SPYSHOTS: 2014 Nissan Teana sighted in Rawang

nissan-teana-j33-spotted-b

This is our third set of local spyshots of the upcoming 2014 Nissan Teana – the L33 was first sighted in Melaka as early as May 2013, covered in black tape, then with minimal disguise near Sungai Choh only last month.

Today’s spyshots, kindly contributed by reader AVH, show the D-segment sedan’s LED tail lamps and twin tailpipes. This particular car appears to be riding on the same five-twin spoke 215/60 R16 alloys fitted to the car we test-drove in California, as well as the car we spotted in Sungai Choh.

The car that was sighted in Melaka actually wore 215/55 R17 alloys – that was a long time ago though; was that a higher-spec car or simply an evaluation mule?

nissan-teana-j33-spotted-a

Like our current blind spot monitoring-equipped J32 Teana, the car pictured here has a black interior, according to AVH. The alternative is cream, as seen in the Chinese-market long-wheelbase L33 Teana VIP and the L33 Altima we saw in Seoul last year.

Tan Chong recently confirmed five new Nissan models for this year, and the Teana is set to be one of them. You should be able to choose between a 136 hp/190 Nm 2.0 litre MR20DE and a 173 hp/234 Nm 2.5 litre QR25DE – both four-cylinder engines are mated to a CVT. Yup, no more V6.

See what the Thai-market car gets here, and read our brief driving impressions here.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• The traffic was moving and I think the driver and the pessenger was aware of me taking shots of the car and slow down on purpose to avoid any furthur pictures taken, so couldt get any furthur shots.

• Nothing NEW At All on Feb 18, 2014 at 1:48 pm

Why need to cover up, this car already in the market since 2 years ago. What is new, you tell me ?

• Onomnom on Feb 18, 2014 at 9:43 am

soooooo.. vios rear lights?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • Funnily enough, when I first spotted it, I thought it was a black dugong-Vios with an aftermarket tail lamp.

• jolly_idiot on Feb 18, 2014 at 10:19 am

Teana look long inside out but narrow compare to others. In overall, its just so so to ride since its not really that spacious inside.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 20
    • Jeremy on Feb 18, 2014 at 5:12 pm

No wonder your name is jolly idiot.

Didn’t you know Teana is more spacious than Camry. It has always been in the current generation and the upcoming generation. Also, it is the most luxurious leather and quietest car in its class with the least intrusions from outside due to its superb NVH.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • SAM LOO on Feb 18, 2014 at 10:41 am

useless car. Toyota Camry is better.

Buy this car and then 1 year later bring to my yard to sell. No one wants Kimchi or Nissan cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 45
    • Worldwide on Feb 18, 2014 at 5:06 pm

If Nissan Altima aka Teana have 6 airbags and ESP like Optima,your hailat junk can sau pei already.

• Obviously on Feb 19, 2014 at 2:40 am

Heh, another imitation made-in-China sam loo.

• SIMON on Feb 18, 2014 at 10:45 am

The design obviously is going to be the same as the China models and yet we still have idiots saying looks like Waja or Vios taillight.

Honestly, car already can be seen online and people still thinks it’s ugly.

it’s freaking nice! Bye to Sam Loo and Toyota.

• SamToyotaSalesMan on Feb 20, 2014 at 7:29 pm

Sam Loo is only a junior uncle sales man. He is not important at all. Why bother. The car industry even this country does not need him

• New Teana already is in sales in other market so what’s the point to cover up? TCM has a reputation of slow introducing new generation model so this cover up gimmick would NOT change its lame image.

Also, it TCM puts more than 1 airbag into this car, we must interpret that this model has weaker body frame than its Almeera since the last justification of having 1 airbag being sufficient is due to ‘strong body frame’.

Now don’t contradict yourself TCM…

• heybadigol on Feb 18, 2014 at 10:58 am

Hate to say this, but cars are losing more and more of their soul. First downsizing (no more V6), then CVT. To be fair, this is not just a problem with Nissan, but looks like everyone else. BMW has lost their silky smooth inline 6 for turbo 4 (for lower end/mass selling models). As powerful as they are, they are nowhere near as refined as the 6, and they sound crap too compared to the inline 6. Now, most of the Japanese cars are getting CVT. In the US, the Accord is already running on CVT. We’re “lucky” to still get the antiquated 5 speed auto. Lucky, cos the next one will be CVT folks. So, y’all better enjoy that old 5 speeder while it lasts.

Anyways, back to the Teana. Its a beautiful car, sleeker than the new Accord, which is handsome car itself. The CVT (urghhh), though perfomance sapping, should ensure that you get good fuel consumption. So, win some lose some, unless you are an enthusiast (and you read Paultan), then its a loss loss.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • IdealTech on Feb 18, 2014 at 11:47 am

Wake up baby boy and get some fresh air into that soaked up brain. We are living in the era of cityscape and limited fossil fuel and big cc engines are no longer the formula symbol in the equation. CVT performance outmatches conventional A/T with more linear band (yes it feels like rubber band). One more thing, I doubt u hve even driven a nissan with CVT before :-) *never had a nissan but tested with my friend’s grand livina

• 4G63T DSM on Feb 18, 2014 at 1:37 pm

oh dear.

Actually its not that bad. I’ve had driven Altima’s (rental cars) on many occasions and never found the CVT any less serviceable. Nissan has been in the CVT game for much longer than anyone else. But that said, Altimas have 2.5L engines as base engines so the power issue may have been less apparent.

If there is a nit to pick, it is directed to our car taxes, making cars bloody expensive. Otherwise, we enthusiasts could use a normal everyday car and a more interesting car for the weekend banzai runs.

For engines however, I grew up with V8s, and it will forever be a point to reminiscent over, but I have also owned high powered turbo 4 bangers and sad as it may be, you learn to live with it. However, new 4 bangers are remarkably good, despite not sounding anywhere as nice.

Enjoy your petrol powered cars while you still can. Next round will be electric. :p

• Personally, in a car like the Teana, this move is acceptable. Its not that the car dosen’t have ‘soul’,I believe every car down to even the very souless Vios has some character to it, but as a car designed to be more of a appliance than a companion, it is a right and acceptable move as 4-pot are lighter, less complicated translating to a machine that is easier to live with. Thou I (very personal matter)hate CVT as the jerking sensation of a gear shifting is gone, making it less involving, it will please a larger majority that simply wants something more comfortable.

Thou I do strongly agree to cars like the new Ford Mustang with its new Ecoboost-4 and also the 911 GT3 with its manualess drivetrain. There is no problem when you see it as an evolution of automobile technoology, but a Mustang without is grunt and Porsche without its involvement dosen’t seem right, and it is those factor that give a car its character after all. As a self-proclaim enthusiast, I am more worried of the new Clio RS being cluth-less than a Teana without a torque-converter, because lets face it, cars like the Teana isn’t meant nor designed for enthusiast.

• Obviously on Feb 19, 2014 at 3:13 am

As AVH has said (nice shots, btw), cars aren’t losing their soul. Their characters are changing, being adapted to the times, to the perceived requirements of the age. That’s the beauty of machines. Remember that they are tools to start with; transportation tools. While the emphasis of the past era (especially in America) had been on raw power, the emphasis in this era is on efficiency due to the growing awareness that our resources are limited. This is a good and logical move. Would you still choose a V12-powered car over an electric powered car if you knew that you only have 3 days of fuel left? There are other ways of generating electricity but fuel can only be had one way.

That said, I like CVT’s. Especially properly and or aggressively tuned ones. Never been a fan of the “potong steam” feeling when shifting gears even in manual tranny cars, I would make an effort to shift smoothly so having a CVT is so very awesome for me. The perceived sluggishness from CVT drive trains are due in part to the programming of the e-throttle and TCU trying to be more efficient.

• heybadigol on Feb 18, 2014 at 11:01 am

And alsmot forgot. Great spyshots from AVH. Thanks mate!

One thing i dont understand is why they bother covering it, when almost anyone who knows cars, already knows how its gonna look like. Its already been in US market for what a year now.

• valjean on Feb 18, 2014 at 11:31 am

Hahaha …. Good point.

I think Nissan bozos still think this Teana is something “new”. That is why they cover. But then can’st blame them as they always years behind in launching new model.

• thefact on Feb 18, 2014 at 11:35 am

i dont get it, y does it need testing? :D

• Yea thanks, could’t get a better shot of the front, it was in stop-and-go traffic. And yea I have the exact same thoughts too regarding covering the car up, I mean it is not preparing for a world release or anything. But than again, getting it off the eyes of some people on the road might add to the suprise factor of the car.

• Obviously on Feb 19, 2014 at 3:17 am

You know, not everyone follows automotive news like we do. I think lots of people are still clueless that a new gen Teana will be launching soon so why spoil the surprise for them?

• Joker on Feb 18, 2014 at 11:06 am

They are covering a car that’s already a year old plus in the market… Whats the purpose i wonder?? Just call Koko Hekmatyar to sapu them!!! Haha..

• U want B-52 on a carpet bombing run or just send Jonah?

• Joker on Feb 19, 2014 at 11:58 am

Jonah alone would do hahaha.. unsuspecting child can cause a huge huge havoc!!!!

• you can see clear pictures here.
    http://www.nissan.co.th/en/vehicles/teana.aspx

• Known as the Nissan Altima in the US.

• underskinned on Feb 18, 2014 at 1:49 pm

Sighted in May 2013? Until now still testing on the road and no launch date yet?

• previous vios’s big brother.. all the best Nissan.

• mamamia on Feb 18, 2014 at 2:17 pm

booooringgggggg

• I was side by side with this white Teana full bodykit when holiday at Hadyai Thailand Dec 2013. One word – BEAUTIFUL!

• Useless and forever hopeless tan chong malaysia!!Are they sleeping or what?.F##k tan chong malaysia!.Must follow tan chong singapore!!Our sg neighbours have the latest teana, NOTE, Juke and ultimately the GTR itself( brand new CBU units from Jpn itself malaysians not recond junk here in bolehland!!).Very disgraceful and pityful.A lot of people already purchased the accord and camry.Useless Nissan management team here in Msia.Extremely outdated morons!

• Doreen on Feb 24, 2014 at 1:04 am

Actually the main reason why some of the models are not able to be sold in Malaysia is because of the exorbitant excise duty (think CBU) and because of AP (think supercars). Also not all models are allowed to be assembled in Malaysia, so there goes the models. Edaran Tan Chong is still not Nissan Motor. Hope you get some insight.

• insider on Feb 18, 2014 at 5:59 pm

wait until you see it live (i have), way better looking than camry & accord..

• unoone on Feb 18, 2014 at 9:44 pm

beautiful? its already outdated compared to honda accords here in malaysia.i test drove both of them in singapore in October last year.Accord wins hands down.better build quality, acceleration and overall solidity.The Juke is just one badass vehicle.Would definitely recommend anyone who loves mini suv.Depends on our hopeless tan chong malaysia team to bring the cbu jukes and etc.Stupid junk almera is rubbish!

• crap_nissan on Feb 19, 2014 at 3:49 pm

i dont want the crap D-segment car equipped with the C-segment engine. sao pei TCM!

• savvykl on Feb 25, 2014 at 4:03 pm

went this new Teana will launching ? estimate month ?

• youjijouji on Mar 04, 2014 at 10:45 am

yeah2 a lot of people giving baddass comment in regards to condemmed the NISSAN car… the samething like the the almera previously.. the no money to buy, bluffing a lot for having test it somewhere2, fella keep on saying the nissan not good or so comparing almera with the vios and city.. but.. the almera support the almost 65% of nissan sales and brought up the brand to no.2 in malaysia… hahaha.. keep talking fella.. people who’s owning the nissan will say.. r they know what they talking about?haha…

• nomorenissan on Mar 28, 2014 at 10:03 pm

Looks backward design with “copycatying ” from others. A real Asian design “face” anyway.
    They need to change design concept and follow Korean kia’s car.with Europeans flavor will be more appealing.
    Give 6/10 marks for exterior.