DRIVEN: W212 Mercedes E-Class facelift – E 200, E 250

W212_Merc_E-Class_Facelift_E200_E250_review_04

It has long been the car for the prosperous – the premium sedan with unequalled class and an impressive bloodline. But the Mercedes-Benz E-Class has lately become a victim of its own success, upstaged by sharper and younger competitors, deposed as the crown prince of million-dollar apartment car parks.

And although it doesn’t really matter that ubiquity faces this latest W212 iteration, it certainly is important that the evolutionary E-Class should win its spurs as the most comfortable and rounded mid-sized luxury cars around. The standard range of E 200 and E 250 – both in Avantgarde trim this time – should see to that.

For many, Mercedes defined the premium executive class long ago with the E-Class and its long line of predecessors. The market has since been swamped by talented upstarts, but is it just a case of definitely maybe, as the latest facelifted W212 arrives to clean up in Malaysia? Read on to find out.

W212_Merc_E-Class_Facelift_E200_E250_review_11

Reflecting its pedigree, the E 200 – the likely best-seller in the locally-assembled range – is priced at RM366,888, and is hardly a stripped-out price leader as the various base models before it. As irrelevant as it may be in this price bracket, that makes it close to RM2,000 cheaper than the equivalent BMW 520i LCI.

Going up against the 528i M Sport LCI is the E 250 Avantgarde, and here again the Mercedes undercuts its Munich rival – RM405,888 plays RM419,800. There are significant caveats though, as the Bimmer comes with 34 extra horses (but the same torque) and is dressed in full M Sport package inside and out.

To get the corresponding AMG Sports package, you’ll have to up your budget to RM493,888 for the range-topping E 400. That nets you a 333 hp/480 Nm 3.0 litre turbo V6 instead of the 2.0 litre turbo fours in the models above, so that’s another ballgame altogether, which we will cover at a later date.

W212_Merc_E-Class_Facelift_E200_E250_review_23

For now, it’s time for the E 200 and E 250 variants of the W212 Mercedes E-Class facelift range to prove their worth. The outgoing models have been around since 2009, and though still formidable, needless to say they’re getting on a bit. Something’s got to change, then, and quite a few things have.

This time around, Mercedes’ great strengths of solidity and quality are paired with newfound flair and fun to take on the beguiling 5 Series and all its allures – glamorous, exciting and above all, uplifting to drive. All the improvements team up to give the BMW an honest fight, if not a bloody nose.

The latest E-Class’ opinion-dividing styling has already been the subject of much analysis, so let’s keep things simple here. Imagine a down-scaled W222 S-Class wrapped in the current-shape E-Class, and you’ve got the broad picture. It’s certainly adventurous in style, this facelift, but it still exudes class and bearing.

Gone are the four separate lenses up front, replaced by huge one-a-side headlight clusters. Mercedes claims that the flowing LED daytime-running light elements within the units ensure that the “four-eyed” look, typical of the E-Class, has been graphically retained. We say it’s different, if not exactly better, than before.

Paired with the largely-unchanged rear end, the bold, individualistic visage look untidily lop-sided. It appears as if each end had been designed independently of each other, then forced to sit together on the same car, which is probably not very far from the truth. Like the later incarnations of the R230 SL-Class, it’s unfortunate to fall in between two distinct eras of Mercedes design languages.

It’s a case of damned if you do, damned if you don’t, really. Mercedes had already tried to reinvent the wheel with the original W212 E-Class (to good effect), and to upstage that proved to be a lot tougher than BMW’s task of updating its F10 5 Series, which was comparatively conservative even five years ago.

W212_Merc_E-Class_Facelift_E200_E250_review_28

Still, the Merc’s wider stance, massive star grille and conjoined headlights instil terrific road presence. A classic beauty it definitely isn’t, but you’d get noticed in one of these, which is more than can be said of the omnipresent 5er, now even more so post its blink-and-you’ll-miss-it LCI (BMW-speak for mid-life update).

Less noticeable but even more significant are the changes under the hoods. While Jaguar is just joining the engine down-sizing party with its XF and XJ models (using Ford-sourced motors), Mercedes engineers have mastered it long before it was cool. Who knew the folks over at Stuttgart are such hipsters.

Thus, the latest E-Class gets Mercedes’ third-generation down-sized petrol engines, labelled BlueDIRECT. This new turbocharged family replaces the older CGI mills, which in turn superseded the original Kompressor range. Novelties on this one include spray-guided direct-injection and multi-spark ignition, among others.

Both the new E 200 and E 250 now use 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder units, in place of the old 1.8 litre lumps. Naturally, then, their outputs soar higher than before. The base model retains the same 184 hp power figure, but now with 30 Nm more torque, at 300 Nm, achieved much lower in the rev range than before.

The E 250 step-up boasts higher power and torque figures. It now has 211 hp and 350 Nm of torque, as opposed to the older engine’s 204 hp and 310 Nm. Standard on both new models is a 7G-TRONIC seven-speed automatic transmission. That’s one gear down on BMW’s ZF eight-speeders and two down on Merc’s own new 9G-TRONIC.

With such modest upgrades, the biggest gains are in fuel efficiency rather than outright performance, which you can study in detail here. In fact, the new E 200 is no quicker than before – same 7.9-second 100 km/h time – while its 233 km/h top speed is only 1 km/h faster. Good to know, then, that it’s 10% more efficient at 5.8 litres per 100 km.

W212_Merc_E-Class_Facelift_E200_E250_review_14

These figures compare favourably to the BMW TwinPower Turbo-powered 520i, which does 0-100 km/h in 8.0 seconds, has a 226 km/h top speed and is claimed to average 6.4 litres per 100 km. A Mercedes that goes faster and use less fuel than the equivalent BMW? It’s a win-win all around.

Also claimed to return 5.8 litres per 100 km (12% less than before), the new E 250 gets to 100 km/h in 7.4 seconds, an improvement of 0.3 seconds. Likewise, top speed jumps up 3 km/h, to 243 km/h. That’s significantly more efficient than the BMW 528i (6.8 litres per 100 km), but slower by the same margin too (0-100 km/h in 6.3 seconds, 250 km/h top speed).

There’s no need for a stopwatch, actually. You can tell from its smooth, near-effortless pick-up that the facelifted E-Class is a faster breed than the one it replaces. Yes, even the E 200, despite its identical performance claims, feels better than before through the seat of your pants. There’s a lot more down low now.

The ultra-slick transmission no longer needs to mask the top-end peakiness of the old powerplants, or its languor in the lower rev reaches. The previous impression of sluggishness compared to the equivalent BMWs is now vanquished, as the new engines waft along quietly as you’d expect of a Mercedes-Benz.

Each gear slurring imperceptible into the next, engine humming sweetly, both models belie their modest specifications with a newfound gutsiness. The torque hikes translate well on the roads – there’s now a muscular eagerness about the way the engines react to your right foot.

Just like on the BMWs, you’ll no longer miss having a six-cylinder engine up front, as even when lumbering around in top gear, the BlueDIRECT mills get on with the job with endearing spirit and little noise. Press on, and the engine responds with a smooth and discreet soundtrack that would please the driver, but perhaps not the passengers.

Driving one of these, you naturally head out to the open highways rather than tight back roads. It seems the appropriate thing to do. It’s not that the E-Class is incompetent in the chassis department. It’s just that the F10 5er has a small advantage over the Mercedes because its quicker steering is a tad sharper and more alert.

Where smaller, more delicate input would suffice in the BMW – and to a lesser degree, the Jaguar XF too – the E-Class requires a bigger commitment. Comparisons to its more dynamically-sound rivals aside, though, it feels very mature and sophisticated, combining an exemplary ride with adequate, idiot-proof handling.

There’s one major snag, however. Whereas you’d expect a car this size to feel imperturbably steady, both models, which run on an identical passive suspension system (non-adjustable), are surprisingly susceptible to slight twitching of the rear end through quick undulating corners.

If you like the occasional back road blast (and for whatever reason insist on having a big executive sedan like this), get the BMW 5 Series. Or the Jaguar XF. Or even the Lexus GS for that matter. As far as outright handling goes, the Mercedes-Benz E-Class trails them all, but betters the Audi A6 (lifeless steering) and Infiniti M/Q70 (more boat-like than sports sedan).

No, you’d buy the Mercedes for its static accommodation and dynamic comfort. It’s still the one to have to be chauffeured in, what with its hugely comfortable seats and, by class standards, above average head- and legroom. The boot is cavernous too, at 540 litres (20 litres more than the F10 BMW), while the retractable drop down “basket” is a super-convenient addition.

Noise and refinement? Driven with restraint on smooth roads, the E-Class is very quiet. When the going’s rough, though, the wind and tyre roar can be aggressive intruders, especially on the E 250 with its low profile Bridgestone Potenza RE050A tyres – 245/40 R18 up front and 265/35 R18 at the back.

W212_Merc_E-Class_Facelift_E200_E250_review_41

That’s not exactly what you’d expect from a car bearing the three-pointed star, that’s for sure, and you’d be surprised to find that the 5 Series is marginally more refined, and even more comfortable. Bosses, get the driver to take things slowly, and swap the high performance tyres for comfort-biased ones, for the E-Class is not built for corners, nor should it be equipped for such antics.

Up front, the sombre black dashboard – now mostly covered in leather – is an object lesson in quality, not clarity. There’s a clinical efficiency to the general button layout – with crisp switchgears and nice instruments – but the COMAND system is still as clunky to use now as it was when it was first introduced.

W212_Merc_E-Class_Facelift_E200_E250_review_47

While BMW’s iDrive has evolved (with dedicated function keys around the new touch-sensitive controller) to what is now considered the industry standard bearer for such systems, Mercedes’ COMAND has hardly been improved at all. The screen and the view behind the new steering wheel look nicer now, but they all work the same way as before.

Alas, that’s just nitpicking. After all, it takes all but a few hours to get used to the way it works, and the traditional buttons on the fascia offer an alternative way to work most of the available controls. And at its worst, it’s still miles better than Lexus’ infuriating Remote Touch system and the low-res touch-screen display you get in the Infiniti M/Q70.

W212_Merc_E-Class_Facelift_E200_E250_review_15

And that’s how the rest of the car is, really. It’s good at what it does (classy image, road presence and improved engines), even great at times (class-leading fuel efficiency, ride comfort, build quality), but its overall appeal is tinged by minor disappointments (so-so handling, lapses in refinement and ergonomic issues).

The exterior additions, regardless of what you think of it, adds masses of youthful zeal to the traditional Mercedes-Benz E-Class that we all know, and most of us love. At its core, however, it remains the old dependable – solid, comfortable, safe, dependable and ultimately, unexciting.

As beguiling entertainment, as a car to flirt with, it hardly registers a twitch on the grin scale. But for those of mature years who put the Mercedes’ age-old virtues above character and verve, the W212 E-Class facelift is an admirable means of transport – and a terrific car to own. And there’s absolutely nothing wrong with that.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• DerekYo on Feb 15, 2014 at 1:35 am

Hey Hafriz, remember me?

Great review as usual – informative, good fun to read and neutral as always, but hey, had an off shooting day, did you mate? Not that the pictures are bad, they’re still better than most, actually, just that they’re not up to your normal standards, both magazine days and now.

And is that Keshy Dhillon, your replacement at Autocar Asean in the car? No offence to him, but I’ve to say the magazine is in a sorry state now. Not that I want you to go back, I’d rather read your reviews here for free :) but my goodness that mag needs some help.

Anyway, continue the great work here, love all your insights. Just be mindful of the pictures, mate :)
    Cheers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 4
    • Curry mee on Feb 15, 2014 at 9:13 am

The future is the web so all these second rate people running the magazines now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
      • Buyer Beware! - Advice on RV on Feb 17, 2014 at 11:04 am

Buy an E class or a BMW F10 if you are very rich and don’t care about RV. Most E class buyers are not really very rich as they are normal people just achieving their dreams to own a Mercedes. This is because the E class or the BMW F10 drops more than RM150,000 in value in just the first year alone.

Last year, in October 2013, I was looking to buy an E250. I got a shock to see 2013 models, just a few months old going for less Rm250,000.

Then I found out, MBM themselves were clearing brand new E250 with zero milegae for RM270,000. Mind you, brand new, it is RM420,000.

So, moral of the story is this. Don’t buy a brand new E class. If MBM themselves can throw prices and reduce existing year made stock in the same year for more than RM150,000 less, you can imagine how the second hand value of your E class would be. In this case, MBM was selling their E250 for RM150,000 less, brand new car (420,000 – 270,000).

So collapse lah the 2nd hand market for E class. That is why you can get a good near brand new 2012 CBU E250 in December 2013 for RM180,000.

The same with BMW. Buyer beware. BMW also loves to throw prices. Last year in 2013, they were selling their 2013 pre reg 520i cars for RM250,000. Cars that are just few months old. Brand new is RM368,888. So you can imagine how the 2nd hand market took to it because BMW themselves threw prices.

So to all those buyers who work hard to buy their dream car, please be aware of depreciation and RV. In your first year alone, your car drops RM150,000!. Later when you sell your car, you got to top up your loan by more than RM150,000!

It is better you just go and buy a second hand BMW or Mercedes because the depreciation of the 2nd year onwards is very minimal. It is the first year that most BM and Mercedes owners get a shock of their lives. What to do? If principal themselves throw prices like that, the 2nd hand market also will have to follow accordingly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 10
        • I believe the price quoted for E250 referred to the pre-face lift stock which MBM has to clear fast since the face-lift model was introduced in August 2013.

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Feb 15, 2014 at 12:30 pm

Derek, good to hear from you, buddy! It’s been a while :).

Full apologies for the pictures. The ultra-harsh seaside sunlight wasn’t ideal for shooting silver and especially black cars, hence the forced over-exposure. But no excuses for sub-standard work, I’m sorry, and it’ll business as usual in the next review, I promise.

And thanks for the compliments. Appreciate it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
    • rossi on Feb 15, 2014 at 10:35 pm

I totally agree with you that Autocar ASEAN section, especially the Malaysian part article is totally crap. I am totally amazed at how the HQ is Britain can let the local journalist go on the usual crap without any quality review before publishing. Every editions bought surely have some lousy piece of reviews done. Mostly, the current journalist contradicts their own points in the same review, and they can write some low class comments such as –
      – In the latest Corolla Altis review, stating that people buy Korean for the specs and features, yet in a long term ownership, sort of like will suffer in reliability compared to Toyotas. (Mind you, I am not Korean supporter, and sceptical towards them, but you just have to review professionally). And the journalist also say Corolla cannot match the specs and refinement of Koreans, yet later praised how comfortable and quiet the Corolla is,…ISN’T THAT CALLED GOOD REFINEMENT???????? Yet they said Koreans refinement are better after praising excellent Toyota refinement.

– Toyota Vios review, the stupid journalist brings into discussion the points mentioned online (especially here I think) about how terrible and outdated the specs is, but praised the Vios as a good everyday car… I mean, that’s low class type of editorial to include such things into magazines like Autocar.

– Honda Accord review by some lady called Lynda??? or something like that?
      The whole piece is so bloody disorganized and confusing,…I am struggling to understand what on earth is she trying to say, she mixes her thoughts of 8th Generation and 9th Generation together in same review without properly distinguishing between those two,…I struggle to understand whether some of the points she made is referring to 8th or 9th generation. I have to re-read the review 3 or 4 times, yet I was still confused!!! And by basing of the way she writes reviews, she sounded more like a local newspaper journalist type of review,..for CHRIST SAKE, magazine review such as AUTOCAR needs a real professional and enthusiast!!!
      NOT THAT I LOOK DOWN ON WOMEN DRIVERS OR REVIEWERS

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
      • Please don’t insult real journalists by calling that person a journalist. Since he seems to be writing for his own pleasure only the right word would be masturbator.

• nice review comparing both german’s cars
    For me this car looks very modern ,
    but bad things is E-class usually considered more favor to old rich businessman.
    Now they are scratching their head wondering what car to buy, unless for the old playboy guys. :)
    The interior too much bling2 n silverish gonna make the old guys blind…

• Futuristic front, 1990s rear…perfect for old towkay trying hard to court young cute GROs…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 24
    • old dog on Feb 15, 2014 at 9:57 am

you driving E class and going for GRO? LOL…

• Cetak Tak Mati on Feb 16, 2014 at 9:38 pm

ya la normally i see e class towkays go for singer, give flower rm500 – rm1,000 (or crowns) at hang flower disco ok while wife is sleeping. everytime kids and wife ask for pocket money talk many say waste money is not good blabla must learn to be saving and frugal

but ok la disco close at 4am-5am can bring the singer go eat loklok

• old dog on Feb 15, 2014 at 9:56 am

is E class losing out to the 5 ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
    • dino years on Feb 15, 2014 at 11:59 am

if you are going to be driven by your ah mat, take the merz, it has no equal for comfort. if you are going to drive it yourself, get the bmw. it is peerless when it comes to handling, the true driver’s car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 8
      • dundy on Feb 15, 2014 at 6:10 pm

True that the E-class is king in comfort, but the 5 series is no longer the best in terms of handling. Both the XF and GS handle better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 17
        • dino years on Feb 15, 2014 at 7:28 pm

GS as in lexus GS? Please don’t kid with me, that one is just a glorified sampan when it comes to handling. my cousin in singapore ditched his one in 3 years for a 5 series. and never regretted it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
          • Cetak Tak Mati on Feb 16, 2014 at 9:42 pm

thats the problem with ignorant people like , act macam u know so much about automobile blabla talk about your friend XXX

pls la when u say ur friend ditched his gs in 3 years it shows that u are talking about different GS, u are talking about the previous model GS. hello obviously dundy is talking about the new and latest GS . pfttt bodoh sombong tak tau pasal kereta nak sembang lebat macam yes tapi bukan

• dugong on Feb 16, 2014 at 11:40 am

E-class is overrated, in term of comfort Camry beats E-class to the shit-hole. I owned an E-class before, too me it is as good as a proton saga in term of comfort. The tire/road noise is unbearable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 18
          • Cetak Tak Mati on Feb 16, 2014 at 9:43 pm

sure la ur u bought ur e class 10 years old 2nd hand e class then u want talk about comfort and noise insulation ? pfft get a new e class then only talk joker

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
          • dugong on Feb 16, 2014 at 10:13 pm

Cetak Tak Mati the stupid mercedes salesman, when did I say I bought 10 years old 2nd hand e class. I got it brand new and the road/tire sound is so loud like proton saga. Pthuiii…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
          • I quite agreed with you, I dont own campry but own E-class for 5 year. For under speed limit, Camry is very comfortable especially the seat like sofa. Genting always send us using Campry from KLIA to Genting, thats why i know. The E class was bought new and give us many problem, 2 times of brake failure, it is very dangerous. Now ordered the 2014 BMW 528i M-sport.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
          • EJoker on Feb 17, 2014 at 6:11 pm

Obviously, you owned E class in your dream only. haha……must be Sam Loo brother…

• dugonghead on Feb 17, 2014 at 6:14 pm

dugong owns a proton saga but repalce the badge with mercedes. and he complaint this so call mercedes sit like proton, what a joker he is

• dugong on Feb 16, 2014 at 11:41 am

E-class is overrated, in term of comfort Camry beats E-class to the shit-hole. I owned an E-class before, too me it is as good as a proton saga in term of comfort. The tire/road noise is unbearable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
          • Maseratti on Feb 16, 2014 at 6:50 pm

True, some more no RV at all. My boss Sam normally will take this car at Kimchi rate, 40% after one year.

• Cetak Tak Mati on Feb 16, 2014 at 11:46 pm

yes and no

for the people that actually matters they still will choose mercedes , but the OKB . orang kaya baru most of them yang baru nak jinak2 dengan mid size luxury sedan (age 30+) prefer f10

and from my observation 5ers owners prefer to go to normal clubs whereas e class owners prefer to go to hang flower disco

• sudonano on Feb 15, 2014 at 11:04 am

Totally agree with you Hafriz. While the 5 series is perfect in terms of dynamics, there is something the E class has that just says premium everywhere. The way the seats are made, so comfy. Fit and finish, and even the sense of a premium sedan, its all there. Tbh, the 5 series feels cheap compared to the E class especially with that “Dakota leather” which doesn’t feel like leather, and extremely hard seats (which I’d reckon is due to them CKD-ing the car in Inokom- something the CBU BMWs like the 4 series doesn’t have).

But right now, its down to this, both are still fantastic cars. Its just, do you want luxury and opulence? Or sporty and dynamic? If it is the former, then go for the Mercedes. If it is the latter, then the BMW.

But there are 2 things BMW needs to improve, and fast.

1. Give us better warranty. 2 years is pathetic. National carmakers, Japanese, Koreans and even some German makes give 3-5 years. At least MB has a 4 year warranty.
    2. Give us a proper aftersales plan. Sorry, but imo Auto Bavaria is not doing justice to the BMW brand. BMW MY needs to be strict with their dealers. Quill Automobiles is miles ahead of Auto Bavaria. Too bad Quill has only 1 branch. And BSRI also, improve it. Service is free only at 30k and 60k (provided the car is less than 3 years) km, but for the others, you have to pay (and it is recommended to send it in every 10k). If not, go like MB, don’t offer any free service, and drop the price.

Oh and Hafriz, no night pictures? The FL E class looks amazing at night, especially the back!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 6
    • I agreed with Sudonano,I also had bad experience with Auto Bavaria before, some of the staff is not well train to service customer. Technician can’t resolve simple car suspension problem. I managed to have it settled in Quill.

• John sharpe on Feb 15, 2014 at 12:08 pm

Very badely written article. Confusing at times, English needs to be toned down a little, using too many irrelevent cliches and catchphrases.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 59
    • abc123 on Feb 15, 2014 at 2:05 pm

Looks like you need to improve your English then.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
    • AutoFrenz on Feb 15, 2014 at 3:13 pm

A sourgrape jelly beans detected…just cant stop complaining…aiyoo just get a life lor….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • seancorr on Feb 15, 2014 at 3:58 pm

I don’t see an issue with the English the writer is using and is that how you spell badly?

• Stuttgart_Auto on Feb 15, 2014 at 2:51 pm

This face lifted E class looks odd. The front end is totally new but the car retains the old rear end.

Mercedes should have reserved the new front end design for the all new model.

As for the new engines, performance figures may have improved but they do not set a new benchmark in the class.

Not good enough to take first spot in the luxury executive category.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
    • The rear is not entirely the same as the previous one. If u look really to the detail, u can see that the facelift E-Class uses light tube tail lamp compared to LED tail lamp for the older one.

• StuttDixk on Feb 18, 2014 at 1:52 pm

Obviously, you are still a proton driver whop has never try an E before.

• seancorr on Feb 15, 2014 at 3:52 pm

Very correct indeed with regards to the car’s characteristics. It’s mainly a chauffeur driven car. Being a person who likes engaging drives, my pick lies with the 5 Series.

The rear aircond controls looks cheap though and yes the COMAND system is behind the iDrive and why use a parking foot brake in such a car?

• Beat the traffic on Feb 15, 2014 at 4:17 pm

The dimension of this car is the same as the Accord. Why not saved the RM 200,000 and donate part of it to the poor folks at Pantai Dalam ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 16
    • because the owner already donate RM200,000 to poor folks at pandai dalam and found out that he still have extra RM200,000?

• Paulaner on Feb 15, 2014 at 7:05 pm

The Command System is pathetic. There’s hardly anything in it. But then again, it’s target market would most likely be retirees, so Mercedes has to keep it simple.

I do agree the rear aircon vents look cheap compared to the F10’s version.

As for the foot parking brake, it looks so “OLD FASHIONED”!

Even the VW Passat has an electronically button handbrake.

• tokmoh on Feb 15, 2014 at 9:51 pm

Very well done article, Hafriz. It is enjoyable to read a review that understands and answers 2 important questions:

1. What does the car/brand stands for?

Mercedes had always been known for its premium luxury experience, made more towards comfort for their mainstream models, so I think it’s silly to say they’re rubbish because it’s not sporty. These kinda comments reflect poorly of how some people don’t understand what the brand is all about.

For sporty Merc, there’s AMG division, which is a niche. Merc doesn’t want to identify itself a sporty brand, so keep relevant to what its brand stand for primarily.

Especially more so in Europe, which people are more green conscious. We may not pay attention much about fc, thinking it’s irrelevant for those who can afford it, but it matters to Merc’s green credentials in Europe. So if people can just understand why Continental cars are more focused on fc, people wouldn’t question their decision. Results prove they are getting more frugal, that is delivering quality.

2. Who are its intended target market?

Clearly, being premium, it’s for the more successful people who can afford it. Chances are, they’re mostly senior managers, directors, professionals, etc who needs a car which can project their professional/successful image. Comfort is their priority as they’d like to arrive looking fresh than as if they’ve got backache.

So if I am among the intended target market, I would… get a Volvo S80.

-More value (rm300k or rm320k high specs, even less during recent promotions. Heard this weekend their Glenmarie outlet having demo car promo this weekend)
    -Safest car (it’s a Volvo)
    -Unbeatable after sale 5+5+5 package
    -Very comfortable for everyone in the cabin, suitable for professional, and private family use
    -Good looking with elegant choices of rim design
    -2L turbo too (same road tax)
    -More powerful (240hp vs 183hp), although slightly thirstier at 8.1L/100km. Still, overall package compensates this setback
    -Understated, respectable brand with good design taste (keeps unnecessary attention away)
    -Good quality reputation too, joked for its super safety status, never for unreliability unlike most Germans

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 19
    • Iyo.. do u know that s80 rides like a sampan..
      u can get migraine..

please dont kidding ur self…

go seat in e-class or other A6… 5series..
      all has better seating comfy and ride..

also volvo fuel efficiency is to worse; take it to real world drive…

also the parts of volvo doesnt last / reliable as other germanic brand…

• Cetak Tak Mati on Feb 16, 2014 at 9:50 pm

how come every owners of s80 look filled with regret, insecure , look like low self esteem and lack of confidence? hahahahah dont kid yerself tok moh

• simon on Feb 15, 2014 at 11:30 pm

Volvo, reliable? The car brand lost its cred when it was under Ford and with those ridiculous engines. Now under Geely of China ownership, I’ve noticed some cost cutting plastics with hard feel. So, not too sure abt volvo’s quality now?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • hurm... on Feb 16, 2014 at 10:26 am

yes agree; the parts not last long..
      poor parts build/quality/reliability
      can see in S40.. S60.. S80…

let it be bushing.. lower arm.. engine mounting..
      rotor..

other germanic / conti brands last way way way long..

volvo seems to thorn apart..

eg engine mounting and bushing needs to be changed each year; reason given by local SA (design for safety… hurm yar rite…)
      VS BMW.. AUDI… VW… MERC… do not need to change engine mounting and bushing yearly basis…

• tokmoh on Feb 16, 2014 at 1:02 pm

I never said Volvo is immune to attempts by workshops and sc to con your money.

And in such cases, you should practice your right to decline such service.

Although, it doesn’t sound like bs to say those parts may need to change regularly for safety purposes. Bushing/mounting do wear and tear, and dangerous if they fail.

Volvo is just being preventative to advise you to change them, but you’re ultimately the decision maker. Up to you to have peace of mind or be penny wise pound foolish.

• tokmoh on Feb 16, 2014 at 11:30 am

Modern cars of today can’t compare with yesteryear’s reliability, unless u get a Japanese. Today’s cars are more complicated, and that goes for all Continentals.

Still, on relative term, i am comparing with equivalent German cars, Volvo is above most of them, google volvo reliability rating and you’ll see. You may get international rating, but that shows the worldwide trend of how Volvo is fairing today. Malaysian scene cannot be too far off.

Also, i clearly mention 5+5+5 aftersale package, unrivalled by any other competitor, perhaps you don’t know it means 5 years warranty, 5 years free labour and part service, and 5 years Volvo-on-call 24-hour service in case you’re stuck. Try and beg bmw to extend their 2 year warranty.

Some hard plastic, straight away low quality? So japanese cars even lower quality? Don’t kid yourself German cars have absolutely zero hard plastic.

Don’t be prejudiced against the Chinese. They can come out with quality if they wanted to, like the Qoros.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • Mokhtar Dahari on Feb 16, 2014 at 3:39 pm

Japanese cars very reliable? I beg to differ.

Jap cars have crap suspension. Absorbers needs to be changed every 3 yrs if the car is to be used frequently.

Cars like the Toyota Harrier/ Lexus RX350 carries a dashboard that cracks easily.

Jap cars are hardly durable. In fact, they are cheap alternatives to European cars.

• E class on Feb 16, 2014 at 3:51 pm

I reckon the back light of the e- class looks like my rm250 phillips toaster machine. Why would one pay 400k plus for that?! #logic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
  • Foong on Feb 19, 2014 at 12:08 am

This comment is directed to Buyer Beware – Advice on RV.

I was shopping for an E-250 in Q4, 2013 and contacted MBM and Hiap Seng Star for pricing. The cheapest quote that I got for a 2013 manufactured pre-registered car was around RM330K without insurance. Therefore, I doubt if the claim that MBM was selling its cars at RM270K is true.
    Would appreciate if you could tell me which branch of MBM was selling E-250 at RM270K in Oct. 2013.

• Jeffrey on Mar 01, 2014 at 7:21 pm

I bet he is looking at those cars from the recon second hand dealer cars or perhaps from mudah.com. I have already gotten mine on Jan’14 and only got $5k discount from them on the Q4 2013 model (e200)

• Observer on May 23, 2014 at 1:14 pm

i love the frontal veiw of this car, muscular, dynamic and looks like a real beast. But the backside looks very…errr…ah pek, don’t you think?