Perodua A-segment sedan concept – another take

p2 a-segment sedan render
Click to enlarge.

Perodua is due to introduce a new model in the second half of the year, a car that might quite possibly be very closely related to the Toyota Agya/Daihatsu Ayla eco-car sold in Indonesia. An example of the latter – debadged at that – was spied recently in KL undergoing road trials, adding to the speculation.

What’s certain is that it’ll be a hatchback, and though it has been bandied about enough times in the past, a Perodua sedan isn’t about to happen anytime soon. That hasn’t stopped rendering wiz Theophilus Chin from coming up with a fresh take on a Perodua A-segment sedan.

There’s only a side silhouette render, the profile referring to that of the Hyundai Xcent, according to him. Avoiding the usual look that most A-segment-derived sedans have, which is usually awkward looking and ill-proportioned, the rendering features a car that is less top-heavy. Black plastic strips on the doors help to visually reduce the surface area, making the car look lower, says Theo.

It’s not the first render he’s done on what a Perodua sedan could shape up like. There was a Toyota Etios-based take, and who can forget the elaborate hoax that was the Jaguh, complete with full brochure and all!

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Not bad.

but this is too boring to be Perodua’s Standard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • AutoFrenz on Feb 20, 2014 at 8:07 am

With its vios headlights almira taillights and new s class side profile it will defniitely steal sales from new city…cheaper some more…who cares whether its A or B segment…be afraid honda be very afraid…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • Maseratti on Feb 20, 2014 at 2:13 pm

You want to be successful, drive Vios. My Boss Sam will give you discount.

• Sam Loo on Feb 20, 2014 at 5:25 pm

yes, we give huge discount to the vios now after seeing the spec sheet for the upcoming 2014 city.

we’re shitting bricks and having nightmare already.

• Asalkan Bukan Proton on Feb 20, 2014 at 5:20 pm

Perodua sedan – the only thing that can send Proton to close shop.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • Buddyz Prepaid Plan on Feb 19, 2014 at 8:55 pm

What happen to P2 Buddyz? Just a day dreams ah… at the end of day can only come with another Rebadge. LoLoL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • Vader on Feb 20, 2014 at 7:25 am

If P2 R&D level just until that so cal buddyz, then better continue the rebadge activities.

• Perodua Etios on Feb 20, 2014 at 8:20 am

Ketawa lah lu there

You don’t know how worried Proton now with that sedan rumours…every night cry in the bedroom…Ha Ha Ha Ha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 26
      • Low Budget on Feb 20, 2014 at 12:37 pm

Proton will always be protected by the Gomen, rain or shine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • abisla kene bash kaw kaw

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 16
    • Otak Udang on Feb 20, 2014 at 9:03 am

Wahai si bangau, every post you say “abisla kene bash”
      Stop creating problems and wanting hatred amongst people.

You are so dumb you don’t even know how to spell “habis” and “kena”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 18
      • oni me la creating problem n wanting hatred amongst people? check every comment in paultan how many other people use hatred comment…including u…please be balance ok..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
  • crazylogy on Feb 19, 2014 at 9:00 pm

remind me of Charade Sedan that used to be sell locally

• Hahaha, even if the gomen allow P2 sedan, P1 will be crying complaining to their bapak, even the toothless MyCC doesnt dare to challenge P1 and investigate market monopoly and deliberate segmenting dividing the market between P1P2 and gomen

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 21
  • hatin4qualitySAKE on Feb 19, 2014 at 9:21 pm

rear – saga

almera back and myVi frontal?

depan kontot sangat nampak tonggek(jgn tanye mcm mane masalah kat depan yg efek plak kat blakang !)

da boleh hidu masalah pintu blakang dah , xpayah 360 atau close up pun.

ok , tp tak cukup umph.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 20
    • Besi Bueuk on Feb 20, 2014 at 6:25 am

Baca macam Bahasa Malaysia tetapi bukan.

Read like English but it isn’t.

Ada kawan bagi tahu ini Bahasa Indah Water.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • hidung on Feb 20, 2014 at 7:18 am

Hebat! boleh main hidu2

• If this happen, it will say bye2 to saga blm/se/fl/flx/flx-se/sv bla bla bla blaaa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 25
  • Vincz on Feb 19, 2014 at 9:57 pm

To be frank, why is this car blog calling an artist’s (theophilus chin) imaginary work as “news”?

Where are the news?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 7
  • superbird #43 on Feb 19, 2014 at 9:58 pm

it looks like a perodua myvi with a sedan body.
    it is actually, i guess…. :)

• Hyundai ?
    Seriously ? All the time is Daihatsu, now become Hyundai ?

Malaysian just got brainwashed by Korean.
    Come i slap you Koreans.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • motorhead on Feb 19, 2014 at 10:12 pm

Just bring it P2. Motoring kinda boring now. Need some kick in the industry.

• abuya123 on Feb 19, 2014 at 10:19 pm

Nice…. boleh beli sebijik

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
  • A segment sedan? U mean like proton saga?

• protonsucks on Feb 19, 2014 at 10:35 pm

lapsap car…

• policeman on Feb 19, 2014 at 10:54 pm

Macam Photoshop je!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
    • ko tak reti baca eh?

• bumimastika on Feb 20, 2014 at 9:41 am

memang la photoshop. Theophilus Chin ni memang jenis modified gambar-gambar kereta bagi lebih gempak dan mudahan pengeluar-pengeluar kereta nasional dapat pertimbangkan design dia.

• pirlo on Feb 19, 2014 at 11:05 pm

no comment yet? this perodua, people.
    oh, read first before commenting. this is just a rendering photo.

• old dog on Feb 19, 2014 at 11:15 pm

take on the Saga!

• Another jerry-built product, worst than milo tin…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
  • akuorangkaya on Feb 20, 2014 at 12:37 am

No money go buy proton/perodua lah..put big tyres and rims thinking that other people will respect them.ride 80kmh but thinking they’re going 200kmh.. just ‘syok sendiri’..again,NO MONEY GO BUY PROTON PERODUA LAH…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 36
    • Besi Buruk on Feb 20, 2014 at 6:31 am

Your car you are driving now is 9 years instalment.

• rigid on Feb 20, 2014 at 9:06 am

why ur comment in such way? dont get attention too much meh? how do you know the people drove P1 n P2 got no money? how’s their other properties maybe? dont judge people like that dude.

• LoL…!

for now u could say they drove like whatever u can say, after a faster car than u have now flashing their headlights then they said the same thing, and it will continue…

road users are not the same ‘me’ minded like u, go to SIC and pedal to the metal, then u can say anything about faster cars…

• akuorangkaya on Feb 20, 2014 at 12:39 am

Give me free proton or perodua also i don’t want lah..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 45
    • talkbig on Feb 20, 2014 at 7:51 am

only ‘talk big’, if fall, sure ‘fall big’ too…….

• Akuorangkaya_ygbodohsangap on Feb 20, 2014 at 8:05 am

^^^ statement org bodoh..speechless

• Syameer on Feb 20, 2014 at 8:22 am

Judging from your attitude, I am sure you are an owner of a kapchai; Still a long way to go before you can afford a Kancil huh? I know that it is hard to accept the truth that no one can give you a free Proton or Perodua unless you are friends with those billionaires which I doubt so… But please work harder and goodluck in buying your first Kancil soon. Please hate then in the mean time because you can’t afford it yet..

• tok berlagak on Feb 20, 2014 at 8:47 am

I dont think your statement will have any impact on Real Car buyer.

Which secondary school you from?
      acting like a boss?

• Springan on Feb 20, 2014 at 9:34 am

If you have “so much money” it’s up to you…nobody really care if you don’t want P1 and P2 cars

• Akuorangkaya_ygbodohSangap on Feb 20, 2014 at 8:04 am

^^^ statement org bodoh..speechleds

• azrai on Feb 20, 2014 at 8:27 am

1. What I know is, it is going to be a notchback.
    2. The platform and engine use will be the Myvi one, while the upper shell will entirely design by Perodua’s team. (Even Alza share Myvi’s platform.)
    3. The 3 box design if looking at Buddyz concept, will surely like those Tata Zest sedan, awkwardly non-proportionate front and rear overhang, instead of the well balanced of those Xcent like the above.
    4. Engine wise, 1.3l and 1.5l powertrain found in Myvi.

• bumimastika on Feb 20, 2014 at 9:37 am

Design ni paling best. Harapan aku dapat jadi realiti. 8 tahun menunggu nak beli kereta sedan. Rasanya design ni yang paling dihajati.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • bumimastika on Feb 20, 2014 at 9:50 am

best

• cheap car for poor people who cannot afford vios

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • This car look like 1st version of VIOS.

• Cheap car ??!!
    I don’t think it will be cheap

but definitely its affordable to own it

P2 wil take this good chance to rip consumer’s hard earn $

Do not hope for 1_SZ-VE to be planted in this new model

A sedan car which is good for short distance drive and town drive

• Norman on Feb 20, 2014 at 4:18 pm

Toyota is Toyota and Perodua will be always be Perodua..Body quality,handling will be different from Toyota/Daihatsu..Engine also 25% derated.Only good things is sure lightweight thus the fuel saving that’s all.

• Ronnie Tan on Feb 21, 2014 at 3:54 pm

I suggest Perodua stays with their MyVi and Viva; i.e. compact cars. Just stay as what you are now and continue to come out with new, stylish and safe compact cars. Let others master sedan car where you are far apart from.