2015 Ford Expedition goes the 3.5 litre EcoBoost route

2015 ford expedition 06

Ford’s largest utility vehicle, the Expedition, has been given an update for the 2015 model year. The full-size offering will now wear a F-Series 3.5 litre, direct-injected twin-turbo EcoBoost V6 mill, replacing the current 5.4 litre V8.

The turbo unit, which is paired with a six=speed SelectShift automatic transmission, will be the sole powertrain choice for the eight-seater, which is available in standard and extended-wheelbase forms. Aside from the engine change, the third-gen Expedition also gets a series of enhancements. Among the external revisions are a new front end, LED fog lamps, a redesigned rear hatch and new wheel choices.

2015 ford expedition 02

New kit on the U324 includes Blind Spot Information System with cross-traffic alert, push-button start, electric power-assisted steering as well as SYNC with MyFord Touch, replete with an eight-inch touchscreen.

There’s also continuously controlled suspension damping, which makes the Expedition the only Blue Oval-branded vehicle in the US with three selectable drive modes (Comfort, Normal and Sport). The 2015 Expedition also sees the introduction of a new high-trim Platinum trim package, which joins the XLT and Limited variant range. A new King Ranch edition will come about in due course.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Malaysian won’t get it in boleh land. We can only see but not touch.

• kontol chong on Feb 20, 2014 at 5:01 pm

what is happening to Paultan!!!! why always view cars that are not even manufactured or imported for malaysians??? POS! we need to hear news about what cars model and make to be here in malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 23
    • Sam "Hailat" Loo on Feb 20, 2014 at 6:38 pm

You live in a cave or what…? Oh I forgot, Gua Tempurung is on fire…!

Paultan covers not only the local automotive industry, but the global one. If Paultan opted for the former and it dies, Paultan can tapao lor…?

If you want one, go get AP and bring them in…? Question is, can you afford one…? I’m sorry I forgot again, you’re not the business savvy type. Need I go on…

Now go put out the fire in your tempurung and stay there…! OK…?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
  • Ok wat…at least it is available in auto oni

• konga on Feb 20, 2014 at 6:22 pm

Dream to have here in Malaysia

• AutoFrenz on Feb 20, 2014 at 10:09 pm

What for its not even pretty…better bring in ford edge…thats even more edgy and fits in well with our narrow roads…ford edge…anda mampu mngubahnya…

• jolly_idiot on Feb 20, 2014 at 10:30 pm

Massive and huge car. But too bad. Too big for malaysian road

• Scouser on Feb 21, 2014 at 9:09 am

meh… this leviathan is getting a bit long in the tooth…

• niterunner99 on Feb 21, 2014 at 1:16 pm

It looks as big as a Range Rover or a Hummer3 (not the full Hummer5 version).
    So i think it should be ok for Malaysia roads, but for sure won’t be coming into Singapore!

• AbsolutKev86 on Jul 02, 2014 at 9:09 pm

backside is still the same ugly square….
    good thing the engine is revised but owners will miss the V8 roar of cold start