k only at most. And to top it up most of the ah beng take 9 yr loan and pay hefty interest for this upfront premium. Ada gaya maah….hahahahah betul betul sohai!!!

• WastingTime on Feb 17, 2014 at 10:42 am

What’s wrong with 9 years loan? I doubt, do you own a car, if yes, I bet it’s your parents who help u paying installment or perhaps driving an old crap of junk.

Mind you, interest rate for new car only between 2~3+%. It won’t hurt your pocket too much. If can’t afford, walk away. Don’t ever think of buying a car at first place.

There are many people who bought Proton Saga SV also tie to 9 years loan. What’s wrong with that. This is a subject of affordability. Please exercise your brain prior condemn on others.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
          • das auto on Feb 17, 2014 at 2:33 pm

Halo brader, how u know about my life? Please don’t jump to stupid conclusions about ppl. All my cars i buy and take loan 5-7 yrs myself. Yes nothing is wrong with 9 yr loan if you really can afford the car. I did that once too.
            But uncle sam was talking about TCO. So wat i am saying is the 90k vios with 9 yr interest will end up around 115k already. Paying a very high premium for something worth next to nothing. So the TCO is way way too high.
            So please exercise your poor brain too b4 u jump the gun.

• dugong on Feb 17, 2014 at 2:39 pm

You must be one of those butt-hurt ah bengs that earn RM2k a mth and can buy vios and take 9yr loan to show off….but eat maggi everyday. Kakakakakaka

• PityIdiot on Feb 17, 2014 at 3:30 pm

Nope, I don’t even need to spend a single cent on car loan & maintenance in the last 10 years not even on repair, parking fee, road tax & insurance. All covered by employer. Unlike you still need to match the repayment deadline, idiot!

• Pity wasting time on Feb 17, 2014 at 4:22 pm

Though car loan is relatively cheap. It is a measure of your affordability. If you need to stretch to 9 yrs, better consider a cheaper car to suit your budget.

• Sam Loo on Feb 18, 2014 at 9:19 am

Kimchis will need to catch up with the Chinese car makers now that Tiongkok car makers are capturing more and more market share

• CVT huh, ….smooth ride, low fc….sound good to consumer huh. those mechanical expert know what’s the reason behind, no kidding if u look at their BOM comparison, u should know how much money they save switching to this rubbery feel tranny

• So if they really saved money, we do get more and more safety features and equipments. Which is actually, a good thing.

• Say Who? on Feb 16, 2014 at 9:21 pm

I’m absolutely like this… very nice specs… nice one Honda… although I’ll never buy honda…but I’ll recommending friend to buy this City.. ;) nice!

;) looking forward to Proton GSC..

• Honda on Feb 16, 2014 at 10:43 pm

The best launch for this year from honda. Bravo. Booked . Delivery end march. Very happy. Many thanks Honda. I have enough with potong. My first Jap car. Very happy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • Besi Buruk on Feb 16, 2014 at 11:03 pm

When you want to condemn someone, say it directly. Remember ‘Potong’ not equal ‘Proton’

Remember the famous Malaysian lawyer’s quote – ‘Sounds like me, looks like me, but is not me’

• Berann on Feb 17, 2014 at 10:35 am

Problematic CVT only for Honda City before facelift(2003-2005). After facelift i think no more issue as long as changing gearbox oil every 20k. My City facelift now clocked at 130k 7 years no problem at all..same to my bro IDSI 8 years. My other car CR-Z also CVT.. very responsive and no more rubbery feel and so far no complaint at all from cr-z owners. I think they have changed new version of CVT vs CVT used 10 years ago in 2003 Honda City.

• Ameramar on Feb 17, 2014 at 10:51 am

I went to Honda dealer last Saturday. He said there are 4 variants will be introduced. two of the highest will be equipped with 7speed cvt + superb specs. one thing that let me down was no paddle shifter even for the full spec one. is it worth it for me to buy it fellas?

• Do you really need the paddle shifter?

• Ameramar on Feb 17, 2014 at 4:04 pm

I might need. i might not. but why they not equip new city with paddle shift? it’s like a step backward. Preve also offers 7speed cvt but withpaddle shifter

• kangkung Vios on Feb 18, 2014 at 8:53 am

Bros, The CVT problem bcoz of the frequently or througly engaging of paddle shift to play with the gearbox drag and overrev, thefore they are removing the paddle shift to reduce CVT problem. Honestly, paddle shift for modern car can never use also, am I rite? notice many cvt model car also try not to paddle shift it so it can reduce gear box problem occur.

• iqbal87 on Feb 19, 2014 at 1:55 pm

correct.. correct.. correct..

i rather have the auto cruise compared to the paddle shift..

• Xplorer on Feb 17, 2014 at 10:55 am

I would like to clarify is the 2014 City still using the old CVT 7 Speed Tech or a totally brand new CVT 7 Speed gearbox?

Anyone got such information ?

TQ.

• BookTheNewCityNow on Feb 17, 2014 at 11:04 am

Sir, No more using the old problematic IDSi technology, the new CVT gearbox now is quite reliable now. Place your booking now, before the queue grow too long..

• breeze on Feb 18, 2014 at 6:10 pm

my 2003 IDSI mileage already knocked 258k km, no CVT gearbox problem at all. Just keep 20k km CVTF gear oil change. Not concern with IDSI, IDSI is the engine with 8 plug. So far, just bearing of the tayar rim and aircon compressor failure only. in years just changed them 1 time. Love smooth CVT gearbox. Normal urban drive can reach 17km/L. Good design. Well done Honda. Even My 2013 civic 2.0 can reach 14km/L in urban drive. My next target car is the Accord, maybe wait for the next generation of Accord. 2018, may get cheaper price. Like them so much because of the car handling is good. Cheer

• nas1098 on Feb 17, 2014 at 11:55 am

hi can i know does this honda city 2014 used timing chain or not?

• breeze on Feb 18, 2014 at 6:25 pm

Now all new car should be using timing chain already, no more belt.

• lexfu on Feb 17, 2014 at 11:57 am

Hope they bring in the Manual Transmission, Toyota did it so long ago why not Honda?

• Toyota Vios J, imported.
    2 airbags, ABS, EBD. RM77k.

Nissan Almera, local assembled.
    2 air bags, ABS, EBD. RM76k

honda city,
    RM75k+
    but, made by DRB Hicom, the Proton Owner in Malaysia.

Gonna book a Vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 21
    • RejimKejamGanas on Feb 18, 2014 at 4:16 am

Because UMW is a much better crony? Not sure what you are getting at.

• Sam Loo on Feb 18, 2014 at 9:15 am

Bro, as long as you do not head down the path of buying kimchis, you can be rest assured of peace of mind

• someone on Feb 18, 2014 at 11:44 am

Vios imported???

• Proton Jebat on Feb 18, 2014 at 9:42 am

Innovation??? Proton dah ada lama dah semua. Push Start button, Touch Screen…

• breeze on Feb 18, 2014 at 6:28 pm

Actually Proton car is good, but QC problem only.

• VW got high QC.

but the car is no good.

What say u??

Reliability is not due to low defect only.
      Half baked Reseach is another main issue.

• breeze on Feb 19, 2014 at 4:49 pm

you r right, should be good R&D design + good QC. Then that will be a good product in the market.

• BMW fanbooi on Feb 18, 2014 at 7:27 pm

Honda Accord ->Proton Accordana.

Honda City -> Proton Citizen?

• mohd fairuz on Feb 20, 2014 at 3:40 pm

Hai. call me if you need a honda at 012-3573790 Thank you guys

• steve on Feb 20, 2014 at 4:55 pm

I understand there will be the s spec version.
    Does anyone know the detail spec for it and the pricing?

• rf Hard! on Feb 20, 2014 at 5:55 pm

comments in paultan is always much more interesting than the story itself. rf rf rf
    sry for being out of topic.

• OnlyTheTruth on Mar 10, 2014 at 1:59 pm

Trust me…i bought the latest Vios. Its quality is at least 10% lower. I had the first model…much better. Made a mistake of trusting Toyota Malaysia. It is a tin-can. Roof has a terrible noise when raining. Lower quality suspension. I would give better scores for Proton for trying hard at least. Toyota Malaysia is messing around with quality for higher profits. Please don’t buy the latest Vios.

• IpohMali on Mar 17, 2014 at 8:18 pm

i’ve been informed my 1 of the manager the delayed was cause by the Custom Department. they rejected Honda application because Honda declared this model using 1496cc engine but the real cc was 1502. huge different with the custom tax. estimated launching by end of this month & 1st batch delivery to buyers by mid April.

• disappointed on Apr 06, 2014 at 11:14 am

Test drove the new Honda City. Engine was terribly noisy under the slightest touch of gas pedal, while all the strenuous engine noise did not transform into acceleration. It felt sluggish and under power.

Guess the flock of people who placed booking before even test driving the new City, does not mind all these at all.

• Martin on Apr 07, 2014 at 9:53 pm

Is it really worth to go for Honda City E or Toyota vios ? which one maintenance cost lower in Malaysia road which full with holes and bumpers..please advice