Has Proton deputy CEO Datuk Lukman Ibrahim resigned? Rumours abound, speculation mounts

proton-deputy-ceo-038

Speculation is running rife that Proton’s deputy chief executive officer Datuk Lukman Ibrahim has reportedly resigned from the company, with Utusan and Sinar Harian among those reporting on the matter. If he is indeed resigning, it’ll be the second time he’s doing so.

Back in late July last year, he announced his resignation from Proton, citing personal reasons, but rescinded that decision shortly after to continue on in his current post. With the previous resignation, an official announcement was made by Proton on the matter. This time around, there’s nothing of that sort – the company has neither confirmed or denied anything, merely responding with a ‘no comment’ reply to questions on the subject.

Lukman was appointed to the deputy CEO post at Proton on May 1, 2012, shortly after DRB-Hicom took over control of the national carmaker. Prior to the appointment, he was DRB-Hicom’s group chief operating officer.

Just over a week ago, Lukman spoke to paultan.org about the automaker’s export plans and performance, as well as on the upcoming P2-30A Global Small Car and the general improvements that have been made at Proton of late. If there’s any truth to the matter, it begs the question as to who will replace him.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• I don’t know what is going on at Proton right now, and as much as I’d like to speculate, it wouldn’t make a difference.

I just hope that whatever happens, Proton doesn’t slack off and go into further debt. Proton, you must keep working hard and improving yourself, us rakyat are counting on your turnaround plan.

Please don’t disappoint us !

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 107 Thumb down 37
    • haha… Lu biar betul.
      They have been disappointing you for ages. What different can it made now?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 53
    • Ada Aku Kesah on Feb 21, 2014 at 5:08 pm

Once bitten, twice shy?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
    • SureRock on Feb 21, 2014 at 10:05 pm

If they go ahead with their plan to move all their productions to Tanjung Malim and proceed with their RM7b redevelopment of their Shah Alam properties…They can go cash rich after this…..but….knowing Proton…who knows….

• Obama on Feb 21, 2014 at 10:48 pm

Seems like when talking about Proton, there will always be huge opinion disparity and arguments. Peace!

• Low Budget on Feb 23, 2014 at 1:09 pm

Very sure in the not too distant future, Proton will sell the Shah Alam land, that piece of land is equivalent to gold mine, smack in between Shah Alam and Subang Jaya…

• rockybalbao on Feb 22, 2014 at 5:16 am

Close shop better. Proton is the biggest obstacle for m’sia ever expanding auto industry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 24
      • anonymous on Feb 22, 2014 at 3:50 pm

if proton close shop… we may get cheap car. But our auto industry will not develop further as no foreign automaker interested in investing heavily in malaysia nowaday.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
        • Miong! on Feb 23, 2014 at 11:56 am

Develop? Really? Getting tech, machineries and tools from outside were their preferences. Boleh makan angin and being ‘specially’ treated there. What to care about cost? Gomen can always bail out if capital run dry and rakyat pay the car price and tax. Tech and knowhow transfer? Forget it (except suspension tuning). Thai doesn’t has a ‘Proton’ yet their auto industry has all the automotive ecosystem they can proud and live about. (Pst pst.. Proton also obtained toolings from there)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
        • Low Budget on Feb 23, 2014 at 1:12 pm

Don’t think we will get cheap car in the next decade even if Proton close shop, APs are the hallucinating drugs for the cronies and high excise duties are the essential drugs for the gomen.

• Albert lee on Feb 23, 2014 at 2:42 pm

Correct….correct….correct.If proton closed shop,the vacuum in sales will be channeled to perodua,Naza,Hyundai,and others.unless there is regime change,the RM8 billion in excise duties annually,is going to stay for another century.

• just me on Feb 23, 2014 at 3:45 pm

Must be malu after watching top gear review on malaysia made car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • Manjaman on Feb 21, 2014 at 4:09 pm

Who cares what happens at Proton.

The sooner this company winds up, the better for Malaysians.

A liability for 30 years. Enough said.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 139 Thumb down 70
    • dino years on Feb 21, 2014 at 4:30 pm

we all should care because proton is our chance of cheap good cars. like it or not, the govt is unlikely to lift taxes on cars whatever happens to proton or perodua. they benefit too much from those taxes. the damage has been done, the system has been put into place. repeatedly calling for the closing of proton will not do anything besides further undermining confidence in bolehland, and making companies like umw think they have conquered our market forever.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 23
    • Obviously on Feb 21, 2014 at 7:19 pm

You must be pretty naive to think that if Proton closes shop, car prices will come down.

Enough said.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 7
      • Bryan on Feb 22, 2014 at 2:40 pm

Open Competition will always lead to competitive products, competitive prices and competitive after-sales services.

Competition creates a healthy and vibrant market for the consumer in any industry. If the govt removes all protective policies for car manufacturers world wide to participate here.

The industry here will explode with Malaysia becoming the Automotive capital of South East Asia. Hundreds of thousands of jobs will be created.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
        • dino years on Feb 22, 2014 at 3:28 pm

the point is if proton closes down the very minute after you thumbs down (or up) my comment, it will not make the govt remove any “protective” policy because those policies bring it huge revenues.

• Albert Lee on Feb 22, 2014 at 8:51 pm

Time to sing”WHAT A WONDERFUL WORLD” with the demise of PROTONG.SAYORNARA………………………

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
      • Low Budget on Feb 23, 2014 at 1:17 pm

Not so soon, they will either persuade this guy to continue with a higher salary or select a new ‘Blue Eye Boy’ to take over his post.

• Guan Yin Ma on Feb 21, 2014 at 4:12 pm

Who cares whether who will lead proton. In the end, proton still proton. Will they give a chinese or indian a chance to be the deputy CEO ? Dreaming.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 76
    • racist?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 60
      • BLT Club on Feb 21, 2014 at 8:08 pm

How is this racist? We should have equal opportunity in Malaysia. Why should we limit our capabilities by discrimination?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 19
        • DStandard on Feb 22, 2014 at 5:03 pm

Everything against Chinese is Racist?
          But everything against Malay/Bumis is Equalism?
          WTF??!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 17
      • Sam "Hailat" Loo on Feb 21, 2014 at 8:39 pm

It’s kinda sad with this mentality of anything to do with non-Malays is considered racist…

Does that mean Public Bank is a racist bank since it is founded by a Chinese…?

Astro and Maxis are racist service providers because the owner is an Indian…?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 18
    • jinggo on Feb 21, 2014 at 6:17 pm

Kasi chance la cainis or indian to be the ceo of proton satu kali. Mana tau proton bole terus lingkup & RIP.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 16
    • Hopeless lah no matter who became the CEO!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
      • Low Budget on Feb 23, 2014 at 1:25 pm

Thats right, no one races can save Proton except the Proton workers, everything boils down to dedication of the team of workers from parts procurement, assembly, design, quality control etc.. most of all they must not be afraid to reject lousy parts from the cronies companies.

• pirlo on Feb 21, 2014 at 9:07 pm

Proton’s CFO is chinese. racism again?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
    • motorhead on Feb 21, 2014 at 9:19 pm

And since when a chinese company give a malay CEO post?.. tutup la mulut busuk lu.. I ve worked in chinese company for 8 years.. your kind are no better.. worse in term of job post.

Im not a proton fan.. but keep racial issue away.. or I ll start talking my experience with chinese companies. Luka lama masih ada.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 16
      • Bryan on Feb 22, 2014 at 2:44 pm

motorhead,

There are only good companies and bad companies. Good bosses and bad bosses. Good management and bad management.
        What has all these got to do with race?

If your company has 2 bosses/owners as partners, 1 chinese and 1 malay, and they both treat the staff badly. Then are all both chinese and malay in general bad people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
    • HAMEED KOYAKUTTY on Feb 22, 2014 at 9:07 am

Haiyooo….this is an automotive blog !!!

Apa cerita racist ni????

Gaduh2 punya pasal….Johor sudah jual sama SIngapore, Petaling Street sudah jual sama Nepal, Jalan TAR sudah jual sama Pakistan, Brickfields sudah jual sama Pondhicherry, Kampung Baru sudah jual sama Siam, Gombak sudah jual sama Wak Kang….

Malaysia apa tinggai???? Gaduh la lagi banyak2…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
    • Mr Keong - Someone who wants you to wake up on Feb 22, 2014 at 2:23 pm

Dude, racist statement is not good. Please don’t start the spark. There are allocation in industries where even BUMI is not entitled too. Please let go of your hatred and turn into something positive. You should listen to the ENGKAU BOLEH song to lift up your spirit. Take care, cheers!

KEONG

• Syed nasurudin on Feb 21, 2014 at 4:21 pm

Please tell him to f@&) off and never return to proton. He did it twice and still got no malu to return

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 8
    • Low Budget on Feb 23, 2014 at 1:27 pm

His way of asking for better salary increments, perhaps?

• frankly, i don’t quite care.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 19
  • look at my star on Feb 21, 2014 at 4:39 pm

I guess, proton should honor his request n hired someone who dare to take de challenge, deliver n go beyond rakyat expectation. Like how kia dare to hired/pay a huge amt to bring in audi designer into kia famili n change some of kia continental car to a good looking car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • 4G63T DSM on Feb 21, 2014 at 5:11 pm

Like that is going to make any difference. Its better to put a puppet or monkey at the helm.

Nothing will change as there are too many leeches in the system. The gravy train will continue. Proton never started off in the right foot as a proper business, and it will never find its proper footing with that much baggage to carry around.

Yes, it has improved but at what costs?

One can probably draw the same to all government linked companies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 10
  • Want to leave, leave la. Apasal mau wayang-wayang?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • matkuku on Feb 21, 2014 at 4:44 pm

just leave and fly kite. an average joe can do better job than him..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Kaiju Groupie on Feb 21, 2014 at 4:52 pm

Resign or not, no one cares. Heck, wonder why this is even news worthy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • I am happy that this super Ego Lukman is gone. I hope he goes and never comes back. no passion, no charisma nothing to prove .I rdcall the day DSSZ left it as all sorrow and sadness and now for this man gone all are happy. at least they can get a better person and maybe bring back some of the good talents who left the company udner this man to take the helms again. they shouild go after all his people in proton and audit them every one who was in his team.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 1
    • Aghanis on Feb 22, 2014 at 9:39 am

Proton should recall for DSSZ

• Bryan on Feb 22, 2014 at 2:48 pm

DSSZ is a great CEO. However, his talents will be wasted at Proton.
      The real bosses are the generals below the CEO, pulling strings and playing politics, adding to lots more bureaucracy.
      DSSZ cannot change the culture effectively as a one-man show and we all know why, which is sad…….

• nabill on Feb 21, 2014 at 4:58 pm

Hopefully a forigner with experiance.. Locals not qualified… Nothing to b patriotic about lets get real

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 10
    • when politics come in the middle of the way, anything will make no difference.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
      • Kaiju Groupie on Feb 21, 2014 at 8:59 pm

The only so called ‘tuan’ with foreign experience is now sitting at a prison in Stockholm for child abuse.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
  • toyoi on Feb 21, 2014 at 5:06 pm

proton got good designer… but too bad, they just cant afford to build one with good looking due to cost constraint.

i demand datuk syed zainal make a comeback

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 8
  • Get DSZ back to Proton. I’m sure he’s brave enough and can do a LOT of improvements with DRB’s money. I still remember when they told us the Preve was supposed to look similar to Tuah/Espire, have LDWS, BLIS, Top-view park camera, CCFL, 170hp…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • AREOS on Feb 21, 2014 at 5:13 pm

Bring back Dato’ Syed Zainal…he’s best bet for Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 5
    • Hondaman on Feb 21, 2014 at 5:39 pm

Highly unlikely, why go back to the lion’s den when you are happy where you are right now? Btw some UMNO people don’t like him, read outsyedthebox who called him Proton’s worst CEO.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
  • KangKung Man on Feb 21, 2014 at 5:30 pm

Aiyo! Want to be famous kar? Resign tak resign – Cam tu jugak Proton… each years lost lost lost – need Gov to support … Better close it lar – Wasting Malaysian Money. Blood Sucker!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
    • sila marah ini org mr “Otak Udang”..ini org sudah salah eja..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 19
    • Kaiju Groupie on Feb 21, 2014 at 9:03 pm

Like he rescued Proton from depth of bankruptcy like Carlos Ghosn. Good riddance

• Under lukman Proton sales dropped to lowest in years, lotus made a loss of rm500mil thousands of ppl left proton, several projects were either cancelled or put on hold, incompetent people related to him took over sections of company and in whole proton was turned to a big toilet, he should be investigated and fined for theses stupid results. Good that he left. Kept him go run a mamak store.

• LOLOLOL on Feb 21, 2014 at 5:42 pm

Lol. Probably sacked for trying to be a real car manufacturer by proposing the R3 and manual cars….. Sorry, proton can only do rebadge ok. Dont change the formula otherwise you get fired….. LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
    • Kaiju Groupie on Feb 21, 2014 at 9:02 pm

They haven’t cut the root completely. There is still so called Waja = Asia BMW racer wannabe son helming R3 division. Wonder how the fat boy can even enter a racing car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • Henry on Feb 21, 2014 at 5:56 pm

He can now join MAS. (wink, wink)

• Low Budget on Feb 23, 2014 at 1:33 pm

MAS shares already down to 0.30 Sen, can’t afford to hire him.

• hisyampendek on Feb 21, 2014 at 6:51 pm

I hear that he was asked to leave bcoz he has not been doing what he was asked to do… Instead he went on thinking he’s some kind of ballin’ n so fly.. Travelling and enjoying like a high flyer! But yet… GSC is delayed! Always delayed… From supposedly April to launch wei… Semua cakap kosong… Now hear hear they say January oso still dunno whether can launch or not.. Damn…

• Panjang on Feb 21, 2014 at 7:29 pm

Sham lowered.. Beragak la sikit nak cerita hal dlm kelambu… Dah pergi on kan mesen stamping tu… Ramai gigil nak pakai blm sv ni!

• hisyampendek on Feb 24, 2014 at 8:04 pm

citer hal kelambu ape plak. skrg aku dh xde boss nk berlagak.. aku kena la jadi kawan balik. sbb masa DLI ada aku kerek.. sekarang semua org nk pijak aku.. sbb aku kerek dulu… skrg aku nk berjasa. bagitau semua kurap dalam kelambu DLI. mmg dia pun berkurap!

penyamun tarbush. dia ingat Tun M je ke boss dia… x sedar diri. dari dulu org amik dari kucing kurap now dah bergelar dato’. lepas tu lupa diri. perangai standard la melayu….

aptb

• Maximus on Feb 21, 2014 at 7:05 pm

Elokla tuh. CEO DRB Tan Sri Khamil bila pulak nak berambus?? Rasa mcm takder value dan menjahamkan harta rakyat dengan late delivery projects sahaja…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • zorro on Feb 21, 2014 at 7:11 pm

We will miss you!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 17
  • thebugbud on Feb 21, 2014 at 7:35 pm

To be fair.. proton is still good on after service and pretty happy with that. But newly launch models are really brianless such as the super premium preve and what ever.

That shows the bloody leaders have no brian and no touch with market. A classic of lack of leadership and vision. Pls get lost.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
  • Keris Jawa on Feb 21, 2014 at 7:39 pm

Takde style la mamat ni…

• Zapruder on Feb 21, 2014 at 8:10 pm

I think if this guy resign, Madey will replace him.

• Most of them are specialized in Localization………
    Suddenly, put him him in taking care of Proton which totally different concept….So, what you can expect?

• rumourman on Feb 21, 2014 at 8:33 pm

First Lukman offended Khamil…was then removed. Lukman then went to Mahathir and pleaded with him. He was reinstated….now asked to leave again. Anyway, when time is right, Proton will be sold again. This time to Mokhzani….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • pirlo on Feb 21, 2014 at 9:13 pm

i heard that rumors as well. if that happens, i will say, screw you mahathir. i know proton is your brain child. but, do not disappoint malaysians’ hope and trust (well, you have done a little i think). put a real automotive man in the helm who has skills and real passion towards the industry. put aside politics (duh!) and other own interest in this company.

• GTR 2.0 on Feb 21, 2014 at 10:00 pm

Mokhzani? Hmmm… is this the reason why he sold some of his share in SapuraKencana?

• lotus_to_sell? on Feb 23, 2014 at 12:18 am

i think they r selling lotus to SapuraKencana.. Not the whole of Proton. coz Mokhzani was on an official visit there recently. heard from a very strong and reliable source.

• Mr Keong - Someone who wants you to wake up on Feb 22, 2014 at 2:30 pm

How dare you screw a man that had brought allot of changes in Malaysia despite him being human after all. You’re not perfect as well but problem happens, and we’re to solve, not comment with hatred and condemn people who has got nothing to do with this Article. Historically maybe and think of what was the original plan was all about. I respect Mahathir despite not voting recently due to frustration on both sides.

Kind regards,
        Keong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
  • abdullah on Feb 21, 2014 at 9:33 pm

Ship is sinking

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • Samad Jain on Feb 21, 2014 at 10:00 pm

Every Business is set up to make money, while Proton is the one company that lose money in business. Would anyone of sane mind want to do business and expecting to lose money??

After so many years already, Proton failed to make money, so please close shop.

Simple enough to understand, Proton??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • SureRock on Feb 21, 2014 at 10:55 pm

Peugeot also loose money….and the French gomen bail them out with help from Dong Feng….maybe proton need to do the same…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
      • Samad jain on Feb 21, 2014 at 11:02 pm

if other kids in class fail their subject, would you ask your own child to fail his subject too??

• SureRock on Feb 22, 2014 at 4:27 am

Ahh….we gonna play this game eh…

The same kid that fail their subjects and next exam he got good grades because He went too look for outside help (i.e tuition’s, tutoring, Astro TV Pendidikan :P)….Don’t you want to do the same? Remember the child that we have in this case Proton is failing all the time every year…

• deaftek on Feb 21, 2014 at 10:03 pm

syed mokhtar should fire Khamil fast..he is destroying DRB real soon. Project AV8 armored vehicle for the malaysian army akready delayed two years

• SureRock on Feb 21, 2014 at 10:58 pm

DRB should sell DEFTECH to Bousted….the only military supplier I trust in this country…

• Renaissance on Feb 21, 2014 at 10:31 pm

Dont spread hatred here…

Proton please strengthen your QC Dept.
    Pleaseee….. ZzzzZzzzzzzZZzzz…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
    • KangKung Man on Feb 22, 2014 at 10:25 am

Renaissance,

Aiyo! Not the first time lor … Should fire all those QA/QC Dept since years back. 1 day dunno how rounds minum kopi in their office.

• Manjaman on Feb 21, 2014 at 11:15 pm

Why not hire an expert from foreign shores to lead this company?

Look at Nissan with the appointment of Carlos Ghosn. He’s doing a great job there.

We should appoint ppl based on merit, not based on race.

But still, the existence of Proton back in 1985 was indeed a curse to Malaysians.

Thank you DrM

• KangKung Man on Feb 22, 2014 at 10:27 am

Aiya! Not fresh news … In n Out – In n Out … End up we Malaysian suffer – Can get in Super Pro Person also no point end up – VIP said No this no that … End up same Proton again – from years to years – Tax getting higher … Soon GST liao …

• DLI has left and will be followed by his men and women. pat wahid juga resign. Banyak sgt kepala dala proton, hungry for power, tapi result hancur, ky, rm, ho semua tak boleh pakai, jenis super ego and denying syndrome kaki maki hamum staff. Nie mcm all drb breed lebih kurang sama.

• alisetan on Feb 24, 2014 at 8:12 pm

ali…

u r wrong bro… DLI has no men or women in proton. he govern Proton with Fear. he made everyone have nightmares. they whom leaves and/or has left.. are on their own terms and mainly because of DLI. bcoz he is a person with no respect for others. he’s the worst leader any organization will ever have.

and kaki tangan yg duk kena maki by KY semua tu probably one of them is u. coz u r one of them who cant deliver and just banyak masa terlapang… kutuk mgt tp kerja sampah. suruh buat keja x buat. tau memboyotkan diri kat office. 530 cabut balik. betul kan? ngaku je lah…

drb has breed many good performers. look at how many NAZA has pinched them. Proton Engineers.. now mana? TAN CHOONG. why? bcoz of DLI. not DRB.

Get ur damn fact right!

• Norman on Feb 22, 2014 at 1:02 am

Plus check the board of directors,Shareholders before even commenting on racist issues…China,India,Indonesia and even Singapore also got many racists…It’s so astonishing shock to see Proton topics change to political and now racists…If got extra cash pls buy europeans/koreans/Japanese brands.Why must nitpicking using racist as an issue?I’m using Proton,My wife using Volkswagen and my eldest daughter driving Hyundai I don’t see any problem with that..

• Ghost on Feb 22, 2014 at 8:44 am

Whats the point hiring outside talent in proton when they are not given the freedom to change things for the better. You can bring all the big names in but the attitude and management ego will still result in the same kind of cars made and sold.

• Somebody calling himself “pofessor Rozi” claiming to be from a UK university ( which im sure is fake letter written by some gomen propaganda troops) wrote to one of the local Enlish papers few days ago ranting if we dont kip potect Potong, we will end up like the car industry in Australia ( last manufacturer Toyota pulled out due to high cost)…tat it is right for the rakyat to pay higher car prices to potect Potong…and the MOST DUMB statement was, he said tat ” Bolehland need a car industry in order to become a dveloped nation, look at Indon and Thailand only car assembler not dveloped nation”..wow, me thought, countries like Switzerland, Holland, Canada, cannot be call dveloped as they no car industry?? And most car manufacturers build their factories in Indon and Thailand mainly due to potection for P1….we could have few million jobs but instead end up kip feeding and boasting the few hundred thousand related jobs created by Potong…pls lah to the local papers tis is the age knowledge and internet, u still tink we leaving in 1970 and 1980 try dupe us wit those fake letters to the editor it really makes us hate u more

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • BLUR SOTONG on Feb 22, 2014 at 12:09 pm

BOB.agreed to your arguments and points you pointed out . A country need not have a automotive company to prove itself as a Developed country. PERIOD !!!
      Caretakers of this Bolehland. Please take note !!
      Malaysia airline and Proton had been sucking the people’s money for many years and many BILLIONS !!!!!!!!!!!!

• Mr Keong on Feb 22, 2014 at 2:33 pm

AGREED! :)

Regards,
      KEONG

• Botol on Feb 22, 2014 at 10:36 am

Whats the point hiring outside talent in proton when they are not given the freedom to change things for the better. You can bring all the big names in but the attitude and management ego will still result in the same kind of cars made and sold.

• deaftek on Feb 22, 2014 at 10:39 am

The problem is actually DRB. DRB don’t know how to make business. All their businesses are silver spoon handed from Government (Rakyat). All they know is make their employees as slave, cut cost (coners), talk a lot but no substance, PR to the media but inside upside down, find scapegoat, enjoy the perks but squeeze the employees benefits. The list goes on…

The curse to DRB continues…

• retard on Feb 22, 2014 at 11:47 am

Kasi jual lotus haram then ok bcoz teori halal + haram jadi haram.

• retard on Feb 22, 2014 at 11:47 am

Kasi jual lotus haram then ok bcoz teori halal + haram jadi haram.

• Yeaaaa….now I can apply for the vacancy….if KJ want to resign also better….

• Henry on Feb 22, 2014 at 2:17 pm

The premise of the Proton project is a good one. We already have AFTA. With the imminent lowering of tariffs and restrictions, it is a given that Proton should be able to corner the ASEAN automobile market and thus generate a huge export market for the company. Sadly, the company rested on the laurel of it’s domestic success due mainly to prohibitively high taxes on imports and neglected the main objective.

With no innovations and perceived quality improvements the company soon lose whatever advantage it gained earlier. Another huge mistake, before the introduction of the Campro engine, was having too many engines and models in collaboration with Citroen, Renault and Mitsubishi. With few common parts throughout the model range, the spare parts inventory is enough to bankrupt the company.

The woes of this company cannot be fully told in just two paragraphs. Do your own research and you will find out more.

• Albert Lee on Feb 22, 2014 at 8:45 pm

There you go,PROTONG.
    An insider reported lately,the board meetings have deteriorated into HUGE SHOUTING SCREAMING meetings,with fingers pointing at those responsible for crumbling sales.
    THERE IS NO WAY OUT(like in wrestling) of the deep Abyss.
    Don’t waste your time waiting for the Global Small Car.The cancer is contagion.
    Just amputate,dissect,bisect and DISSOLVE this unprofitable venture.SAYORNARA…..PROTONG. Perodua will be renamed PEROTAMA,PERTAMINA OR PERTAMA…….let Malaysians choose.

• Gmail on Feb 23, 2014 at 12:16 am

komen kat sini dah banyak macam sampah.

• Hakan Samuelsson on Feb 23, 2014 at 11:09 am

Based on Proton’s dwindling sales, lack of new engine family, ageing vehicle platform, low parts scaleability across the different vehicle range, tightening regulations pertaining to emissions and crash performance, high staff turnover, liberalisation of south east Asia markets and the respective NAP 2014 incentives that do not favour Proton products, competitive products below RM100,000 from other players, it is believed that Proton’s troubles can be directly attributed to one man. Ini semua salah Anwar Ibrahim.

• Low Budget on Feb 23, 2014 at 1:46 pm

Best joke of the day!

• Albert lee on Feb 23, 2014 at 2:34 pm

Are u sure it is Anwar?Who founded Proton,Anwar or the mamak?Politics aside,Proton should not exist in the first place.After 25 years,billions of the taxpayers monies have been channeled to bail out Proton.
      And the new arab mamak have the cheek to ask for another half billion Rm grant to boost Proton in R n D.

• SureRock on Feb 24, 2014 at 12:37 am

I thought anything bad under Malaysian sky salah UMNO?

• old dog on Feb 23, 2014 at 3:16 pm

probably ah mok has already sub-conned majority of the Protong part supplying to his own subsidiaries or cronies and now will later selling Protong back to Khazanah/Petronas…what a way to do business…

• Kurt Maes on Feb 23, 2014 at 3:22 pm

Proton should work together with global carmaker , in historie of Proton always talks…..no action !

• thedarkside on Feb 24, 2014 at 12:01 pm

i heard jeremy clarkson is applying for the job!!!

• Henry on Feb 24, 2014 at 1:38 pm

How many Preve and Suprima in the inventory are unsold? It would be nice for us to know the numbers.