RON 97 – up quietly in early Feb to RM2.85 per litre

ron 97 feb 2014

Users of RON 97 fuel would have noticed an increase in the per litre price of the fuel earlier this month, when it was increased by five sen to RM2.85. The increase took place exactly a month from the last pricing change, which also saw a five sen increase to bring it to RM2.80 per litre. The hike took place quietly, so is this likely the start of a trend to tacitly go about working fuel pricing revisions concerning the unregulated premium fuel?

The current at-the-pump price for RON 97 thus takes it back to the pricing as of September 4 last year, when it was increased by 15 sen from its previous RM2.70, in place since May 23, 2013. Pricing of subsidised RON 95 and diesel has of course remained from its revision to RM2.10 per litre and RM2.00 per litre respectively from September 3 last year.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• oil price in the world is going down but ours going up quietly???? wonder are they according to the world price or their own bn price….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 165 Thumb down 12
    • Vader on Feb 24, 2014 at 1:26 pm

Later the G claim that they are concern our rakyat healthy. Price hike is to encourage rakyat walking/running/cycling more to have better healthy..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 126 Thumb down 9
      • Black Dog on Feb 24, 2014 at 2:38 pm

Announce also kena, might as well don’t announce kena less!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 48
        • AutoFrenz on Feb 24, 2014 at 2:48 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 252
          • adam nat on Feb 25, 2014 at 10:30 am

Woi bengap, macai cybertrooper…..RON97 WAS our standard default fuel until this bunch of kampung administrators decided to con the nation by giving RON92 + 3 and named it RON95…RON92 plus additives???wtf?

You want carbon buildup in ur engine, vibrations,
            & shorter service interval?go ahead, be an idiot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
          • Bangbang on Feb 25, 2014 at 10:34 am

Those who take back, diam diam. Hopefully no one will know. Taikai jering.

But when give, telur sebiji, riuh sekampung.

This is the style of Malaysia, diam diam barang naik.

• AutoFrenz on Feb 24, 2014 at 2:43 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 194
        • 1NDecent on Feb 24, 2014 at 5:42 pm

People make noise to (hope to) discourage these kind of price gouging. Just like you complaining about other people complaining.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 6
        • Don’t be stupid Autofrenz,
          Certain cars requires ron 97

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 9
          • brown kid on Feb 24, 2014 at 8:11 pm

Got the money to buy CERATIN CAR but cant afford whining on ron97 ?
            Sell your car better, #shooffbastard #tard

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 77
        • Excuse me lah ron95 is for Proton… import car pump 97!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
          • kopisusu on Feb 25, 2014 at 10:51 am

Very funny. RON 97 for import car? I saw all import car using RON95. Mine using RON97 for my proton saga 1.5I 1989
            You cannot said RON95 only for proton, it up to you whether you having a deep pocket or not to use whether RON97 or RON95

• AutoLame on Feb 25, 2014 at 12:10 am

did you stuff brain juice up yo ass? because i think ur stuffing the wrong part. maybe its because u never pump ron97 for ur car that’s the reason u can’t make noise.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • I don’t mind pay petrol RM4/Liter but buy car at zero excise duty…it’s fair and open competitive system for everybody…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 161 Thumb down 9
      • Low Budget on Feb 24, 2014 at 1:47 pm

..and also the car loan term to reduce to maximum of 3 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 19
      • kington on Feb 24, 2014 at 2:40 pm

Govt will earn less, way less if tax and duties are abolished – WHICH IS A NO-NO.

CUKAI RAKYAT DIDAHULUKAN.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 4
      • Elvin on Feb 25, 2014 at 11:54 am

Agree with u bro. Should be also control the downpayment at least 50% to own a car. So that ‘some’ ppl will rasa what we rasa and somemore less congestion on the road.

• Ring-Ring-Ring-It on Feb 24, 2014 at 1:47 pm

Nope, our Ringgit is running low and will be even lower soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 1
    • mamatwhyla on Feb 24, 2014 at 2:48 pm

Curi2 things must do quietly ma. Their action shows the actual intention.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 6
      • Do you even understand what is happening? RON97 is not subsidised!!! What is there to curi2? If you even use RON97, all that selling price will go into the pocket of the seller. As far as i know, RON97 is still exempted from sales tax, (depending on the world price of course).

If RON95 was increased quietly, then it’s a different story. Even so, why should we be so stupid to line up to buy petrol if there was a price increase. It is not as if we can get even RM100 of saving at that time.

• “The hike took place quietly, so is this likely the start of a trend to tacitly go about working fuel pricing revisions concerning the unregulated premium fuel?”

Weird statement. In the first place, RON97 is not subsidised. Why the Govt should be announcing price changes anyway. The price is stated on the pump in any case. Consumer just have to refer to the pump and decide which fuel they want to use, the subsidised RON95 or the unsubsidised RON97. Simple.

As far as I know, the Govt has mentioned that they are doing a “managed float” mechanism for RON97. Maybe they use monthly data to determined the pump price of the following month hence the lag with the world price movement. But if you look closely, the trend between pump price and world price is similar. The alternative is to just let the stations set their own price for RON97, which, in my mind, should be the way to go.

Malaysian consumers are a spoilt bunch. In Australia and New Zealand, the standard oil that they are using is RON91!!! RON95 is much, much better than that. Even the previously sold RON92 is better than that. Unless you are a racer (with an appropriate car, for example Honda Civic Type R), why should you need RON97? Spare me the “knocking” excuse. RON95 is well above good enough.

Spare me the lower car taxes argument too. If the Govt lose revenue here, they would just have to replace it with another form of revenue. Don’t talk about GST either. GST is a replacement for sales tax and services tax and is designed to be revenue-neutral to the Govt. Unless you are suggesting higher GST rate than 6% of course.

• I remember paying VAT (State and City Tax) of more than 13% in Chicago, and about 15% income tax for part timer (earning average USD300 a month) back in the mid 90s.

Cars on the other hand, are quite cheap to buy. Of course with my earning, i would only but 2nd hand 10 year old car that that time. Gasoline was around USD1 per gallon.

The point is, you want cheap car or gasoline, you definitely need to pay taxes instead. This applies to everywhere in the world.

• salambangi on Feb 24, 2014 at 1:04 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 152
    • Because this news is related with motoring.. U happy got br1m?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 7
    • slk3879 on Feb 24, 2014 at 1:26 pm

Who is making a big issue out of this?

Is it wrong for paultan to report on changes in fuel price since this is a website for motor?

Unless you are refilling your car with kangkong then maybe you can request paultan to report on price fluctuation of kangkong….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 132 Thumb down 16
    • why are you here dear brother?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • youbodo on Feb 24, 2014 at 1:33 pm

woi you bodo la. car has to do with fuel. so they report la. you stupid fella narrow minded ingat kereta pasal engine and tire only is it? bongok!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 10
    • kangkong on Feb 24, 2014 at 1:50 pm

Otak bertahi memang tak boleh diubati.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
    • salambodoh on Feb 25, 2014 at 12:05 am

i betcha dont have a car and eats kangkung every month =D good luck with that.

• rifle on Feb 24, 2014 at 1:09 pm

yeaayyyyy naik lagi -.-‘

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
  • najib on Feb 24, 2014 at 1:19 pm

BR1M sudah bagi, apa lagi u all mau?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 4
    • utusan on Feb 24, 2014 at 8:15 pm

apa cina mahu naik lagi?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 20
    • tun.m on Feb 24, 2014 at 8:25 pm

i mau u punya bini diet sikit so that duit rakyat x habis.. can ahh najib??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
    • anwar ibrahim on Feb 24, 2014 at 11:49 pm

Aiyoo najib, kasi chance sama rakyat la. Hang bagi BR1M, hang naik minyak senyap2. I see what u did there…

• Anthony on Feb 24, 2014 at 1:31 pm

Why is RON97 still being subsidized in the first place?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
    • Nicholas on Feb 24, 2014 at 1:48 pm

Because if it isn’t, people will realise the subsidised price is actually inclusive of tax…

• Who said it is subsidised?

• Najib bobo on Feb 24, 2014 at 1:47 pm

Asshole people vote them into power

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 10
    • Your type (and the so called patronizing urban and PR voters) of comments are alienating the rural folks. Is it any wonder they are sticking with BN?

• after kajang by election, ron95 pulak quietly goes up…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 4
  • sick&tired on Feb 24, 2014 at 2:11 pm

what’s the point of giving BR1M if you are going to reduce subsidy which in turn will cause the price of everything to increase!? you think rm650 per year is enough for people yo survive? i would rather scrap BR1M and continue with subsidies. as it is the value of our money has drop tremendously.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 7
  • BN votes very happy all things goes up! Right peoples? say something please! :D

• nabill on Feb 24, 2014 at 3:01 pm

yes captain obvious…with these hikes n inflation,da ringgit is getting a beating…so worthless now

• dugong on Feb 25, 2014 at 3:05 am

on the contrary…they seem to be proud of it

• Denaihati on Feb 24, 2014 at 2:28 pm

i think RON97 only for people need performance and have much and much money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 20
    • Mr. Engineer on Feb 24, 2014 at 2:33 pm

you dont say

• U stupid fool macai BN lah Denaihati..u talk like macai no brain then talk.. RON97 was the fuel commonly used by Malaysians before 2009. Very few were using RON92 as the price difference between the two was minimal. After the gomen introduced RON95, RON97 price was gradually pushed to premium pricing, therefore forcing Malaysians to switch from RO97 to 95. Again, we have to change our lifestyles to suit the gomen.

• No use shouting. They will keep increasing the price no matter what we say. Their wish…..wait till all their plans fail, by than it’s too late!
    SAD to see the people running it!

• U all pigs can comment although you all use 95. Shut up if not using 97

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 32
    • Besi Buruk on Feb 24, 2014 at 8:29 pm

Can you refrain from using the word ‘pig’- it is an exclusive word and not to be used by anyone without permission.

• totti on Feb 24, 2014 at 3:31 pm

They give you the BR1M to your parent at RM 500 per year (RM 40 per month).

AND They will get it back from their working children with the :-

1) 20% Petrol Hike. (mean that extra of RM 100 per month if your petrol consumption is RM 400 per month).
    2) TNB hike at 15%. (Pay extra RM 60 per month if your monthly bill is at RM 200)
    3) Toll hike. (you have made the contribution with RM 500 million to IJM and Gamuda)
    4) Astro hike. (we need to pay their cronies – another RM 10 PM)
    5) All food will hike when petrol up. (Rice/sugar/fish…etc will cost extra RM 100 PM)
    6) All spare parts cost for car. (extra RM 50 PM)

Based on the above, any individual/workinkg adult will need to pay RM 200.00 per months to offset the RM 40 per month paid by the BR1M.

They know how to pay and also know where to suck.

Only the Kampung folk still get con by the sucker.

Hidup Barang Naik. (BN)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 9
    • LongHouseMonkey on Feb 24, 2014 at 8:34 pm

Very true.. those monkey live in certain state still vote barang naik… after been taking their bounties of few packet rice.. sugar.. salt.

Swk kpg boyz… bangunlah… u suka Barang naik pergilah beli brg mahal mahal di tempat kamu org tu.. jgn buat semua Malaysian seksa..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
      • MonkeyKing on Feb 24, 2014 at 10:55 pm

Hey dumbass, you are giving people who vote for the opposition a bad name la by calling other people monkeys. This is democracy, which means people can vote for whoever they wants, not whoever you want. Grow a brain before commenting.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 10
        • DumbVoter on Feb 25, 2014 at 11:05 am

Shame to have a shxt filled mind creature like you here. Vote whoever you want.. your fat ass… how many out there dare exercised their brain in last election? dumb ass… Who don’t know what BN did to rakyat all this while.. Who prevail in the end…

Shut your big mouth and accept the fact of rising living cost… Democracy your big fat ass!

• bootupjoe on Feb 24, 2014 at 5:01 pm

Price of kangkung also increase quietly lah….not cheap lah…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • Samad Jain on Feb 24, 2014 at 6:37 pm

I am very happy that the ppl who voted BN getting screwed this time…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
    • DumbVoter on Feb 25, 2014 at 11:07 am

That dumb monkey king (of idiot) said democracy… let his ass democracy pay for the raising living cost.

• motorhead on Feb 24, 2014 at 7:04 pm

Some turbocharged cars can’t use 95.. ve to use 97.. me? Not affected. . Yet.. hehe… better naik lagi 97 to RM3.00 so can subsidies 95.. & lower 95 back to RM1.90.. how’s that? Datuk Najib.. please implement this.. those use 97 are rich, right? Can help poor people… Hehehe..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • agreed with u 100%. Dont use ron97 price increase to justify increament in teh tarik price ok.

• albag on Feb 24, 2014 at 7:41 pm

ron97 increase either loudly or quietly doesnt matter… ppl who afford to use ron97 wont complain about price la… try that on ron95 and see how

• wednesday on Feb 25, 2014 at 4:57 am

none of my friend use ron97, only one use Shell super racing. Actually many times I see people drive MBenz S class and BMW 5xx also use ron95 (near highway). Guess fewer is complain about ron97’s price. I wonder where the decreasing subsidy from ron97 went if not add into subsidy of ron95. BRIM?

• Onomnom on Feb 24, 2014 at 9:05 pm

those using swift sport/new swift is the most affected i guess?

• Samad Jain on Feb 24, 2014 at 9:15 pm

How come PM last time make such a big hoo-hah when kangkung price went down.

Now, how come PM did not even say a word (even a squeek) about the increase price of petrol??

Hello?? Mr PM??

• robinhood on Feb 24, 2014 at 9:24 pm

Why are you guys complaining here? When you’re given a chance to stop all these bloody increases in prices of goods during the last GE, some of you buggers still vote for ‘Barang Naik’. So, who’s to blame?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • blah la on Feb 24, 2014 at 10:58 pm

U guys only know how to complain? wanna cheap oil, then pay taxes.. want to compare with oil producing country, why don’t u compare with norway? everything is damn expensive, Oil @ RM 7++ per litter, plus VAT @22%..

Wanna compare with saudi, why don;t u compare the price of water as well.. Cheaper to drink oil than water!

Problem is, u’ve been fed with subsidies for too long.. U think opposition can bring down the price, tell me who increased the interest rates and other prices back in 1997-98 if not DSAI?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 16
    • kangkong on Feb 25, 2014 at 1:01 am

This is exactly how those heartless Barang Naik using to con those idiot “blindly” supporters. Telling half true and left those facts which -ve to them under the carpet.
      They tell u Singapore car and petrol is expensive too. But they never tell you most peoples don’t need car for their daily life unlike here car is a must as you have no other better option. And you still can get rice with 3 dishes at S$2 – 2.50 now but you will only get it in your dream at restaurant 1 Malaysia!

• DumbVoter on Feb 25, 2014 at 11:11 am

idiot “blindly” supporters.. I like that! very true… only one of our dumb poster (Monkey King of idiots) here still want to over emphasize of word democracy! see who suffer in the end…

• tokmoh on Feb 25, 2014 at 12:06 am

We can compare with Norway when a freshie’s salary is RM10,000/mth minimum, and public transport is so efficient, car became option instead of necessity.

Saudi got air zam zam foc. Here air zam zam sell more expensive than Red Bull Austrian import.

We can never be sure what

• tokmoh on Feb 25, 2014 at 12:10 am

We can compare with Norway when a freshie’s salary is RM10,000/mth minimum, we get Euro 5 diesel and public transport is so efficient, car become option instead of necessity.

Saudi got air zam zam foc. Here air zam zam sell more expensive than Red Bull Austrian import.

We can never be sure what opposition can do when they get federal power, but we can be more sure what BN will keep on doing for now.

• Hmmm.. on Feb 25, 2014 at 7:42 am

Personally stayed in Oslo for a year, as far as i’m concern, i’ve not seen any freshies earning more than RM6k a month, not to mention their income tax starts at more than 30% annually.

To me, their public transport is efficient, but even those people still complaining about their public transportation.. Weekly pass cost more than RM100 per week, just to travel within a zone. Their taxi fare costed me about RM220 per a 3km ride.

What i see is that, if you want all these nice stuff, you need to pay for it…

Saudi, stayed only for 2 months, but my observation, bottled water is expensive, air zam-zam, you need to go to the source, just like us going to the river to drink..

Indonesia, was there for a year, everything is cheap relative to our stuff here, yet, those people still complaining.. Petrol is cheaper than ours.. Tax is almost non-existent. Majority does not pay income tax at all.

Can’t comment on other countries..

• Sounds like the grass is not so green on the other side after all. But then again, our government can do better than today. I don’t agree on giving subsidies, but the again, reduce the auto tax as well..

On another note, both BN and PR tak boleh pakai punye. Cakap tak serupa bikin. Need to get rid of those old folks at the top, and pass the batton to the younger generation. A lot of them has been around for ages. Itu Pak Ajib has been around in parliment for almost 4 decades. Need people like KJ and Rafizi around to take control.

• Genghiz on Feb 25, 2014 at 10:57 am

Bloody bloodsuckers..

• jickinx on Feb 25, 2014 at 12:25 pm

Some ppl at the top ‘makan’ tak cukup, so reduce subsidy, hence minyak increase. BarangNaik memang boleh!

• Najib on May 11, 2014 at 4:10 pm

What is the current (as of May 2014) price of CNG per kg and LPG per litre in KL?