F56 MINI Hatch to make Malaysian debut in April

mini-f56-pr 044

The F56 MINI, which made its global debut last November, is due to hit Malaysian dealerships during the MINI Weekend of April 12-13, MINI Malaysia has told members of the press at the ongoing international drive event in Puerto Rico.

The Weekend will see dealerships nationwide offering various activities for visitors, and of course, the chance to get up close to the third iteration of the iconic hatchback. No official mention was made of the debut variants, but we speculate them to be the Cooper and Cooper S.

New engines – the Cooper’s 136 hp/220 Nm 1.5 litre three-cylinder turbo pushes it from 0-100 km/h in under eight seconds. Thanks to a 192 hp/280 Nm 2.0 litre four-cylinder turbo, the Cooper S manages the same in under seven seconds.

Yes, we’ve tried them both – while you wait for our driving impressions, learn more about the new MINI here and here. The car was also showcased at the Tokyo Motor Show the day it made its global debut.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• damn bored..doing locum..bloody hate to see pts faces..all just want MC..dont like to check pts, just want da money only…all da sick pts who just want MC can go and F themselves

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 31
    • Why can’t you type like a normal person using proper grammar? It’s easier for normal people to understand what you’re on about

• ponyrider on Feb 21, 2014 at 5:59 pm

This is the internet. Save ur spelling/grammar lesson somewhere else… Ok,brah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
    • flykite on Feb 21, 2014 at 5:20 pm

if u r bored, then dun do locum..go enjoy ur life outside..owh u dun have money..kesian..

• motorhead on Feb 21, 2014 at 6:53 pm

Matt you must be drunk.. this is a motor blog.. go find doctor blogs or drunk blogs.. Wtf..

And this is also not English lesson blog..

Like the mini.. Unfortunately mini are considered luxury cars here.. luxury small car..

• And the expected price would be?

• oo ok. next.

• nabill on Feb 21, 2014 at 11:30 pm

its gonna be like 500k and 750k for the S version…or sting crazy like that…i wont be surprised…