2015 GMC Yukon to average just 6.4 km/l in the city

2015_GMC_Yukon_XL_Denali

No official fuel consumption figures were released when the 2015 Chevrolet Tahoe, long-wheelbase Suburban and 2015 GMC Yukon, Yukon XL and Yukon Denali brigade was unveiled last year. The numbers are now out, and my, do they make for an interesting read.

The ‘baby’ of the range, the standard 355 hp/519 Nm 5.3 litre V8 EcoTec3 engine will average all of 6.8 km per litre (km/l) in the city and 9.8 km/l on the highway. And these are figures for the two-wheel drive versions of the full-size American SUVs.

Get the flagship GMC Yukon Denali (a small step down from the premium-badged 2015 Cadillac Escalade) with its 410 hp/623 Nm 6.2 litre V8 and the numbers fall even further, down to just 6.4 km/l in the city and 8.9 km/l on the highway. Ouch.

Mind you, both engines are quite modern; each equipped with direct-injection, cylinder deactivation and continuously-variable valve timing, matched to a Hydra-Matic six-speed automatic gearbox. And as abysmal as the numbers are, they represent a healthy 10% improvement over previous models.

2015 Chevrolet Tahoe

2015 Chevrolet Suburban
2015 GMC Yukon XL
2015 GMC Yukon Denali

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Daily on Feb 25, 2014 at 2:44 pm

This kinda car only for royalty and ros-yalty

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 15
    • iskhalifah on Feb 25, 2014 at 3:24 pm

You can find many of these in Saudi Arabian roads driven by normal people. Its something like CRV there.

• Same Lor on Feb 25, 2014 at 4:26 pm

Finally we see some engines doing worse fuel consumption than Proton engine! Well done Proton!

By the way, it is a 410 hp/623 Nm 6.2 litre V8, does Proton has anything close to this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 10
        • Why don’t compare SUV to SUV? The Fortuner 2.7 can match the Yukon’s fuel-efficiency (or is it fuel-inefficiency?). That’s all it can match really, not performance, comfort or anything else.

• And you all macai still think Proton engine the worst FC ever?? Mehhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 22
      • slk3879 on Feb 25, 2014 at 4:13 pm

Don’t compare apple with orange.

Different engine capacity, different kerb weight

• Those top comment is instigating hatred?

• theanswer on Feb 25, 2014 at 3:11 pm

American should learn engine tech from bmw or merc. pls embrace forced induction tech for the sake of an environment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
    • 4G63T DSM on Feb 25, 2014 at 8:49 pm

HAHAHAHAHA.

Checked the fuel economy numbers of say a Mercedes G Wagon? Go ahead. 4.5Km/L City. Yes, this is with forced induction.

Wait try the Audi Q7 4.2. Ditto that 5.5km/L City

Bear in mind something like the gigantic Yukon XL will still accelerate quicker than your average 2.0 sedan.

So yeah, if you are going to lug 2.5T of weight around and hurl it quicker than your econobox, little wonder the fuel numbers are dismal.

But the HUGE Yukon XL;
      weighing in almost 2 times heavier and 3 times more powerful, 2 x the number of cylinders and nearly 4 times the engine displacement,

is only not even 1x more thirsty than a Proton Suprima S. ( The Suprima 11.1km/L, the Yukon XL is 6.4km/L)

And to rub it in, the Yukon XL would probably be faster to 100.

• ss427 on Feb 26, 2014 at 8:47 am

Exactly. Hafriz should refrain from using such misleading titles in an attempt to discredit GM engineers and designers for their efforts in this totally new gen SUVs.
        Just look ard the full size SUVs you can buy in Bolehland.. why don’t you arrange an Audi Q7 4.2L V8, Mercedes Benz ML500, Toyota Fortuner 2.7, Toyota Land Cruiser from your local dealers for a test drive and see if you can pull better fuel economy numbers from them?

We can’t defy the laws of physics. When your SUV weighs in at 2.5tons, and with ladder frame chassis and 4WD, 6+km/L in the city is very good already. You ask Toyota to build something like this and they will come up with similar numbers too, if not worse. And these GM SUVs highway fuel economy is downright great.

Mind you even my FD1 fuel economy can sometimes drops to 9-10km/L if I do lots of short distance, heavy jam driving in SG. And I’m using 0W-20 syn oil already.

Yup both of these SUVs can outdrag most of our econo cars here with ease.

• only tokong class can afford this beauty in malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • Wow. Very low FC. :P

• muh-rica on Feb 25, 2014 at 3:30 pm

muh-rica .. !!!

• Toyota Fanboi on Feb 25, 2014 at 3:31 pm

isn’t that Preve FC?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • Obviously on Feb 25, 2014 at 4:19 pm

Must have a huge gas tank for that to go anywhere without refueling at every gas station in sight. And they still dare to call the engine EcoTec.

Americans and their love for gigantic displacements.

• Storm on Feb 25, 2014 at 4:49 pm

It should be the other way round. How can city fuel consumption be lower than highway?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
    • Zapruder on Feb 25, 2014 at 5:09 pm

the standard 355 hp/519 Nm 5.3 litre V8 EcoTec3 engine will average all of 6.8 km per litre (km/l) in the city and 9.8 km/l on the highway. 

Please read carefully and understand the sentence before commenting to avoid yourself to be ridiculed. ;)

• r u ok Storm?

• machi on Feb 25, 2014 at 4:53 pm

What a gas gazzler! Hey..isn’t veyron could do better than this..?

• 4G63T DSM on Feb 26, 2014 at 9:26 am

Yes. A Veyron.

While idling perhaps.

It does 10MPG combined. ~4.2km/L

Many people just don’t realize just how big these things are.

Seriously, my old underpowered Wira 1.5 Auto wasn’t doing all that much better. I remember it doing about 7-8km/L

• ss427 on Feb 25, 2014 at 5:11 pm

Guys both SUVs are full size SUV… even bigger than the Audi Q7 4.2L V8. And how fuel efficient was the Q7 anyway?

Actually to put it into context, its very gd already. Both SUV weighs in at almost 2.5 tons, featured full time 4WD, built on tough ladder frame.

Toyota Fortuner and its antique 2.7L 4 cyln engine pulls ard 7km/L too.. and it can only master a miserable 157hp despite having such big capacity.

Why no one complain Fortuner gets really poor fuel economy despite being smaller and much lighter?

Is it because its Toyota? That everything Toyota sells must be good? That one minds that 2.7L is actually a very simple and crude truck engine?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • the looks r very the macho one..

• Samad Jain on Feb 25, 2014 at 6:51 pm

Wow! the car has a aerodynamic of a brick.

• Denaihati on Feb 25, 2014 at 9:12 pm

really liking the driver and front passenger side, spacious, so luxury. with super engine of course not for fuel saving, for comfortable powerfull SUV.

• saga driver on Feb 25, 2014 at 9:13 pm

my saga flx mt 10km/ltr.

• hadi75 on Feb 25, 2014 at 10:52 pm

Dont compare your saga with this….different segment…different size…haiyooo

• Samad Jain on Feb 26, 2014 at 7:47 am

hahahaha…my honda kapchai can do +50km/liter…

So how?

• What do you do? Use 2nd gear only in traffic/highway? Loool.

• Lol. People. Please do not compare Proton wirh GMC. One is jaguh kampung and another is luxury SUV that is favoured by the Americans. And dont compared the FC as Americans dont giv a shit about FC by the way they equip most of their cars with big engines. And mind u all, this is not ML or Q7 class. Its GL range. So for those who drive the equivalent Lexus LX or Land Cruiser V8 will understand how intimidating to drive this beast on road.

• kopiokaokao on Feb 26, 2014 at 10:07 pm

If you are Dwayne Johnson or Shaquille O’neal, would you ride in one of this or a proton? Fuel consumption is the last thing they have in mind…..get it???

• exevior on Feb 26, 2014 at 11:51 pm

global warming on wheels

• Baja Lapis Seng on Feb 28, 2014 at 5:23 pm

Step aside Landcruiser….. Big boys driving by.