MyLesen to be implemented in every state from April

Motorcyclist

The Road Transport Department (JPJ) will begin implementing the MyLesen programme in every state from April, to enable more people to have motorcycle licences, reports Bernama.

The programme will introduce the Driver’s Education Curriculum – this would provide a clearer and more objective new first stage test that’s based on a different syllabus than before.

“JPJ will work with driving schools to implement the programme for three months in the states. Each state will conduct a MyLesen programme pilot project,” JPJ director-general Datuk Seri Ismail Ahmad said, adding there are currently around 3.35 million people aged 16 and up nationwide who did not possess a driving licence of any kind.

Apart from MyLesen, JPJ will also launch the Kadet JPJ programme in schools from April, to educate the younger generation on road safety.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• motorcycle licence good! Next time all people buy Ducati for lepak with mak rampit!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 26
    • Why do all this MyLesen nonsense when nearly every police office is taking money to settle problems? Solve the root problem first.

We all know in Malaysia “everything” can be settled. Ask anyone you know, everytime polis or JPJ tahan, always can settle. So, what is the use of all the road blocks, mylesen and all the crap?

Datuk Seri Ismail Ahmad, clean up your JPJ lah. They are so dirty and corrupted. So berani, samapai even ask money straight away!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
    • JPJ also must make regulation that wani yang naik motor mesti pakai stokin or socks. It is not right to tunjuk aurat in Malaysia as we drivers can still see the feet!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
  • Keris Jawa on Feb 17, 2014 at 6:16 pm

Wearing slippers riding motorbike is illegal, no?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
    • _xXx_ on Feb 17, 2014 at 6:58 pm

why was the guy wearing his wind breaker terbalik? Are his toes, fingers made of steel that require no protection?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • We’ll see more rempits on the road soon

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 13
    • samy vellu on Feb 17, 2014 at 8:56 pm

rempit kepala butoh pak hang….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 27
    • Someguyonthenet on Feb 17, 2014 at 9:04 pm

the government support rempitism because it is the Malaysian culture. Any categorized as “Malaysian Culture” will be supported.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 10
      • Exedy on Aug 18, 2015 at 4:09 pm

What the meaning of “Rempit” ?
        Is it all Motorcyclist we called “Rempit” ?
        Some Motorcyclist just ride their motorcycle to Office or Cari Rezeki called “Rempit” ?
        Is it Ah so, Ah pek, Atuk, Nenek motorcylist called “Rempit”.

Please don’t just simply -tive judge the people with rubbish comment. Maybe you are very smart enough, matured,too rich, Style, have a big car but polish your word and brain. Please respect each others.

#dontlikemotorcyclistcalledREMPIT

• Exedy on Aug 18, 2015 at 4:18 pm

Is it all motorcyclist called “Rempit” ?
        Some motorcyclist ride their motorcycle to the office everyday called “Rempit” ?
        Is it Ah So, Ah Pek, Atuk, Nenek where ride their motorcycle called “Rempit” ?
        What the meaning of “Rempit” actually mr.Nice guy?

Please don’t simply -tive judge for all motorcyclist. Maybe you are Smart enough, Matured, Rich Family, Got big Car, Etc but all of this NOT in your word or your brain. RESPECT EACH OTHERS!

• Two Rims on Feb 17, 2014 at 6:50 pm

JPJ must revamp their old-school procedures during the test. Some of the dated procedures like must use hands to indicate intention to start riding or to enter or to exit junctions & must park with twin-clutches are no more practical nowadays as there are not many 60s scooters of which are not equipped with electronic signals and only built with twin-clutches are left on our roads now.

It is also important to emphasize on the riding in the correct lane as one of the most collisions involving motorcycles are because of wrongly riding in the opposite lane including to exit or to enter junctions.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
    • MotoGP on Feb 20, 2014 at 4:52 pm

Those who dislike must be a moron acting stupid…or probably a pure ignorant JPJ tester…

• MotoGP on Feb 20, 2014 at 5:36 pm

I wonder who disliked this? Probably an ignorant JPJ tester?

• mysikap should add all drivers should have B2 licence. That is a better way to educate driver to drive their care more carefully. They shall learn about the wind resistance which endured by the motorcyclists when a car passing them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
    • Besi Buruk on Feb 17, 2014 at 8:58 pm

Before you ask to educate other drivers to drive carefully, you should improve on how to write a proper sentence.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 8
      • Besi cantik on Feb 18, 2014 at 9:10 am

Whats your problem?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
        • Besi Buruk on Feb 18, 2014 at 8:54 pm

When you want to say something, your readers must understand.

It is ‘What’s your problem’ and not ‘Whats your problem’. You have a problem too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
          • Baja Lapis Seng on Feb 20, 2014 at 9:06 am

“….,your readers must ABLE TO understand”

• T-100Z on Feb 18, 2014 at 9:11 am

I hate ‘rompitz’ and the Government encourage more to come. Sigh

• Car drivers are sometimes a**holes on Feb 17, 2014 at 9:12 pm

I agree with you 100%. Many times i see a car driver that drives without any concern for the motorcyclists. Just yesterday i saw a person driving a myvi and was tailgating a motorcyclist on the leftmost lane. That guys was literally driving mere inches from the motorcyclist. Does he not know how much a danger that he poses to that biker? A slightest bump would send the biker flying to his death.

I have also seen cases where a car driver changes lane without even looking at his surrounding. Many times ive seen a biker has to do an evasive maneuver just to avoid these drivers.

Also one more thing, please don’t be offended when a motorcycles horns at you during a traffic jam or while turning. The purpose they do that is to make them self present to you. It is just a gesture to say that ‘hey dude, please realize that im here!’

Please, car drivers, put yourself in the biker shoes and be more alert to your surrounding. There are a lot of accidents where the cause is due to the ignorant drivers. A motorcyclist life is just as valuable as a car driver’s life. Please be sensible and share the road so that it is safer for all bikers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 12
      • 4G63T DSM on Feb 18, 2014 at 9:46 am

There is a different from a honk to let you know you are there and honking continuously to ask people to let you pass. Courtesy?

Motorcyclist do not own the space between 2 cars. Its makes it impossible to merge into slow moving traffic with motorcyclist zooming in between lane of traffic (people can’t see you coming as well). Try and merge in and block that space and see how many angry motorcyclist you’d piss off.

As with most Malaysians, I have been a motorcyclist myself both here and abroad. While there are many safe and courteous motorcyclist wanting to just get where they need to be, there are a lot of black apples especially the younger riders.

How many drivers will tell you that they had their side mirrors hit by motorcyclist?

Instead of telling drivers to be careful of motorcyclist, I think the prime responsibility of one’s safety lies with oneself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
      • Motocyclist sometimes a**holes on Feb 18, 2014 at 10:21 am

If motorcyclist feel their life is dangerous, then drive properly PLS! Some motorcyclists like to pass through the “gaps” when the driver is halfway of doing parking or reverse from parking, don’t they know that driver only able to look at part of the rear view? Why can’t the motorcyclist pass by after the car is finished parking? Don’t they know that is dangerous? Don’t they know that there is a possibly that the car drivers do not notice them “pop out” suddenly and accidentally crash them? If motorcyclists feel that their life is invaluable, PLEASE DRIVE PROPERLY WITH SOME LEVEL OF ENDURANCE!
        I really appreciated those who wait until the car is finished parking, because they know to protect their life and understand the limitation of a car driver.

• Endurance?!

do you even know what that means?

sounds like you reversed into a motorcyclist and you’re still bitter about it.

• incognito on Feb 18, 2014 at 11:21 am

I travel on the highway frequently. There are some motorcyclists who like to stay (follow) behind a vehicle particularly a bus / lorry. Which I have no idea why that he (because most of the time that I encounter its a he) would want to do that. Mostly those who do it are those who ride kapcai / rxz and such.

There are also motorcyclists who zip pass through lanes especially on the right lane (3 lane) when traffic is moderate. It is dangerous as cars are usually travelling between 60 – 80 or 80 – 110 km/h (depending on traffic). And chances of vehicles changing lanes are higher. This scenario are usually seen on some highways for example AKLEH, PLUS highway / NKVE.

Talking about being aware of traffic, aren’t motorcycles allowed to use the main road at Federal Highway? If I recall another highway (guthrie or latar) also don’t allow motorcycles to use it on certain times of the day.

At times, a few kapcais (mat rempit in the making?) would ride dangerously on the highway even with heavy traffic. Saw it a couple of times on the PLUS highway.

I pity motorcyclist that at times have to use the emergency lane (though by law it is illegal) to travel on the highway. I understand they have no choice but to use the emergency lane because lorry and buses will be using the left lane which is somewhat dangerous for them especially on certain times. If few heavy vehicles they would usually stay on the left lane.

By the end of the day, its a two way communication. Blaming motorcyclists and blaming larger vehicle owners will be a never ending battle.

• superbird #43 on Feb 17, 2014 at 6:56 pm

with licence or not, people can still go around the neighbourhood, town and tour with the motorbike without much problem.

• elvintien on Feb 17, 2014 at 7:22 pm

I don’t see how this initiative can reduce or curb rempit or snatch thief..just a waste of ppl money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 19
    • Besi Buruk on Feb 17, 2014 at 9:02 pm

I don’t understand how your comment is related to this topic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
    • Richard Y on Feb 18, 2014 at 11:32 pm

Oh yea, Typical third world mentality.. In your equation.. Bikers = Snatch thief / rempit.. There’s the poor and low income students that needs this.. And I being a student is also riding a decent bike to college.. Ignorant sods

• Electrified on Feb 17, 2014 at 7:27 pm

Then we’ll have students motorcycle parking at secondary schools.

• Samad Jain on Feb 17, 2014 at 8:39 pm

Malaysia got plenty of rules and regulation already. JPJ can add 100 more per month if they want.

When it comes to enforcement, JPJ does NOTHING!!.

Buat apa??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • Awesome idea. But before JPJ spreads this out, they should fix the website first.

The website breaks down when I select the state and keeps on saying that the charge for a bike license is RM 0. How I hope that is true!

* I am on the latest Chrome btw.

• Denaihati on Feb 17, 2014 at 10:37 pm

i think it is a good initiative, in addition give “L” licence for 5 years instead of 2 years(for example), if caught merempit, extent to few year more with parole. 16 years old still need better education and can be change.

• Before JPJ release the licence, I hope that JPJ will educate the motorcyclists to drive properly at their lane, not to cut queue as they like without concerning to other road user, and not to “swinging” left and right like nobody using the road.

• Chris on Feb 18, 2014 at 9:44 am

Fully agreed. However, same can be said for drivers. They (we) need to be educated that motorcyclist are legit users of the road as well.

Like it or not, we should always watch out for bikes whenever we change lanes, signal few seconds earlier before turning, and if you live in a place with a lot of bikes, always assume a bike is in your blind spot.

A lot of accident can be avoided if only we have more patience and less rage.

• Greg Fernandez on Feb 17, 2014 at 11:41 pm

JPJ thinks they are doing the general public a HUGE favor but they are actually burdening those driving academies and business proprietors. Like what they did with that silly new system MySikap. Gosh !@

• Joker on Feb 18, 2014 at 11:14 am

Motorcycle by right should not be travelling in the main road where cars, lorry, trucks are travelling.. It’s very dangerous for them as the wind and pressure generated from these big sized vehicle could make the motor lose traction. There should be a designated motor lane in every single road we have in the city.. Motorcyclist caught not travelling in the motor lane should be severely punish!! And before you educate them how to ride/drive, teach them how their motor/car works 1st as that would be the fundamental knowledge where one must know what u’re riding/driving!!

• Some of superbikers on convoy dont have license too

• LearntMyLesson on Feb 18, 2014 at 2:40 pm

After 2 accidents with motorcycles in my 10 years of driving, 1 being my fault and the other being the rider’s, let me say that after the collision, people don’t care about who’s fault it was, the bottom line is that other motorcyclists will help the downed rider, other car drivers won’t give a rats arse about you. At that time you’d realize what a mess it is and wished you payed more attention to these fellas zipping in and out of lanes. Nevermind who’s right or wrong, but somehow the car owner winds up on the losing end between the 2. Remember that if you want to ‘hidup senang’ just be a little more alert so you can avoid an inconvenient situation.

In the many rights worth fighting for, my right of way on the road is not one I’d inconvenience myself too much trying to uphold. Safe to say I have learnt MyLesen…….. X P

• holofanboi on Feb 18, 2014 at 7:26 pm

As someone who drives over 500-750km total weekly on Putrajaya, NKVE and to melacca I can say for sure that it is often the case where the motorcyclists are seriously ASKING for it when they are on the roads.

Maneuvers that often put THEMSELVES at risk, honking repeatedly to shove you out of the way or just downright thinking that they have the right to tailgate you on the highway (A motor’s brakes are FAR less efficient as a car so don’t bloody risk it!)

In stark contrast however, riders of superbikes/large ones are surprisingly the best mannered of the bunch lmao. You’d think with all that power to weight ratio they’d act like arseholes on the road and yet…their polite demeanor on the road are truly EXEMPLARY. (Yes, in some cases they are even better than car drivers)

Perhaps getting superbike owners to replace the instructors for motorcyclists would be a good idea?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
  • mr. incredible on Feb 18, 2014 at 8:31 pm

well it sure does help to increase death toll on roads especially during festive seasons thanks to my lesen.. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • bestway on Feb 21, 2014 at 12:38 pm

The best way to solve motorcyclist and car collision is that motorcyclist shouldn’t even be using the gap in between lanes.

• sri hartamas on Apr 10, 2014 at 4:50 pm

where did they get the idea of wearing jackets and windbreakers like that?

• not car paria on Jun 06, 2014 at 4:35 pm

Those who ride without the right protection is unsafe. It’s no brainer !
    Those who think all riders are rempit have no brain. Or monkey size brain the most !

Those who ride responsibly and wear protection , you are guys are great !