Upcoming Proton R3 model will be first R3 car to be mass-produced, wider target market – Tengku Djan

proton-r3-djan 038

Proton deputy CEO Datuk Lukman Ibrahim wasn’t the only one we managed to catch up with at the national carmaker’s Kuala Terengganu sales carnival – during a brief chat with Tengku Djan Ley, the ‘Prince of Drift’ shared with us some details regarding future offerings that would wear the hallowed R3 badge.

“You will actually see a more unique product based on the Suprima and Preve platform, with the R3 badge on it, in the very near future. We are already working on that with the Proton R&D team,” said the affable R3 team principal, adding that the car would be built on-line.

“This will be the first official mass-produced R3 product, with styling, handling and performance all combined. I’m very excited about it.”

PROTON_Suprima_R_Front

Theophilus Chin‘s speculative rendering of a ‘Suprima R‘.

Although Djan was speaking of one model, we’ve already had indication that proper R3 versions (the full sambal belacan, not just R3 exterior bits) of the Preve as well as the Suprima S are in the pipeline.

In an interview with Datuk Lukman during the Suprima S launch event, the deputy CEO intimated that the R3 Preve would debut before the R3 Suprima S, although no timeframe was given. If this does indeed happen, the R3 Preve would then be the first full-on R3 car to be mass-produced.

Yes, the 2012 Satria Neo R3 is built on-line, but underneath its R3 dress, it’s essentially a Neo CPS (although the catalogue offers you an ECU upgrade, custom exhaust and lowered springs).

Proton_Preve_R3_1

Full-fledged R3 cars have, for the most part, been halo models – mods were carried out by hand on cars pulled off the line, hence the limited numbers. Now, with the throttle pulled back on its overseas racing programmes, R3 is looking domestic – both in terms of motorsports and the commercial side of things.

In a bid to further commercialise the brand, future R3 models would cater to a wider target market and possibly even be offered in overseas markets, but Djan was quick to add that they would not be less special than R3 cars of yore (in a less hardcore way, surely).

Will the R3 Preve and R3 Suprima S take the six-speed manual-CFE turbo combo as a base to build upon?

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• just curious, what happened to those superchargers purchased?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 2
    • Those are purchased by Proreka (Proton’s supplier), not Proton. I guess they wanted to propose the system for CFE engine but then cannot match BorgWarner’s offering (lol nice theory).

Proreka’s Campro IAFM/CPS Sprintex kit is already on sale officially. OEM plug and play, RM10k. A real sleeper, you can’t tell if the engine is fitted with those SCs or not, unless you remove the airbox. 150-180hp if I remember correctly (OEM figures lol as expected)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 0
      • Bodoh Proton, can’t even get your normal road cars right, want to do R3 and drifting. Woi Lukman, till today, all the jams at the toll booths are caused by your Proton cars, new or old cause all the Proton drivers must open door and cannot wind down screen!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 103
        • I think this year i will get 1 number most comment overtaking Sam Loo…tq

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
          • nabill on Feb 18, 2014 at 11:25 pm

well its definatly quatity over quality thats for sure…

• saiful on Feb 19, 2014 at 3:10 pm

i have a gen2 CPS and an IAFM persona, the persona is 5 yrs old. no problems with window, fit n finsh maybe. cant relate with what your saying. requesting kzm to live in the present and not dig up dinosaur issues. please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
          • jimmy on Jul 02, 2014 at 8:19 pm

Kzm is another ungrateful malaysian who still live in the cave…shallow minded

• R3Who? on Feb 19, 2014 at 5:58 pm

R3 tuned Suprima S, wowwww…

Seriously, 138hp Campro CFE with 20% power increase is only 166hp, still less than a stock Ford Focus, just slightly more than a stock Cerato 2.0.

138hp with 30% power increase is just about 179hp, can’t even touch the fun factor of a smaller hot hatch like Polo GTI, 208 GTI, and even Fiesta ST. Don’t even bother to compete with Golf GTI and Focus ST.

Can Proton extract more than 30% extra power from their aging Campro engine? If not, don’t bother to push up the R3 name…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
        • 4g93t+d17a on Feb 19, 2014 at 10:12 pm

boy, i think u read too much Top Gear mag. Dont u ever mod your car?

• you know what? fun factor of a car does not only depend on how many horses it has under its hood, but also its handling, suspension system, braking and chasis stiffness. take a look on AE86. it’s an old car with only 140bhp. but until now, people love it! why? because its superior handling and 50:50 weight distribution setup. 179bhp is just a figure on paper. anything can happen on the real road. it might smoke a 200bhp car. read more about cars bro.

• sorry, one more thing. have you ever driven Polo GTi? i have drove one. i think it sucks. it feels dead. yes it has 180bhp under the hood with its 1.4L TSI engine. but where’s the fun factor? the dashboard also feel high. it also has lag when engaging from N to D. you call that fun? i prefer drive my 16 year old civic packed with integra type R engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
        • sorry, one more thing. have you ever driven Polo GTi? i have drove one. i think it sucks. it feels dead. yes it has 180bhp under the hood with its 1.4L TSI engine. but where’s the fun factor? the dashboard also feel high. it also has lag when engaging from N to D. you call that fun? i prefer drive my 16 year old civic packed with integra type R engine.

• Higher “numbers” doesn’t mean more fun. I’ve driven many high performance cars…sure, they are fun, but not many can carve smiles on your face everytime you drive them. You don’t need expensive, fast cars to have fun.

Go and drive one of these if you have the chance: 1.6L Mazda Miata, AE86/GT86, Toyota MRS, Satria GTi/R3, basic Elise, Ford Lynx RS, Honda CRX, BMW 130i.

You’ll know what I mean.

• Cerewet Buyer on Feb 18, 2014 at 8:08 am

I will buy it if Protong follow Theo Chin’s design and redo the rear light design also.

Must not exceed RM80K and 10 years warranty, OK Protong!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 73
      • lereh on Feb 18, 2014 at 9:04 pm

10 years warranty???…even bmw never ever do that..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
      • notanissue on Feb 25, 2014 at 2:35 am

cheapskate. very kiasu. all cheap with 10yrs warranty? totally cheapskate.

• carazy on Feb 18, 2014 at 10:09 am

I hope that the Proton R3 will be like the BMW M division someday..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 27
    • Seriously the suprima is really ugly car and the butt is terrible!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
    • Ah Wai on Feb 19, 2014 at 9:24 pm

We r lucky bcos proton make cheap car.. There r no brestfeeding by malaysia gov… National car tax is 85% Eg;Myvi… And Ckd car 90% Eg;Civic fd… So.. How much Different in term of price? Please do some homework… Google… Make some research…

• Guan Yin Ma on Feb 17, 2014 at 8:11 pm

Yeah. Proton with 100k price tag ~~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
    • Same Lor on Feb 17, 2014 at 11:23 pm

Come on, people with 100k would want to buy proton? Greedy but wrong marketing strategy. I wonder who would buy it but those hardcore proton supporters.

Please recall the inspira case a few years ago where they over produce it buy can’t sell and end up suspending the whole production line. Lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 25
      • Tengu Djan is bad influence on our youth. Why Proton get him when he is just a kutu? Better get more respectable people to represent Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 81
        • This ‘kutu’ is the best there is:
          http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tengku_Djan_Ley

Porsche AG engineer, Lotus Chassis Engineer, Head of Proton Motorsport, Deputy Tech Director A1TM, accomplished race driver, team manager etc.

Doesn’t sound like Proton ‘got him’ in. He has been there all along. The KUTU of kutus who happen to also be an engineer and race driver..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 2
          • Kamsia on Feb 18, 2014 at 4:50 pm

Itu porsche and lotus engineer experience probably minum teh and makan kuih lar. Draw some drawings, attend training, do some donkey jobs, suddenly good profile. He is more of a cronies who is at the right time right place and knowing whose ball to lick.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 42
          • Kamsia,

I’ve personally worked with Djan. Good guy. Knows his stuff. Respected in the industry.

Djan was involved in the kinematics design for the rear suspension of the Porsche 996 GT3 Mk1. He also had the opportunity to join their Le Mans program then. He however opted to join Lotus Engineering UK and was involved in the Lotus Elise Mk2 chassis dynamics development. He was then seconded to Lotus Eng Malaysia and then left that to start Proton Motorsport which is now R3.

So what F*#king BS YOU talking about? Your kind are the reason why Malaysia is not going anywhere. Talk with full of shite in the mouth.

Congratulations to you buddy.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 4
      • Besi Buruk on Feb 18, 2014 at 1:54 pm

Hardcore Proton supporters spending 100k? Ask anyone you know whether they do it. Hardcore supporters can only give ‘moral’ support.

• For your information, back in 2010, 50% of all units of the RM115k Satria Neo Lotus Racing was sold in A DAY. Few days later, all of them sold out.

There’s always enthusiasts that buys cars like these. A true car enthusiast will drive ANYTHING that drives good, doesn’t matter which brand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 3
        • turbokevtectakkisah on Feb 19, 2014 at 10:35 pm

agree with you. I am car freak and i dont bother about brand as long as it handles well, with a lot of pomen know how to modify n fix the engine and parts can get easily outside service centre. Why not?

• Ah Wai on Feb 19, 2014 at 9:25 pm

We r lucky bcos proton make cheap car.. There r no brestfeeding by malaysia gov… National car tax is 85% Eg;Myvi… And Ckd car 90% Eg;Civic fd… So.. How much Different in term of price? Please do some homework… Google… Make some research…

• I hope this will be a PROPER performance lineup, like Ford’s RS, Merc’s AMG, BMW’s M and Mazdaspeed.

This way, Proton can focus on perfecting their cars for normal consumers, and R3 can focus to develop those into a proper “driver’s car”.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 6
  • donadoni on Feb 17, 2014 at 8:21 pm

the guys at proton/r3 basically they don’t know what they talking about. they just living in the dream. i mean let’s get thing straight, is it the on-line future r3 model will be the first that coming out of the plant or just rubbish talk over and over again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 78
    • Albert Lee on Feb 17, 2014 at 9:54 pm

Proton is having a disease called CANCER.They need chemotherapy,surgery,detox,radiotherapy .
      Those guys in proton simply are LOST and living in DREAMLAND and fantasizing.
      Look at the monthly sales figures.Nissan and Toyota are not very far behind( even tho their cars are being heavily taxed).
      Crumbling sales from Protong means panic and adhoc decisions,thats why we have all these CHEMO cars,just buying time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 50
      • lemer on Feb 18, 2014 at 5:47 am

That is only your wishful opinion Toyota lost and degraded on their sale on 2013.

• Albert Lee on Feb 18, 2014 at 9:25 pm

U sound like a lost cat.It doesn’t matter whether it is Toyota or Nissan behind closing in.The point is if this sales deterioration goes on,Protong may even be overtaken by Naza one day.At least Naza knows how to rebadge KIA and their quality is not too bad.

• najib on Feb 19, 2014 at 12:21 am

Do you really think Proton is not taxed?

• kutu eh? at least he is a professional drifter. not like you. just know how to condemn people

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 7
    • kutu eh? at least he is a professional drifter. not like you. just know how to condemn people

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • Good move Proton!
    Anyway, in future please introduced back GTi version. My ideas is to make it compete with R3 version. The theme gonna be like,
    GTi (NA) vs. R3 (1.6 Turbo/supercharge)

Just my two cents :p

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 19
  • To my belief, the performance arm of a automotive brand represents the extreme identity of what the brand is. M cars are define as agile, performing car which can be reflected to the normal BMWs, but to lesser extand, and AMG is a muscle powerhause design for long torque-fill Gran Toouring and most Mercedes are just that, effortless cruiser. Audi’s RS are a go anywhere tour de Force and is something most Audis are to some extand. A performance arm is also a playground for engineers to play around with what they have and can, without the limit and constrain of marketing or in some ways, common sense.

Personally, I can’t wait to see what they can come up. Proton are still respected for thier nifty handling and I do hope they take this and amplify it. Being Turbo, the CFE can still take in more power, but my only concern is the CVT, they are not in the mind when one associate performance, qite the contrary actuall. I do hope Proton fits the Preve/Suprima with a proper 3-pedal set up, couple with a 160-180hp Turbo 1.6 and beefed up suspension and chassis, in fact, this route has been taken by another company that has been constantly compared with proton….Kia and their Pro Cee’D GT.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 36
    • Obviously on Feb 17, 2014 at 10:26 pm

AVH, it isn’t always the case. Some companies separate their performance arms from their mainstream arms quite distinctly. For example, if the Nissan Almera is all that a person knows about Nissan cars, they would not guess that the Nissan R35 or the Nissan FairLadyZ sports cars would be made by the same company. The Almera is so comfort-biased while the others are so performance-biased that the difference is almost day and night. It really depends on what the company wants to market itself to their intended audience. For Nissan, most of their mainstream cars have comfort-bias while Proton made the statement that they want to prioritize safety, performance and ride-and-handling. Commendable but they should not screw up the quality-control, comfort and refinement side of things so that they can win over some of the older people. Not all Malaysians like good driving cars, some like reliable and comfortable ones.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
      • True, But thats why I put there ‘to my belief’. However, Japanese car were the case until the 00s where they all turn to butter, Honda in some way still is and so is Mazda. Both brands in some ways still make cars that are in essence ‘boy racer’ and the TYpe-R and MPS for both brands are just amplifacation of that.

• Obviously on Feb 18, 2014 at 11:46 pm

And that’s why Mazda is one of my fav Jap brands. Honda seems to be slowly melting…correct me if I’m wrong but that is what I feel. However, I do not think that the rest of the Japs have lost all dynamism. It’s just more like they’ve plied the safe route and put cotton balls on everything to make it appeal more to mainstream buyers while all their driving dynamics are channeled into a few high end performance models to show the world that they’ve still got the touch. It is just that they don’t want to.

So, I like how Mazda doesn’t limit the good dynamics to a few select models. It’s also arguable if Mitsubishi has still got it but looking at Malaysian reviews of the ASX, they still seem to have it in them.

• A motor sports division is for marketing purpose and only for cash rich car makers. When the GFC hit, even Honda pulled out of motor sports like F1. Come on! Sort out the basics like QC first before even dreaming of motor sports.

• 4+1 Rims on Feb 17, 2014 at 8:26 pm

Way to go Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 41
  • AutoFrenz on Feb 17, 2014 at 8:34 pm

Wow…excellent at par…very innovative indeed…congrats Proton…but wait the bashers are preparing their points to attack now…but.not to worry lah…habuk pun tarak…cakap saja…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 87
    • old dog on Feb 17, 2014 at 9:05 pm

until Protong can sell cars outside malaysia, we all basher will stop.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 25
      • Just keep barking dog…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 30
      • AutoFrenz on Feb 18, 2014 at 8:23 am

No wonder you are a dog…proton has been selling its cars to so many countries for so many decades and yet you are still in the dark…keep on asking stupid question for the sake of bashing which reflects your moroness to the max…ontinue barking laa old dog…the name befits you…what breed are you…chihuahua or poodle…or anjing kurap…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 44
      • old cat on Feb 18, 2014 at 9:31 am

Proton have already sold cars outside Malaysia since 1990s. Oh well, bashers will never stop barking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 33
      • Besi Buruk on Feb 18, 2014 at 2:08 pm

You can bash all you want. It is not that they are hearing it for the first time. You cannot change things from outside the circle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 23
      • Orange on Feb 18, 2014 at 3:48 pm

Lol, these people calling others dogs now. If this is the mindset of Proton supporters, why do you people still expect others to associate themselves with you? Balik sekolah lah you. Go learn some manners.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 9
    • Low Budget on Feb 18, 2014 at 10:23 am

Innovative? Its just an existing limited production version now targetted for mass production. The target buyers are probably the ‘Ex-Mat Rempit’ who know have grown up and can afford to buy noisy cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 9
    • Yusri on Feb 18, 2014 at 1:33 pm

ya, habuk pun tarak… sebijik macam Potong.

beli Suprima, satu bulan masuk SC 5 kali, habuk yg terbest.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
  • mizuru on Feb 17, 2014 at 8:35 pm

proton is one of the main reason we Malaysian have to suffer the astronomically high car price aside from unnecessary regulations to keep cronies in gluttony.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 145 Thumb down 49
    • Obviously on Feb 17, 2014 at 10:11 pm

Times are changing, if you still believe that. Surely, the nation has settled into the status quo of expensive cars and even with the death of Proton and Perodua, the astronomical car prices won’t come down. The g has grown to rely on this lucrative industry for its source of revenue; revenue which it squanders behind closed doors and curtains, locks and bolts. So stop blaming Proton. They might have been the primary cause of this so long ago, but they’re no longer the ones keeping the prices up now. Now I see them as an up and coming. They’ve finally been handed the freedom (in a majority sense, not totally) from politician control that they need from the beginning.

So, all Malaysian eyes on Proton now but I must admit, the recent Proton Exora “spontaneously combusting” doesn’t do anything to beef up my confidence in them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 22
      • kangkong on Feb 18, 2014 at 12:27 am

Obviously, I may believe your opinion if shekh mokthar is not the owner of Proton now.

• Obviously on Feb 19, 2014 at 4:15 pm

You can believe what you like about Proton and the protection they are getting but my comments are made based on the general market trend I see going. Genuinely good cars are getting more and more affordable, encroaching more and more into the piece of pie once comfortably held by P1 and P2. I believe that the Kia Picanto has effectively rendered the more expensive variants of the MyVi obsolete with its package and the Mitsubishi Attrage is probably the closest that a foreign-made sedan has ever come to Proton’s B-segment sedans ever. The upcoming Honda City is also expected to push down the entry-level pricing to below the 80k mark but that is still speculation since the official pricing is not released yet. You all see the trend, yes? In the A and B segment where most people do their car shopping, it’s getting pretty competitive and the trend just might continue. The thing is that the C- and D-segments are not coming down to earth just yet…In the C-segment, besides the Preve, no other new car is affordable. I still think the protection Proton has is waning and they’re operating more like a business now. If they don’t get their act together, they will crumble but any business can still get government bailout and if dr. M is still at the helm, he will see to that.

Hope I made my case clearly.

• Low Budget on Feb 19, 2014 at 10:17 am

You are right that we should not blame P1 or P2 for the expensive foreign make cars.
        We can however blame the national cars maker especially P1 for their mediocre quality cars and lousy Service Centers.

• Obviously on Feb 19, 2014 at 4:22 pm

Yup. I really do believe so. The g has the blame for the first one. Proton really does need to get its act together while Perodua is noticeably trying to improve quality across the board.

For Proton, they have the appearance of wanting to improve the quality of their products and services but only time will tell for sure if their drive will succeed. Hopefully politicians won’t interfere with the making of good cars now. They should go back to the kitchen!

• Samad Jain on Feb 17, 2014 at 8:35 pm

Knowing Proton, I rather wait and see.
    Let’s see if the talk turn into action.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 3
  • preve is in the market for 2years already.what took them so long to make a performance variant?doubt they are working on new engine

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
  • Oh Gitu on Feb 17, 2014 at 8:38 pm

R3…
    “Rosak” … “Repair”…. “Ranap”….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 119 Thumb down 66
  • holofanboi on Feb 17, 2014 at 8:39 pm

WOOOOOHOOOOO!

Was wondering when would Proton allow its R3 division to become like BMW’s M3 and Merc’s AMG division! This honestly is good news for the local low-middle income enthusiast scene :D

*Ok ok fine so I know a whole bunch of you are yelling me at for even putting R3 in the same sentence with our hallowed M3 and AMG. Proton HAS to start somewhere you know. This is good move in the right direction!*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 32
  • Potong on Feb 17, 2014 at 8:42 pm

Sorry bros. Potong long time irrelevant la. No point at all. Just embarrassing the whole nation. Don’t waste duit rakyat. Insaf la.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 138 Thumb down 70
    • Ibrahim on Feb 17, 2014 at 9:08 pm

You are also irrelevant. Don’t waste your time la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 63
    • Albert Lee on Feb 17, 2014 at 9:40 pm

Bradder,do you know the Arab owned Potong is at a TOTAL LOSS?Toyota Vios is here,Nissan Almera is booming,Honda City is arriving this April with a BANG. What is coming out of our dear Protong? R3.
      Why don’t you call it R Truth(mimic WWE wrestler)?
      I think ,Jeremy Clarkson when he is fully aware,…he will buy this R3 with CASH ,hoist it up by a superduper crane and SMASH it from 100 feet,in full view of a packed audience soon.
      All these facelifts will not bring success,Protong.
      It just prolongs your illness on borrowed time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 44
      • Why are u so freaking obsessed with Jeremy Clarkson lah? U love him izzit? Gei ah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
        • Albert Lee on Feb 18, 2014 at 9:27 pm

The fact is Jeremy Clarkson is freaking obsessed with sub standard cars promoted by marketing lies.

• pirlo on Feb 17, 2014 at 9:43 pm

no more duit rakyat involved. now Proton is privatized. same like sime darby, maxis, astro etc, running based on their own budget and profit.
      wait until 2015. there will be a liberalization exercise for all automotive industry. meaning that, toyota, honda, vw, both local proton and perodua, will have same treatment from BN gomen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 42
      • teehee on Feb 17, 2014 at 10:42 pm

Wait until 2015? Sure boh. It will be postponed until 2020. Wait until old man kicks the bucket first.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 11
        • pirlo on Feb 18, 2014 at 12:00 am

yeah. probably postponed. 2105 target was the initial plan back on 2012.
          means we need to wait another 6 years to buy vios at current myvi price.

• _xXx_ on Feb 18, 2014 at 1:25 pm

hahaha didn’t use this phrase for long time…haha, yeah, kick the bucket

• Orange on Feb 17, 2014 at 10:54 pm

Doesn’t Proton still get 200 million ringgit in government grants every year? That’s our tax money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 19
        • pirlo on Feb 17, 2014 at 11:59 pm

after DRB take over? got any official source?

• Orange on Feb 18, 2014 at 4:05 pm

“We were previously positive on Proton going into private hands via DRB but the low-hanging fruit in cost cutting has not materialized and we believe it will be loss making if not for the nearly RM200 million in government research and development grants received every year.” – CIMB Research, Jan 6.

“This article first appeared in The Edge Financial Daily, on January 07, 2014.”

Wasn’t sure if this will be posted if I included links.

• It is rnd grant lah bro. Dont mislead people. Same like uk goh give rnd grant to lotus. Any company which have their own rnd may apply for this grant. Ever heard about k economy?

• Orange on Feb 18, 2014 at 4:19 pm

Personally, I’d rather the money go towards something else like fixing up the public school my friend teaches at, which hardly qualifies as a school in its current state.

But fair enough. I just hope that with 200 million every year, their RnD produces more than just barely-there economy cars that can’t compete in an open market.

• Those grant not only for proton. If u make a PhD or any research that valuable, u can apply for it. Other car maker in Malaysia cant apply it because the RnD was made outside and they do rebande/assemble locally. U want a fair grant for rebadge RnD too?? ha3

• kangkong on Feb 18, 2014 at 12:31 am

Pirio, you are real naive.

• najib on Feb 19, 2014 at 12:31 am

keep dreaming. janji dicapati.

• Low Budget on Feb 19, 2014 at 10:24 am

No more ‘duit rakyat’ involve?
        I am afraid ‘duit rakyat’ is still involve, a few hundred million ringgit contributed to Proton by the Gomen every year, come rain or shine.

• Cibai on Feb 18, 2014 at 9:32 pm

all da best to Proton not Potong.

• abisla..kene bash

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 14
  • inderaloka on Feb 17, 2014 at 9:05 pm

No need to work with Proton R&D, just hire Theopilus Chin…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • inderaloka on Feb 17, 2014 at 9:06 pm

*Typo error. *Theophilus Chin.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • so what qualification does theo have in R&D side? retuned ECU? performance parts?
      or you think that photoshop skill is considered as R&D? no wonder….

• Low Budget on Feb 19, 2014 at 10:27 am

Koreans, Jepun and Cina hire Germans and Americans to design their cars, Proton need Theophilus Chin?
      He can design the car alloy rims to look like spider web! Good for Proton.

• old dog on Feb 17, 2014 at 9:06 pm

What is the point of innovative or whatever R&D and creation but CANNOT sell outside of Malaysia.

Malaysian are being held ransom by all those protection policy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 11
  • Anti-Fuel-Price on Feb 17, 2014 at 9:06 pm

1) Manual box
    2) CFE turbo
    3) Stiff spring

I’ll be first one Q up at EON showroom buy that car!!! But prefer NEO or Inspira.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 6
    • theanswer on Feb 18, 2014 at 8:57 am

stiff spring is too easy. p1 already far from that. handling department=thumbs up. now proton should focus more on engine refinement and nvh.

• uh oh, Preve…. they eventually managed to fix my driver side car window after 2 failed attempts, but now the plastic handle (where you grip your hand to close the door) came loose -> perhaps when they fixing the power window, this problem came up. But yesterday, the button for the hand brake came flying off, put it on myself but it keep getting off, good thing they repair the fan motor FOC, but not until i insisted for them to test drive to find it out, should have heeded wifey advise, but then me wanting to support national car, Proton, pls pls pls pay attention to details, otherwise this could be my last ever, after 3rd protons

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 8
  • Lalalala on Feb 17, 2014 at 9:35 pm

That sport rim looks familiar..

• Hmmm, R3 should be faster more agile etc. What’s the betting it will just be heavier with the same power so slower than the base Preve

• normal_user on Feb 17, 2014 at 9:48 pm

Tengku Djan Tengku Mahaleel. His motorsport ambition reminds me of his father, exCEO Tengku Mahaleel who nearly brought Proton bankrupt. He focused too much on sportiness, lightness & simplicity that he forgot to equip the Gen.2 with proper glovebox, steering wheel & door trim. Hopefully this strategy won’t fail again. And thankful this time he did’t claim that the Preve/Suprima R3 is the Asian answer to BMW M or Merc AMG division.

Don’t get me wrong, R3 badged cars are good way to portray Proton’s motorsport image, but don’t hope that it will sell when even the bread and butter core models are tough to sell. The Preve looked promising when first launched with majority of buyers booked for CFE, but what happened now?

I would suggest Proton to continue the legacy strategy carried out by Syed Zainal. His motto is simple. If you’re struggling, don’t offer things that most people don’t actually need.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 2
    • mokhlisnor on Feb 18, 2014 at 2:13 pm

I seconded yr comment..

• Mahaleel bought Proton bankrupt? Didn’t Proton achieve its best cash position when Mahaleel was at the helm. I remember back then they registered something like RM2B surplus. Products like Satria GTi invigorated the brand name and made and made the Proton brand synonymous with handling, differentiating from Perodua

• anonymous on Feb 17, 2014 at 9:57 pm

erm… would rather have a range-extended EV crossover…

• better then toyota trd division ler

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
  • cheap plotong R3 for poor racer wannabe.. enough said

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 32
    • well at least R3 parts on a Satria Neo R3 is not just cosmetic upgrade with decals and sporty bodykits like some other poor racer wannabe…

• do you know what you’re talking about? do you know that Satria Neo R3 is just a cosmetic upgrade? only Satria Neo R3 RS came with full loaded performance parts

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
        • Seem butthurt?? maybe u just bought vios TRD Sportivo with fully loaded with cosmetic and crome finishing :-D

• at least i dont drive cheap plotong like u.. poor people

• Gosh.. Hurry up proton with the R3 Suprima. I cant waittt.

• simple,
    give people a TRUE sports car.

power and excitement. period
    no beating around the bush.

• 5zaft on Feb 17, 2014 at 10:36 pm

http://www.goauto.com.au/mellor/mellor.nsf/story2/12AAB873DFEE4587CA257C3C00169F1A

According to this an R3 version of PREVE and suprima 1.6 turbo will arrive down under in 2014 while a turbocharged 2.0 turbo (probably using petronas engine) arrive in 2015.

The proton GSC will used 1.3l turbo and NE, in 2015 a new saga (probably a sedan based GSC) and 5 star ANCAP “new” exora.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • Yusri on Feb 18, 2014 at 1:41 pm

R3 Preve and R3 Suprima will only available next year, same old hopeless CamTakPro engine but with larger turbo. (prepare for 8km/litre)

the so called GSC will be having the same engine as Savvy, due to Savvy engines still got many leftover units in Proton factory.

petronas engine will be used exclusively for the Perdana replacement. the 2.0 engine will have hybrid option.

new Exora is planned for 2017, not so soon.

all rubbish, better save money buy Audi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
      • pirlo on Feb 18, 2014 at 6:06 pm

no need to spread untrue story. how can you be so confident that Proton is going to apply the same Savvy engine, D4F in GSC?
        8km/l? is that based on combined cycle or city driving? based on what you make that kind of statement?

• a6 avant on Feb 18, 2014 at 6:10 pm

I feel you bro. But not everyone wants a nose heavy front drive German marque.

• Tiong Keng Soo on Feb 17, 2014 at 10:39 pm

Overprice car!Not even come close to Korean’s car. What is Proton doing for the last 20 over years! Worst,selling an old model car with only minor cosmetic change. How about the engine? No other option? I really cannot convince myself to purchase it. Prove me wrong if you can.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 17
    • Chris on Feb 18, 2014 at 3:36 pm

Value is a personal thing I think.

Some say Suprima/Preve is good value for money because you get C segment car that has the price of B segment Japanese. But for me that reason doesn’t mean anything because I don’t need space, I’ll go for better refinement of a Honda City.

In this case, if a Satria R3 came out, 180hp/240 torque, 6mt, rm100k. I’ll surely get it over an Elantra or Cruze, because the power means a lot to me.

So yeah, depends on how you see it. For me it’s:
      1. Performance.
      2. Safety.
      3. Maintenance cost.
      4. NVH.

I’m sure everyone reading this would disagree, because everyone have a different view.

• I feel cramped driving in b segment car, c segment car is still ok. The best feeling is driving d segment car such as passat, accord or perdana.

• Chris on Feb 19, 2014 at 8:56 am

Fair enough. But not for me. Live in tight spaces, where some areas have parking spot basically the size of the D segment car themselves.

I’m 6 foot tall, but will happily drive an A or B segment car if it means I can have less issue navigating through all the illegally parked cars.

• ayamxxx on Feb 17, 2014 at 10:50 pm

With the current traffic in big city, couple with relatively high price of fuel, we citizen want a proper proton engine that can give a decent fc. Give us the turbo built engine with direct injection, than we can expect a decent fc.

The CFE no doubt it is a power engine with good no of torque, however it suffer with low fc, especially in city slow traffic.

• isnt low fc is a good thing? no?
      please read previous news of Petronas E01 engine that Proton recently acquired. that engine should solve the problems..

• protonishhht on Feb 17, 2014 at 11:19 pm

omg, did they buy the rims from ford??? lol what a lame attempt……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 36
    • bacang on Feb 18, 2014 at 12:05 am

OMG bodohnya. itu gambar rendering dari Theophilus Chin. baru follow Paul Tan ke?

• that is a photoshop by theo.. so blame it on him… ;)
      i know ur just a plain basher without reading the article itself.. that is really a lame attempt dude.. here you go:

Theophilus Chin‘s speculative rendering of a ‘Suprima R‘.

• Amarjie on Feb 18, 2014 at 8:12 am

Yo Bro PIS… Are you blind..? Did you read the caption below the photo that stated “Theophilus Chin‘s speculative rendering of a ‘Suprima R‘”…?

• Daniel on Feb 18, 2014 at 8:13 am

You art the lame one…it’s just rendering from Theophilus Chin..not an official design from Proton.

• Waja wRK on Feb 17, 2014 at 11:23 pm

MASS produced R3? Huhu, then what can we expect from R3-tuned protons? Just emblem?

• Sam Mistress on Feb 18, 2014 at 9:45 am

They will put a thundercat logo with R emblem.

And brothers shop stickers on the side of the car.

• Denaihati on Feb 17, 2014 at 11:40 pm

Suprima R six-speed manual-CFE turbo, my expectation 0-100km/h less than 9 sec.(auto 9.9sec.), very impressive…
    but the price might be RM100k++, of course people will comparing with japanese/korean car.

• The price should lower as its manual except if only there is any big change in the engine

• Omg, pls fix the serius ergonomic issues in some Potong models like Saga and Persona beforewasting time on tis…the Saga still using toothpiks as door lock n My arm always accidently knocked the power window controller when resting on the armrest, even the door latch not situated in correct ergonomic position

• Nissan on Feb 18, 2014 at 2:06 am

Rubbish need to be Recycled & Re-used.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • Cerewet Buyer on Feb 18, 2014 at 8:09 am

Deep inside my heart, Theo Chin is our local version Chris Bangle…Protong must hire him!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
  • brian on Feb 18, 2014 at 8:40 am

Why not come out with Fr car to challenge Toyota 86. Nissan had unveiled Nissan idx. Honda had unveiled s660 and KIA also had unveiled gt4. All of them just to compete to toyota 86.

• I dont know why these people want to show off that they are so sporty and performance oriented. a car must be comfortible, reliable and well built and when people like the car then they can have all different types of variants in the model. in Proton they think they are 2nd BMW!!! these guys think they are Gods and have super human powers!!! all talk talk but same old cheap parts in the car and same vendors who sucked proton money for years just becaue they have know WHO not know How. proton could be a great car but mismanagement and ego of its owners specially that lukman guy with artificial looks is killing it. pls do proper work. get passionate people to run the company with automotive knowledge. if Proton was good paying RM100K for people would have been no problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 13
    • Sam Mistress on Feb 18, 2014 at 9:53 am

That’s the problem with Proton. They are too focus into their brother accessory idealogy they forgot what the mass wanted. Who the hell want to drive a car that look like some rempit or towtruck call guy ? Or some batu 3 mat sapu korner wanabe ???

Get your basic car right first. Look at skoda, look at china, look at korean. They started with getting the car rights first before even bother to venture into performance oriented. Coz performance oriented is never a mass market.

Even fiat revenues major percentage comes from their entry level car eg. punto and 500.

So, my advise to proton, stop all this stupid R3 and concentrate on coming out with better designed car with proper qc. Your interior is still no match to even kimchi nowadays. Suprima S is still bad with questionable qc. Even a new suprima s also can get aquarium on the tail lamp. Is proton trying to embark on rearing gold fish for proton owners after almost 30 years ?

Dont get me started on power windows….infamous. Proton should just bungkus and become ckd. Malaysian folks will thank you for your demise.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
      • bacang on Feb 18, 2014 at 6:20 pm

bro. boleh share link atau website complaint pasal aquarium on suprima’s tail lamp? menarik jugak aku nak tahu.

• totti on Feb 18, 2014 at 9:38 am

Why Proton like to produce the niche market for Ah Beng car.

I think the R3 department got nothing to design (to maintain the R3 department staffing) and produce the Ah Beng car for the youngsters.

How many youngsters afford to buy this Ah Beng Car with less than RM 4K salary?

This department is wastage to Proton and cannot generate revenue for the company. They should remove all the useless staff to reduce the subsidise by the Taxpayer money.

• Turnover Proton on Feb 18, 2014 at 10:44 am

I think in order proton to go global and the improve the FC for its small cars they could outsource the engines by FIAT who is currently the biggest engine manifacturer via their multiJet engines and some big manufacturer uses them e.g suzuki, ford and others.

• twwwwwwwwwwwwww on Feb 18, 2014 at 12:56 pm

PROTON SUPRIMA S SUPER DUPER LUPER ULTRA PREMIUM FLXXXXXLZ
    RM100K.. TQ MALAYSIANS!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • mr.ass on Feb 18, 2014 at 1:43 pm

Those Ford Focus ST rims, it’s still the best for the ST not R3.

• proton must act fast.. sell ur car to the world.. buktikan that ur car is worthy.. build kilang oversea.. cepat cepat cepat!

• Albert Lee on Feb 18, 2014 at 2:33 pm

I forecast Protong sales as follows:-
    2013…..136000 units
    2014…..120000 units
    2015…..990000 units
    2016…..Tanjong Malim plant auctioned
    Shah Alam plant became BIG SHOWROOM for
    AP cars.Proton TUTUP KEDAI.Became the
    BIGGEST AP holder in Malaysia.
    SAYORNARA,……..Proton.
    PERODUA RENAMED “PERTAMA”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 18
    • Gently Speaking on Feb 18, 2014 at 4:14 pm

2013: 136,000
      2014:136,000 – 20% = 116,000
      2015: 116,000-20% = 92,800
      2016: Ultimate SV range for all cars, 150,000.
      and shout this is the turnover plan.

GSC RM25k, free 5 years service.
      Saga RM30k, free 5 years service.
      Persona RM40k, free 5 years service.
      Preve RM50k, free 5 years service.
      Exora RM60k, free 5 years service.
      Inspira RM70k, free 5 years service.
      D-segment proton RM80k, free 5 years service.

Proton manage 50% improvement in sales, best ever in history.

• Albert Lee on Feb 18, 2014 at 9:32 pm

Sir,your pricing is in DREAMLAND.With so many cronies crying,you think the suppliers will reduce prices of spare parts?With low volume,suppliers will increase prices or just maintain them.

• uncle drb on Feb 18, 2014 at 7:06 pm

Then only Malaysia can propel to the PM so called ‘High Income Nation’.

• SalSays... on Feb 18, 2014 at 3:42 pm

It’ll be good to revamp the Satria…a hot brand new model will appeal to both the youngsters and the young-at-heart….which may translate to better sales figures too

• dzulx on Feb 18, 2014 at 3:59 pm

0-100 in 9sec and 138 hp is not a proper car for “R3” brand…
    If Proton wants to brand “R3” properly, the product must be GTi beating.. or else no point..

• FanHolan on Feb 18, 2014 at 4:58 pm

I am not sure with you guys. I am in my mid 20’s and seriously, isn’t the r3 a bit boy racer wanabe ? Does it attract me ? Nope. Does it make my girlfriend drop her panty seeing me owning a R3 ? Hell no.

So, why bother proton ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
    • handsome boy on Feb 18, 2014 at 11:17 pm

Because you are ugly?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
    • there is a theory of how a car image/flashiness is inversely proportional to the size of…nevermind, go buy beemer then

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
      • Tycoon on Feb 19, 2014 at 11:56 am

I guess you can continute working in McD then and drive the crap proton.

• the new Satria Neo R3, Suprima Super Premium, Inspira R3.. yes you call that racer wannabe, because that’s not a proper R3.

The good old Satria R3, Neo R3 2011, Neo R3 Lotus, is NOT a racer wannabe. That’s one serious track car. Sure, it’s still a damn Proton but to a car enthusiast, who cares? It drives so well, even the RM115k Neo is worth buying.

If you’re looking for brand image, or wanna attract girls into your pants, R3 is not your type of car. You are not worthy of a proper R3. Go get a sampan Vios.

• so what car do u own? i bet if not cheap plotong must be the old 1990’s civic only

• donno on Feb 18, 2014 at 6:41 pm

Satria neo + CFE turbo + 6speed manual = awesome!

Please build it R3…

• Sgdude on Feb 18, 2014 at 8:50 pm

Proton’s prices are expensive in singapore..

• Don’t just R3 or limited edition, Release facelift or non facelift preve with feature like leather seats,reverse camera,Day time running light. It will boost with sales volume without much added cost..Be wise Proton…

• DAPig on Feb 18, 2014 at 9:57 pm

we wanna bring in more china cars n make huge profit.

• Djan who on Feb 19, 2014 at 12:00 am

Djan is money waster…he is the pinnacle of your tax money sucking machine..I wonder why Proton keeps this guys when Proton is losing money year by year

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • Tycoon on Feb 19, 2014 at 12:00 pm

I seconded. Having a R3 division with no value added to the sales except boasting how rempit he can terrorise federal highway when most of the roads in kl is grid lock.

Go put more soft touch materials with better interior design to pamper the driver instead than making the ride so jarring and beng wanabe.

• Lemer on Feb 19, 2014 at 1:05 pm

R3 model, or sport model is very popular in western countries. Ford has ST model, VW has GTI, toyota has 86 and Subaru has WRX for their respective sport model.

• Breakbot on Mar 06, 2014 at 1:31 am

I drive a PROTON SATRIA GTI 99′ Stage 3. 14 years old car. never had any power window problem. like seriously? Superb handling, thank you lotus for the best setup. and R3 for the great exhaust system. sorry BOYS, I think most of you are still student who are spoiled studying in College. DONT KNOW ANYTHING about cars. All you know are asking money from your parents to owned a VW POLO / VIOS and etc. and worst come to worst. YOU only owned a MYVI with stupid slammed VOSSEN and with cheapest tyre Falken Zeix 522. Dont just read a Magazine LOOSER!

• hahaha totally agreed with you! they should go to facebook and find a page called “Vw Dsg 7 Defects Community” and read about how awful the 7 speed DSGs are! VWs also sucks, but people still condemning proton like hell..

• NormanTheGreat (Member) on Jun 24, 2014 at 7:47 pm

I notice everytime Proton topics there will be
    Toyota salesman,Sourgrape feeling towards Proton,Those only heard bad things about Proton although have never owned or drive one,Those got previous bad experience with them and worse of all Kacang lupakan kulit got extra savings(working Singapore or etc) change to Japanese or continental brands then start to despise Proton although they rely heavily on Proton for Transportation last time..

Its amazing how many people here see Proton like a threat to them..keep it up.