Kia to exhibit next-gen hybrid powertrain in Geneva

8052_1_2

At next month’s Geneva show, Kia is set to display a stand-alone exhibit of a new hybrid technology, developed by the brand’s European R&D centre for use in future Kia models.

In the hybrid system, a 48V lead-carbon traction battery is connected to a small electric motor that assists the combustion engine. The battery also feeds an electric supercharger, which works to boost power and torque at low revs.

In ideal conditions, the vehicle can be driven on electricity alone at low speeds, and while cruising, the battery is recharged under deceleration. Kia says the zero-emissions stop-start system operates with almost no noise or vibration, due to it being a belt-starting system. The technology also allows the size and weight of the existing 12V battery to be reduced.

Kia has not mentioned its suppliers for the new hybrid powertrain, but electric superchargers are offered by French company Valeo, who acquired the technology from UK-based Controlled Power Technologies (CPT) in December 2011.

The device can spool up to 70,000 rpm in just 350 milliseconds to provide boost at low revs, before the vehicle’s turbocharger (if fitted) takes over. It’s also described as a less costly alternative to two-stage turbocharging or mild hybrid solutions.

Audi has also detailed a 3.0 litre BiTDI V6 with a conventional exhaust-driven turbo and an electrically-driven compressor.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Maserati on Feb 17, 2014 at 1:08 pm

Expect tons of breakdowns if KIA makes a hybrid.

Koreans cant even make a car that drives well, let alone a hybrid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 47
    • AutoFrenz on Feb 17, 2014 at 1:43 pm

You are referring to China cars rights…of course la we agree with you…without a doubt…lousy at its best…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
    • truth on Feb 17, 2014 at 2:12 pm

the carmaker that won car-of-the-year awards repeatedly? be fair la bro

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • Sam Tow Truck on Feb 17, 2014 at 2:54 pm

Oi Maserati,

Still taking Metrobus ah. I know your gti is still in workshop.

Don’t worry, i am taking good care of your bitch in my Toyota Hailat :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • Sam Loo on Feb 18, 2014 at 9:06 am

Not only tons of car physical breakdown, but multiple folds more of emotional breakdown when they realised that they have purchased a rotten cabbage and lost 50% of value within 2 weeks of driving it home

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • Sam Loo on Feb 18, 2014 at 9:38 am

Kimchi Cars and local franchaise, very much like the people that buys them are usually a little slow on their brains.

This launch is a too late oledi, locally and worldwide, coz the next gen of eco-friendly cars are not hybrids

• Usin Kangkong on Feb 17, 2014 at 1:14 pm

This is what we call as breakthrough!

P1 & P2 wake up!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
    • AutoFrenz on Feb 17, 2014 at 1:40 pm

Their engines are already inspired by Lotus and Toyota…so wake up for what for what ha tamby…ayoyo…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 27
      • Yeah Thamby..that’s why they sell only in Malaysia…so much for inspiration. Crap!

• AutoFrenz on Feb 17, 2014 at 6:40 pm

Ya lor tamby no need to b in denial…do some research read more informative stuffs…get your facts straight…check the Net…review the annual report…im sure u wd b embarrassed by ur stupidity…dont just bash bcoz guan eng said so…obviously we know u r on his pay list…job title…hard core basher with no purpose in life…pity u…get a life…

• Nicholas on Feb 18, 2014 at 4:46 am

You are a basher yourself my friend … Read a few post and saw your name bashing other people and supporting proton… And keep saying other people have no purpose in life… While I think it is good that you support the brand that you choose, the moment you jump into the wagon and insulting other basher you are on the same level with those that you claim have no purpose in life

• Sam Loo on Feb 18, 2014 at 9:08 am

KIA is the car that won the only car in the Malaysian market that cannot be traded in because there is simply no demand at all.

So, if you are a smarter sorhai, get a Hyundai instead

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • Neutral on Mar 05, 2014 at 8:23 am

Your insults on Korean makes reflects on your own intelligence. Buy a car at lower price, get lower resale, buy at over-rated price, get higher value. Simple as that.

Overall reliability is on par or even better than the japs since japs chose Siam land to assemble their cars with local content.

Your overall comment must have been based on models pre-Peter Schryer. Since Peter came into the picture, he has injected German technology and knowhow into his designs and here is where Kia and Hyundai made its comeback.

• JasonT on Jul 08, 2014 at 11:26 pm

I m using a KIA Sorento, used for more than 3 years already, still going strong. Warranty still have 2 years to go. Lacking only in fuel efficiency if compare to Euro cars but the Koreans will catch up soon. Look at Samsung and LG.