SPYSHOTS: Ford Everest – next-gen on winter trials

Ford Everest SUV 4

The second-generation Ford Everest has been soldiering on since 2006 (here, from 2007), with the latest facelift coming about last year. A third-gen replacement based on the T6 Ranger is supposed to be due out this year.

Last year, a number of Ranger test mules with a Ford Territory tail-end slapped on them were seen running trials on public roads around Melbourne. Now, our European spy photographers have caught this Everest evaluator doing cold weather testing on the Continent.

The rear end is a bit of a hatchet job, and far from the final product, an inkling of which is provided by the Ford Everest Concept that broke cover last August. The new Australian-penned seven-seater finally moves away from looking like a Ranger with a tail slapped on.

When it finally goes into production, the T6-based Everest will be built at Ford’s plant in Rayong, Thailand. Like the T6 Ranger, the Everest will be an oil burner and come in two- and four-wheel drive configurations.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• when i saw the back, I thought it was explorer at first

• Everest big failure in Malaysia if not for MPBJ and all the gomen contracts they get. Pelik how gomen department support a failing car. I am sure got no tender.

• Scouser on Feb 17, 2014 at 3:07 pm

i bet some people will give negative comments without reading the post… or they simply don’t know the difference between a test mule and a prototype…

anyway i hope the new everest stays as close as possible to the concept…

• should be ok.its not proton

• Scouser on Feb 17, 2014 at 4:34 pm

hahaha… true… if the spyshots were those of proton mules, a lot of people would jump around screaming negative comments… i kind of pity those fools actually… i guess stupidity knows no bounds…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 19
        • AutoFrenz on Feb 17, 2014 at 6:23 pm

Spot on…those bashers are a disgrace to d countr…pity them still having that 3rd class mentality with no purpose in life xcept giving negative comments…their wives and gfs must b having a hell of a life…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 51
          • Orange on Feb 17, 2014 at 7:04 pm

LOL! “3rd class mentality”?! Says the racist Proton macai. Stop embarrassing yourself please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 7
          • AutoFrenz on Feb 17, 2014 at 9:02 pm

Ok take note everybody if you drive proton you are racist…that moron orange says so…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 24
          • Orange on Feb 17, 2014 at 11:43 pm

Lol, now trying to buat tak tau. Amnesia ka?

Anyone else reading this can see his bigotry here: http://paultan.org/2014/02/14/qoros-3-hatch-geneva/#comments

• Scouser on Feb 18, 2014 at 11:52 am

i notice a lot of people have voted down my comment and yours… so my theory holds true, i.e. stupidity knows no bounds! hahaha… oh well…

• Gently Speaking on Feb 17, 2014 at 11:49 pm

This Ford is not using the world least reliable Ford Ecoboost Engine.

It’s a good buy.

• judging by the door panels looks like the second row might be a bit cramped.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • isuzuki on Feb 17, 2014 at 3:16 pm

Nice….. but I bet not the price…

• Baja Lapis Seng on Feb 20, 2014 at 9:09 am

Oh boy, can’t wait for the finished product when it is unveiled.