Volkswagen Group Malaysia sets 20,000-unit target

VW-Malaysia-Aringer

Undoubtedly wanting to make a significant contribution to the Volkswagen Group’s aim of becoming the world’s biggest car manufacturer by 2018, Volkswagen Group Malaysia (VGM) has set its sights on a very lofty goal – to sell 20,000 units in 2014.

This is more than double the 2013 sales figure – last year the company sold 9,528 units, a dip from its sales record of 12,003 units in 2012. The ambitious target was announced by VGM’s newly-appointed managing director Christoph Aringer at a press conference yesterday.

Volkswagen_Jetta_1.4_TSI_ 012

Playing a big role in VGM’s aggressive push for more volume will be its brace of locally-assembled models, which are expected to account for about 65% of the total sales figure. The company currently assembles the Passat and the Polo sedan and hatchback at DRB-Hicom’s automotive complex in Pekan, Pahang. The Jetta CKD will soon make it four, as confirmed by VGM’s local-assembly partner last month.

Also announced are the company’s plans to increase local content in its locally-assembled cars – with the Polo hatchback (which Volkswagen Group Malaysia predicts will sell 3,500 units a year) eventually reaching at least 40% local content status – which would allow it to gain import duty exemptions in other ASEAN countries. One of the planned equipment changes is a switch from the Indian-sourced Apollo tyres the car is currently sold with to locally-made Goodyear items.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• DSG sucks on Feb 19, 2014 at 1:37 pm

Crappy unreliable DSG… no wonder sales drop 2013

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 155 Thumb down 24
    • Ah Beng Kia on Feb 19, 2014 at 2:59 pm

Indeed. DSG failure is a real problem here in Malaysia where the weather is hot. VW salesman be like no such problem or fixed already and paultan keyboard warriors here be like do you actually own one. Hello bodoh, I just serviced my BMW. While I was there, spoke to ex-VW Service Advisor. The SA said it is a common problem. What can we do but tell the customer we already fix it. Also the SA said RM8k to change the mechatronic. So good luck to all those VW DSG users. Not good luck with your DSG, because that will break down. Good luck trying to resell your car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 37
      • shhhh jangan bising on Feb 19, 2014 at 7:42 pm

Hello bodoh..
        BMW also gearbox and ABS module crappy..
        See what happen after 100k-150k km…
        over RM10k to replaced…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
        • Nobody love VW and BMW.

Both Are well built car that come with low reliability.

Both also Top 10 Worst reliable car brand in 2013 American Consumer Report and Top 10 worst engine in UK.

note:high reliability does not mean perfect car as well, but it give u less headache to own a car. No need so often send your car to workshop and get pocket burn.

The result = Unexpected high amount of time wasted sending car to workshop
          +
          Unexpected high amount of money spend on reparing.

No peace of mind.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
          • Heng Loo on Feb 20, 2014 at 12:45 am

Worst brand in 88km/h top-speed land?

• 2013 Passat Owner on Feb 20, 2014 at 10:32 am

My car is 1 year 2 months old. I already send my car 5 times (non service) to VW workshop for DSG problems. In NS Highway, suddenly stall. Very scarry one night, 3 am broke down, nobody to help me. So frightened. I thought I was going to get robbed. Cannot believe I work so hard to buy a Continental car and I kena this kind of masalah.

Now going to sell. Going back to Jepun. My Jepun never once breakdown on me. One day I free, I will get my lawyer and take legal action on VW Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 7
          • 2013 Passat Owner on Feb 20, 2014 at 10:40 am

Everytime my DSG kaput, service centre take 1 month to repair. They say need adjuster to see to the matter. Huh? Why adjuster?

Now I take Len Seng bus to work. From German prestige, I now sit in non aircon Len Seng bus. The good thing about Len Seng bus, it never breakdown.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
          • farqu on Feb 21, 2014 at 11:58 am

hello so called 2013 passat owner, you should join j.k.rowling as a writer of fantasy stories. maybe then u’ll make more money rather than writing here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
        • Michael on Feb 20, 2014 at 9:24 am

So many negative comments about DSG and the Service Centre here. I am staying away from the brand. I read previous post also and also VW facebook page, all got stinking comments. If one or two say DSG got problem, I can dismiss. But if few hundred people complain about the same thing, then the DSG problem is true.

I think better for Malaysians to stay away from VW. Cause it is not cheap and it is full of problems. If you are buying RM33k car and it gives you continuous problems, then can understand. But if I am spending RM150k of my hard earned money and I have to visit service centres every other week and my DSG kaputs in the middle of the highway every other month, sorry lah, not worth my money.

Charge so much but people complain so much about the car. This is like tripadvisor. Before you travel, if many people rate your hotel with so much of bad comments and you go ahead booking that hotel, you yourself asking for trouble. In this case, even this post got so so so many negative comments. Every single post on VW also got stinking comments. The Facebook page also got stinking comments. So, it is suicide to go ahead and buy this car. NO wonder why my neighbour bought a 2012 Passat CKD for RM85,000. Only 1 and half years, price can drop from RM170,000 to RM85,000.

I think, everybody now knows about the DSG. VW salesman will come here and say the dSG only affects 2012 or earlier models. But we know very well, the DSG in actual fact cannot handle Malaysian weather and Malaysian traffic jams, as confessed in black and white in May 2013 by Volkswagen Germany.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 7
          • Many people dont know but when you stop you MUST put your gear to neutral . ESPECIALLY DSG

• VW - Visit Workshop on Feb 20, 2014 at 6:19 pm

VW brand now got so many complaints. One must be utter stupid to buy a VW (Visit Workshop)now. We buy Mat Salleh for quality but if Mat Salleh quality is this bad, better I buy a Proton Preve.

I have a strong feeling VW parts are all from China. If that day in PT got story of Aston Martin sourcing low quality parts from China and kena kantol, I won’t be surprised if the whole VW parts come from China.

It must be so. I was owner of Volkwagen Beetle 1965. Dulu dulu quality is different if it is 100% Made in Germany. Why the new VW lots of problems is because surely many parts are China made. My 1965 Beetle never once give me issues.

So, better buy Proton Preve lah. At least its Made in Malaysia and you are certain abt that.

• hello so called 2013 passat owner, you should join j.k.rowling as a writer of fantasy stories. maybe then u’ll make more money rather than writing here.

• 2013 Passat Owner on Feb 20, 2014 at 10:35 am

I try to sell my 2013 Passat, I can only get RM$90,000 for it. I am stuck big time!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
        • DatukPa on Feb 20, 2014 at 11:41 am

The RV keep on dropping.

There is lower and lower demand in the market.

The high trade in in the previous year, is proven no working and giving -VE profit.

hence, Newer Trade in car, The Trade in value have to be Reduced.

This is how RV system work.
          nobody want a good looking but spoil like China Car.

China people didnt care, these is their soul. no wonder VW can get high sales.

• farqu on Feb 21, 2014 at 12:04 pm

2013 passat owner, people are selling 2011 passat for 120k everywhere. u must be either stupid or naive to get only 90k for your 2013 model.

but of coz, u and ur stories are purely fictional. big load of bollocks.

• when there is VW…there will people mentioned about DSG…..not every VW came with a DSG…and not all DSG are craps…

Crappy mentality

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 54
      • 2013 Passat Owner on Feb 20, 2014 at 10:34 am

All VW come with DSG except Polo. How many Polo buyers in Malaysia? You seem the one with crappy mentality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
    • U all want car maker setup plant here n hoping for cheapan price but u guy making fun, joke, bash, cursing etc…don u think if their sales is gud the tendency for them to export car later is higher n oso lowering cost of production n parts

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 48
      • Michael on Feb 20, 2014 at 9:26 am

kzm, you batu api in this blog is it? Instead of coming out with hostile comments, better you do what you are good at ie looking for more wives, or looking for contracts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • VWowner on Feb 19, 2014 at 7:53 pm

As an owner of VW, I know for sure that DSG is no longer a problem as I have checked the tech specs and they do not install the faulty dry clutches in all their cars from 2012 onwards, at least in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 8
      • VW engine is still the Top 10 worst engine,
        as per UK report.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 19
        • Norman Whitling on Feb 20, 2014 at 6:39 am

Hello friend what report are you talking about? VW engines have been voted world’s best for more than 5 years by the World Car of the year awards comprising juries from all car testers around the world. In fact it received perfect scores in the UK.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
          • 2013 Passat Owner on Feb 20, 2014 at 10:46 am

Yes, it received Perfect Scores in Cold Countries. In Hot countries the DSG box like putera lilin, it will melt, halt, jerk and lose power suddenly. Always see the reviews and products location before you comment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
          • Is Saudi Arabia a cold country? They are one of the judges for the awards.

• again, mr. fake 2013 passat owner, so Europe and US don’t have hot climate? which part of the frog hole are u living in? their summer is above 40C at some times and much hotter than m’sia.

• VWowner, what tech specs did u check and where?

• Sam Loo on Feb 19, 2014 at 7:55 pm

Hey DSG Sucks, hitting the ‘like” button repeatedly does not mean your comment is actually liked by people. Have seen this before in all your previous posts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 24
    • they expect to sell more Polo Sedan and Polo 1.6 hatchback which are not with DSG la smart..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
      • Seng Ching on Feb 20, 2014 at 1:44 pm

The Touareg does not use DSG. By the way. ALL dry clutch DSG, including those by Toyota and Ford have problems. However, there are NO reported cases of DSG problems for wet clutch DSGs used by the Golf GTI, some Scirocco models and some Passat models, worldwide.

• Arrogant owner on Feb 20, 2014 at 2:27 pm

I see most of the passant drivers are arrogant, I was driving my Myvi at highway at 100 km but a VERY came close by 2 inch to my car, flashed highlight and hornk me. After I let him went through politely. The driver point finger at me. May be they think they are driving a high class car.

• don’t label bad drivers with their cars. many alphards are doing that also. many bmws are doing that also. heck, even myvis does that especially those modified wannabes.

u can criticize the driver’s behaviour, but leave the car alone.

btw, how do u know it’s 2 inches? ur car got reverse camera ha?

• I doubt you drives at the fast lane without memotong and doesn’t seems to be smart enough to move to slow lane when another car approaching from the back.

• Mark Collins on Feb 20, 2014 at 4:47 pm

Hello there. My name is Mark and I am from the UK and i’ve been a reader of this site for several years now. I wish to take this opportunity to say what a wonderful site this is, with excellent car reviews done by a group of professional writers and editors.

Unfortunately, what ticks me off is the attitude of quite a few of the readers who seem to give comments not worthy of this site. Comments are often emotional and lacking depth or proper research. A case in point is the topic at hand, the VW DSG issue. I have lived in this part of the world for more than 15 years and have driven VW cars from several different generations both here and in my home country. All I can say is that VW cars are extremely reliable, with most of my cars kept for at least 10 to 15 years with no issues with engine nor transmission, including some of the latest models they produce over here in Malaysia.

Therefore, I would strongly advise against Malaysians forming opinions about cars, especially the excellent VW cars, based on heresay. Test drive them, ask car professionals, and do not rely on the ‘so called emotional web experts’ who are probably nothing more than college kids who are just too passionate about cars, clearly without understanding the cars as mush as they should be.

Please be free to bash me all you like. The truth hurts, but maturity and knowledge is necessary for a nation to progress and develop leadership skills. Critical thinking is good, but only if it is applied in a healthy way. So come on Malaysians, do take up my challenge and do concrete criticism only if you have cold hard proof and not based on what your friend, neighbour or another car salesman had to say.

All the best!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 24
      • VW - Visit Workshop on Feb 20, 2014 at 6:41 pm

Clearly a comment from VW salesman! aiseh, so obvious!

This is the kind of damage control VW Malaysia does?

Oh my! ….I am definitely staying far far away from this brand!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 16
        • Roger Lim on Feb 21, 2014 at 1:19 am

Hey please la. Dont always say its a comment from VW or other salesman just because it is different from your opinion. Just accept la different people have different opinion. Like they say, one man’s meat is another’s poison.

• VW-VisitWorkshop, pls substantiate ur accusation that it’s a vw salesman. As far as I know VW salesmen cannot write good english.

• British are Genius! on Feb 20, 2014 at 6:50 pm

Based on this brilliant Mark Collins genius said, if my daughter is going out with a guy and about 100 friends come to me and tell me that my daughter’s boyfriend is a pervert, sex maniac and rapist, should I follow Mark Collins advice and look for concrete proof and not follow emotional comments from my friends?

Tell my daughter to go out with this pervert until I get concrete proof that he is really a pervert

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 12
        • Keris Jawa on Feb 20, 2014 at 8:20 pm

There you have it! A very matured response indeed! Bravo!

• matured response my foot! it’s a pathetic and lack of intelligence response. do you compare your daughter with a car? bollocks.

• VW salesman in Action on Feb 20, 2014 at 6:58 pm

Maturity and knowledge is important? Is that what the British had when they colonised us and stole so much from Malaya? From India? and from Africa?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
      • Another VW victim on Feb 21, 2014 at 1:06 am

Hello Mark,

I quote you “with most of my cars kept for at least 10 to 15 years…”.
        Are you aware that the vast majority if not all of the VW owners who commented here were referring to their cars bought for less than 3/4 years?

I’m really sorry to be rude but…RELEVANCE?

• Ah Beng's Daughter on Feb 21, 2014 at 1:27 am

“Another VW Victim”. – Read his comments la, ” including some of the latest models”. You failed case study is it?

• Another VW victim on Feb 21, 2014 at 8:59 am

The point was, you can’t speak for reliability unless it’s been used for a meaningful period of time. Hence I dismissed the “including some of the latest models.” Further, I was questioning the relevance of bringing up the few 10-15 years old VW cars into the picture. And these are irrelevant regardless there being ‘some of the latest models’ or not.

An expat (or even the whole family), can have several VW cars including some which lasted 10-15 years, and SOME of the latest models.

Really? And he would still have spent enough time on each and every VW car to be able to speak for its reliability? I just haven’t seen any expat being heavy drivers in Malaysia, maybe this country is better suited for people who does not think or analyse. God saves Malaysian’s education.

Yes of course my car failed, as my nickname suggested. I cannot believe I really have to spell out everything.

From the way you responded, I sense that you are one of those with the mentality “If you’re raped, you should be ashamed of yourself instead of trying to seek justice and bring shame to your family.”

So, I am sorry that I am a victim and I speak up.

Maybe I should target VW instead of Mark. But he opened up the channel by writing something in response of the earlier commentators so this was only fair.

• How do you explain the millions of VW’s recalled all around the world for faulty DSG Boxes?

The 1 week campaign by Fairfax(Australia) to convince VW that a DSG Recall is needed and the tens of thousands of verified owners with issues with the DSG that VW refuse to fix prior to the campaign?

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2507401/Volkswagen-recall-cars-worldwide-faulty-gearbox-light-fuses.html

• taiko on Feb 19, 2014 at 1:49 pm

Keep on dreaming.boleh land, always possible.CHEERS

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 4
    • Das Tongkat on Feb 19, 2014 at 5:00 pm

It’s possible…if VW give free installments 6 months sure sales hit 40,000…(follow Proton trick lah)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • 2013 Passat Owner on Feb 20, 2014 at 10:54 am

Won’t work. Everybody know VW dirty tricks. Even their warranty is not genuine 5 years. Only 2 years. The remaining 3 years is insurance warranty. That is discretionary. Up to their suka hati. So, if my DSG box kongs in the 3rd year, I hear I have to pay over RM50k just for the DSG gearbox alone because if the adjuster non in the mood, I am dead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 14
      • Norman Whitling on Feb 20, 2014 at 1:39 pm

Hello, 2013 Passat Owner, can you show us a picture of your car and its registration number as well as your purchase agreement? So everyone can check whether you are telling the truth. Thank you.,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
        • Mr Tan on Feb 20, 2014 at 3:47 pm

All you need to do is give your name and car registration number, so we can do a JPJ search and match your name to your car. The other details like the car you own etc, we can find out easily.

Come on Passat owner, show the rest of us that you are leggit?

• Huat Motor Workshop on Feb 21, 2014 at 1:14 am

Where is 2013 Passat owner ah? Suddenly dissapear when people ask him to show proof. Confirmed another bogus mother f****r.

• yes, he is indeed a bogus motherf*kr.

• honest on Feb 19, 2014 at 1:56 pm

Most of the spare parts not readily available
    solve that 1st

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 2
    • fukvw on Feb 19, 2014 at 4:53 pm

Yes. Agreed. Solve the spare part & after market issue. I made an appointment a week earlier. Told them my issue and the technician suspect it was due ball bearing. Search online forum for clue based on the symptom, and I 100% sure it was due to ball bearing. When I came to SC this morning, the technician confirm the ball bearing kaput. But they can’t replace it because no stock. Need schedule another appointment next week. Fuk! What the hell. Wasting my time, almost whole day. During the 1st call I have explain the issue. They should order the part earlier. BullS** VW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 4
    • they need number first..if a car is not common how to make spare parts abundantly available..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 19
      • Apparently VW don’t put customer service first.

No spare part for VW car owner.

• kangkong on Feb 20, 2014 at 12:34 pm

My friend’s Passat wind shield replacement also take weeks to replace as no stock in Malaysia.

• fukvw on Feb 21, 2014 at 12:30 am

Dude. It’s only ball bearing. Not a NEW engine or DSG. Do you think T&H owner having the same sh*t like VW owner? If VW management brave enough to increase the sale, they should consider the after sale + the number of Service Center. Fuctard VW fanboy!

• the ckd will solve that. the more models they ckd, the parts will be available. simple as that. they are already moving towards that direction.

• Kaiju Groupie on Feb 19, 2014 at 1:58 pm

Should had appointed Tengku Mahaleel Proton ex-CEO. Heard he can make Waja into BWM. Polo Sedan into Lexus perhaps

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 15
    • Tun Mechanic on Feb 19, 2014 at 4:32 pm

Bro… Waja was an awesome car man. I have to admit it was like a BMW but after few years dunno la. Maybe they can change the DSG to use like the Savvy AMT Gearbox. Power baik punya.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
      • Vader on Feb 20, 2014 at 7:39 am

You are unique, man! Since maybe only 1 out of million will admit that waja is like BMW.
        Your joke level same as the joke that like someone said Malaysia football team can win world cup champion!

• kadajawi on Feb 19, 2014 at 1:59 pm

Christoph Aringer looks a bit like Till Lindemann… (Rammstein)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
    • kadajawi on Feb 19, 2014 at 8:27 pm

People here don’t know who Rammstein is… only listening to K-Pop…

• AutoFrenz on Feb 19, 2014 at 2:09 pm

Why is it that those driving vw always hv their eyes looking up while on d road…perasan premium issit…as if we are their poor cousins…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 33
    • ARIFFIN on Feb 19, 2014 at 4:07 pm

Does that matter? No self confidence. There are many people who have BMWs or Mercs drive Protons confidently without caring about the snobs because they know who they are.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • vincent on Feb 19, 2014 at 5:02 pm

they’re mostly conned into buying VW, thinking that VW is equivalent of Audi/BMW/Merc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 10
      • thinking that VW is equivalent of Audi/BMW/Merc.
        ———————————————

Cfirm le VW is not Audi…Audi is basically a glorified VW….Audi is VW premium brand, same goes wt Lexus, its toyotas premium brand

the diff is, lexus & toyota last longer compared to any VW group product

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
      • All you guys talking c**k here. If you are bitter about others, just kill yourselves la, why criticize others?

• Keris Jawa on Feb 19, 2014 at 6:02 pm

Ish, gila apa bawak kereta tengok atas?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
      • AutoFrenz on Feb 19, 2014 at 8:03 pm

Hahaha…lawak lawak…it means mendongak ke atas mcm bagus dan riak….got it dude…

• Das Auto on Feb 20, 2014 at 12:09 am

Never noticed that. ONly see toyota alphard and camry drivers looking up at the sky all the time. Arrogant face not sure their neck cacat or scared of rain then the sunroof will leak.

• autofrenz definitely has an “inferiority complex” issue. pls solve ur own problem first.

• Diablo on Feb 19, 2014 at 2:14 pm

Have i told u to inspect ur insight before? U havent? Shame on u,vw (visit workshop)….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • hahaha…VW = Visit Workshop..thats gud bro!a bit like the Banyak Masuk Workshop brand…hahahaha

• Ah Heng on Feb 21, 2014 at 1:10 am

Honestly, i have not seen a single VW car breakdown on the road, being towed or in the workshop. Only cars you see on the workshops are BMWs and Mercs, mostly recond and Toyota’s. (older models). So can you tell me which workshop are all the VWs in? At least show picture la.

• If by 2018 VW beats Toyota and become the biggest manufacturer, the Jetta/Passat will be as common as Vios/Altis.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 10
    • Rubbishjaps on Feb 19, 2014 at 4:49 pm

Jetta and Passat is like Cerato/Optima and Elantra/Sonata,very reliable.Unlike those Toyojunk B and c segment car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 23
    • it say Volkswagen Group which consist of Volkswagen, Audi, Skoda, Seat, Porsche, Bentley, Lamborghini, Bugatti, MAN, Scania..

Just like Toyota which consist of Toyota, Lexus, Daihatsu etc..

• unhappyVWcustomer on Feb 19, 2014 at 2:21 pm

Please fixed your after sales service support that is so crappy and VW group doesn’t care about it(tidak apa attitude) at all. To the owner of Paultan.org, forward this message to the managing director if possible.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 0
    • this one i agree 100%. vw after sales support is very crappy despite their continental image.

• Lando on Feb 19, 2014 at 2:24 pm

Ayo…they pasang locally the battery and tyres only, then they declare CKD? Lari dari tax ka?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
    • bro…you can CKD any cars without the need to include local parts…
      read the report…VW is going to increase local parts to 40%…not that they already achieved 40%!

Good to the local vendor….though!

• Lol..u know wat ckd rite..even 100% no local content n as long the car not in one piece it is consider ckd..if some major part already assemble before come to boleh it is call skd..u know rite?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
      • Michael on Feb 20, 2014 at 9:28 am

That is the kind of intelligence you have. A car to qualify for CKD must have certain percentage of local Malaysian parts. Don’t spread rumours and lies here. If you are not clever and cannot speak some truth, just keep quiet.

• paucharsiew on Feb 19, 2014 at 2:26 pm

well…don give sub par quality products?

• From my point of perspective, Volkswagen Malaysia is currently on the same position as UMW Toyota but with the added benefit that unlike UMW, there are a majority of the product offered in the line up that are credible. But unfortunately, these products are high in the market price, cars like the Passat CC, Toereg and GTI/R sports variants, which are awesome product but it’s not the kind if cars you want to increase sales volume.

Those that are required for high volume sales aren’t what we call value for money. The polo/polo sedan and avoiding the mindset that you are buying Deustchland Technik, there isn’t much to sway buyers from a Vios, itself is about as loved as Mondays. Same hoes for the Jetta and Golf which are well spec and benefits from European know-how, but are priced too woefully high for their spec and size relatively. The Beetle appeals only to the young crowd in the same field as the vel

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 14
    • Besi Buruk on Feb 19, 2014 at 2:59 pm

Two paragraphs of confusing statement.

• Sorry, Didn’t finish typing and reviewing it and accidentally pressed the submit button.

• Exactly. Polo = Vios. I was hoping Polo > Vios, but too bad. In fact, I would say the interior and reliability of Polo < Vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • the passat is the same price or cheaper than the camry. the jetta is the same price as the altis full spec. i knew it coz i bought one. don’t just compare list price. there’s this thing called discount in the dictionary. go check.

• No, I am saying that the Passat doesnt have a cheaper variant, the rest of the compeetition has a cheaper variants starting at around RM140k and thou its lesser spec, you are selling a D-segment car to a larger market and budget levels, thus increasing sales. Yes the XV50 Camry 2.5v is sold at RM180k(do people still buy that?), but the range starts at RM150/160k over the entry level to the Passat owner club of RM170. And there are still cheaper D-segment like the Accord/Optima/Sonata which all start at RM140k. And regarding your Jetta. Wow, not bad, a RM10k drop over the stated price if your story check out, but no matter how much I hate about UMW Toyota and how unreasonable their pricing. The new Altis comes with the equavalent safety at its top form while having navigation, LED projector….and given I know people getting RM8k diiscount on a Toyota Camry, than with discount, the Corolla still undercuts the Jetta. Looks is very subjective, but I am leaning towards the Hated Altis.

Well than again the Jetta is not all bad, I am sure RM10k you get better Éuro-level quality and a comfy rear seat vents.

• I never liked the dashboard quality of Volkswagen. Just my personal view. Anyways good luck on 20K unit sales!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 12
    • the dashboard quality differ…..from polo to golf!
      So id the price…..

• Besi Buruk on Feb 19, 2014 at 3:03 pm

Your first statement is already your personal view. You cannot be speaking for another person. So the second statement is not necessary.

• rchoo on Feb 19, 2014 at 4:11 pm

Same with me, don’t like their dash board design and their lack of features, only emphasize on power, come on, power is not everything lah. Sub par dashboard which is why I bought Pug 508.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
    • kadajawi on Feb 19, 2014 at 8:23 pm

Eh… quality? Design, yes, not everyone may like it, but the quality is usually quite decent. Not much to complain about IMHO. I’ve seen worse from Japan.

• From my point of perspective, Volkswagen Malaysia is currently on the same position as UMW Toyota but with the added benefit that unlike UMW, there are a majority of the product offered in the line up that are credible. But unfortunately, these products are high in the market price, cars like the Passat CC, Toereg and GTI/R sports variants, which are awesome product but it’s not the kind if cars you want to increase sales volume.

Those that are required for high volume sales aren’t what i find value for money. The polo/polo sedan and avoiding the mindset that you are buying Deustchland Technik, there isn’t much to sway buyers from a Vios, itself is about as loved as Mondays. Same goes for the Jetta and Golf which are well spec and benefits from European know-how, but are priced too woefully high for their spec and size relatively. The Beetle appeals only to the young crowd in the same field as the Veloster and CRZ and that’s a small crowd.

Only the Passat I find really competitive but again, as a D-segment which usually starts around RM140k for its East Asian and French counterparts, is going for RM170k(the price for a top spec rivals) and cars like the Hyundai I40 , Mazda 6 2.5 and Honda accord 2.4 possess specs that somehow eclipse some of the appeal of the Passat.

Not to say I diss Volkswagen I still like them, but for them to take on the oriental dominance in the Malaysian market, they need more competitive products. Cars like the Amorek and Up! are needed to spice up the market (against the Hilux and picanto’s market respectively) and also introduce a lower price Passat and Jetta. Also they must somehow convince us that VW are as reliable and cheap to maintain as the orients.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 14
    • lemer on Feb 19, 2014 at 3:11 pm

What are talking about man about reliability and cheap to maintain? My extended families have Jetta, Corolla and Golf. Corolla is asking to make service interval every 5k km and VW is asking every 15k km. So which one is more reliable and cheap to maintain?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
      • What you gave is the time and distance over the service interval(which is weird cause I know Vios service interval is also around 15kKM) but what I want to know is the service cost and more importantly, when a paarts like a GB or mirror is broken, how much does it cost to replace or repair it?

As far as I gather, the service charge for a Passat is at RM2k at the 30kKM mark while a Accord 2.0(2012 model) is at RM600-RM700. To be honest I have no exact figures as none of my extanded family drive European cars and these are just figures circulating the net, but given that the fact A)They are more complicated machinery ,the TSI engine and DSG gerabox, I would bet that they have an extra premium when it comes to maintenence and cost of parts. Its been circulating around that the infamose DSG gearbox cost RM6k to fully repair, but don’t take my word for it.

• lemer on Feb 20, 2014 at 11:05 am

Let’s calculate if Corolla charge you at RM400 at 5K km and VW charge you at RM700 at 15K km. which one is cheaper? And do you think which one is more reliable something need to take care 3 times the effort and times compare to other one that need one time only on the same usage length of km?
          Where do you get this info RM2K at 30k km? you don’t own Passat and not even your extended family own one. Even at 60k km is not close to RM2K.

• Calm down, like I said and admit, the sources comes from the net so it is not accurate(lowyat.com if you are wondering). I generally gather info over 5-10 sources before confirming to it and even than it is still 100% reliable, but even the positive statement surrounds more on the fact that there is an additional premium in ownership when driving a Euro cars than a Oriental. And in a way, just two VW in your extanded family is unable to justify to me for the thousands on the road.

Anyhow, now I do know a(and this is from someone I know) VW Polo TSI has a RM700 maintenece every 15k KM. I also do know that most people(I know of) that owns Toyota regularly services it at every 10-15k KM, thou like Honda, the first service is at 5k KM. Both Toyota and VW never give a solid maintenece outline on their site, Honda does give a 5-year service outline for most of their model.

I’ve said before People’s experience with cars veries, I have a terrible time with my mom’s Alza while loving my City thou there are people with bitter memories of their Honda.

• AVH, in your honda service schedule booklet, are you supposed to service every 5k? The answer is yes. And I’ve owned a Civic before. It’s ~300 every service.

A VW is 15k interval and 500-600 per visit. Do the math and tell me which one cheaper. Also the fact that VW allows 15k interval means that the car is more reliable.

• I have no idea which Honda you are quoting, my city has a maintence layout of 5k KM per first 15k KM followed by 10k KM intervals stated in log, and a grand quote of RM4k over 5yrs/100k KM. The outline set by Honda for the Civic 2.0 and Accord 2.0/2.4 in their site is stated for a service interval of 10k KM. I have no idea which VW you are quoting, but I am guessing Jetta…..so the layout set by Honda for a Civic 2.0l brings a grand total of RM3.9k with its service interval set for a 5yrs/100km plan. So the VW as you quote(I am guessing Jetta) with an average of RM550 per 15k KM over a course of 100km brings a total of RM3,850…..a difference RM50
            And so you have it guys, according to farq, a VW is as cheap to maintain as a Japanese. Case close

• well, my input did not consider the price of part replacement. it’s only service maintenance. if you include part replacement, no doubt VW will be more expensive since the parts are imported. as more VWs are being ckd (passat, polo and upcoming jetta), this should not be a big concern going forward as existing cbu owners will be able to get cheaper parts going forward.

• Christoph Aringer Do Something on Feb 19, 2014 at 3:47 pm

Passat 2012, recently trade-in for 102k only
      VW price drop like a big stone due to 7DSG issues.
      VW, do something with your product reliability and image please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
      • VW, no reliability, no spare parts,
        no peace of mind.

no status. Rosak Macam China Car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
        • leslie heng on Feb 20, 2014 at 1:57 pm

So many Naza trolls here. No point reading this site anymore. Waste of time

• Alastair on Feb 20, 2014 at 9:11 am

This is what those Germany people want.

They give u Well built cars, but Low Reliability that is worst then China Car.

So, U would spend money come to service centre.
        else, They think u may buy another of their car.

Return Customer, does not work that way.

Most people like you, Never buy Germany cars, having once in a life time is good enough to have the most painful car owning experience in life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
        • Cheng on Feb 21, 2014 at 1:02 am

If you dont buy Germany cars, then you have not yet at the peak of your success yet. That means you are still driving your Kancil is it? Why still havent made it in life?

• haha.. this guy who trade in passat 2012 at 102k is a joke. are u really being naive to not know that trade in price is NOT the market value of your car???

the 2nd hand dealer at least takes a 20k slash off the market price when taking in your car and pocket the money. ur 2012 passat worth ~120-130k if you were to just put up a simple advertisement in mudah and sell it yourself. u have just paid the 2nd hand car dealer a commission of 20k. so stop complaining about low market value.

• High Budget on Feb 19, 2014 at 2:38 pm

Just another Business.

• VWsupporter on Feb 19, 2014 at 2:43 pm

Set a goal is very good for future.

• Sam Loo on Feb 19, 2014 at 2:55 pm

If I were to buy for use, I would consider a used kimchi instead.

Very low selling price for a 15 month old unit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 21
    • Besi Buruk on Feb 19, 2014 at 3:17 pm

Not all Malaysians buy cars because of high RV. By the way, I don’t thing there is a proper method to value a used car besides Accounting depreciation method. RV is just somebody perception of the brand. Remember, nobody can tell you the condition of the used car by looking at the badge or the engine or just hearing the engine sound – Ini bagus punya kereta!

• Gently Speaking on Feb 20, 2014 at 10:52 am

VW car:

no spare part
        not reliable
        high maintanance.

how to have Good RV?

• Sam Loo on Feb 19, 2014 at 5:39 pm

yes, because the toyota vios have such an awful spec for the price point, that even i, the great sam loo now considers getting a kimchi for own use.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
    • kadajawi on Feb 19, 2014 at 8:25 pm

Want to know how to get the best RV? Buy a Proton Iswara, put the rest of the money on a bank account. After 5 years the Iswara will at most have lost 5000, and the money on the bank account should still be there (maybe a bit more).

• SamPakcikSakit on Feb 20, 2014 at 2:36 pm

Pakcik Sam, tolong tidur diam diam dan pergi makan ubat. Jangan cakap bohong.

• motorhead on Feb 19, 2014 at 2:56 pm

Mat Salleh punya belit is worst.. puuih.. no need cakap byk.. come to Glenmarie service centre. Solve after sales 1st.. then can talk kok (sales target).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
  • xoomie on Feb 19, 2014 at 3:08 pm

DSG no good !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
  • Buletinsemasa on Feb 19, 2014 at 3:11 pm

with the price hiking year nowadays, if really VW can achieve that its truly miracle

• upgrade your customer and post-support services to a comparable level with Toyota 1st, then we are talking.

• Limbo on Feb 19, 2014 at 3:42 pm

Am selling off my golf 1.4TSI and never to buy another VW again, not in malaysia anyway. The products are good, but the network to support it is nothing short of crap ! Still years behind compare to jap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
  • Car_fan on Feb 19, 2014 at 3:57 pm

VW is a strong brand with exciting technologies but the design of their mainstream cars like the Jetta and Polo sedan are very dull, inside and out. And they have earned a terrible reputation of unreliability and heavy discounts. I used to want one but now I don’t anymore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
  • I m surprised no one mentioned about after sales service from VW?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Sgdude on Feb 19, 2014 at 4:10 pm

Why set a target when you know its illogical to achieve… Ridiculousness…

• Steve Kok on Feb 19, 2014 at 4:30 pm

Just my 2 sens of advice to all…
    Please stay away from DSG gearbox if possible.
    The DSG transmission is not suitable for our hot weather especially during a hot day traffic jam.

But i think the CKD Polo 1.6 with a conventional touque converter auto should be ok.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • tathoong on Feb 19, 2014 at 4:44 pm

I will say good luck to those who intent to buy VW with DSG7 gearbox.

Until now. still not solution for it :(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
    • Tan Chong on Feb 19, 2014 at 7:49 pm

Who said no solution? All cars with DSG dry clutch problem, be it VW, Honda or BMW are being rectified with either software update or other upgrades accordingly. Its done free for all these car owners.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
      • 2013 Passat Owner on Feb 20, 2014 at 10:49 am

DSG dry clutch cannot do software upgrade to solve the problem. It is an inherent hardware defect lah dung!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
        • What talk u on Feb 20, 2014 at 2:02 pm

Hey Passat Owner Cow Dung, you are obviously covered with dung in your the minute brain of yours. Software CAN be upgraded in a dry clutch. It cannot be done on a semi-auto or fully auto only.

• vincent on Feb 19, 2014 at 5:00 pm

20 thousand rakyat love visiting service centre once a week.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
  • rakyatkito on Feb 19, 2014 at 6:02 pm

For VW to really compete, they must match the japs and korean for price, after service and reliability (DSG problems come to mind). otherwise it will be another low volume conti. If they can do that in china, they can also do it here if they really want to (of course, the market size here is tiny compared to the middle kingdom)

• Deng Xiao Peng on Feb 20, 2014 at 2:05 pm

In the middle kingdom, VW just retained number 1 position. So are you saying people in China not so smart?

• Peter AMH on Feb 19, 2014 at 6:49 pm

My Passat of 2years is currently in WEarnes Sg Besi to fix that infamous DSG. 2 weeks still not settled. Excuse is adjuster fr VW not approved yet. Rattling sound fr dashboard for the last 2years.
    No more VW for me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • 2013 Passat Owner on Feb 20, 2014 at 10:37 am

I dont know why they need adjuster to come. All other cars warranty is outright. My car, each time DSG rosak, takes 1 month to repair. 1 month I take Len Seng bus to work. From German prestige, I have to go to non aircon Len Seng bus to work.

• Bro, you mean each time your DSG rosak ? so which means how many times already your DSG rosak ?

• If VW really do indeed intend to sell that amount of vehicles in Malaysia, try not to give us shit spec’d polo sedans and polo hatchbacks without ESC. If KIA could do with almost the same price with everything intact (6 airbags & ESC as standard), so can VW. Try not to F up the CKD Jetta.

• b sensible on Feb 19, 2014 at 6:56 pm

for vw to replicate its success in msia just like china, it need to localise its products. meaning to use as much local contents as possible to be competitive.
    right now vw is seen as premium brand. for premium brand to get breakthrough in sales, it need to make high quality & reliable products, while keeping its price competitive across the board.
    if vw really want to be “das auto” (the car), it needs to connect more with consumers. e.g. engaging more with consumers with promotion, test drive, safety campaign & generous warranty programme. vw need to break the mindset of the people that vw is more than a car. i think the key to success is to cater the car for different types of lifestyles e.g. someone prefer larger boot to carry 1 week groceries, some need to ferry their children to school, some need to pick up goods for customers, some need to load 2 mountain bikes.
    for the numbers, i think they need to break the stronghold held by toyota & honda which is not always easy. fingers crossed, vw just need keep pushing!

• alldisc on Feb 20, 2014 at 1:06 pm

actually, VW really wants to sell normal models like Golf 1.6 manual and the likes but the lack sales volume. if they bring it in, the price is like about 120k – now, who is going to buy a regular Golf 1.6 at that price?

they cannot sell it at 90k unless there its CKD but then again, there will be no volume to cover the cost of setting up assembly line. even the jigs alone cost millions of ringgit.

that is why VGM started with high models first – cars like GTI DSG (in europe the preferred GTI is manual, not DSG) and passat CC.

the original idea came from Honda which was selling its Civic Type R FD2 6 speed at 200k. so, Golf GTI is a performance 5 door hatch, but on some level with better characteristics so why not sell at slightly more? this is how they came up with that 230k price list.

and suddenly the landed price issue came accross my mind again – 49K for GTI and 47K for TSI. a mere 2k difference.

import tax is only around 120% but TSI is selling at 155k, while GTI is 75K dearer.

can see the game now?

• rendang on Feb 19, 2014 at 7:23 pm

Sorry VW. Here is not China. We are not anti-japanese like the chinese communists. Want sell more? Give us the specs like you give in europe. Your spare parts are so expensive. VW is more than car? it is just a car still have a lot of problems in US. Quality is another question. Are you as good as you advertise? Why there are no recall action about chain problem of TSI? Try to provide Malaysian more. Don’t put yourself too high. VW is not better than Toyota. Give some competition to japanese brand in Malaysia. So that, the japanese can provide us more too.

• Golf MK 7 owner on Feb 19, 2014 at 7:26 pm

Selling lots of cars but after sales service such as schedule service, repairs and spare parts support really sucks!!! If cannot provide proper after sales support, please don’t sell lots of cars!!
    VW federal auto in Glenmarrie is such a BAD example!!!

• intermilan on Feb 19, 2014 at 8:51 pm

20K in 2014?
    Omputih budak baru ni kuat betul angan-angan mat jenin dia..

This must be what crossed the mind of most VW salesperson when they heard this..

• Audi owner on Feb 19, 2014 at 10:39 pm

VW set target to 20,000 units per year.Why not set target to improve on after sales services.That will even build confidence to the new buyers.

• alldisc on Feb 20, 2014 at 1:33 pm

that was what umw toyota did in the 90s.
      and succeeded at it.

with average sales of 80,000 units a year (several time hitting 100k) accumulates to about 900k vehicles over a period of 10 years.

the biggest problem umw is facing now – its 70 service centres nationwide could not cope with the mass.

but at least, they are earning good money from both sales and after sales. something good to learn not only ambitious VW but others as well.

Nissan is learning very well in this manner but honda is suffering from its very own tactics launched 6-7 yrs back – giving 5 times free service. now that almost all cars come with similar package – honda had nothing left up its sleeve.

• Passat on Feb 19, 2014 at 11:14 pm

Should resolve the quality issues face in the market before talk about increase sales. Main problem is the engine shutoff. Service after sales is poor….

• Dear VW, Solve your DSG issues first before even thinking to increase your sales or start fitting your cars with 6 speed gearboxes with the TSi engine although a bit slower but it’s still fast enough and more reliable.

• Look like this mat salleh will be on chopping board next year with his super projection. Early this year already chop those fella who fails miserably and overtaken by Hyundai. Next year, they will be overtaken by Kia.

• alldisc on Feb 20, 2014 at 2:00 pm

i was surprised myself after finding out Kia registered about 10 thousand units of new cars last year. i guess many ppl not knowing the history of NazaKia after sales. maybe they had changed.

• mmaker on Feb 20, 2014 at 1:41 am

I never believe that 15k service interval because from looking the engine oil after 10k, it looks like we have to change the oil already. For me 15k is a marketing gimmick to increase sales. The real phenomena is if VW want to be reliable the service interval should be 10k, same as it’s competitors

• This reminds me of my ex pug 407 cbu when i bought from c&c back in 2005. I recall oil change was 20k service interval. When the ckd pug 407 launched, service interval was 10k.

My years of owning the pug407 with 20k service interval, i had bad oil sludge when they decide to do top overhaul to solve the blardy depollution error shown up on the diagnostic board. Mind you, i religiously send back to c&c and never outside mechanic. Mileage when i did back then was around 80k for the top overhaul and it was only 3 years old car. Anyway, the mechanic there did says, we should instead change at 10k instead of 20k no thanks to gridlock we face everyday.

I know bmw also use 20k service interval but i think i will stick to 10k. You can really feel the difference after changing oil at 10k as compare to dragging the oil till 20k or even 15k.

Just my 2 sen. Cheers.

• DatukPa on Feb 20, 2014 at 11:36 am

Most car now can tahan 10k.
      change early at 5k give no difference.

but VW, give 15,000km service interval is real gimmick.

1st. their engine and gearbox is not reliable.
      2nd. they ask come slower.
      3rd. They want build your car with quality, but they want it NOT RELIABLE. with longer service interval and no spare part available, They can rest Assured that your VW car will not last.
      4th. They think if like that, you may trade-in and buy another VW, Faster.

No, I am not stupid buying VW car.
      same to BMW.. 2 years warranty? China Car aa?

• They should extend the DSG warranty in Malaysia to 10 years like in China

• Sam Loo on Feb 20, 2014 at 9:25 am

This CEO was formally leading Porche, which is a targeted segment market, not a mass market segment.

No wonder VW Malaysia keeps sliding, alongside with he face that expats running the show, costing easily 300k Euro a per per head

• LeXuS on Feb 20, 2014 at 11:20 am

There is one simple definition of good car::

1. When you buy your New car,
    think, will People willing to buy your Used Car??
    At what price?

Being in the 2nd hand Market::
    People Want their car::

1. Low Maintance.
    2. Easy find spare part.
    3. High Reliability.
    4. Low FC.

with this 4 criteria fullfilled, you can be rest assured that your car will have Value, People would like to buy 2nd hand car, from you.

Why We care for RV?
    it’s 2014!
    We use change phone more often.
    We change car more often too.

Car has value, while we change car, higher RV will help us to buy a better car in future.

• LeXuS on Feb 20, 2014 at 11:22 am

on the other side,
      Manual Car has RV drop faster then Auto cars. Due to lower demand of manual car in the market.

unless it’s a sport car, different case.

• motorhead on Feb 20, 2014 at 11:24 am

After reading all of VW owner comments… Im glad driving my 6 years old super Myvi & 8 years old Vios.. Vios give some leaking problems. . But I solved it by my own with some silicone. None of them stuck in workshops, never… only once for paint jobs.

• kumar on Feb 20, 2014 at 12:12 pm

my polo sedan is 1yr old. guess what. it has so many rattles and squeaks that i have given up trying to solve them. even vw has no idea how to. my proton started rattling only on the 5th year onwards. very very disapointed!!!

• Jaybond on Feb 20, 2014 at 12:19 pm

The main stumbling block for the volume VW models (especially Polo Sedan & Jetta) are their price which mostly are positioned above the Koreans & Japanese models. How can VW think they could achieve higher sales volumes when the Koreans & Japanese offerings which have better design/value/quality for the money.And don’t tell me it’s because of the VW badge.

• Jonest Wong on Feb 20, 2014 at 12:53 pm

Buck up your service centre then only you talk about setting targets!

• Gently Speaking on Feb 20, 2014 at 1:03 pm

VW – low reliablity,

furthermore,

it’s assembled by DRB Hicom, the Proton Owner.

Double Shot.

• at current numbers of vw u need to book more than 1 month in advance to do simple interval service the damn car…..just imagine if they double the sales volume….i gave up!!, might as well dispose of my 2 year old mk6 golf, just recently replaced its infamous mechatronic & clutch pack. Cfirm will be disposing at a loss wt the current value of all dsg equipped vw but hate the hassle of visiting the workshop.

Its a very nice car to drive, handling etc…is top notch but the after sales services sucks big time and coupled wt the hand grenade reliability of the dsg…can explode anytime. Will only look back at VW once their service centre are up to mark and if the offered a manual instead in future golf. A golf TDI wt manual perhaps!(assuming we will be at above euro4 in future le)

• btw, i drive a Teana V6 as a company car but the lill 1.4tsi golf is way above it for performance, comfort & handling….but, the Teana is soo reliable…did not miss a beat for the last 3.5 years compared to the 2 year old golf(mentioned mecha & clutch pack replacement)

• Eric Teo on Feb 20, 2014 at 1:33 pm

I drive a 2007 polo. Same specs, gear box & engine like the current Polo CKD. Email me: [email protected] I will tell you the entire stories.

• VW owner on Feb 20, 2014 at 2:52 pm

China consumer association n gov sue VW for 7speed dsg defect. now vw extend the warranty for anohter 5 years!
    VW malaysia just diam diam.
    this is design defect without consider different temperure condition. it’s VW fault.

• CARtoonEnter your name... on Feb 20, 2014 at 3:16 pm

I’m continually being amazed by the sheer number of comments made by people here that can range from pure hallucination to perfect sense. As a second time owner of a VW car and regular paultan fan, I notice not many people are aware that VW’s service manual describe our driving condition as extreme (at least that’s how I interpret the warning) and as such, it may require a shorter service interval than the one officially stated (15k km). Anyone has this in mind too and has anyone tried servicing their VW say at 8k or 10k interval instead? Just curious what would be the difference.

• Another VW victim on Feb 21, 2014 at 12:37 am

I know owners who service at 7.5k intervals and still have engine misfiring issues. I myself serviced my car every 10k. Sorry but it makes no difference. It failed anyway. Both cars I’m talking about are < 2 years old / 50k km.

• Dolores on Feb 21, 2014 at 12:55 am

Malaysians dont read manuals. In fact Malaysians do not read, period,! We complain first and then kena kutuk later.

• Lam HL on Feb 20, 2014 at 4:20 pm

Tell the story here la,why so shy? Want to bullshit, is it?

• Another VW victim on Feb 21, 2014 at 12:34 am

Whenever there is a piece of news about VW, there comes a lot of -ve reviews. How do anyone not think that it is simply because VW cars has a much higher rate of failure and of course, coupled with an unbelievably terrible sales service. I am not speaking of just the delays, they give really bad attitude. They would not even take 1 minute to check the system to give you some basic information on your car if you’d just asked for a status update.

I do not understand why some of you are defending. Did yon experience the crap they gave me? I was wearing my 1-year old boy at their workshop and their staffs prefer to go for long lunches and tea breaks rather than attending to my problems. I do not understand why there are even ppl who defended the engine/DSG, we are complaining about the unreliable engines/DSG we were given, if your VW did not give you any engine/DSG problem does it mean that you can speak for the reliability of all VW cars?

Do you even understand statistics? Just because your ONE/few VW cars you drive hasn’t given you problems yet it means everyone else who had engine problem are nuts and they had nothing better to do but to rant here? So shut up if your VW cars haven’t given you any problems yet, because you have no idea how annoying it is to see how you dismiss ppl’s experience of something that happened based on your experience of not having experienced it yet. Yes, when I put it this way, it is just stupidity. And that was what you are. In the spirit of your defence, do not argue with me that you have a brain because nobody including yourself has seen your brain.

And now I will tone down my sarcarcism. I was hopeful after I test drove a golf mk6. I went against all the -ve comments ppl posted. I thought those were just the handful unfortunate guys. Now I speak to you from the inside, you will really feel great in the car, while it still drives. And I saw that it was a significant proportion of VW car owners who have either engine or DSG issues. And I experienced first hand how unhelpful the VW staffs were even when it is something within reach (I called only once after leaving my car at the workshop for more than 1 month and they refused to give me so much as an update on my car/new engine when I called).

So hereby I declare that all these VW owners who have nothing better to do with their time other than trying to warn others, are just a very big group of ppl whose evil agenda is to keep these fabulous VW cars a secret. Don’t believe me? Why not go buy one and experience it first hand yourself like I did? To me, the whole VW experience feels like battling with cancer and no light at the end f the tunnel. But who am I to judge? You should go try it yourself.

VW 2+3 years warranty. Giving you what you do not need. Hahaha. Be my guest and believe it if you want to.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • wow, so much emo. are u a girl? no? then must be pondan.

anyway, sorry to digress. u bought a golf MK6 my fren.. read my lips, golf mk6. vw already declared they have issues with dsg and that mk6 falls into that category. go buy a mk7 la and u won’t be battling cancer anymore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
      • AverageJoe on Feb 21, 2014 at 11:39 pm

Bro, you seem to be leaving a lot of pointless comments here. What is your point here? As long as VW declared that a part has problem then they are not liable to fix the faulty part?

Your parents must have declared your brain farq-dup and then left you alone. Hence you had the impression that’s how things work?

• Another VW Victim on Feb 21, 2014 at 11:53 pm

First of all, my DSG was fine. It was my engine that failed. So there you go, moron level 1 unlocked.

Second, just because VW announced that the mk6 DSG is faulty does it mean they’re not liable and would not have to find a solution anymore and hence I lost my right as a consumer to complain about a faulty car? What was your point? Moron level 2 unlocked.

What is wrong with you? If somebody’s DSG failed you would advice him to get a newer version DSG where the core design is mostly identical? Congratulations, you have just unlocked the ultimate moronic level.

• Another VW victim on Feb 21, 2014 at 12:46 am

To those who are confused. When ppl mentioned that it’s the top 10 worst engines, they were ranked by their reliability and tendency to fail. It is different from the best engine award where the reliability is not part of the assessment.

So the point is, it’s really nice to drive a twin charged/DSG VW but it is very likely to not last long.

• pls make urself educated. best engine of the year includes reliability consideration.

• Another Vw Victim on Feb 21, 2014 at 10:44 pm

Can you read?

http://www.ukipme.com/engineoftheyear/rules.php

SCORING
        In every category, the panelists judged each shortlisted engine using their subjective driving impressions and technical knowledge, taking into account characteristics such as fuel economy, smoothness, performance, noise and driveability. The jurors each had 25 points to award to their five favourite engines in each category. A maximum of 15 points could be allocated to an engine, and the minimum was 1 point. Engines could not be tied for the top spot.

• farq.a.k.a.fuk on Feb 25, 2014 at 11:58 pm

Those editor only given 1 or 2 days to test drive the car. With superb features/tech, you name it. Ask them to own the car for year or two. Then write the review.

• Aq unilateral on Feb 21, 2014 at 8:33 am

What a brave move but two of them looks toubled

• kumar on Feb 21, 2014 at 3:07 pm

VW where is our APOLOGY and 10 years WARRANTY?

http://www.autoevolution.com/news/vw-officials-apologize-for-faulty-dsg-gearbox-in-china-45400.html

• FarqIDIOT on Feb 21, 2014 at 10:58 pm

Unplug your brain from your arse.

http://www.ukipme.com/engineoftheyear/rules.php

SCORING
    In every category, the panelists judged each shortlisted engine using their subjective driving impressions and technical knowledge, taking into account characteristics such as fuel economy, smoothness, performance, noise and driveability. The jurors each had 25 points to award to their five favourite engines in each category. A maximum of 15 points could be allocated to an engine, and the minimum was 1 point. Engines could not be tied for the top spot.

• yvonne on Mar 01, 2014 at 6:51 pm

hello dear all volkswagen owner,
    i just buy a polo gti 1.4, is a very nice car.
    to those who say their own the vw car n having problem, pls proof it 1st. quote u register number n name. let public check it then u talk.

• Wong Khee Haur on Apr 03, 2014 at 11:40 pm

This car sucks! clutch changed 2 times, light controller once, and now EPC problem! SC told that the accelerator pedal sensor spoil and need to change. No warranty and charge 400. My car in VW workship 2 days already.

• Kent Teos on Oct 20, 2014 at 1:00 pm

it almost comes to the end of the year. How’s the 20k target going? Anybody has the latest sales figures? It seems like these complaints has been fallen to deaf ears. VW Malaysia has to be reshuffled.

• Golf MK7 Owner on Mar 23, 2015 at 1:27 am

Try this link. It shows the 2014 sales up to Nov. http://d1evvto86t5vms.cloudfront.net/news/wp-content/uploads/images/2014/12/Brand-positions-for-November-2014.jpg

They are not even close to half of the target volume.