BMW 3 Series Gran Turismo to be locally-assembled – Malaysian sales volume for brand up by 14% in 2013

bmw malaysia 2014 briefing 1a

The BMW 3 Series Gran Turismo is set to be the next BMW vehicle to be locally assembled in Malaysia – the 3 GT will be the 14th locally-assembled model when production begins in Kulim sometime mid-year.

The announcement was made earlier today at a media briefing on the automaker’s sales performance for 2013. No indications as to the 3 GT variant/s slated for local assembly – when it made its local debut in June last year, the car was introduced in its 328i GT form. There’s also the 335i, 320i, 320d and 318d GT to pick from in the international line-up.

The choice of the 3 GT, a rather niche product, may come as a surprise, but BMW Malaysia says that the model introduction is in line with its strategy to offer a diverse range of products to consumers. The company added that an announcement on model type/s as well as pricing will be made closer to production.

bmw malaysia 2014 briefing 2

BMW Malaysia also announced 2013 as a record-setting year – the company sold a total of 7,974 BMW, MINI and Motorrad vehicles in the country last year, a 14% jump from same period in 2012, when it delivered 6,988 vehicles.

In terms of best-sellers, no surprise to find that the F30 3 Series led the line, followed by the F10 5 Series. The third best-selling model was the F25 X3 SAV. The brand also mentioned that its dealership network grew from 16 BMW and four MINI dealerships in 2012 to a total of 36 dealerships across the country in 2013. The total includes BMW Motorrad outlets.

Globally, 2013 proved to be rather neat for the Group – overall sales volume went up by 6.4% as the automaker delivered 1,963,798 vehicles worldwide (2012 volume: 1,845,186 units). The Asia-Pacific region was the second largest market after Europe, chipping in with 575,616 units.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• AutoFrenz on Feb 18, 2014 at 6:03 pm

Will compete direct with satria neo gt…which is good for bmw…thanks to proton which has set the benchmark for excellent performance on and off track…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 56
    • AutoFrenz on Feb 18, 2014 at 8:10 pm

Good to be first and to be condemned kaw kaw from proton bashers…the feeling is so exhilirating beyond imagination…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 24
      • craving for attention huh? got childhood problem ke bro? tak cukup kasih sayang?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
      • dino years on Feb 18, 2014 at 11:36 pm

I am far from being a proton basher but your comment is just senseless!

How is this car any similar to a satria gt??? This is a GT in the sense that it’s a mix of the WAGON and SEDAN offering wagon-like space without looking funeral-like. It’s a 4 door with humungous space and is NOT meant for racing. It’s too carry people and goods while looking classy.

The satria is a two door tiny HATCH that, say what you like, is meant for motor sports. It cannot carry anything other than the driver and his mech.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
        • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Feb 19, 2014 at 8:15 am

Not my posting, I cut and paste from Mercedes post!

Buyer Beware! – Advice on RV on Feb 17, 2014 at 11:04 am

Buy an E class or a BMW F10 if you are very rich and don’t care about RV. Most E class buyers are not really very rich as they are normal people just achieving their dreams to own a Mercedes. This is because the E class or the BMW F10 drops more than RM150,000 in value in just the first year alone.

Last year, in October 2013, I was looking to buy an E250. I got a shock to see 2013 models, just a few months old going for less Rm250,000.

Then I found out, MBM themselves were clearing brand new E250 with zero milegae for RM270,000. Mind you, brand new, it is RM420,000.

So, moral of the story is this. Don’t buy a brand new E class. If MBM themselves can throw prices and reduce existing year made stock in the same year for more than RM150,000 less, you can imagine how the second hand value of your E class would be. In this case, MBM was selling their E250 for RM150,000 less, brand new car (420,000 – 270,000).

So collapse lah the 2nd hand market for E class. That is why you can get a good near brand new 2012 CBU E250 in December 2013 for RM180,000.

The same with BMW. Buyer beware. BMW also loves to throw prices. Last year in 2013, they were selling their 2013 pre reg 520i cars for RM250,000. Cars that are just few months old. Brand new is RM368,888. So you can imagine how the 2nd hand market took to it because BMW themselves threw prices.

So to all those buyers who work hard to buy their dream car, please be aware of depreciation and RV. In your first year alone, your car drops RM150,000!. Later when you sell your car, you got to top up your loan by more than RM150,000!

It is better you just go and buy a second hand BMW or Mercedes because the depreciation of the 2nd year onwards is very minimal. It is the first year that most BM and Mercedes owners get a shock of their lives. What to do? If principal themselves throw prices like that, the 2nd hand market also will have to follow accordingly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
          • so what on Feb 19, 2014 at 1:36 pm

What are you worry about those owners of E Class and BMW ? What do you want to tell here ?

Obviously you are not the Benz and BMW category, work hard Ah boy rather than driving an old Camry.

• rchoo on Feb 19, 2014 at 4:19 pm

True or not? R U kidding me?

Can u verify those posting r genuine or not, those postings could have ulterior motives, if it is true, I will be waiting for it, seriously.

• Sam Toyota on Feb 20, 2014 at 7:53 am

How can you believe a Toyota sales man. Joker!

• Real BMW Sales Figures on Feb 19, 2014 at 7:55 am

Actually the figures are misleading. BMW sales are half of Mercedes sales. BMW like to play around their sales figures. Firstly, the actual BMW figures are half. About 3000 cars. The rest are Mini and Motorad. So, BMW sales are far lesser than Mercedes E class sales although BMW Malaysia love to say they have overtaken Mercedes.

Secondly, and most importantly, half of the 4000 BMW cars they sell are sold to their own Herts Rental (Sime rental) which uses the cars as fleet cars for the Sime Darby VP1 staff. Every year they buy the same number of brand new BMWs. Sime Darby owns BMW Malaysia and Hertz Rental.

So in actual fact, if a company is selling to its own subsidiary who then gives it back to the company, it is not really sales.

I am not a Mercedes salesman but I can tell you, Mercedes will always be No 1 luxury maker in Malaysia. Until BMW improves thier service and increase their warranty to 4 years like Mercedes has, people will continue to stay away from the brand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 17
        • MB boss on Feb 19, 2014 at 11:45 am

“I am not a Mercedes salesman”
          This sentence says it all.

• Shorty on Feb 19, 2014 at 4:32 pm

whatever. i am not a salesman of either. i am a testdriver of both and owner of one. i can tell you the driving dynamics of a bmw totally eclipse the merz. guess which one i own?

• loled…the article says “the company sold a total of 7,974 BMW, MINI and Motorrad vehicles”..not “the company sold a total of 7,974 BMW”. i don see misleading. oni u read it wrongly..

• dugong on Feb 20, 2014 at 12:21 am

I am sure whether you are a clown or joker or plain stupid. The MAA sales figures are out. BMW sold 7k+ while MINI only sold 400+ units. This eclipsed merc’s 5k+ sales. Please do some research b4 spewing out shit. I like mercs too especially their recent design but I talk with facts.

http://paultan.org/2014/01/22/maa-2013/

• Michael on Feb 20, 2014 at 9:39 am

wahai kzm, stick what you are good at, looking for kontraks and wives.

• rally_fan on Feb 20, 2014 at 10:03 am

“Sime Darby owns BMW Malaysia”

Wrong. SD owns Autobavaria, which is a dealer of BMW and MINI cars. BMW Malaysia is owned by BMW.

• Aceonz on Feb 18, 2014 at 8:20 pm

compete direct with satria neo gt? u means sales volume?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • -s3n- on Feb 18, 2014 at 6:31 pm

still no news on 2 series malaysia launch!!

• seancorr on Feb 18, 2014 at 10:52 pm

Doubt we will be seeing the 220i anytime soon. Overseas also haven’t launch yet but if you want the top end model you might just see it by the end of the year but limited to 10 units.

• razibar on Feb 18, 2014 at 7:24 pm

this is great news!!!

i just cant wait for the launch of new X3 here in Malaysia. Why is it taking them so long?

• seancorr on Feb 18, 2014 at 10:54 pm

It was just unveiled last week and worldwide sales starting later. For Malaysia….maybe next year bro

• seancorr on Feb 18, 2014 at 7:36 pm

More warranty please!

Apart from that I think it’s a good move from them. I was actually looking at the 3GT until I saw the price and was hoping they would bring in the 320i or 320d GT versions.

Maybe we can also see local assembly of the 4 series and it’s Gran Coupe?

• I'M 22BUT I LIKETHENEWCAMRY on Feb 18, 2014 at 7:50 pm

Man ! I gotta get my hands on one in the future. Its just so.. so … beautiful :’)

• Maserrati on Feb 18, 2014 at 10:10 pm

This car has no RV, t is getting worse and worse this day. Buy Sushi to play safe. Learnt from Sam and that’s why he is a successful businessman now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 18
      • dugong on Feb 20, 2014 at 12:39 am

Sam is a failure junior salesman. I heard he alreasy quit his job and applied to join KIA. Lol

• bmw 320d on Feb 18, 2014 at 7:51 pm

Why is there still no price reduction on the 320d. It’s locally assembled and qualifies for the efficient vehicle criteria for its fuel economy. I’m waiting for a response as it’s been awhile and there has been no talk about this anymore.

• seancorr on Feb 18, 2014 at 10:56 pm

Those plans are not set in stone yet and I don’t expect it to be happening so soon. Maybe u will get your news later this year if u r lucky. The government haven’t even gone into the details on the percentage of incentives hey will be offering the manufacturers.

• spongewai on Feb 18, 2014 at 9:25 pm

2-series coupe or i8 local assembled pls…

hehhe

• zamer on Feb 18, 2014 at 9:46 pm

nowadays is a BMW’s success period.
    there will be a time where it goes up and come down.

when toyota was so successful back then, now see..stupid spec comes in, price not justifiable..so bungkus la..
    same goes to VW and i foresee mazda going towards there with non-relevant spec mazda 3 with the price

bmw has to be careful on this..when is too mass, SC comes into the picture and 2 yrs warranty, after that gearbox koyak, people wont buy another bmw

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • Electrified on Feb 18, 2014 at 10:08 pm

This is good but, will we still have rusted seats? No?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • Maserati on Feb 18, 2014 at 10:43 pm

THIS 3GT is hideous! Saw one on the road. And its ugly together with the 535i GT & 1 series are ugly looking cars!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
  • paucharsiew on Feb 19, 2014 at 12:03 am

2 series and 4 series please.

• Teehee on Feb 19, 2014 at 12:14 am

Locally assembled? RM150k perhaps.. Bye bye H and T.

• Jeremy Ting on Feb 19, 2014 at 12:49 am

Does the CKD local assemble price (RM200xxx+) cheaper than the CBU foreign import price (RM350xxx)? Does the quality and material uses are the same or change to cheaper substandard material with lower quality?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • Gently Speaking on Feb 19, 2014 at 10:08 am

2 years warranty – Worse then a China car.

BMW also rated top 10 least reliable car in American consumer report + Top 10 worst engine in UK.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • mmaker on Feb 19, 2014 at 9:00 am

assemble in malaysia but poor warranty satisfaction. Looks like they just wanna increase sales and make profit rather than get loyal customers

• How much is the local content on this thing? I was hopin’ that the price of F30 to be at least at same level as E46.

• ur pc processor, pc hardisk, HD lcd/led tv are made in boleh does it low quality?

• BLT CLUB on Feb 19, 2014 at 11:59 am

As long as it’s not made by Proton it will have some quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • “1 month after the announcement of NAP 2014, BMW Group Malaysia is still waiting for further clarification from the govt. on the actual exemptions for locally assembled EEV under the new policy” MD and CEO Dr. Gerhard Pils.