BMW’s new B48 2.0 litre four-cylinder TwinPower Turbo engine to produce up to 255 hp and 400 Nm

P90143712_highRes

BMW showcased its next-generation 2.0 litre four-cylinder turbo engine at the BMW EfficientDynamics Innovation Days this month. The new engine is codenamed the B48, while the earlier-unveiled three-cylinder engine is called the B38. Both engines made their debut in front-wheel drive form in the F56 MINI as well as the BMW 2 Series Active Tourer.

The new engine has a longer stroke and a reduced bore. It has a bore and stroke of 82 mm by 94.6 mm, and a displacement of 1,998 cc, as opposed to the outgoing 2.0 litre N20 engine‘s 84 mm by 90.1 mm bore and stroke and 1,997 cc displacement.

When we were briefed on the new engine in 2012, we were told that output targets were 40-67 hp and 60-90 Nm of torque per 500 cc cylinder for petrol engines and 27-60 hp and 75-100 Nm of torque per 500 cc cylinder for diesel engines.

This would make a 2.0 litre four-cylinder petrol engine’s output to be 160-268 hp and 240-360 Nm based on those numbers. The existing N20B28 already does 240 hp and 350 Nm of twist.

BMW-ED-FAMILY

This year’s presentation reveals different output numbers. BMW’s new estimated output numbers for the B48 engine is 181-255 hp and 330-400 Nm. So we can expect the F30 328i LCI to do 255 hp and 400 Nm, up from the existing numbers. Installed in the new MINI Cooper S, the new engine produces 192 hp and 280 Nm of torque, with a 300 Nm overboost.

As for diesel, the new engine family’s 2.0 litre oil burner will do 148-188 hp and 330-400 Nm of torque – not a big improvement in terms of peak output figures from the existing engine in models like the 320d.

We’ve already tried out the three-cylinder B38 in prototype form – read our previous story for our brief test drive impressions of the engine installed in a 1 Series hatchback, and for more details on the new engine family. Our man Jonathan James Tan is on his way back from testing the new MINI in Puerto Rico so we’ll be able to read his impressions of the new engine in the new MINI too.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• heybadigol on Feb 25, 2014 at 8:33 am

Judging by the different naming convention, I would guess that this is a brand new engine rather than update of the N20. Surprised that they decided to do a new one rather than to work on the existing engine. Gone are the days when the same engine powered different generations of the series. Its always nice to get something new, but at the same time, there’s nothing more re-assurring for the owner to use an engine that has been in use before (just upgraded), so reliability will not be a major concern. Anyways, thats why the engine is going into the 2 series tourer & Mini first, before getting into a “proper” BMW, that will probably power the wheels from a 9 speed ZF box :)

• Jibster on Feb 25, 2014 at 8:44 am

ZF has so far only made the 9 speed for front wheel drive. They chose to update the 8 speed instead for rear wheel drive. The 8 speed in the 2 active tourer is from Aisin not ZF.

• Cetak Tak Mati on Feb 25, 2014 at 9:55 am

hey badigol of course they have to develop a whole new engine from scratch rather than updating their inefficient n20 that loses out to mercedes benz in term of fuel efficiency so much

mercedes set the benchmark to high now boys at ingolstadt are peeing in their pants

the tagline used by mercedes

THE BEST OR NOTHING

was not said out of nothing they got water one

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 31
      • sudonano on Feb 25, 2014 at 12:16 pm

err. inefficient N20? Seriously? Yes, the new BLUEDIRECT M274 engine is more efficient than the N20. But let’s not forget, the M274 only went into production after the N20 (M274 was out in 2012, N20 in 2011).

Plus, the power output from the M274 2.0 engine is not as high as the N20 (in the higher tune state- where in the M274 it is 211hp/350Nm, and on the N20, 245hp/350Nm).

But even then it is just numbers. both are amazing works or engineering and art (sort of). Seriously. You should try them.

And btw. Ingolstadt is the home of Audi. BMW’s home is in Munich, and Mercedes is in Stuttgart. Next time, Google.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
        • Cetak Tak Mati on Feb 25, 2014 at 3:35 pm

why should i rely on google when god created man with brains that have capacity much higher than billions terrabyte

shame on you atheist that put man creation above god’s

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 49
        • Well said! It always surprises me how no one seems to know where Audi comes from. Audi is an old and distinguished brand, which has risen and fallen more than once. It saddens me when people are not aware of the heritage, or make remarks like “Audi is a VW in a drag”. Audi, from its Wanderer/NSU/Horch/Auto Union days, existed as an independent company which was taken over by VW much later in its history. This is unlike Lexus and Infiniti, which were specifically set up as luxury arms of Toyota and Nissan respectively. Audi was building exciting cars when VW was still mass producing it’s People’s Car.
          Certainly BMW is from Munich while MB n Porsche are from Stuttgart.
          A little known fact regarding the colours of the BMW logo….the blue and white is one of the colour combinations of the flag of Bavaria. The more common but perhaps less accurate belief is that the BMW roundel represents an aircraft propeller….part of BMW’s history during the 2nd World War when it built propeller aero planes for military use. Munich or Munchen, is of course the capital of the state of Bavaria. Interestingly, Ingolstadt is also in Bavaria.
          Back in the old days, we didn’t have Google. It certainly makes life easier for us now:-)

• sudonano on Feb 25, 2014 at 12:17 pm

err. inefficient N20? Seriously? Yes, the new BLUEDIRECT M274 engine is more efficient than the N20. But let’s not forget, the M274 only went into production after the N20 (M274 was out in 2012, N20 in 2011).

Plus, the power output from the M274 2.0 engine is not as high as the N20 (in the higher tune state- where in the M274 it is 211hp/350Nm, and on the N20, 245hp/350Nm).

But even then it is just numbers. both are amazing works or engineering and art (sort of). Seriously. You should try them.

And btw. Ingolstadt is the home of Audi. BMW’s home is in Munich, and Mercedes is in Stuttgart. Next time, Google.

• Heng Lee on Feb 25, 2014 at 1:40 pm

The reason why they are coming out with new engines because the current one is passed over to Toyota.
        A friend of mine works for Toyota UK as a Technical Engineer told me, that they never saw a sophisticated engine like that although it’s already phased out by BMW.

• Cetak Tak Mati on Feb 25, 2014 at 3:36 pm

words from such small fry such as technical engineer has no water at all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 18
      • Hadi75 on Feb 26, 2014 at 7:59 am

Your parent never teach you manner is it???
        Takde adab punya budak….!!!!

• kington on Feb 25, 2014 at 8:52 am

Do not be suprised if the 320i gets fitted with a more powerful 1.6 turbo and this unit gets into the 328i. Hopefully, they could at least do a lower pressure 2.0 litre turbo for the 320i. Those who have driven the 6 cylinder engines are really missing the old days.

• hmm…BMW purist all over the world would not like what they are hearing from Germany. Die hard BMW would protest and they would go to Rivals such as Audi quottro…Please rethink BMW Germany if not bye bye BMW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
  • venven81 on Feb 25, 2014 at 9:08 am

yay! front wheel drive bimmer :D

• paucharsiew on Feb 25, 2014 at 9:35 am

not a really significant improvement

• Cetak Tak Mati on Feb 25, 2014 at 10:12 am

typical boy racer mentality ,

sometimes is not all about whats in the data sheet , reliability , mass production cost etc also can be factored in production of new engines

• The reason why they are coming out with new engines because the current one is creating problems with sludging and turbo failure.

A friend of mine works for BMW UK as a Technical Engineer, he said that BMW changes their engine every 3-5 years in hoping that their customers will change too. This allows them to improve their reliability scores as there will be no “old” cars.

however, this plays badly to Malaysians as we cannot change our cars every 4 years or so.

• Enthu on Feb 25, 2014 at 10:18 am

Exactly. The current lineup of N20 petrol engines and N47 diesel engines are getting widespread reliability issues. Pity those who bought a used BMW thinking its a steal. Little do they know a huge bill is coming their way very soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
      • kl fella on Feb 25, 2014 at 11:34 am

Enthu, can you tell me what exactly are the reliability issues you’re talking about? really wish to know thanks

• carnut on Feb 25, 2014 at 1:19 pm

There was a recall for n20 and n47 engines last year due to issues related to a loss of power brake assist and failure of the vacuum pump. Also understand that there are cases of cylinder heads cracking under too much pressure.

Might not be a permanent fix so the coming out with a new engine was probably inevitable.

• ss427 on Feb 25, 2014 at 11:11 am

Well looking at these engineering marvels, Proton CFE Turbo engine looks like a total clown and joke wor.
    Proton CFE can’t even compete with Hyundai excellent 200hp 1.6 Gamma GDI Turbo, much less BMW’s

Don’t forget the 270hp 2L Theta II GDI Turbo as found in most LHD Sonata and Optima :) And Hyundai engineers have almost completed the testing of turbocharged 2L Nu engine.
    The Turbo Nu engine will be featured in the next gen Sonata/Optima for the 2015 model year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
    • ss427butthurt on Feb 25, 2014 at 1:54 pm

You are the clown and joker,
      why compare non-GDI engine like CFE with GDI engine like Gamma?

Please read more kid and dun let your butthurt make fool of yourself

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
      • ss427 on Feb 25, 2014 at 3:26 pm

Well you’ve just self PWNED. Exactly Proton can’t even come up with anything similar that we oversea car buyers finds Proton a total joke. Still have the cheek to proclaim themselves world class…. Obviously Proton has been reading too much into SG gov policies already…
        FYI, you can still achieve big power and efficiency without using Direct Injection. Honda used to do just that back the EG days.. 170hp from a 1.6L.. No turbo required. It’s just that tailpipe cleanliness got thrown out of the window lor

• ss427butthurt on Feb 25, 2014 at 4:03 pm

Now you want to compare that EG days engine? LOL

Hello it’s not even Euro4 compliant engine. No wonder can get 170hp while CFE is Euro5 compliant engine.

Again, please read more kid and dun let your butthurt make fool of yourself

• Arcee on Feb 25, 2014 at 1:02 pm

Prot & Enthu,
    Reliability issues? Those cars probably had extended oil change intervals (15-20k km) which leads to built-up of sludge. Keep to 8k km for oil change and your car will do fine. Been running on N47 for the last 3.5 years and have clocked 100k km (some friends have passed the 180k km mark) without any issues. Just wear & tear replacement & regular oil change. If I have problems, it would have surfaced earlier because my car is chipped. Don’t listen to rumors & I am in contact with BMW SC. I have not heard of sludging issues from any N20 or N47 engines.

• Enthu on Feb 25, 2014 at 2:30 pm

It’s a design flaw that causes timing chain to snap and failed abruptly. Due to the design that the timing chains are placed behind the engine and are suppose to last the lifespan of the car, the repair cost is exorbitant to get it replaced.

I am not spreading lies here. I did my homework as I was eyeing a used BMW N47 unit. Almost all used units will exhibit the clattering that signals the wear and tear of the timing chain.

Google “bbc one watchdog n47” where it all started.

• Use this to your advantage to knock the price down even further. Hopefully then the repair cost of it will be reasonable to you.
        Or just ditch BMW and buy a Merc, Audi etc.

• Arcee on Feb 25, 2014 at 4:09 pm

The clattering sound is from the diesel engine itself. Not the timing chain. Anyhow, we have heard of N47 engines in europe facing this problem. Perhaps an older batch. None of us from Malaysia has faced this problem so far (with fingers crossed).

• Enthu on Feb 25, 2014 at 2:31 pm

Oh and good luck to you and your car. Let’s hope that day will never come.

• Arcee on Feb 26, 2014 at 1:54 am

There will always be skeptics who misses d boat & proudly declares he is lucky to hv missed d boat. Go & Njoy the other makes

• Same Lor on Feb 25, 2014 at 2:40 pm

What can Proton show us? Sigh…

• All they can show is a wrecked car. What a lousy and desperate marketing. Haha

• seancorr on Feb 25, 2014 at 6:44 pm

The current BMW engine lineup is already impressive as it is now so improvements like this is definitely a welcome especially if BMW can reduce the diesel clatter in their diesel engines.

I’ve saw the FC figures for the next generation C Class and they are very good…wanna see how BMW will respond to this.

• superbird #43 on Feb 25, 2014 at 8:52 pm

oh no….
    will they also develop a v6 engine after this?