2014 Toyota Aygo teased – to be unveiled in Geneva

2014_Toyota_Aygo

Now here’s an upcoming Toyota model that promises to be big on fun. No, it’s not quite the new Supra we’re all hoping for (though one based on the wild FT-1 Concept is said to be in the works), it’s the second-generation Aygo city car instead.

The 2014 Toyota Aygo will make its full debut at the Geneva Motor Show next month. Like the original Aygo, this new one is co-developed with PSA Group too, and thus will share plenty of common parts with the Peugeot 108 and the yet-to-be-unveiled Citroen C1.

As before, the Toyota is set to be the most expensive of the trio, which will be justified by its more upscale appearance and premium interior trimmings. Its engine lineup is expected to mirror that of the Peugeot – small three-cylinder mills of either petrol or diesel variety.

Joining the 2014 Aygo at Toyota’s Geneva stand will be the brand’s two 2013 Tokyo Motor Show design studies, the hydrogen-powered FCV Concept and the FV2 future mobility concept. Looks like Mitsubishi won’t be the only one caught recycling old concepts for the Geneva show.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• AutoFrenz on Feb 20, 2014 at 12:29 pm

It’s a cute car…too bad we already have myvi if not tis wd be a good car to be plying our roads…maybe perodua shld rebadge it as agogo…now thats something…

• I hoping people don mix up between toyota aygo n toyota agya

• TeresaCockCNYClown on Feb 20, 2014 at 5:44 pm

Agya, Ayla, Aygo. Aiya! Wa sula pining oooo.. Ayoyo!

• policeman on Feb 20, 2014 at 12:44 pm

If you rearrange the letters you get Gayo.

• spongewai on Feb 20, 2014 at 1:02 pm

bring it here to Malaysia to compete the price against Viva, Alto, i10 etc along with 108, ForTwo, C1 and other city car

and if UMW or other company get green light, pls dun give a lousy specs lol

• If they want fun and exciting design, I believe Toyota is on track to achieve it judging from the sketch and the teased footege . But like the slew of new Lexuses, it seems to be overly agressive and manga style atypical with the Japanese culture and I like that, but not sure it will it appeal to the more sophisticated Europeans. The interior teased at 0:38 [but more of a Prooduction I.G render than an actual car shown] previwes a rather simple interior with color combination trim and a large LCD headunit high up in line with driver as in the 3rd gen Vios.

Personally the 1st gen Aygo was rather popular in Europe and this looks like a worthy succesor design wise. But my only concearn for the Aygo is Toyota’s limited inventory of modern powertrain to go against the Europeans.

• frenzyaustin on Feb 20, 2014 at 5:28 pm

I think it might looks good, probably. But how does it drive? Toyota surprised the world with GT86 and disappointed the world with Corolla and Camry.

• Ultraman Aygo! hehehe

• Denaihati on Feb 20, 2014 at 2:19 pm

Looks like a very beautiful cute car. Get ready for fun. Hope will come to Malaysia.

• Joker on Feb 20, 2014 at 4:06 pm

perhaps Perodua will rebatch this and call it Gay.O!! Gay car in the making….

• motorhead on Feb 20, 2014 at 5:34 pm

Fun, yes.. but when reach here price will minus the fun..

• Design looks nice hope come to Malaysia

• dino years on Feb 21, 2014 at 7:16 am

the words toyota and luxury…just…doesn’t go together.